Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bosch Aerotwin Wiper Blades for 3 series BMW 03 model

• 20-08-2009 1:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45

Hi folks,

Has anybody replaced their wiper blades with Bosch Aerotwin blades i read a bit about them as my current ones will need replacing soon and i was quite impressed. I was quoted over 50 euro from BMW for OEM wipers which is a rip i think for a set of wipers.

Anyway what i'm looking for is some feedback if anyone has bought them how much did they cost? Where did you get them? are they any use? etc. I've called a few motor shops but they dont seem to stock them. Ebay has some with the retrofit adapter which is what i need but i've read that they are spurios ones and dont last too long. Any advice is appreciated !!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

You'll get the bosh ones in otto for about 27-35 plus vat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 marko_eire

Thanks for the reply are they the Aerotwin retrofit ones? most places have the standard ones in that price bracket. have you used them before if so what do you think and where is otto?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

marko_eire wrote: »
    Ebay has some with the retrofit adapter which is what i need but i've read that they are spurios ones and dont last too long. Any advice is appreciated !!

I got genuine Bosh retrofit ones on ebay a few months ago for £29.49 (UK pounds) including shipping. I think the seller's id was parts_monster, but I'm sure he's not the only one with them.

Very happy with the wipers, by the way, on both our Focus and Mazda 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

There the best wipers imo, no juddering or streaks on the windscreen. They make great contact better than standard spring wipers. I got mine from ebay for my foci. I think these are what your looking for here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Darando

think you can get replacement rubbers on ebay. I will see if I have the link, it comes with fitting and youtube clip.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eE1ITsXohnM

Thanks for the helps lads i might go with the ones on ebay they seem to be legite enough noticed that he also sells Xenon artic white bulbs anybody used these before? thinking of getting some before winter comes in.

Ok guys received Bosch aerotwin blades today in the post fitting was easy and they look better a nice slim fit. But and there is a but the passenger side blade is slightly off the window and the drivers side seems to leave a streak dead centre of the windscreen which is going to drive me mad unless it sorts itself out. We'll no doubt have some rain tomorrow so i'll get a good idea as to whether they were worth buying...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Sounds to me like you got the wrong size blades. They should fit perfectly on the windscreen if they were ordered for a particular make and model.

bazz26 wrote: »
    Sounds to me like you got the wrong size blades. They should fit perfectly on the windscreen if they were ordered for a particular make and model.

Yeah looks that way after specifically requesting a set to suit a 3 series :mad: both wipers are on the correct side aswell so its not a case of me installing them incorrectly shame was looking forward to using them i've emailed the seller from ebay to see if he shipped the wrong ones so i'll just wait and see what he comes back with.

Hi folks just taught i'd give a quick update. With the rain yesterday i got to use the wipers properly and i'm a bit disapointed with the performance of them. A very annoying squeak developed yesterday and drove me mad all day as i had to use the wipers quite a bit! not to mention the edge of the passenger side streaking because the blade wouldn't sit flush with the windscreen.

I didn't notice much of a difference to OEM blades in terms of performance they do collect a little bit more water from the windscreen but nothing to get excited about. I've since emailed the seller from ebay requesting a refund or another set that will fit my car it'll be interesting to see if i get a refund!

Long story short if your car is fitted with the old style blades then keep it that way retrofit blades don't work as good regardless if they are AEROTWIN blades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

Little bump to see if anyone else has had experience with these yokes.

How much longer are they meant to last compared to the normal style?

Bloody hell, just realised I got this from Google.ie. They know EVERYTHING! :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

I got the evo ones from the dealers (Morrisons Cahir) back in february, think they were about 35e and finding them excellent so far.. seems a better option than bosch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭ciarsd

bbk wrote: »
    Little bump to see if anyone else has had experience with these yokes.

How much longer are they meant to last compared to the normal style?

Bloody hell, just realised I got this from Google.ie. They know EVERYTHING! :O

On the E46 windscreens (coupé anyway), the newer Aerotwin type have been found to be terrible. Most owners I know, have reverted back to the older style Bosch Super Plus replacements, due to missing significant sections of the screen on the return wipe.

I found them superb on my E36 Coupé, but have stuck with the older Bosch style on my E46.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

I have them on my E46 coupé and find them grand. As an earlier poster said, when the wipers are parked the end of the passenger side one sits off the screen slightly, but that's just due to the curvature of the glass. They do the business where it matters though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

What is their lifespan? Im thinking of picking up a pair for my Golf but only if they live for a good while.