Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

H.M.S Mersey is in Dublin Port

• 19-08-2009 12:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭

Hi All

was out for my run at lunch time today, took the usual route down by the quays and back up though Grand Canal Dock.

Anyway on the way I noticed a British Naval vessel (quite a large one) docked on Sir John Rogerson's Quay. Nothing unusual about that, there are always naval vessels from many countries docked there.

but where the ship was docked there was a load of Sinn Fein Supporters protesting against the ship being in Irish waters.

they had banners and 32 county flags etc.

Does anyone think this is a bit ridiculous? some fool was even wearing a celtic jersey. (yes I know they are supposedly an "Irish" team, but they are still in the UK)

considering the state this country is in at the moment do these people not have something more productive that they could be doing?

I know there is history there... but seriously most of the people there wernt even alive when Ireland was under British rule

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

It's a free country.

Many Irish people died for their right to protest, so I am not going to criticise them for using those rights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Could have been the same dude at the "no foreign games" protest at croke park 2 years ago

Now what would be interesting and humerous would Her Majesty's vessel to turn its 5 inch deck gun on them :D

And it is of course their right to protest about whatever they wish.
    As it is my right to think they are a bunch of saps.

grahambo wrote: »
    some fool was even wearing a celtic jersey. (yes I know they are supposedly an "Irish" team, but they are still in the UK)

:D:D:D

Like this classic
    http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_OvD7y01oznw/SclohCBrE8I/AAAAAAAAD6Y/fb2XDc_7loA/s400/No+to+Foreign+Games+RSF+style.jpg

Dublin shinners...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

I know...
    I actually seen that in person!

but seriously guys, I know they have the right to protest, But protesting against a British vessel on a peaceful expedition.... why?

It doesn't make sense?

I think it more of an absolute hatered of anything to do with British administration / the monarch / the British Army. As opposed to obtaining any political goals.

I mean we are at peace now and we enjoy a fruitful relationship with the UK in relation to economics and tourism.

I just think those people down there are fools... I wonder how many of them tuned in for the opening weekend of the premiership?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

As is the case with many of the SF rent-a-mob, no, chances are they have not got anything more productive to do. The same morons will be back in william hill, or sipping strongbow by the end of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

jhegarty wrote: »
    It's a free country.

Many Irish people died for their right to protest, so I am not going to criticise them for using those rights.

true, its their time to waste

but what tourists would make of it.....have we not enough negatives at present

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Riskymove wrote: »
    true, its their time to waste

but what tourists would make of it.....have we not enough negatives at present

If you were a tourist in Cuba would you go home because a few people were protesting against a US naval ship ?

As you said , agree with them or not , it's their time to waist.

jhegarty wrote: »
    If you were a tourist in Cuba would you go home because a few people were protesting against a US naval ship ?

er..probably not..but I would tell people at home about what I saw....in any event cubans are likely to try and get on the US ship than protest...not exaclty the same kinda thing

Riskymove wrote: »
    er..probably not..but I would tell people at home about what I saw....in any event cubans are likely to try and get on the US ship than protest...not exaclty the same kinda thing

And even at that, The situation is completely different. The US are still suffocating Cuba to this very day.

The UK is not suffocating us... In fact I think you'll find they are doing the exact opposite. nearly ALL our exports go to the UK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

I know there is history there... but seriously most of the people there wernt even alive when Ireland was under British rule

Well part of Ireland is still under British rule. And Sinn Féins actions would be in support of Irish citizens living in Northern Ireland aswell as the Republic of Ireland.

While the topic at hand is a tad over the top, similar to the helicopter story last week. Leave them too it if they want to protest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Brian Griffin

Hi All

considering the state this country is in at the moment do these people not have something more productive that they could be doing?

I agree that these people should be spending there time doing something better but is part of Ireland not still under British rule? Just because your no under there rule there are British solders still based on this island.

What exactly were they giving out about? was it the fact that, a war vessel from a country that is at war , was docked there (and we being neutral and all that) ? Or just that it was a British ship?

Couldn't really care either way myself but it is there time and no one will ever take notice of these people.

Brian

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Indeed, everyone is only laughing at them.

Look, there's no use using logic with these punters,they just can't get the big picture.

Often wonder how they can get so much time off from work and paying taxes:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

nearly ALL our exports go to the UK.

Its about 1/3 actually, but lets not go off topic.

As has been said - they have every right to protest. I have no great objection to the ship. Had this not been posted I would never have even known it was there. I guess in that sence their objectives were achived.

By the way OP - Was it Republican Sinn Fein by any chance?

I agree that these people should be spending there time doing something better but is part of Ireland not still under British rule? Just because your no under there rule there are British solders still based on this island.
    I don't consider Northern Ireland a Part of Ireland. Its pretty much a different country. It will never be part of the republic again, and I bet if you asked the Catholics (not the republicans, because this all stems back to religion) if they would support reunification with the Republic I'm positive they would say no. they would lose to much in terms of Economic stability and quality of life.

I would love to see one Ireland as much as anyone but the reality is that it will NEVER happen.
    What exactly were they giving out about? was it the fact that, a war vessel from a country that is at war , was docked there (and we being neutral and all that) ? Or just that it was a British ship?

well considering there was a French Warship (not a mine sweeper) and a Russian Frigate a couple of months back I would imagine that it is the fact that its British that they are opposed to.
    Couldn't really care either way myself but it is there time and no one will ever take notice of these people.

quite true...

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    Its about 1/3 actually, but lets not go off topic.

As has been said - they have every right to protest. I have no great objection to the ship. Had this not been posted I would never have even known it was there. I guess in that sence their objectives were achived.

By the way OP - Was it Republican Sinn Fein by any chance?

I'm not 100% sure what Sinn Fein they were mate. I do not know anything about the Sinn Fein administration structure or divisions within the party.

they had a few 32 counties flags, that help?

yep Republican SinnFein

http://www.indymedia.ie/article/93596

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

they are an embarrassment to the Republic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

It will never be part of the republic again,

Even if NI never becomes part of the Republic (which is unlikely), it will always be part of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

There's a big difference between Sinn Féin and Republican Sinn Féin.

Republican Sinn Féin only have one member sitting on a local authority council in the Republic. I don't even think they have a TD.

Sinn Féin have 4 TDs and over 100 councillors.

Republican Sinn Féin have very little support from the electorate so I wouldn't be too worried about their protests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

I don't consider Northern Ireland a Part of Ireland. Its pretty much a different country. It will never be part of the republic again,

1. It is part of Ireland

2. It is governed by the UK parliament with some devolved powers to the NI assembly

3. It was never part of Republic of Ireland state

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭Shan75

Ah yes good old Sinn Féin Poblachtach with one of their protests against everything British, except Glasgow Celtic, Liverpool FC, Manchester United, Coronation Street, Cheltenham, Aintree Grand National plus the hundreds of British retail outlets throughout Ireland.

Still they are entitled to protest and I would defend that right.Not that I am the protesting type, especially about something so ridiculous as a ship, but I wish I could head off to Dublin on a weekday to stand around chanting disapproval and maybe displaying some intelligently written slogan on a placard.If only I didn't have a job, I too could prove my patriotism.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

prinz wrote: »
    As is the case with many of the SF rent-a-mob, no, chances are they have not got anything more productive to do.

Judging from the rather staid and insipid posts here about same, it would seem they are not alone.

I don't consider Northern Ireland a Part of Ireland. Its pretty much a different country.

While this is an undoubtedly interesting thought for you, and others who are influenced by the Sunday Independent, it doesn't really matter because Seán Murphy of Cullyhanna is just as Irish and part of this country as Seán Murphy of Cobh. This is so to the vast majority of people in this country, Ireland. It is also so under international law, and this is recognised and legislated for by the state currently known as the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. It is also, by the way, legislated for by the state known as Ireland.
    I bet if you asked the Catholics (not the republicans, because this all stems back to religion)

So, it all stems back to religion, does it. A theological battle, it seems. Nothing to do with conquest, dispossession and power?

I would love to see one Ireland as much as anyone but the reality is that it will NEVER happen.

And you know this how, Nostradamus?

Indeed, everyone is only laughing at them.

And you know this how, oh omniscient one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I live near there and never realised that ship was in :)

As long as its only a fisheries vessel, ok with me. Think i'll drop down to have a look at lunchtime, just might bump into grahambo on his run. Can you tell using the crystal ball what time i'll be there at? :D

Other than Nostradamus' ridiculous insights, i reckon its Fratton Fred's personal ship that has docked there as its from Portsmouth!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

gurramok wrote: »
    I live near there and never realised that ship was in :)

As long as its only a fisheries vessel, ok with me. Think i'll drop down to have a look at lunchtime, just might bump into grahambo on his run. Can you tell using the crystal ball what time i'll be there at? :D

Other than Nostradamus' ridiculous insights, i reckon its Fratton Fred's personal ship that has docked there as its from Portsmouth!! :D

Not mine I'm afraid, nice looking ship though the river class.

There was a RN Frigate in the other week as well as a norwegian ship I think.

Maybe the irish navy is checking out possible replacement ships, a few river class patrol boats would be ideal (along with the heavy tug they keep talking about).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I don't consider Northern Ireland a Part of Ireland. Its pretty much a different country.

Balls, a family farm on my father's side of the family is situated dead on the border, the kitchen and back yard are actually in Fermanagh, as is the farm itself, while the house and the front drive are in Co Cavan. When you go into the kitchen you recieve a text message welcoming you to the UK; I find the notion that when I go to take a p*ss or make a cup of tea I'm actually doing it in a country as foreign to me as Sweden or Burkina Faso. Similarly there isn't a world of cultural difference between the likes of Cullyhana and Hackballscross. Ireland is Ireland, it has always been Ireland, and while the political jurisdictions may change over periods of time, it will always remain Ireland.

As for the ship itself, a part of this country remains under an occupation, and Irish citizens have every right to protest against the military manifestations of that particular state in Ireland.

Rebelheart wrote: »
    Judging from the rather staid and insipid posts here about same, it would seem they are not alone.

Do you see me down the quays? Uhm no.

Think i'll drop down to have a look at lunchtime, just might bump into off grahambo on his run. Can you tell using the crystal ball what time i'll be there at? :D

FYP, Thou shall not ridicule Republican Sinn Féin :pac: There are consequences..
    FTA69 wrote: »
    When you go into the kitchen you recieve a text message welcoming you to the UK; I find the notion that when I go to take a p*ss or make a cup of tea I'm actually doing it in a country as foreign to me as Sweden or Burkina Faso.

So you too see the UK as a foreign country.... :confused:

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,830 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

...a part of this country remains under an occupation...
    Only in the Republican parallel universe. A part of this island belongs to another country, as acknowledged by the overwhelming majority of the population of this country in a referendum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

Alun wrote: »
    we will have them protesting against the RNLI ,[royal national lifeboat institution] all of the 32 bases,being in the republic next, because they are british.stupid idiots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

oscarBravo wrote: »
    A part of this island belongs to another country, as acknowledged by the overwhelming majority of the population of this country in a referendum.

Disingenuous OB. Nowhere does the GFA state that the north "belongs" to Britain. It states that the future of Ireland, both North and South will be decided by the people of Ireland, and of Ireland alone.

It "accepts" the current political system under British rule with a devolved Government, but does not rule out unification nor the desire for unification.

I don't think you tell the full story when you say that something "belongs" to another country, as a matter of virtue.

As for this ship goes - As a boat owner myself, I've seen many British military ships in and out of the waterways. I don't think there is any malicious intent on them being here - but if someone wants to protest against the British military in Ireland, whether it be for their past crimes against the people of Ireland both north and south, or for their wars in Iraq and Afghanistan - they are well within their rights and it's not really something that we should be fussing over. People protest all over the world every day against similar issues.

dlofnep wrote: »
    Disingenuous OB. Nowhere does the GFA state that the north "belongs" to Britain. It states that the future of Ireland, both North and South will be decided by the people of Ireland, and of Ireland alone.

It "accepts" the current political system under British rule with a devolved Government, but does not rule out unification nor the desire for unification.

I don't think you tell the full story when you say that something "belongs" to another country, as a matter of virtue.
    Meh. I voted for a constitutional amendment that removed our claim on part of the territory of another country. If it's not ours, it's theirs. Sure, it might be ours in the future, but until then, it's not.
    As for this ship goes - As a boat owner myself, I've seen many British military ships in and out of the waterways. I don't think there is any malicious intent on them being here - but if someone wants to protest against the British military in Ireland, whether it be for their past crimes against the people of Ireland both north and south, or for their wars in Iraq and Afghanistan - they are well within their rights and it's not really something that we should be fussing over. People protest all over the world every day against similar issues.
    Agree with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

I can`t see us gettin out of dis oul recession anyway soon......:rolleyes:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Balls, a family farm on my father's side of the family is situated dead on the border, the kitchen and back yard are actually in Fermanagh, as is the farm itself, while the house and the front drive are in Co Cavan. When you go into the kitchen you recieve a text message welcoming you to the UK; I find the notion that when I go to take a p*ss or make a cup of tea I'm actually doing it in a country as foreign to me as Sweden or Burkina Faso. Similarly there isn't a world of cultural difference between the likes of Cullyhana and Hackballscross. Ireland is Ireland, it has always been Ireland, and while the political jurisdictions may change over periods of time, it will always remain Ireland.

As for the ship itself, a part of this country remains under an occupation, and Irish citizens have every right to protest against the military manifestations of that particular state in Ireland.

I bet it brings tears of joy to know that you're pissing on British soil.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

Fair play to the lads protesting. They have my support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Does anyone think this is a bit ridiculous? some fool was even wearing a celtic jersey. (yes I know they are supposedly an "Irish" team, but they are still in the UK)
    People waving the celtic jersey support the UK. Duh! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Will try and get down and have a look, will bring the nipper along too, show him a ship from "proper" Navy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I bet it brings tears of joy to know that you're pissing on British soil.:P

****ing Brits, coming over here taking our piss :D

Sorry Guys

I think I was a bit misunderstood.

my intention was to state that we are now pretty much 2 nations on 1 Island... (The Island or Ireland)

And we are all Irish.

But I don't consider NI to be under occupation, nor do I think the 2 nations will eventually become 1 nation.

I didn't mean to come across as saying the people in NI aren't Irish. NI is better off the way it is now rather than being reunified by the republic. The violence is over and people can get on with there lives and there is finally stability and peace.

If we are all Irish living on 1 Island but in 2 different nations and living in peace, then I don't see what the problem is?

Sorry Guys

I think I was a bit misunderstood.

my intention was to state that we are now pretty much 2 nations on 1 Island... (The Island or Ireland)

And we are all Irish.

But I don't consider NI to be under occupation, nor do I think the 2 nations will eventually become 1 nation.

I didn't mean to come across as saying the people in NI aren't Irish. NI is better off the way it is now rather than being reunified by the republic. The violence is over and people can get on with there lives and there is finally stability and peace.

If we are all Irish living on 1 Island but in 2 different nations and living in peace, then I don't see what the problem is?

Its 2 states. What you mean by two nations?

A border dividing a nation does not mean that nation becomes two.

NI Unionists do not consider themselves Irish, it would be a start if they did.

Let's stay on topic, shall we? For what it's worth.

oscarBravo wrote: »
    Let's stay on topic, shall we? For what it's worth.

Grand.

HMS Mersey is not there now at port if anyone is looking for it :)

However, there is a Swedish navy vessel there to keep the topic on navies :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Now what would be interesting and humerous would Her Majesty's vessel to turn its 5 inch deck gun on them :D

Being an OPV, I'm not sure she has one, but the standard British main naval gun is 4.5".

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

I am sure the 0.5" less will make a big difference

Grand.

HMS Mersey is not there now at port if anyone is looking for it :)

However, there is a Swedish navy vessel there to keep the topic on navies :D

Fancy organising a protest? I never wanted their viking occupation. Scandinavian gits. The cheek of them sailing their modern shiny longboats into Dublin. :mad:. It's an affront to all right thinking Irishmen I say!!
    I am sure the 0.5" less will make a big difference

Somebody who actually knows what they are talking about usually does make a difference...

prinz wrote: »
    Fancy organising a protest? I never wanted their viking occupation. Scandinavian gits. The cheek of them sailing their modern shiny longboats into Dublin. :mad:. It's an affront to all right thinking Irishmen I say!!

At least the Vikings apologised for their past deeds so no need for a protest :P
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2007/aug/16/ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

At least the Vikings apologised for their past deeds so no need for a protest :P
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2007/aug/16/ireland

I see something in that article about the warmth and friendliness of the greeting... if only the HMS Mersey had been afforded the same courtesy...;)

Now if I had of been there I would've given them a few bars of Rule Britannia a shake of the umbrella and a toss of the bowler hat.