Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strangest thing thats happened on a bus?

• 18-08-2009 12:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭

Whats the strangest or funniest thing that you saw happen on a bus? I saw a drunk man get on and sit at the back of the bus, try to chat up a girl and then puke down in the emergency exit then he started pissing aswell......made my journey:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

I was once sitting downstairs at the back of the 128 on the way into college when out of nowhere this old man comes tumbling down the stairs with his walking cane. :pac:

I can laugh about it now, right?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I was in a bus once and the driver had a paper on the wheel and was reading it while he was driving. I got off at the next stop. Also I was in a bus when it hit a bird. It hit just below the windscreen so pretty much seen it happen. The thud was really loud from it as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

The strangest thing Ive seen was a drunk or stoned fella getting on the bus.Half an hour into the journey the bus driver stops the bus walks down to where the drunk fella was and roars at him to get off the bus.
    I never found out what he was thrown off for.I was seated near enough too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Guy in the seat beside me on a crowded 49 having a ****. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

Some guy stood up and announced that he didnt know what a tracker mortgage was..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

I seen the driver smile once !very strange indeed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

Seriously? Thats not right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭TheCardHolder

In the gaeltacht a few summers back we got picked up a bus driver who was supposed to take us to the school, instead he drove up to the cliff's edge and pretended he was going insane, thinking it was hilarious, I nearly wet myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

Was on a bus once when these group of skanks got on. One started roaring about needing to go for a piss. Apart from the skangers there was me and two other people upstairs, all up the front, infront of the stairs.

So all this is going on behind us, right? And obviously nobody wants to turn around to see whats going on.

The first skank asks her friends to get off the bus with her cause she doesn't want to "piss in a bush on me own" The other 2 cleverly reminded her, sure why get off, piss right here.

This was 4pm in the afternoon by the way!! :eek::eek:

So off she goes, and has a piss.

Thats not the worst part. When she had finished, she ran to the top of the bus, in front of the three of us (other passengers), starts looking down at the ground, and laughs just before shouting, "Look girls, me piss is travelling down the bus"

I was sick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Smcgie

Once saw a pregnant woman getting on and paying for two...:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

You must be GORGEOUS!!!!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

A girl (who's in my year but I didn't advertise that :P) having a complete rant at the driver because he wouldn't let her on with chips.. she was getting old women to agree with her. After 5 minutes fighting, she got off screaming and kicked the bus as it drove off.

Lard arse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭CutzEr

Some guy stood up and announced that he didnt know what a tracker mortgage was..?
    I dunno how to save money on me car insurance :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

The lady in front of me sneezed on the head of the bald lad infront of her. He turned around with a disgusted look on his face and she apologised. She then turned around and winked and smiled at me. She was also reading Harry Potter and a book on mental health simultaneously.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Domo230 wrote: »
    Did he at least get her number?

086fakenum

I used to be a Dublin Bus driver many moons ago,i was driving the 39 bus to clonsilla,started on the quays at the time ,bus was packed to the gills

So im sitting there stuck in rush hour evening traffic, and i can hear in the backround the passengers getting a bit frustrated and annoyed about something, but i was kind of daydreaming to myself whilst stuck in the traffic going nowhere fast

Anyway this frail old lady comes up to me and taps on the security screen and says "Excuse me son,are ye not going to use the Bus lane??"

I wasnt long in the job and didnt last too long either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Numina

Sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭sells

no but i got her number, 086 1234567 thats what she gave me at least?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Overflow

Me and my mate sat up stairs on a bus which was empty except for only guy who must have had Tourette's syndrome by the way he kept swearing profusely to himself for the entire journey. We were shocked at first, but it was hard to keep a straight face after a few minutes.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

was on a bus eireann bus, some indian guy (well i think he was indian) got on and sat beside me. He took out his phone and turned on what i can only describe as a bad Indian attempt at rap and played it full blast for the whole bus to hear, and then had the cheek ta go asleep and leave us listen to it. I was so happy that i was gettin off at the next stop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I've posted this before, but sure I'll post it again:
    On the bus out of Galway I was sitting on the left aisle, as a drunk aged about 70 sat a few seats ahead of me on the right aisle.

As he was sitting down I glanced momentarily in his direction, when he saw me he blew a kiss at me.

I quickly, and wrongly, assumed that he was trying to start a fight and through my peripheral vision I noticed that he was waving his hand around in a subtle manner in an attempt to get my attention. To avoid any hassle I decided not to look at him in case he might be angry at me for some reason.

This went on for a further ten minutes, during which I bit my nails to look busy.

Eventually, I accidently looked at his waving hand at which point I acted surprised and made eye-contact with him. He then gives me a lecture as to why I shouldn't bite my nails. His two major points were that I would develop skin cancer and that I was "too pretty to die." It was then that I realised that he wasn't starting a fight with me, he just thought I was a woman and was coming on to me. Heavily.

He continued to talk to me, peppering his conversation with "darlings," telling me that I was lovely and blew me more kisses when there was a lull in the conversation.

He then asked me what music I liked to listen to, specifically asking if I like country and western. "Kenny Rogers?" “Dolly Parton?” “Johnny Cash?” “Big Tom?” “Margo?” When I said no to all of these, he agreed and told me that I have far too much class to like that kind of music anyway. He asked me again what I like, so I told him The Beatles.

He then went on a long rant about how great the Beatles were and that I have great taste in music as I stood up to get off. Finally, he shook my hand as I got off the bus telling me that he will give me his number the next time he sees me and winked at me.

The weird thing is, I've actually had to sit next to him before on the bus. He's usually quite lecherous towards the other any girls on the bus. This was the first time he thought I was a girl though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

On the nightlink coming home top front of the bus, with two mates. Turn around the 2 eastern europeans and a girl there. The i notice one the cockbags has an army knife on his knee pointing right at me and eyeballing me. Thought i was gona die that night!. Kept taking it in and out of his combats. Swiftly got off when close to where i lived when a gang of ppl got off. Intimadating stuff, wish i had a big **** off gun to whip out, whipe the smile off the scumbags face.

My mate was on a bus one day and a dwarf got on. I think the bus driver charged him a kids fare, he was going mental. Wouldnt shut up for the journey moaning, as he was getting off some guy shouted 'hey grumpy, tell snow white i said hello' or something to that effect :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭randypriest

I was on a Bus Eireann when Gardai got on and arrested a man who put up a huge struggle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Ourlad

Domo230 wrote: »
    Mates of mine saw a Heroin addict shooting up.

Was sitting two seats away from someone smoking herion.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

a-k-47 wrote: »

My mate was on a bus one day and a dwarf got on. I think the bus driver charged him a kids fare, he was going mental. Wouldnt shut up for the journey moaning, as he was getting off some guy shouted 'hey grumpy, tell snow white i said hello' or something to that effect :)

brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭11811

I was on a bus once that apparently was going to blow up if it went under 50 miles an hour...
    Some bird was driving it too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭sells

oh yeah, i was on a bus one day standing at the front, then this old woman and her grand daughter went to get off the buss, so anyways the bus driver stoped, he must off been on his period this week aswell, but when he stopped, the grand daughter went out first then the old woman walkin slowly. The driver opened the doors, then as soon as the woman got to the door, half way out, the bus driver closed them again and they closed on her neck!!! The driver opened them a second later to wich the old woman turned around and gave him the most evil stare like to say"Im gonna kick the f*uck out of you, you prick" that stare lasted for 5 seconds, then the driver said in a smug voice ............"yes???" like he did nothing wrong....everybody thought that her head had been cut off! That made me angry but also laugh at the same time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

11811 wrote: »
    I was on a bus once that apparently was going to blow up if it went under 50 miles an hour...
    Women never could get the hang of parking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

11811 wrote: »

You just stole that from the movie "The Bus That Couldn't Slow Down".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭11811

You just stole that from the movie "The Bus That Couldn't Slow Down".

Not at all. It really happened. Honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭TriceMarie

Drunk woman thats on the bus gets up and walks up to bus driver,shouting,asking how faraway X is.Then starts having a full on DMC about how drink makes the pain go away etc.Then starts flirting with him,then arguing with him,the poor driver,I was worried he'd crash :(

While in Riga,bus driver speed up when he saw my mother crossing the road!!:eek::mad: Actually looked like he was trying to knock her down!I got so f#cking mad and started roaring after the bus,pity he prob didn't hear me,or understand me!
    Also in Riga,not in bus but taxi,the driver going pretty fast went over tram tracks,with us all hopping up and down off the roof :p was fun,and then he parkedright up on the footpath,facing in the window of hotel :rolleyes: those Latvian taxi drivers,they're gas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

Not really strange but the funniest thing thats ever happened on a bus was before me and my friends where heading to Galway for the day,I felt horrible and ended up getting sick two seats up from where we where sitting.

If that wasn't bad enough, then drunk students came on the bus,low and behold he sits on my puke and didnt even notice. In tears laughing till we got off the bus. Classic

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Somone threw a stone at the bus, (7) and it the window shattared infront of me. poor indian guy infront of me was covered in blood, and the girl 2/3 seats up was screeming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

My mom got on a bus in Dublin and started talking to the driver in a gradually-thickening Dublin accent.

She's English, lived in England all her life :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Walsh

The roof came off, Priceless moment!

A group of wierdo's were staring at me as I was having a quiet ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I got a handjob on a bus once... that was fun.

The soggy walk home from the bus stop wasn't as much fun.

Wow, me too. Wanna be friends?:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

Come to think of it the strangest thing that happened on a bus, in primary school we where on a school tour to the Ceide Fields, driving trough Ballycastle (tiny village in North Mayo) the bus took a slow,sharp left on a small one way street.

Cue the sign post slowing making its way through the window and seat where I was sitting and then BOOM! Smashed all over the place.

On a Dublin bus, at bus stop a little old lady gets on to enquire when her next bus will be arriving:

Old lady to driver: "Will the next bus be long?"

Smartass Driver: "About the same length as this one luv"

Old Lady(without a moments hesitiation): "Really? And will it be driven by a little bollicks like you?

*i nicked this off overheardindublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Walsh

http://dynimg.rte.ie/00020af510dr.jpg

Did a quick google, Thar she blow! Best excuse for being late for school ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

I watched someone more or less dip (pickpocket)(successfully), the entire lower deck of a number 7 bus, packed at Christmas. Driver not bothered.

On a bus when a wheel exploded, going through Rathmines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

It sticks in the mind though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Wow, me too. Wanna be friends?:cool:
    Yeah. We can be the soggy bottom boys and start a band!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,962 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

over night buss's in thi land :eek: storys I've heard about on them are scary :pac:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

Going on a bus from Toronto to NY. Passed through Pennsylvania and these Pennsylvanian Dutch f**king Amish people get on the bus. Lets just say they don't seem to believe in deodorant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭swapple

On a bus eireann bus, there's a fair few empty seats around me and this guy gets on and decides to sit next to me :confused:. I wouldn't really have cared until he took out this manky smelling egg salad sandwich but unfortunately the sandwich wasnt filling enough, as he proceeded to pick his nose and eat the contents unashamedly. Must've had crabs too because i've never seen someone scratch their crotch so much in the space of 30mins :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

People always smoke heroin or cannabis on the 51 B. It only happens upstairs, smells disgusting. I get the luas home now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭TirEoghain

Once in Belfast, I was on the Citybus 71 service to Malone one summers day.

Once the bus got to the end of Bradbury place, it should have proceeded up University past Queen's University and on to Malone. The driver must have been day dreaming and headed up the Lisburn Road instead, obviously thinking he was driving a 58 or 59 instead.

Lots of confused looks among the passengers all looking at each other. I approached the driver and asked him to confirm what route this bus was and he replied '59 Balmoral'.. upon which I asked him if he was sure it wasn't the 71. Half way through him replying that it was definitely a 59, he was like '**** aye, you're right..' and had to cut across one of the connecting streets to get over to the Malone Road, on ahead up past where many people would have been intending to alight from the bus, including all passengers for the Queens University.

I was going right on to Malone, so I had a good chuckle. :)