Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Official 2009 World Amateur Championships thread

• 17-08-2009 12:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭

I am looking forward to this and was going to go over to it but for one little snag of getting married.

I think the Irish squad is being annouced tommorrow so it should be interesting to see if there are any surprises

Official site

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭dbrady01

Squad announced

48Kg: (Light flyweight) Paddy Barnes (Holy Family, Belfast))
    ·51Kg: (Flyweight) Declan Geraghty (Dublin Docklands)

·54Kg: (Bantamweight) John Joe Nevin (Cavan)

·57Kg; (Featherweight) David Oliver Joyce (St Michael's Athy)

·60Kg: (Lightweight) Eric Donovan (St Michael's Athy)

·64Kg: (Light welterweight) Philip Sutcliffe (Crumlin)

·69Kg: (Welterweight) Willie McLaughlin (Illies GG, Donegal)

· 75Kg: (Middleweight) Darren O'Neill (Paulstown, Kilkenny)

·81Kg: (Light heavyweight) Ken Egan (Neilstown)

·91Kg: (Heavyweight) Con Sheehan (Clonmel)

·91+Kg: (Super heavyweight) Cathal McMonagle (Holy Trinity, Belfast)

[

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,001 ✭✭✭Big Ears

I'm also eagerly looking forward to this, we've a strong team so every chance of doing well.

However as normal I'm feeling quite pessimistic and I'm gonna say we pick up only 1 medal(although the team there is certainly capable of considerably more).

Any idea what tv channels could/will be showing this ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭jimjo

Really in truth as with all major boxing championships a lot will depend on the draw. First year of the Olympic cycle so it should be interesting.

However within saying that I feel John Joe Nevin could be our best shout, of course given a good draw. He’s been desperately unlucky of late with close fights going against him. Barnes I feel has suffered from a lack of quality domestic fights and has been a little rusty before going into comps, hope its not the same here. I wonder does Egan still have the hunger to succeed at the top after his Beijing adventures, time will tell….

It is a strong squad and hope they do they bring back 3 medals… I know I’m being optimistic but its only my opinion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,356 ✭✭✭✭walshb

There will be no gimmes at all here and the draw might make no difference
    Yes, avoiding the big boys will be helpful, but the comp is so
    high now that only the best will really stand a medal chance.

Egan I don't expect to medal, not Gold anyway.

My bet is Nevin to do the best...One medal is all I can see, sorry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭itouchmyself

48Kg: (Light flyweight) Paddy Barnes (Holy Family, Belfast)

54Kg: (Bantamweight) John Joe Nevin (Cavan)

75Kg: (Middleweight) Darren O'Neill (Paulstown, Kilkenny)

81Kg: (Light heavyweight) Ken Egan (Neilstown)

Are the best bets to medal, dont see Egan doing it myself. theres always suprises in these things and it could be Con Sheehan if the draw is kind.

And I dont know why the pick Donavon ahead of Hickey at 60kg.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 murpheile

I was of the opinion Eric deserved to be on the team, i thought he deserved his win and controlled the fight over Hickey in the nationals final. I was also at the box offs and felt Eric was hard done by to lose by a point to Hickey. I would have had him scoring more then 3 points that night.

Yeah I don't know I just feel Hickey would have a much better chance of getting a medal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭jayroyal

Yeah I don't know I just feel Hickey would have a much better chance of getting a medal.

Think your right there donovan's been there before hickey should have gotten his chance. Have to say people really overlookin sucko , o'neill.
    I.m going say
    Bronze = Sucko , O'neill, barnes
    Gold = Nevin
    Super team really think people are really overlookin the boxers if they think it only good enough for one medal :eek:
    I think mclaughlin is superb but inactive lately might be against him.

jayroyal wrote: »
    Think your right there donovan's been there before hickey should have gotten his chance. Have to say people really overlookin sucko , o'neill.
    I.m going say
    Bronze = Sucko , O'neill, barnes
    Gold = Nevin
    Super team really think people are really overlookin the boxers if they think it only good enough for one medal :eek:
    I think mclaughlin is superb but inactive lately might be against him.

We've a great team that's capable of a lot, but let's take a step back and try and put everything into perspective for a minute.

The World Championships started 35 years ago and this will be the 15th World Championships. In that time we've managed to win 5 medals......all Bronze.

Tom Corr Bronze 1982
    Michael Carruth Bronze 1989
    Damaen Kelly Bronze 1993
    Stephen Kirk Bronze 1997
    James Moore Bronze 2001

Now in 2007 the year before our extremely successful Olympics, only one of our fighters(Paddy Barnes) managed to make the quarter-finals.

It's often said it's tougher to win a medal at the World Championships than the Olympics and it's true because the only limit on the amount of competitors is one per nation rather than the 26 athletes per division at the Olympics. Although countries won't send fighters at weights where they don't feel they'll be competitive. But the point is you've to win more fights at the World's to get a medal.

The draw is hugely important and we'll only really be able to assess our guys chances once it's made. But let's not get too high on our Olympic success.
    None of our current squad have a medal at the World's and only one has a European medal(granted we've left 3 behind who picked up European medals last year).

Well, the Olympics you generally will have 5 fights, 4 with a bye.
    I think the Worlds also see 5 fights for gold. Also, the Olympics
    is the best of the best and eliminates the 'duds'....

walshb wrote: »
    Well, the Olympics you generally will have 5 fights, 4 with a bye.
    I think the Worlds also see 5 fights for gold. Also, the Olympics
    is the best of the best and eliminates the 'duds'....

The World Championships generally see you have you fight 6 fights nowdays(from 2007 onwards), the Olympics can see you fight 4 and get an easier draw.

The Olympics tries to be fair and guarantees places to an Oceanic fighter, and 6 Africans in every weight below Heavy(who are in general quite weak). The host nation is also guaranteed a fighter in every weight and the Americas get 6 places aswell. While USA and Cuban boxers are very strong, often pretty average fighters can make up the rest of the spots for the Americas. there's also two 'wildcards' who normally aren't great.

In the World Championships you would generally have all these fighters, aswell as the European fighters who have failed to make it. Europeans who failed to make the Olympics cannot be considered dead wood(or duds as you call them) as a lot of them are much tougher opponents than those that make the Olympics.

Would you consider guys like David Oliver Joyce or Con Sheehan duds ?, after all they failed to make the Olympics. Now while neither mightn't win a medal at these World Championships(I'd love if they did), it's them and other European nations version of them who make World titles so tough to win.

The Olympics only provides 6 places in each weightclass(and 3 at Heavy and above) for all of:
    Russia
    Ukraine
    Ireland
    Britain
    France
    Germany
    Hungary
    Poland
    Italy
    Turkey
    Sweden
    Spain
    Belarus
    Romania
    Greece
    Bulgaria
    Croatia
    Azerbaijan
    Georgia
    Lithuania
    Armenia
    Montenegro
    Moldova
    Finland
    Denmark
    Norway
    Portugal
    Holland
    Belgium
    Bosnia & Herzegovina
    Slovenia
    Slovakia
    Czech Republic
    Serbia
    Macedonia
    Latvia
    Estonia
    Austria
    Switzerland
    Albania

Andorra
    Liechtenstein
    Iceland
    San Marino
    Luxembourg
    Cyprus ?
    Faroe Islands

47 countries there, the bottom 7 can be ignored really. But do you think that of those 40, only 6 fighters aren't duds at each weight ?
    Frankly I think we're very lucky that boxing isn't like soccer and we don't have Kazakhstan to compete with aswell.

C'mon, I put the word dud in quotes. I know well none are duds; it is just that the Olympics also has an extensive qualifying tournie, so adding this to the mix, one could argue that
    the Olympics has many many fights to the gold medal... It's so hard to even qualify in Europe and you may have to win 4 or 5 fights before you even get to the games...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MBC

A bit of topic but "Jason Quigley claimed at least a bronze medal at the European Youth Championships yesterday...........the victory maintains the IABAs sequence of having won medals at every international tournament, including the Olympics Games, since the AIBA World Senior Championships in Chicago in October/November 2007." thats amazing.

Back on topic........the world champs is very tough.......but like always there is quite a lot of favourable people in each draw.........more so than the europeans actually..........The Russians are the heavyweights of the amateur boxing world at the moment, followed closely by Chinese and then the Cubans/kazakhs.

The nation to watch for at these worlds is the host nation.........nearly always the host nation punches above its weight......the Italians have been preparing well for these with a lot of national duals throughout 2009 (France, China, Brazil, Russia, Cuba, Germany & USA since january ).......with 91kg Russo and 91+kg Cammerelle........they are 2 very good chances of gold.

With the Irish team........i think its the strongest we have had in a very long time........not sure if 1 medal would be such a good achievement anymore......because we have been spoiled with all the success of late..........but one thing that we must all remember is that this is the 1st Major SENIOR champs for Sucliffe, Geraghty, McLoughlin and I think Con Sheehan........so for them 4 its gonna be very interesting to see how they adopt.......so may rise to the occasion......so mightn't.

Anyone know if its gonna be on TV or streaming anywhere?

MBC wrote: »
    A bit of topic but "Jason Quigley claimed at least a bronze medal at the European Youth Championships yesterday...........the victory maintains the IABAs sequence of having won medals at every international tournament, including the Olympics Games, since the AIBA World Senior Championships in Chicago in October/November 2007." thats amazing

Quigley won his Semi Final 4-0, excellent. He fights an Azerbyjani in the final.

RTÉ is providing extensive coverage of the upcoming World Boxing Championships, the European Hockey Championships and RTÉ provided similar levels of coverage of the World Swimming Championships in Rome this summer. We are attempting to stretch dwindling resources as far as we possibly can but regrettably we cannot cover every event where an Irish competitor is in action.

Above is some real good info, it was sent to a poster on the athletics thread in relation to their athletics coverage

C'mon, I put the word dud in quotes. I know well none are duds; it is just that the Olympics also has an extensive qualifying tournie, so adding this to the mix, one could argue that
    the Olympics has many many fights to the gold medal... It's so hard to even qualify in Europe and you may have to win 4 or 5 fights before you even get to the games...

When you consider qualifying then yes you could say the Olympics is harder to win. But if we're talking about just the tournament itself(which is what I meant), then I think it's tougher to medal at the World's.

Fantastic news that it's being shown on RTÉ, only right considering our success last year in Beijing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Vintagekits

RTÉ is providing extensive coverage of the upcoming World Boxing Championships, the European Hockey Championships and RTÉ provided similar levels of coverage of the World Swimming Championships in Rome this summer. We are attempting to stretch dwindling resources as far as we possibly can but regrettably we cannot cover every event where an Irish competitor is in action.

Above is some real good info, it was sent to a poster on the athletics thread in relation to their athletics coverage

European Hockey Championship - European ****in Hockey Chuntin Championship!!!

There we have a prime example of why I left that country. How many people are interested in that sport?

South Dublin based media have a lot to answer for - if anyone abroad watched Irish TV they would think that rugby, hockey and cricket are the main sports in Ireland.

To say the least I am somewhat annoyed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 murpheile

congratulations to jason quigley, won the gold in the youth championships, winning the final 6.1. great achievement.
    http://www.iabaonline.com/Latest%20News%20Blog/post/QUIGLEY-WINS-EUROPEAN-TITLE.aspx

European Hockey Championship - European ****in Hockey Chuntin Championship!!!

There we have a prime example of why I left that country. How many people are interested in that sport?

South Dublin based media have a lot to answer for - if anyone abroad watched Irish TV they would think that rugby, hockey and cricket are the main sports in Ireland.

To say the least I am somewhat annoyed.

They are covering the boxing and you are still moaming?:D

RTE for sport are very very good, okay, they cannot show everything, which
    is understandable, bu they do a damn good job with sport
    in general...Some people do enjoy hockey and rugby and cricket, we
    must allow diferent tastes from different people

TBF Rugby is a major sport in this country, however rugby and cricket are minority sports. With that said we don't get any cricket on RTÉ and the amount of publicity cricket gets in this country is probably relevant to the actual interest.

It's in the news when Ireland or playing or something major is on but other than that there's nothing.

Hockey on the other hand seems to make it on tv very regularly(for a minority sport), and gets quite a lot of media attention for a sport that isn't very popular. I think some people in high up places must enjoy the sport because it certainly isn't getting shown because of public interest.

thats bull Bren! who enjoys it? tell me - ****in D4 West Brits - remind me where the studios of RTE are?

I know no one - NO ONE - that even plays or played any of those sports - no one person.

Where is it popular - amongest who?

Like i said fair enough Roogby has gotten more popular (since I've been out of Ireland) but thats only because its pushed and pushed and pushed in the West Brit media.

Not one of the Olympic qualifiers were shown on RTE, the World Championships barely got a mention - the only am boxing we get is an hour of highlights if the national elite final - once a year - thats one hour per year - great coverage alright.

*breaths deeply*steps down of soapbox*

thats bull Bren! who enjoys it? tell me - ****in D4 West Brits - remind me where the studios of RTE are?

I know no one - NO ONE - that even plays or played any of those sports - no one person.

Where is it popular - amongest who?

Like i said fair enough Roogby has gotten more popular (since I've been out of Ireland) but thats only because its pushed and pushed and pushed in the West Brit media.

Not one of the Olympic qualifiers were shown on RTE, the World Championships barely got a mention - the only am boxing we get is an hour of highlights if the national elite final - once a year - thats one hour per year - great coverage alright.

*breaths deeply*steps down of soapbox*

Okay okay, I'll give you cricket; but c'mon, rugby is a major sport in Ireland and has been for many years and I can tell you now, I am not a 'west brit' and I love the game. The grand slam winning game vs. Wales earlier this year was one of the most gripping sport events I have ever seen.

It is also a major tv sport in Ireland and Britain with the EC and the Magniers league and add in the Six nations too. It is one of the most watched and supported sports in Ireland, and a fantastic sport too.
    I'd much prefer a good old rugger' game than a good old soccer game.

You are right about the lack of boxing, but that has changed now, and that
    is why I posted the article above. We are getting world class am boxing....

Also, the Olympic coverage from Ireland's perspective was very good.
    They did what they had to. Look, RTE are not going
    to show a lot of Amateur boxing. It is not a major sport
    like Soccer and Rugby. Blame the bloody premiership if
    you ask me; we are damn saturated with soccer every week...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭duagre

True. Like it or not Rugby has become very popular in this country. The fact that a professional game where all the best players are playing domestically exists is a testament to that. The weekly attendances for the provincial teams are really quite remarkable in all honesty. No other sport in this country draws that well on a consistent basis. It's serious business.

Think this site is gonna have a live streaming.

http://www.worldboxingmilano.org/gallery.aspx?ids=9&idgr=16

just spoke to Kenny Egan momentarily on Facebook and he said the whole team is in good spirits and ready to roll.

The Draw takes place today from 3 - 5 O'Clock Italian time...........think they are 1 hour ahead of us here.

any update on the tv coverage situation Walshy?

From AIBA website:

Roberto Cammarelle, the world and Olympic super-heavyweight champion, will take on Michael Hunter of the USA in the first round of the AIBA World Championships which get underway tomorrow at the Mediolanum Forum in Milan.

The draw was made earlier today, using seedings for the very first time. Cammarelle, seeded first, is sure to find plenty of support in his home town for what promises to be an enthralling first-round encounter.

Another home favourite, world champion and Olympic silver medalist Clemente Russo who is seeded second in the heavyweight category, faces Julio Castillo of Ecuador.

Vasyl Lomachenko of the Ukraine, winner of the Val Barker Trophy for best boxer at the Beijing Olympics, is seeded first in the 57kg category and starts his campaign against Mario Aleksic of Bosnia and Herzegovina after a bye in the first round.

Meanwhile one of Cuba's brightest stars, Carlos Banteur, also has a bye in the first round before taking on Errol Spence of the USA in another highly anticipated clash.

It was the first time in the history of the AIBA World Championships that seedings were used for the draw. The seedings have been implemented thanks to the recently introduced AIBA World Rankings, based on international results since the 2007 Chicago World Championships.

The full draw will be available on www.aiba.org later this evening. The action starts tomorrow, with three sessions of boxing per day for the first six days. The semi-finals take place on Friday 11 September with the finals the following day.

just spoke to these bhoys on facebook - Paddy Barnes got the Kenyan and Kenny Egan got the Afghan.

51Kg: Declan Geraghty (Ireland) v Manyo Plange (Ghana) (morning - last 64)
    64Kg: Philip Sutcliffe (Ireland) v Tralan Lupu (Romania) (afternoon -last 64)
    91+Kg: Cathal McMonagle (Ireland) v Thomas Markovic (Croatia) (evening - last 32)

Last 64
    54Kg: John Joe Nevin (Ireland) v Ramir Najafou (Azerbaijan) (September 2nd, morning)
    57Kg: David Oliver Joyce (Ireland) v Wuttichai Masuk (Thailand) (September 3rd, afternoon)
    60Kg: Eric Donovan (Ireland) v Dakhodir Karimov (Tajikistan) (September 2nd, evening)
    69Kg: Willie McLaughlin (Ireland) v Come Ndyishmiye (Burundi) (September 3rd, morning)
    75Kg: Darren O'Neill (Ireland) v Ranjan Shlpakar (Nepal) September (September 2nd, afternoon)

Last 32
    48Kg: Paddy Barnes (Ireland) v Peter Munka (Kenya) (September 5th, morning)
    81Kg: Ken Egan (Ireland) v Muhammad Sutani Quadir (Afghanistan) (September 6th, afternoon)
    91Kg: Con Sheehan (Ireland) v Osmai Duarte Acosta (Cuba) (September 6th, evening)

everyone seems to have gotten off lightly - I aint heard of any of them except of course Osmay Acosta - which means Sheehan should get plenty of sightseeing in Milan!

Watched the flyweights this morning live on www.aiba.org missed Gerathy though :mad: anyone know the result?

Also the light welters are starting now......Sucliffe is on 7th.

I wasnt able to log on to the site this morning. I'm watching the light welterweights now though

do you know how this is split up MBC. Is it the top half of the draw in the first player, and the bottom half playing simultaneously in the second one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭steve-collins

MBC wrote: »
    Watched the flyweights this morning live on www.aiba.org missed Gerathy though :mad: anyone know the result?

i heard on the radio that geraghty won well think it was 14 - 5 or something

great start by the youngest member of the team

Not neccessary top half/bottom half of draw........take the lightwelter division........basicly there is 24 fights to make the the last 32.......so they split them into 12 each in Ring A and Ring B

But most of the fights in the top screen will face the winner in the next fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭waterfordkick

Sutcliff just got beaten 12-5.

Sucliffe lost 12-5 :(

Sutcliffe lost 12-5 to the Romanian.........some fantastic scoring in that fight :rolleyes:

Sutcliffe should turn pro now, no point sticking around the amateurs when you're not getting a fair chance.
    Not saying he won either, but 12-5 wasn't anywhere near a fair reflection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 BayCity

Philip lost 12-5 against the Romanian:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭ivers57

Sutcliff was well beaten. Romanian was more patient and scored the cleaner punches, especially in the last. Pity expected a lot from PS. Especially with JJJ going so well at this weight in the Olympics. Think he lost on the count back to the gold medalist..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

its great to have this available on the net, fair play to the powers that be!!!! Watched Suthcliffe and his style just doesnt sit very well for the amateur code, im not one for rusing these lads into the pro game but Suthcliffe is definately one who should be channelled in that direction, a great prospect!!!

McMonagle lost last night aswell :(

Very Very Impressed with JJN after that display. 19-4 says it all.
    he has come on alot since the Olympics with his puncjing, he was always elusive but seems to have upped his strike rate and power.
    Keep up up and you never know.

Darren O'Neill will be in ring B in about 5mins if anyone wants to watch it www.aiba.org

Cant read into that too much.
    Stopped 15secs into the second round if you dont count the last standing count, when DON was 21-0 ahead.:eek:
    Could have been stopped in the first round, punishing display.
    Next up is Brekalo who won but should by beatable.

Looking at his draw DON could meet Hakobyan(ARM) after that and then the Moldovan who is a perannual bronze medalist in european comps. So definitely in with a shout of a medal. Powers go 7/1 for DON to get a medal.
    Not a bad bet due to the draw.

Ye as I said start of the thread see Darren O'Neill and jj Nevan the best hopes...

What McMonagal lose by was he stopped?

Con Sheehan has it tough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭jayroyal

ivers57 wrote: »
    Cant read into that too much.
    Stopped 15secs into the second round if you dont count the last standing count, when DON was 21-0 ahead.:eek:
    Could have been stopped in the first round, punishing display.
    Next up is Brekalo who won but should by beatable.

Looking at his draw DON could meet Hakobyan(ARM) after that and then the Moldovan who is a perannual bronze medalist in european comps. So definitely in with a shout of a medal. Powers go 7/1 for DON to get a medal.
    Not a bad bet due to the draw.
    where ya getting the prices for the lads can'y find any on paddy power website

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭jimjo

Eric Donovan won 13-4 and looked good and sharp in the process...