Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paint Protection Film

• 16-08-2009 10:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭

Do you know who and where provides this service in Ireland?
    I tried to goggle something out but the only ones that poped out was Venture Shield in Norther Ireland but that's too far away from me, I m located in Limerick.

And do you know would that stop stone chips damaging my paintwork and would it stop paint from fading? I m asking this because I have a car with non metallic Milano red colour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭vw4life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭DUBLINHITMAN

dc5 by any chance
    to get rid of stone chips you need wet sanding to protect from stone chips .
    OR ONE OF THESE
    http://www.discovery-automotive.com/portal/modules.php?name=Static_Content&id=107

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Bobo78

vw4life wrote: »

Thanks for the link, I d say I ll give them a ring tommorrow for enquiry.

dc5 by any chance
    to get rid of stone chips you need wet sanding to protect from stone chips .
    OR ONE OF THESE
    http://www.discovery-automotive.com/portal/modules.php?name=Static_Content&id=107

No it s Mazda 6 actually, so if I have protection foil such as Venture Shield applied I dont need to worrie about stone chipping any more, am I right?

depends on how well its but on and the depth of it
    thers actually new gear out that is like a sort of latex paint
    that stretches
    its getting big in the uk where lads dont spray there cars they just get this on it ,
    so it can go back to the original paint ,
    it can be polished buffed waxed left in the sun , what ever colour you want
    its about 3 grand and will protct against stone chips
    this kind of thing except its a change in colour for the whole car
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S-o1AHcpmg8
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-EpUeEKoIlQ

depends on how well its but on and the depth of it
    thers actually new gear out that is like a sort of latex paint
    that stretches
    its getting big in the uk where lads dont spray there cars they just get this on it ,
    so it can go back to the original paint ,
    it can be polished buffed waxed left in the sun , what ever colour you want
    its about 3 grand and will protct against stone chips
    i'll try get a link for ya

Thats a bit over my budget so I dont think I could afford that but still if you find the link put it so I can see more about that technology.
    Do ye know much could I be charged for getting the hole car foil protected since it s quite a big car?

i wouldn't have a clue about that sort of protection for a car
    i just detail cars and the protection that i put on a car can depend on the paint type
    and the car owners budget
    there's various sealants that will protect a paint and wax from contaminates but stone chips will only really happen once every so often'
    the only way around it that mite be cheap is to get a BRA its what most American cars have its made from leather and its common on some vag's
    audi /vw

mad name for it BRA lol