Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beyond the bleedin joke lads

• 13-08-2009 3:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭

When you click new posts half the fecking page is taken up with announcements very annoying.

now this fella has his bright red large font!

story?

picture.php?albumid=469&pictureid=3640
    Post edited by Shield on

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

What link do you use to see that page ?

My guess is that Conor is fixing something for Sparks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Ponster wrote: »
    What link do you use to see that page ?

I just click new posts.

Cheers! I had never noticed that button before :)

I know that Conor has been asked if there was a way to make them standout more so it's probably being tested...

Cheers! I had never noticed that button before :)

I know that Conor has been asked if there was a way to make them standout more so it's probably being tested...

I hope they offer a make them not standout option :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

Just click into the announcement and you wont have to see it again

Pimpey wrote: »
    Just click into the announcement and you wont have to see it again

that means i'd have to click into them all.

not gonna happen!

ntlbell wrote: »
    that means i'd have to click into them all.

not gonna happen!

Just click on the one that offends you the most and leave the rest, tis no big deal

Pimpey wrote: »
    Just click on the one that offends you the most and leave the rest, tis no big deal

I don't want to see any of them tho tbh.

I think one should have the choice :D

ntlbell wrote: »
    I don't want to see any of them tho tbh.

I think one should have the choice :D

I actually agree with that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I've updated the style of this announcement to something a little more aesthetically pleasing yet still quite obvious.

seamus wrote: »
    I've updated the style of this announcement to something a little more aesthetically pleasing yet still quite obvious.

Not bad but remember to use it sparingly. If everyone reckons that their announcement is important and we end up with a page of red threads then the point will be lost...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,417 ✭✭✭✭watty

I've been using this site about 8 years and never seen that page!

Same here !

I'm going to make 13th August "ntlbell day"

I use it all the time, it is a great page for spotting spam and new stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

watty wrote: »
    I've been using this site about 8 years and never seen that page!
    This :|

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

How do people use boards if they don't use New Posts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Where is this now? :S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

mike65 wrote: »
    How do people use boards if they don't use New Posts?
    ...was thinking that myself and how frustrated I used to get when the DB was borked and the feature was disabled...

I've still no idea what people are talking about...? Link?

I've never seen that, funnily. Thanks for the link.

...was thinking that myself and how frustrated I used to get when the DB was borked and the feature was disabled...

I was never under more stress! :pac:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Why not just use the main page? It has all the new posts without the calor... announcements.

It's paginated. You see the last 500 new posts instead of the last 20/50.

I've been browsing boards exclusively through the "new posts" link for about 7 years now (when it was working). I'm shocked that so many people have never seen it...

I still don't see how you're supposed to find it from the main page, or anywhere else.

You bookmark it. search.php is my entry page.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

New posts and subbed list is the only way I use this place, new posts is a great way of seeing all sorts of random threads that might not be in forums you would normally visit and like Pimpey said it's great for spotting spam quickly. Can't even remember the last time I used the forum index, I think it might have been the day I registered actually

posts.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Tzetze

I bookmarked; http://boards.ie/vbulletin/search.php?do=getnew
    See the new posts as soon as I get here, no clickage needed. :cool:

seamus wrote: »
    You bookmark it. search.php is my entry page.

Kind of circular logic - if you can't find it, how can you bookmark it?
    Ah, I see the New posts button now... :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Conor

Nope, Sparks did that all by himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

Another useful trick is to use this:

[noparse]http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/search.php?do=getnew&exclude=a,b,c[/noparse]

Where a,b,c are the forumid's of forums you don't want to see posts from. It can be useful if there's a large forum that gets posted in a lot that you've absolutely no interest in, e.g. I use it for the poker forums.

Same goes for if you only have a few forums you want to check, just use:

[noparse]http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/search.php?do=getnew&forumid=a,b,c[/noparse]

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I went years without noticing it myself

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Blowfish wrote: »

[noparse]http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/search.php?do=getnew&exclude=a,b,c[/noparse]

Where a,b,c are the forumid's of forums you don't want to see posts from. It can be useful if there's a large forum that gets posted in a lot that you've absolutely no interest in, e.g. I use it for the poker forums.

[noparse]http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/search.php?do=getnew&forumid=a,b,c[/noparse]

Now that is very handy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Didn't know those ones, very useful, damned lack of thanks button

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,417 ✭✭✭✭watty

posts.jpg

But if you are only interested in specific forums the new posts are top of page on those Forums and if you put those Forums in your Sub list they get a * if there is a new post. So I've not seen that page as I'd have no interest in a sitewide list of new posts. Only a really useful button on a single interest Boards like ArchosFans.

So yes I knew that button was there but since it didn't have a "don't touch" label and was obviously boring I left it alone.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I've never used that page either as I have less than zero interest in what is posted in 99% of the forums on here anyways.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

never seen such an announcement in 8 years of using this site, a big thread title about nothing!

And would'nt you know it - its borked as of 3.29 am (back up?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

mike65 wrote: »
    And would'nt you know it - its borked as of 3.29 am (back up?)

Same here. Was very confused looking at it earlier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Tzetze

Ack, new posts is broked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Cabaal wrote: »
    never seen such an announcement in 8 years of using this site, a big thread title about nothing!
    It's the biggest change in firearms licencing since the foundation of the state, it affects 200,000 people in the state (about 1 in 20 or so), and it's not a small change, it's a complete upheaval.

And I'm not exactly impressed that noone thought to ask why the announcement was made so prominent, or that Shooting was changed without notice like that either.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Was there really a need to bump this? :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Yeah - to point out to the OP that it wasn't some trivial whim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Never knew that, and I've never used this New Posts link ever either.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Never used new posts links eh, are you guys mad!