Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marcus Foley

• 11-08-2009 8:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭

just read today that he is retireing today to set up his own business,i read this about 2 weeks ago that he was doing it but was waiting for the ground to dry out so he can have he last ride on terramerique(excuse the spelling)in the 3 45 in newton abbot,the horse used to be trained by his boss nicky henderson but he is banned so oliver sherwood has it.dont know if its anything to go by but how many jockeys win when they say its there last ride i can rem when conor o dywer retired he was on a winner any way just thought let ye know i have him backed at 10s each way and he has gone into 15\2 now.

best of luck if ye back it rem its not a tip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭pro_gnostic_8

You're absolutely right!
    The number of times a jockey wins on his final ride is way above what you would expect on statistics alone. Too much of a co-incidence. Clearly the other lads in the jocks changing room make a pact to "give a retirement present".
    Ta for flagging-up this ......... I'll throw a fiver at it .............. it's a "system" that owes me nothing over the years.

Side comment> Marcus Foley's retirement is no loss to racing. Racing's integrity won't take a nosedive as a result of this!
    What is his prospective "new business" ? (Laying horses to lose on Betfair full-time?).

Although, personally, I have a liking for Orion Express E/W at 10/1 for this with young Coleman back aboard.
    Thinking I'll swerve that now due to the Terramarique factor. :confused:

FFS !
    (Orion Express wins it at 8/1 ).

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

FFS !
    (Orion Express wins it at 8/1 ).

:mad:

Sick. Unlucky.

Whats the story with Foley that you implied above ^^^^. Was he caught giving out info or something??

How goes it, Careca.

Sometimes it can be inviting trouble by posting something on a message-board that might be construed as libellous ................. so maybe a recent incident might serve better by way of example.

You might recall one of the biggest gambles of the summer -- pulled off about a fortnight ago.
    The horse involved was Secret Dancer trained by the "watched" Alan Jones, and ridden by Christian Williams. The race was at Cartmel mid-July.

Secret Dancer, who had shown no previous form whatsoever over jumps, trotted in by 9 lengths after being backed from 25's to 9/2.

It had been Pulled-Up on it's only two previous lifetime NH runs, at big prices with not a penny seen.
    On each of these two pulled-up runs it was ridden by one Marcus Foley. :rolleyes: