Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cover Gig Venue List (Mods please have a look)

• 10-08-2009 10:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭

Ok, I am not really sure what forum this should be (maybe Gigs & Events?) or even if it is a runner as an idea but see what you think.

Basically, a lot of musicians supplement their income (or their musical projects) with cover gigs.

The last year or so has (at least in my area) seen a reduction of the amount of local venues paying for bands and and increase of bands looking for gigs.

The obvious solution, if you want to maintain the amount of gigs/funds coming in is that you expand the range of how far you will travel to a gig.

This will be different from every outfit, but for the one I'm in at the moment, it means looking into gigs not only in Waterford/Tramore/Dungarvan but also looking at Kilkenny/Youghal/Wexford/Enniscorthy etc. I don't have a lot of information as to what paying venues are left for cover/tribute acts in these areas.

So....

The idea would be to create a resource where people could list what paying venues are left in their local area, what the money is like, what the gig is like and provide the business contact for each venue.

I think such a list would be of great help to people trying to get some paying gigs in a wider area. I know there are some gems of venues out there that aren't widely know about.

I would also propose to start another one for venues for original music, although information is a bit more freely available about this in my experience.

I was going to start by listing some paying venues in Waterford, but I think I will see what the Mods say first in case there are any infringements on the charter.

Cheers,

Nathan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

Good Idea,
    A list of paying venues in Ireland!!!

Cool

The Bridge Tavern in Wicklow may be one. Really don't know about Dublin City...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭frobisher

Good idea but very little to do with here. I'll push it over to Bands & Musicians to see if you get more action there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

The pubs and venues in question would be hounded more than they already are.

Anyway, such a thing already exists, it's called the Phone Book. Failing that, they have t'internet on compooters now and thins yoke called the Goooogle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Ortho Stice

Savman wrote: »
    The pubs and venues in question would be hounded more than they already are.

Anyway, such a thing already exists, it's called the Phone Book. Failing that, they have t'internet on compooters now and thins yoke called the Goooogle.

I don't know about where you live, but here only about 5% or less of pubs will have live bands in. That's a lot of wasted phone calls using the phone book method.

I reckon the names of pubs cold be listed, and then people could find the contact details themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Babooshka

It's a nice idea...but why would any cover band put up details of a venue they're getting gigs from that they negotiated to get, when that means instant competition for them? Is that not like asking one pack of lions to tell another where the local Wildebeest watering hole is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Ortho Stice

Well you can't really play at any one venue more than once every month, possibly two or the locals will just get tired of your set.

New fresh venues are very valuable to bands, and new fresh bands are very valuable to venues.

Variety is good for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Babooshka

I guess so. There are so few though now, DJ's seem to be taking over because of cost minimisation. Or 2 pieces or solo artists. Shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Avaya79

sounded like a good idea but I dont see bands sharing this kind of information. why would they...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

I don't know about where you live, but here only about 5% or less of pubs will have live bands in. That's a lot of wasted phone calls using the phone book method.

I reckon the names of pubs cold be listed, and then people could find the contact details themselves.

We have the same problem that the OP mentioned. We are based in roscommonm, but 60% of our gigs are in offaly. We pick a town, head over on a sat night around 7:30-8pm. Find a big pub, talk to the bar staff and find out if they have bands in the pub, if not, ask what other pubs in the town have bands. One pub manager gave us a few gigs, and also pointed us to 2 pubs in other towns that have bands, we have 10 more gigs this year because of him! We got a lot of gigs doing that, but it is very time consuming, and if ye get nothing out of it its a pain.

I have to agree with Savman (:eek: a first!) I would be all for this. Except maybe mentioning how much you get in each venue. That should still be up for debate. For instance, (don't shoot me here:D) A really good U2 tribute band will always get more than "Johnny and the Tornado's" style of cover bands.

By all means, compiling a list could be worth it. I would hesitate on the prices. A list I've wanted to put up for a while is a list of venues and how much they cost to hire out. It might help out bands a bit more, increase competition between bars etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Babooshka wrote: »
    It's a nice idea...but why would any cover band put up details of a venue they're getting gigs from that they negotiated to get, when that means instant competition for them? Is that not like asking one pack of lions to tell another where the local Wildebeest watering hole is?
    As I was reading the thread, this is pretty much what I thought. Nice analogy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭odonopenmic

Well you can't really play at any one venue more than once every month, possibly two or the locals will just get tired of your set.

Not in my experience - in fact, if you're not in there very regularly, i.e. at least once a week, it's very easy to be usurped by people who got the name of the bar off a list on the t'internerd. :rolleyes:

emurf1 wrote: »
    There is no venue would have the same acts once a week and anyway why would anyone want to play to same audience that often.

Hmmm, better tell that to the bar we play in twice weekly so :p And the several others that I can think of which have the same weekly entertainers, come to think of it....

As for why we would want to play at the same venue (to an audience in which we have our regulars and new people each time), we're treated well, paid well, know all the gang, generate interest for our 'originals' band and have the craic. Winner! :D

emurf1 wrote: »
    Sounds Like a holiday camp

:D It's no Mosney but it's some craic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Fandango

Papa Smut wrote: »
    I have to agree with Savman (:eek: a first!) I would be all for this. Except maybe mentioning how much you get in each venue. That should still be up for debate. For instance, (don't shoot me here:D) A really good U2 tribute band will always get more than "Johnny and the Tornado's" style of cover bands.

By all means, compiling a list could be worth it. I would hesitate on the prices. A list I've wanted to put up for a while is a list of venues and how much they cost to hire out. It might help out bands a bit more, increase competition between bars etc.
    Best value i have recently come across is The Pint Bar on Eden Quay. €150 for the venue till 2am, you keep everything at the door and usually drink promo`s also. Its not a huge place so wouldnt suit a band with a big following but would fit 80-100 id say (altho im crap at guessing these things!). Still, for bands with a decent but not huge following, it saves alot compared to playing to a half full Whelans for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭happytime

a list of all the paying venues?

taxman will be wringing his hands in delight