Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryan Tubridy and a question of division

• 10-08-2009 8:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭

Just had to sigh heavily, listening to Tubridy a few moments ago (quite by accident, was playing as I grabbed the paper from the kitchen). He was questioning, after he's spent his summer "driving around Ireland" whether there's a divide berween Dublin and the rest of Ireland, specifically the West.

Whether there is or not, does he not have any shred of self-awareness? There may well be a divide between rural and urban Ireland, but what about his tiny "class" especially, the Montrose crew, on ludicrous wages while the country is suffering en masse from this recession. The very fact that he was driving around Ireland for the past few weeks on paid leave is testament to that. He wouldn't have the "top job" in Irish broadcasting were it not for his postal address. How many non-Dublin accents do we see and/or hear from our "national" broadcaster?

*Sigh*

Rant Over, Continue with witticisms :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

He's just an irritating little man with big ears. Don't be too worried about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

And the train conductor says take a break driver 8.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Driver 8

People continually think they'll be the first with that retort ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

He's just a arse face weasel with too much money and free time. RTÉ might as well be called RTBÁC (Raidió Teilifís Baile Átha Cliath) considering the whole thing is composed of Dublin people, it's a joke of a "state broadcaster" so it is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

No offense Driver 8 but when it comes to Tubridy, RTE and co... sorry.... I switch off/over once I see or hear it on a screen or radio.

Have little time for the gathering of inept fools at Montrose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Driver 8 wrote: »
    People continually think they'll be the first with that retort ;)

Who are you calling a retort?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

The Tub is a national treasure - Irelands answer to Jay leno :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Just had to sigh heavily, listening to Tubridy a few moments ago (quite by accident, was playing as I grabbed the paper from the kitchen). He was questioning, after he's spent his summer "driving around Ireland" whether there's a divide berween Dublin and the rest of Ireland, specifically the West.

Whether there is or not, does he not have any shred of self-awareness? There may well be a divide between rural and urban Ireland, but what about his tiny "class" especially, the Montrose crew, on ludicrous wages while the country is suffering en masse from this recession. The very fact that he was driving around Ireland for the past few weeks on paid leave is testament to that. He wouldn't have the "top job" in Irish broadcasting were it not for his postal address. How many non-Dublin accents do we see and/or hear from our "national" broadcaster?

*Sigh*

I agree. I've never been a huge fan of his. He's a total tool. Maybe it's not all about his postal address. He is connected though.

ragg wrote: »
    The Tub is a national treasure - Irelands answer to Jay leno :pac:

To be fair to those that like him, I, myself find him totally unfunny but I'm sure others might.
    Its been said many, many times here. The general consensus centers around the feeling that they are either way over paid, boring, out of date, full of their own importance or all of the previous in one go.

Montrose for me is a "jobs for the boys" club.
    An expense clearly that is not needed and is crying out to be held accountable for its expenditure.
    The fact that RTE STILL REFUSES to state just how much they coughing up to their biggest 'stars' in an indication of the audacity of its directors running it.
    (The last records released in relation to wages, was two years ago. After that the bosses at RTE have remained tight-lipped. Only through leaks has some indication of costs come forth to public light.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I was hoping this was about dividing Tubridy by zero

that'd be super awesome to see

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

He is actually the illegitimate love child of Pat "the squatters rights hero" Kenny and Gay "a few jars and a spin home in my motor" Byrne. His strange features and annoying personality are the result of the well documented adverse effects of fishing in the same RTE gene pool for 'new talent'.

It never seems to amaze me that no matter what new jobs come up, we trawl through the same old morass to fill the slots.

Gay was a sh1te host for "who wants to be a millionaire"
    Tubridy will be sh1te on the late late
    Miriam is sh1te (albeit in a milf way;))
    Kathryn Thomas on winning streak?:confused: -Now it's back to mooney again:mad:

When will we ever get a new face at all.

Personally I think that, as a nation, we are a pretty witty and entertaining bunch so how do we keep getting the same old tools over and over?

It's like a friggin' cabinet re-shuffle and that is precisely the reason that i will not be paying for a TV (stands for Totally Vacuous) license for the forseeable future

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

He was questioning, after he's spent his summer "driving around Ireland" whether there's a divide berween Dublin and the rest of Ireland, specifically the West.

Wow what a deep thought. Novel too. Could Ireland's capital city be different to rural areas? I for one had never considered that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭ben bedlam

*Sigh*

give that recession crap a rest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

The very fact that he was driving around Ireland for the past few weeks on paid leave is testament to that

Oh no. Getting paid while on holiday. It is outrageous!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

the "top job" in Irish broadcasting

He's the summit of a mountain of shite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I thought this was some competition they were running on the Tubridy show or something.

Got me all excited. I'm flippin' brilliant at long division.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

When he used to do the breakfast show on 2fm, before colm & jim jim, I thought he was pretty entertaining..

Where would RTE get this fresh talent anyways?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

DamoDLK wrote: »
    When he used to do the breakfast show on 2fm, before colm & jim jim, I thought he was pretty entertaining..
    The full irish? yeah, that's right, he was very entertaining and refreshing, a really welcome change at the time. I used to ritually wake up at 6am and do homework while listening to the whole show before school.
    As an aside, on that show he had a really quite funny soap opera review girl who was actually far more entertaining than the shows she was reviewing. She was exactly the kind of person RTE needs for light entertainment but nothing ever became of her. Anybody know who she is? She was from Louth I think. Sounded cute. Then again, so did Shane O'Donoghue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

He was questioning, after he's spent his summer "driving around Ireland" whether there's a divide between Dublin and the rest of Ireland, specifically the West.
    There may well be a divide between rural and urban Ireland
    I think the problem with Tubridy is the mindset that everywhere outside the Dublin Urban Area is wilderness where in fact there are several other cities in the Republic. This mindset is what's that cause of the friction between the West and Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

I was hoping it'd be about Turbidy being divided in two by a guillotine, although his ears would never fit through it. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

There's a big divide between Dublin and the West. Its called the Shannon, now if only we could get rid of all those bridges...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭username4321

There's a sports newsreader on 2fm that sounds exactly like Tubbs, everytime he comes on I think **** that's some de-motion.

I loved the full irish breakfast show and still like Tubridy.

And to the person who said Rté should be called radio telifis baile atha cliath.
    The main HQ is in Donnybrook, surely people who get a job there have to move up to Dublin anyway?? Thus being an explanation for you thinkin that they are all Dubs.

Anne Doyle is from Wexford, Jenny Houston grew up in Canada (correct me if I'm wrong)
    Maybe it's because there are so many colleges in Dublin, graduates look for a job that's near.
    Similarly many grads from NUIG get jobs in TG4.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Im setting up a FaceBook group called " We hate Ryan Tubridy" who wants to join?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

El Siglo wrote: »
    He's just a arse face weasel with too much money and free time. RTÉ might as well be called RTBÁC (Raidió Teilifís Baile Átha Cliath) considering the whole thing is composed of Dublin people, it's a joke of a "state broadcaster" so it is.

I thought he was a weasel-faced ar$e?

DamoDLK wrote: »
    ...Where would RTE get this fresh talent anyways?

There is enough media courses (with students) in the country besides those already graduated and having to work in menial positions at station due to they not being allowed the opportunities - positions taken up by fat and skinny over paid, self-indulgent farts.

Then there is the many. many drama, communication classes, etc.
    All it takes is for some halfwit in a suit to do is look up education places in Ireland on the net alone, pick a place and go talk to those running them and ask "whom do ye recommend?"

Example of a dead easy search: HERE

Its not rocket science and there is absolute millions to be saved probably every year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 captainautumn

There's a big divide between Dublin and the West. Its called the Shannon, now if only we could get rid of all those bridges...

I get what Tubbers is on about. It's like as soon as you cross the Shannon calmness descends on you, the countryside becomes sparser and the pace of life definitely slows. I always feel that I'm in Real Ireland then, not the image-obsessed and pompous place that we had become in the last few years before the economic gloom and redundancies served to remind us that we are an insignificant rock on the Westen outposts of Europe.

Oh and on Tubridy, respect to any man who can win the heart of Aoibhinn Ni Shuilleabhain. She is smart and beauiful. He's a lucky man. He is also as skilled a broadcaster as we have at the moment, whether he is your personal cup of tea or not.

I must say boards.ie is fast becoming the natural habitat of the one species that no recession or swine flu is ever going to eradicate - The Irish Begrudger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Whether there is or not, does he not have any shred of self-awareness? There may well be a divide between rural and urban Ireland, but what about his tiny "class" especially, the Montrose crew, on ludicrous wages
    while the country is suffering en masse from this recession.

Irrelevant.
    The very fact that he was driving around Ireland for the past few weeks on paid leave is testament to that.

Get a better job.
    He wouldn't have the "top job" in Irish broadcasting were it not for his postal address.

Nonsense.
    How many non-Dublin accents do we see and/or hear from our "national" broadcaster?

Plenty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

No-one will believe this but back in 1987 at the Stephen Roche parade in O'Connell St I actually saw little Tubridy wearing a suit in the middle of the last recession. He was always like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

jealousy is a bitch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Long Onion wrote: »
    He is actually the illegitimate love child of Pat "the squatters rights hero" Kenny and Gay "a few jars and a spin home in my motor" Byrne. His strange features and annoying personality are the result of the well documented adverse effects of fishing in the same RTE gene pool for 'new talent'.

It never seems to amaze me that no matter what new jobs come up, we trawl through the same old morass to fill the slots.

Gay was a sh1te host for "who wants to be a millionaire"
    Tubridy will be sh1te on the late late
    Miriam is sh1te (albeit in a milf way;))
    Kathryn Thomas on winning streak?:confused: -Now it's back to mooney again:mad:

When will we ever get a new face at all.

Personally I think that, as a nation, we are a pretty witty and entertaining bunch so how do we keep getting the same old tools over and over?

It's like a friggin' cabinet re-shuffle and that is precisely the reason that i will not be paying for a TV (stands for Totally Vacuous) license for the forseeable future

:eek: Jaysus!!

Lot of anger in that post Jumpy.

Can I Fedex you a few chill pills?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 couch13

He is such a dork, how did he get the late late?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Wouldn't that create an infinite number of Tubridys?