Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

U.S. Open '09

• 09-08-2009 11:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭

Who's everyone's picks for the titles this year? Most of the bookies have Federer as 6/4 favourite with Murray and Nadal at 3/1 and 10/3 respectively.

Federer 6/4 Roddick 10/1
    Murray 3/1 Tsonga 22/1
    Nadal 10/3 Verdasco 50/1
    Djokovic 8/1 Davydenko 50/1
    del Potro 10/1 Soderling 66/1

I'd say Federer might win it again this year. Murray and Roddick are still threats to him. Both are great on the hardcourts and have beaten Federer in the past (not that it means much). Not sure about Nadal yet. He says that he doesn't expect much from himself at the Montreal Masters but that could just be a ploy. Only time will tell i suppose.

Women's side is more open, as usual. Naturally, the Williams Sisters rate highly. Don't expect much from Azarenka at 8/1. It's too soon for her to win a Slam and she's extremely shrieky on-court, I can't really watch her matches unless the sound is off!:P

S. Williams 2/1 Dementieva 12/1
    V. Williams 9/2 Kuznetsova 14/1
    Sharapova 13/2 Jankovic 16/1
    Azarenka 8/1 Zvonareva 16/1
    Safina 10/1 Ivanovic 18/1

Can't really see past the Williams' unless someone does something impressive. With Clijsters in the draw it could get interesting; no-one knows what to expect from her so she could cause an upset!

Should be a good Grand Slam to round off the year!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

looking forward to this should round off a good year of tennis i have a feeling roddick is going to win he has won it before so think it might be his time again.

Not really sure about the womens title could be any of the top ten i think but ill go with serena to win this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Great odds on Roddick.

I still think Federer is too strong in the grandslams though, especially hardcourt. He just one the Cincinnati tournament there aswell. He's in form.
    One of the Williams on the womens' side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭BlackMamba

Yeah, Roddick is a dark horse in the tournament I'd reckon! Also...look out for Dementieva on the womens side. She beat Serena Williams at the Rogers Cup in straight sets then went on to win the title.
    Should be interesting!!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 ocuf

Federer, Murray and Del Potro my 3 favourites.
    Nadal improved in Cincinnati from Montreal but still not up there yet.

The Men's and Women's Singles draws were made earlier today!

Fans could be treated to another Grand Slam final between Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal, as they were placed on opposite sides of the draw.

However, there will not be another all-Williams sisters final, as defending US Open champion Serena and Venus are in the same section of the women’s draw so the latest the sisters could meet is the semifinals.

Federer looks to have a relatively smooth path through the quarterfinals. His first round opponent is American wildcard, Devin Britton. Some possible tests for him include Lleyton Hewitt in the third round and James Blake in the fourth, with Nikolay Davydenko as a potential quarter-final opponent.

Also in Federer’s half of the draw are Novak Djokovic and 2003 US Open champion Andy Roddick. The Serb and American could meet in the quarterfinals, with Federer looming as a semifinal opponent.

Roddick opens against Bjorn Phau of Germany, and Djokovic opens against Ivan Ljubicic. Before meeting Djokovic potentially, Roddick could face Fernando Verdasco in the fourth round. Djokovic appears to have a much clearer path to the quarterfinals, with No. 15 Radek Stepanek the highest seeded player he could meet beforehand.

In the bottom half of the draw, new world No. 2 Andy Murray could have a potentially difficult first-round match against the talented but currently struggling Ernests Gulbis of Latvia.

To get to another final, Murray will likely have to get past Nadal, who seems to be improving by the day (but I'm not expecting much from him)

Before Nadal, Murray has another huge obstacle to overcome in the quarter finals: Juan Martin del Potro, who reached the quarterfinals of last year's Open.

This year Rafael Nadal opens against Richard Gasquet. All eyes will be on him to see what condition his knees are in and if they can withstand the hard court.

In the women’s draw, No. 2 seed Serena Williams opens up against American Alexa Glatch. The next highest seed in Serena’s quarter is Vera Zvonareva, who is coming off an ankle injury this year. The two could meet in the quarterfinals. A tough fourth-round opponent could loom for her in Samantha Stosur or Flavia Pennetta.

Venus, a two-time US Open champion, opens against Vera Dushevina, but a huge obstacle to a semifinal showdown with Serena will be 2005 US Open champion Kim Clijsters, whom she could face in the fourth round.

Clijsters is back at the US Open for the first time since her 2005 victory. After a two-year retirement, the former world No. 1 made her return to the WTA Tour this summer after getting married and then having her first child in February 2008.

For the No. 1 Dinara Safina- her path to the quarterfinals looks very smooth, with Virginie Razzano the highest seeded player she can face beforehand.

Safina could face a quarterfinal test from either Jankovic or Ana Ivanovic. Jankovic is coming off a tournament victory at the Western and Southern Financial Group Women’s Open, while Ivanovic, the 2008 French Open champion, has been struggling this year.

Elena Dementieva seems to have a difficult path to returning to the US Open semifinals this year, as a third-round match with 2006 US Open champion and Maria Sharapova looms. Dementieva just defeated Sharapova in the final of the Rogers Cup last week in straight sets.

A quarterfinal opponent for either Dementieva or Sharapova could be 2004 US Open champion and 2009 French Open winner Svetlana Kuznetsova. A semifinal match against Safina, Jankovic or Ivanovic is then possible.

Very interesting draws if you ask me!! The full list of the draws can be found on:
    http://www.usopen.org/en_US/scores/draws/ms/index.html?promo=topnav
    and
    http://www.usopen.org/en_US/scores/draws/ws/index.html?promo=leftnav

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Hope Nadal pulls off the Career Grand Slam. It'd be cool to have the two greatest contemporary players pull it off in the same year.

Would be interesting if he did win. Can't see it happening this year for him though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭Sea Devils

Murray advanced in straight sets over Gublis 7-5, 6-3, 7-5. Was actually a good match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Shane St.

Anybody know where you can get a live stream for the matches??

Shane St. wrote: »

Was looking for a live stream myself! Stuck in a house with no Sky!:mad:

Shane St. wrote: »

Try http://atdhe.net/. Got a very good stream for the Gasquet V Nadal match.

Thanks Sea Devils. Have a great stream for the del Potro match!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭anotherlostie

Big shocks in the Ladies Draw tonight.

Dementieva is out - I really thought she was a good bet for the title.

And Jankovic is gone too. After reaching the final last year, I guess her ranking will go into freefall.

Oh and Safina laboured her way to another unconvincing win. Sigh!

Was really shocked by Dementieva's exit. She was in top form in Toronto and Cincinnati. I was hoping Jankovic would pull it outta the bag this year and maybe win it.

Not surprised by Safina's (second) unconvincing win..same old same old! Can't believe she's still Number 1, the rankings system confuses me!!

Murray, Del Potro and Tsonga all through. Looking forward to Nadal V Kiefer.

Day 6 of 2009 US Open.
    Federer and Djokovic are on court at the minute, playing Lleyton Hewitt and Jesse Witten respectively. Federer 3 games to 2 up, while Djokovic is 4-2 up.
    Also on court today are Maria Sharapova (dark horse to win?), Andy Roddick (another dark horse?) and Dinara Safina (yawn!)

Roddick loses an epic 5 setter to John Isner:(. Didn't see it but apparently it was an excellent match. Foolishly didn't sky+ it so hoping there will be some highlights of it this afternoon.

Disappointed with Roddick's exit, glad now I didn't put any money on him!
    Dinara Safina also lost last night to Czech Republic's Petra Kvitova 4-6 6-2 6-7. Can't say I'm surprised by her early exit. She hasn't impressed at all at the tournament.
    Melanie Oudin claimed her second scalp of the Open by beating Maria Sharapova 3-6 6-4 7-5. I have to say I'm very impressed with her. From what I've seen she possesses the weapons to be a serious Grand Slam contender in the future.
    Azarenka also out. Beaten by the veteran Francesca Schiavone.
    The Williams Sisters are still going strong, Venus still has the heavy strapping on her leg. She plays Kim Clijsters later tonight. I'm hoping for a good match!:)

Clijsters has beaten Venus. Great to see her back. It was very topsy turvy match with two love sets (one each) and 6-4 in the third. Can she go on and make the final now?

That would be some comeback if Clijsters did win it! However, she could possibly play Serena Williams in the semis. Another interesting match to (maybe) look forward to. Serena is looking in ominous form, demolished Daniela Hantuchova in her last game.
    According to usopen.org, four out of the last five people who have beaten Venus at the US Open have went on to win the title.
    Can Clijsters become the first mother in 29 years to win the US Open?? Maybe....

Murray has just been whipped by Cilic in straight sets. Bit of a shocker there for the #2 seed. Cilic will play Del Potro in the quarters.

And Clijsters is through to the semifinals after beating Li Na, the 18th seed, again in straight sets. Fair play to her!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Aaron M

Murray was blown away by 16th seed Cilic 7-5, 6-2, 6-2. Very poor performance from Murray, but Cilic was outstanding - his forehand is huge! Murray looked very flat and way too passive.

Cilic plays Del Potro in the quarter finals.

Cilic played the best I've ever seen him play!! Amazing! I think he could be in with a chance to beat Nadal in semis if Nadal gets through!
    Clijsters is through to the semis!! Yay!!! What a comeback!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,466 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Murray needs to be more aggressive.

he may win titles that way, but you invariably get found out in a Grand Slam, because someone is always likely to raise their game at some point.

fair play to Cilic though, unbelievable display of brutal power tennis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭sadhbhc15

I've been watching it live on Eurosport UK (only sports channel I have) every night but for some reason they've no coverage tonight :mad: I was REALLY looking forward to Clijsters v Serena. Anyone know why they're not showing tennis tonight? Any idea if it's being shown on any other channels / websites?

Clijsters and Serena should be a class match! If ya wanna watch the match, there's a link on first page of this thread for live streaming of some matches! I've watched Clijsters, del Potro and Federer matches all week...great quality!

Thanks BlackMamba. Do you have to pay to watch it on those websites do you know?

sadhbhc15 wrote: »
    Thanks BlackMamba. Do you have to pay to watch it on those websites do you know?

It's all free.

Juan Martin del Potro is the first man through to the semis, closely followed by Federer and Djokovic. Due to the weather, Nadal didn't get his match finished. Men's final is pushed back to Monday now, for the second year in a row.
    Both women's semis will be played today as well!! Super Saturday...it's so on!!!:D:pac:

Nadal is through to the semis. Beat Fernando Gonzalez 7-6 7-6 6-0. Gonzo seemed to disappear in the 3rd set, played poorly tbh! Nadal played well.
    Yanina Wickmayer plays Caroline Wozniacki next. Both players are in their first Grand Slam semi-final! Clijsters vs. Williams follows it.
    Unfortunately, the womens final will be shown on Sky at 2am Sunday night/Monday morning.:( Too late for me!!

Sky atm is showing the famous Agassi-Blake five setter from a few years back. Forgot how good a match that was.

Sea Devils wrote: »
    Sky atm is showing the famous Agassi-Blake five setter from a few years back. Forgot how good a match that was.

I watched that!! Pure quality!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Hmmm Serena just got defaulted for supposedly threatening to kill one of the line judges for calling a foot fault......strange stuff altogether!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 554 ✭✭✭spongeman

And who said women's tennis was boring?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Impossible to hear what she said but crazy stuff altogether...

Serena lost the rag at the end of the match!! Threatening to kill the line judge??:O Strange stuff indeed!! This incident is taking away from the fact that Clijsters has made the final and is in with a great chance to become champion again. All this drama overshadows the tennis.

Not looking good for Nadal. Del Potro is 2 sets and 2 games up in the third set.
    The match has been closer, though, than the scoreline suggests but Nadal just doesn't seem to be hitting the winners.

I'd love to see Del Potro win the championship. He's been at the top of his game all year.

Yaaaaayyy!!! del Potro won!! 6-2 6-2 6-2!! Can't remember the last time Nadal was beaten like that in straight sets!!
    Some excellent tennis from Juan Martin...he really deserved to win!! He could definitely break into top 5 by the end of the year! And it's about time!!:D

Serena didn't say she was going to "kill" the linesman verbatim, but threatening to stuff the ball down her throat does not win you any points either. She should have repeated what Serena said, not embellish what the tennis player said.

The lines woman lied, and should never work another match, but that does not diminish Serena's lack of control.

Serena did not step over the foul line, but she should have protested in a different manner.

I agree with Sea Devils. Threatening to shove a ball down an offical's throat is not the conduct of a professional sportsperson, especially someone who is No. 2 in the world and a Grand Slam champion!
    She should have argued her case calmly and kept her cool. Maybe then the point could be replayed and things could have been different. But now we'll never know!

I've been a fan of Serena's since the beginning of her career and today's outburst seemed quite uncharacteristic of her. She let herself down on court but I think the saddest thing is how much this has overshadowed Clijster's win. She has been superb throughout this competition and I would love to see her win the final. No more than she deserves in my opinion. Come on Kim!

Federer wins it! Incredible shot by him in the final game. I won't spoil it for anyone who hasn't seen it, but it'll be on youtube soon enough no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

That was one of the best shots I've seen, ever.

Absolutely sublime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

simply sublime..

Top piece of skill ive seen in any sport, ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Again, unbelievable.

Daysha wrote: »

Again, unbelievable.

That was absolutely incredible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Superb.

Amazing, superb, incredible, fantastic, sublime!! Words can't describe how good that shot was!!! Most players put that shot out but not Federer!!
    Legendary!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Marshy

Quite impressive. Liked his dad's reaction. :D

Hope Del Potro wins the final all the same! :p

And not to forget mention of Clijster's amazing run to victory in the tournament. It was almost an afterthought given that the men were playing, and that her opponent, while a top 10 player, was not a Venus or Serena. Fair play to her, and she is now ranked #19 having had no ranking a fortnight ago. And in good news for Belgium, Wickmayer is ranked #22 after her run to the semis.