Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Irish life fun?

• 07-08-2009 7:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭

I'm bored of England. Could there be more interest in Irish life?
    Is the culture still distinct? Would it be weird being English there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

I never found it fun tbh, in a general sense, like I never had any interest in bantering or drinking, sport etc. Irish culture is like an echo of English culture in many respects. On the continent cultures are interesting though. The anglo american culture had some very cool aspects, in terms of films and music but now its just decadent, faux omniscient and self indulgent. I don't identify with it at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭ANTIFA!

Yeah its good and very fun. Depends who you know though, alot of people I know are boring **** who have no get up and go at all, but thankfully I have friends who are active and do stuff every weekend like rock climb, go to watch our league of ireland soccer team, just skateboarding at night in the city(Dublin) I'm sure UK is cool as well if you know the right people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Affable

I never found it fun tbh, in a general sense, like I never had any interest in bantering or drinking, sport etc. Irish culture is like an echo of English culture in many respects. On the continent cultures are interesting though. The anglo american culture had some very cool aspects, in terms of films and music but now its just decadent, faux omniscient and self indulgent. I don't identify with it at all.

How do you mean anglo-American? American and English culture are totally different. What do you mean by faux omniscient? and self-indulgent how?

I think I may agree as I think it's gone a bit transatlantic naval gazing and crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭turgon

I dont know. Do you like drinking too much alcohol for you puny body, getting absolutely hammered and going around making a complete idiot of yourself? Do you like getting in drunken fights with other people and members of the Gardaí while in a completely intoxicated state? Do you like getting sick in drains, toilets, taxis, handbags and other peoples footwear? If so, Irish culture is for you.

Not to be over exaggerating it, but getting absolutely pissed is a big part of the Irish culture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

Not to be over exaggerating it, but getting absolutely pissed is a big part of the Irish culture.

as it is English, Nordic and Australian cultures. And the best parts of America.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I got the impression you lived here, Affable?? Did you live here at some stage?

Tbh, I find the most restrictive thing about the Irish lifestyle is the weather. Other cultures on the continent and elsewhere in the world make the most of their great weather...bbqs outside, outdoor sports, skiing, hiking, lazing around on the beach. If we get a nice day here in Ireland, people seem to either pile into beer gardens for the day and get p*ssed (which I'm not denying I like to do myself) or else make a hasty beeline to the nearest park, historical ruin, mountain, field etc and do the touristy thing because they either feel they have to do it now because it could rain tomorrow or they just feel that's what they SHOULD do on a nice day. There's a sense of urgency on a nice day in Ireland and people tend to go into overdrive trying "to make the most of a nice day", which drives me nutty. It's nobody's fault and I do it myself but there's no need in countries that have a Summer.

Now I've been corrected before on this claim but I do believe you're somewhat restricted in Ireland in your choice of things to do if you don't drink. I meet up with most of my friends in the evenings to go for a drink or 4 and that's how we socialise. My friends are not p*ssheads...they're (not me!) all in good jobs but besides from the occasional visit to the cinema, theatre, outdoor culture festival (which are all usually followed by pints), we go to the pub to catch up. That's all well and good but there's really very little else to do in a pub but get a bit merry. I do enjoy this though so I can't knock it. I'm beyond the point that I enjoy getting very drunk but I still enjoy having a few Smithwicks and the banter with my friends.

The main thing I love about Ireland and what I'm going to miss when I move away in a few weeks is the conversation. The Irish love to talk and I've lived in England for 3 years and found I had to bite my tongue a lot over there. The Irish don't really hold back or at least people I know don't. We've established that most of Irish socialising is done in the pub although with the recession and prices of drinks remaining in and around the same price, people are opting for house parties....not a fan personally because the one difference I found between socialising in both countries was the ability to chat to anyone about anything just for the sake of having a good conversation and a laugh. I found it very difficult to strike up random chats in pubs in England, particularly as a female.

Saying all that, if Ireland was a country with proper seasons, I'd never leave the place. We have everything here that I'd ever want in life...beautiful scenery, decent people, strong sense of culture and history but the weather has such a strong affect on moods and our lifestyle...I honestly believe if we had better weather, there wouldn't be so much talk about this bloody recession. We're a nation of moaners and cynics (quite like the English!) but I would say a huuuuge amount of that comes down to the weather...and i'd say our consumption of alcohol would drop dramatically. Game of football...have a beer...long walk...have a beer...game of tennis/basketball...have a beer...bbq..have a beer instead of nothing to break up our drinking sessions but another beer.

So to sum up, I think you'd find Ireland more laid-back and a little less restrictive...a little more lawless (I found the nanny state in England too much to take, tbh) but you're probably as restricted here with regards to choice of activities beyond the pub.

That's my experience anyway.

turgon wrote: »
    I dont know. Do you like drinking too much alcohol for you puny body, getting absolutely hammered and going around making a complete idiot of yourself? Do you like getting in drunken fights with other people and members of the Gardaí while in a completely intoxicated state? Do you like getting sick in drains, toilets, taxis, handbags and other peoples footwear? If so, Irish culture is for you.

In England too....

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    I got the impression you lived here, Affable?? Did you live here at some stage?

Tbh, I find the most restrictive thing about the Irish lifestyle is the weather. Other cultures on the continent and elsewhere in the world make the most of their great weather...bbqs outside, outdoor sports, skiing, hiking, lazing around on the beach.

You're entitled to your opinion but that is bull.

The problem in Ireland is that people are obsessed by the weather and won't do anything. The weather in Amsterdam is nearly the exact same as Dublin.

I agree with AntiFa.

Firstly Dublin is a dry city. There are plenty of wetter cities in the world. Secondly, with the exception of a massive downpour there is no way that a showery day, or a mildly wet day, should stop any kind of activity. I happen to like cliff walks in the rain, for instance. The only time this year I found it a pain to go for a big hike was the real hot humid bit.

BBQS = over-rated.

EDIT:

And remember a "wet" day in Summer can mean the morning only, or the evening only, or the afternoon. The day is long, we live far north, we have later sunsets than the English. Generally stuff can be done.

So to sum up, I think you'd find Ireland more laid-back and a little less restrictive...a little more lawless (I found the nanny state in England too much to take, tbh) but you're probably as restricted here with regards to choice of activities beyond the pub.

You have to be very very careful about generalizing about England, or the UK. Clearly you were not in Newcastle, for instance. So where were you? London?

One thing the English do better is Dinner parties, I mean they are more common and therefore, less formal. Also better than a pub in my opinion ( but getting drunk is the aim, too).

I have noticed any tendency to overt political correctness - except amongst the obvious bores - in Endland more than Ireland. Obviously out and out racism is frowned upon, which is good for Paddys these days - though they tend to have a residual dislike of Catholicism.

ANTIFA! wrote: »
    You're entitled to your opinion but that is bull.

The problem in Ireland is that people are obsessed by the weather and won't do anything. The weather in Amsterdam is nearly the exact same as Dublin.

I've been to Amsterdam and had to sit indoors and either drink or get stoned all day because of the constant downpour...and most other people did the same. We cycled out to a windmill in the pissing rain...but it was miserable.

The Irish are obsessed by the weather because it's sh*t and I'm sorry, even if it's not raining outside, the dark, looming clouds outside are a turn-off. If you ignore the weather, you're in the minority...that's my point.

asdasd wrote: »
    You have to be very very careful about generalizing about England, or the UK. Clearly you were not in Newcastle, for instance. So where were you? London?

One thing the English do better is Dinner parties, I mean they are more common and therefore, less formal. Also better than a pub in my opinion ( but getting drunk is the aim, too).

I have noticed any tendency to overt political correctness - except amongst the obvious bores - in Endland more than Ireland. Obviously out and out racism is frowned upon, which is good for Paddys these days - though they tend to have a residual dislike of Catholicism.

I lived in London and the midlands and you're right, London was different...but it's still England and a very large proportion of the population live there.

See dinner parties are grand...I like them but they're still INDOORS and still involve getting p*ssed!! I'm not a fan of being stuck indoors all the time (this is why I'm moving)

asdasd wrote: »
    I agree with AntiFa.

Firstly Dublin is a dry city. There are plenty of wetter cities in the world. Secondly, with the exception of a massive downpour there is no way that a showery day, or a mildly wet day, should stop any kind of activity. I happen to like cliff walks in the rain, for instance. The only time this year I found it a pain to go for a big hike was the real hot humid bit.

BBQS = over-rated.

EDIT:

And remember a "wet" day in Summer can mean the morning only, or the evening only, or the afternoon. The day is long, we live far north, we have later sunsets than the English. Generally stuff can be done.

Fair enough but you're in the very small minority!! We have an obesity problem here for a reason you know. People get lazy on wet or dull days...sad but true...and I'm not comparing Ireland to countries with worse weather, I'm comparing it to countries with BETTER weather.

Obesity is one the rise all throughout Europe. Norway a country which boats one of the wettest cities in europe(Bergen) has the lowest rate of obesity in Europe.

Greece and Australia has higher ammount of obesity than Ireland, countries with presumably your ideal weather.

I'm not saying it isn't great to live by the sea with constant sun but i think you're being a bit idealistic. weather doesnt make or break a place imo. aspects culture i have a problem with in ireland not the weather. as i said in my first post it depends who you know and what age you are.

Obesity is one the rise all throughout Europe. Sweden a country not blessed with exactly wonderful weather at least not in the Spain/Australia sense has one of lowest rates in EU.

Greece and Australia has higher ammount of obesity than Ireland, countries with presumably your ideal weather.

Your opinion but I find your opinion the opinion of the minority....not everyone likes hiking in the p*ssing rain.
    I find the weather in Ireland restricts me from doing everything I want to do and so do a lot of people I know...Sweden has a Summer, Greece has a Summer, Australia has a Summer...I'm not only talking about outdoor sports...not everyone is outdoorsy, only a minority....I'm talking about lying on a beach, bbqs (which I personally rate), more outdoor festivals, parties, more hiking and outdoor rambling that doesn't require full waterproof gear.

You're getting defensive about Ireland...I love this country and love living here BUT (and I know I'm not alone in saying this) the weather is a f*cker. I like sunshine, I don't like grey clouds, I don't like not knowing what to wear every morning...yes we moan a lot about the weather in this country but so do non-nationals and tourists....it's just the way it is.

Well i was just referring to your point about obesity and the fact that in countries with 'great' weather they have higher obesity rates than Ireland.

You live in Dublin? I really don't believe it. I've gone swimming like basically 4-5 times a week down the 40ft this summer. I always just wear a t-shirt strolling around town. Yes the lack of sun is crap but you'd think it was non-stop rain.

I was in san fransisco last year and the weather was freezing at night, last night i went to see bohemians vs cork city with my family and it was an absolutely cracking evening, much milder than san francsico.

me defending ireland? you probably have more 'love' for it than i do but i can see what it has to offer and imo its the people who let it down, not the climate.

Well i was just referring to your point about obesity and the fact that in countries with 'great' weather they have higher obesity rates than Ireland.

You live in Dublin? I really don't believe it. I've gone swimming like basically 4-5 times a week down the 40ft this summer. I always just wear a t-shirt strolling around town. Yes the lack of sun is crap but you'd think it was non-stop rain.

I was in san fransisco last year and the weather was freezing at night, last night i went to see bohemians vs cork city with my family and it was an absolutely cracking evening, much milder than san francsico.

me defending ireland? you probably have more 'love' for it than i do but i can see what it has to offer and imo its the people who let it down, not the climate.

Well the obesity point has nothing to do with what I'm talking about anyway. Ireland does have an obesity problem but that was just a side note and not anything to do with if our lifestyle is fun or not so I'll leave it out, if you don't mind...although I will add that if I was obese, I'd feel motivated to get outside in Oz or Greece to loose the weight than Ireland.

I do indeed live in Dublin but we're obviously having a different Summer over here on the Northside (I hear everything is better over on your side)! It's rained almost everyday the past few weeks and unfortunately like a majority of the population of Ireland, I work full time and don't get home 'till 7.30 most evenings so swimming 4-5 times a week is not an option. I depend on the weekends and I'm looking out my window right now and it's turned from dull to bright to dull again since I got up this morning. Granted, it is a beautiful day and the Summer HAS been pretty good by Irish standards but it's the lack of predictability that drives me nutty.

Also...I'm talking about IRELAND...lets not be typical Dubs here and keep this debate restricted to our own county. The West of Ireland and the midlands have it even worse (or better if you love rain).

I hear what you're saying though...we shouldn't let the weather stop us..but it does stop the majority and unless the OP is massively into outdoor sports in unpredictable weather conditions, he'll find himself restricted. That's my point. The country caters for the wants and needs of the majority...and that's where there's soooo many pubs in this country and not that many public parks with free sports facilities, say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

I'm talking about IRELAND...lets not be typical Dubs here and keep this debate restricted to our own county

As a Dub, I'd prefer if you spoke for yourself!

The main thing I love about Ireland and what I'm going to miss when I move away in a few weeks is the conversation. The Irish love to talk and I've lived in England for 3 years and found I had to bite my tongue a lot over there. The Irish don't really hold back or at least people I know don't. We've established that most of Irish socialising is done in the pub although with the recession and prices of drinks remaining in and around the same price, people are opting for house parties....not a fan personally because the one difference I found between socialising in both countries was the ability to chat to anyone about anything just for the sake of having a good conversation and a laugh. I found it very difficult to strike up random chats in pubs in England, particularly as a female.

Saying all that, if Ireland was a country with proper seasons, I'd never leave the place. We have everything here that I'd ever want in life...beautiful scenery, decent people, strong sense of culture and history but the weather has such a strong affect on moods and our lifestyle...I honestly believe if we had better weather, there wouldn't be so much talk about this bloody recession. We're a nation of moaners and cynics (quite like the English!) but I would say a huuuuge amount of that comes down to the weather...and i'd say our consumption of alcohol would drop dramatically. Game of football...have a beer...long walk...have a beer...game of tennis/basketball...have a beer...bbq..have a beer instead of nothing to break up our drinking sessions but another beer.

That's my experience anyway.

Yeah, laid back, freindly, I guess maybe more soul in life is what I'm after. Though tbh the weather doesn't remotely bother me. I think the weather in England is fine, specially south-east/Brighton Kent etc. Yes we are quite reserved and cold I guess. I've noticed the difference even between Irish I've met here and people I grew up with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭turgon

I think it would be safe to say that Irish people are a lot more friendly than others. Ive been abroad only a small bit so I cant speak too broadly though.

definetly in a lot of ways i would agree with that, at surface level anyway.

NickNolte wrote: »
    As a Dub, I'd prefer if you spoke for yourself!

WooooOOOOooooo...I meant to say stereotypical....

I think it would be safe to say that Irish people are a lot more friendly than others.

I always found English people to be very friendly to be honest. Once you leave the big cities (in England or Ireland) people are generally very friendly. I find Dubliners and Londoner can be quite arrogant and rude. Same as most cities I suppose.

As a Dub, I'd prefer if you spoke for yourself! ;)

That doesn't make any sense.

Does it not? Not sure why you purposely try to pick arguments with me Nick. It's pathetic. :rolleyes:

Right, let me explain for you: you made a generalisation about people from Dublin...you said you found us to be rude and ignorant just like I my generalisation about Dubs been quite myopic when they talk about Ireland (in that they focus in on Dublin). I am picking you up on something just like you did with me. Childish but hey!

Does it not?

No. I said that I find Dubliners can be very rude and arrogant, certainly in comparison to the rest of the country. You said that typical Dubs are all insular and only concerned with their own county. Big difference. But of course you meant to say something else so that's ok. :)

One strange thing is that I have an English surname which is common in Ireland, for an English name that is. It may even be the most common English name there though I'm no expert. It comes from the North West.
    Not really relating to that, but also, I just wonder if there's any validity in the instinct that you come from somewhere else, genetically, spiritually, culturally.

No. I said that I find Dubliners can be very rude and arrogant, certainly in comparison to the rest of the country. You said that typical Dubs are all insular and only concerned with their own county. Big difference. But of course you meant to say something else so that's ok. :)

If I make that kind of comment, of course it's my opinion!! What else am I basing it on? It's my opinion but it's also a stereotype as is your comment...so no difference. Anyway Nick...stick to the OP's question on don't bring it to a debate about whether Dubs and Londoners are friendly or not.

Cork, south west looks well nice.

Affable wrote: »

Besides from all the debate about who's nicer or not (which is never ending), you'll find that Ireland is less over-populated than England. What's the population of England? 54 million or something? We've only got a fraction of that and if you leave the cities, you'd probably be surprised at how untouched a lot of the countryside is. My English friend who lives in the North West loves that about this country. It's very easy to find peace and quiet in Ireland away from the masses whereas I found that any beauty spot always had a sizeable crowd of tourists floating about when I lived in England.

Yeah. That'd be good. Maybe also, I'm looking for more patriotism/community, and not the slight ignorance/arrogance the south-east culture has.
    Is it patriotic? Cos I hated kids at school who had no concept of Britian and just spout black American culture.

If I make that kind of comment, of course it's my opinion!! What else am I basing it on? It's my opinion but it's also a stereotype as is your comment...so no difference.

Yeah. Big difference. Until you backtracked of course.
    Anyway Nick...stick to the OP's question on don't bring it to a debate about whether Dubs and Londoners are friendly or not.

The guy asked the question, I'll answer it any way I please, thank you very much.

I find that cities are colder, less friendly places than more rural areas. This goes for Dublin, London, New York, Paris, Rome, etc. The pace of life is faster, people have less time for each other and the 'city boy', each man for himself attitude is more prevalent - as is coporate greed/complete asshole culture which doesn't help. Dublin is no different.

OP - my point, basically, is that you may want to consider moving somewhere other than a large city. Particularly if you haven't lived in a city before.

Yeah. That'd be good. Maybe also, I'm looking for more patriotism/community, and not the slight ignorance/arrogance the south-east culture has.
    Is it patriotic? Cos I hated kids at school who had no concept of Britian and just spout black American culture.

Don't forget a lot of Irish patriotism can be very anti-English...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Shane St.

No

Don't forget a lot of Irish patriotism can be very anti-English...

Fair enough. I guess I'm just looking for somewhere that is spirited and not pretentious and where people are not afraid to show they give a ****.

Yeah. Big difference. Until you backtracked of course.

The guy asked the question, I'll answer it any way I please, thank you very much.

I find that cities are colder, less friendly places than more rural areas. This goes for Dublin, London, New York, Paris, Rome, etc. The pace of life is faster, people have less time for each other and the 'city boy', each man for himself attitude is more prevalent - as is coporate greed/complete asshole culture which doesn't help. Dublin is no different.

OP - my point, basically, is that you may want to consider moving somewhere other than a large city. Particularly if you haven't lived in a city before.

Still can't see a difference Nick, whether I backtracked or not...for me to say it's a typical trait of a Dub is still MY opinion, not a fact... but then you go out of your way to be at logger head with me anyway so meh!

Yep, cities by their very nature are more unfriendly but Dublin is not as cold or unfriendly as the big cities you named...maybe it would be better to compare Dublin to Manchester or Newcastle?? I would agree that without a shadow of a doubt, people living in rural Ireland are some of the friendliest people I've ever come across. I'm actually blown away by their lack of hesitation to just strike up a conversation with me...I love it.

Fair enough. I guess I'm just looking for somewhere that is spirited and not pretentious.

Rural England? Maybe..I dunno...Yorkshire??

Yeah, there's Manchester also I guess. Maybe I'm just bad at fitting in generally.

Nah affable it depends, where I go to school nobody would care about 'patriotism' but I wouldn't think Black American Culture is big in Ireland, more stereotypical californian surfer culture.

I've always got the impression that for a lot of Irish people, the UK wouldn't really be 'foreign' maby because we know so much about you because your culture is the dominant culture here, but in the reverse, people from UK probably don't know too much about Ireland or the real Ireland anyway so Ireland might seem more alien.

Still can't see a difference Nick, whether I backtracked or not...for me to say it's a typical trait of a Dub is still MY opinion, not a fact... but then you go out of your way to be at logger head with me anyway so meh!

Eh... no. But I'll let you have the last word or this will go on forever.
    ANTIFA! wrote:
    Nah affable it depends, where I go to school nobody would care about 'patriotism' but I wouldn't think Black American Culture is big in Ireland, more stereotypical californian surfer culture.

While a lot of Irish culture is still evident, as a society we are completely Westernised now. My generation and the generations after me have been so heavily influenced by American culture that there's not a huge amount of distinction between US kids and Irish kids these days from what I can see.

Californian Surfer Culture (the fashion and language) is prevalent among the middle class of Irish young people and that Californian twang in the accent is very much exclusive to certain parts of the country from what I've observed...middle/upper class areas in South Dublin being the main perpetrator of it, so I'd probably avoid this area if you don't want to have to gouge your eardrums out with a fork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

Its only as big a part as you want it to be. As an Australian living in Ireland its not a part of my life, everything depends on your social circle and their interests.

In fact that scenario is completely outside my experience, where I intend it to stay.

Californian Surfer Culture (the fashion and language) is prevalent among the middle class of Irish young people and that Californian twang in the accent is very much exclusive to certain parts of the country from what I've observed...middle/upper class areas in South Dublin being the main perpetrator of it, so I'd probably avoid this area if you don't want to have to gouge your eardrums out with a fork.

Sounds annoying. http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-4886091105289744859

I get a poetic view of Ireland from stuff like this. Or Roddy Doyle, or whatever else. But maybe these days. you are just going like us ie naff and American.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

except it rains twice as much here in the west than Dublin, and yes i lived in D for a while

Whats' crime like? Where is safe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

We've only got a fraction of that and if you leave the cities, you'd probably be surprised at how untouched a lot of the countryside is. My English friend who lives in the North West loves that about this country. It's very easy to find peace and quiet in Ireland away from the masses whereas I found that any beauty spot always had a sizeable crowd of tourists floating about when I lived in England.

The countryside in Ireland is untouched by all but the Irish Farmers' Association, Bord Na Mona, and Coillte.
    Fair enough. I guess I'm just looking for somewhere that is spirited and not pretentious and where people are not afraid to show they give a ****.

In some parts of Dublin, notably the Liberties and Rathmines among others the counterculture is there and accessible. Rural living might be more your thing like it is for many English people living here (west Cork is Cornwall 2 these days).

I think that Irish culture is much more alive than English culture is in England. Primarily in traditional music and the GAA.

Crime is low in Ireland as a whole. Some areas of the cities are as usual blackspots.

Húrin wrote: »
    In some parts of Dublin, notably the Liberties and Rathmines among others the counterculture is there and accessible. Rural living might be more your thing like it is for many English people living here (west Cork is Cornwall 2 these days).

I think that Irish culture is much more alive than English culture is in England. Primarily in traditional music and the GAA.

Crime is low in Ireland as a whole. Some areas of the cities are as usual blackspots.

West Cork is Cornwall 2? Oh that sounds bad. Lots of entitled type 'yahs' you mean?

Re crime-people paint places like Cork like they are rough as hell, but tbh maybe they are no worse than English cities. Tbh Manchester and London are probably worse re drugs and gangs. I think Dublin's murderrate is about that of Paris/London.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

West Cork is Cornwall 2? Oh that sounds bad. Lots of entitled type 'yahs' you mean?
    Not sure what yahs are. No i've never actually been to Cornwall. But West Cork like it is a beautiful area, with peninuslas and a coastline. It also has plenty of counter cultural English people living there.
    Re crime-people paint places like Cork like they are rough as hell, but tbh maybe they are no worse than English cities. Tbh Manchester and London are probably worse re drugs and gangs. I think Dublin's murderrate is about that of Paris/London.
    I would expect that most places in cities in Ireland are slightly safer than Manchester and London.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

I'm bored of England. Could there be more interest in Irish life?

No. Both cultures are too alike to be able to recognise a positive difference between them.