Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ciaran Whelan unlikely to play for Dublin again: who will replace him?

• 06-08-2009 3:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/0806/1224252080551.html

By the sounds of things, Gilroy was all over the place, and his dropping of Whelan and Ryan was pure idiocy :(. Initially I thought Gilroy was onto a winner in that he was keeping his big guns for the important games, but the alarm bells rang when he Whelan and Ryan were on the bench against Kildare. There was no way they'd be up to speed for the quarters.

Who will replace Whelan? While I do rate Darren Magee, I don't rate Ross McConnell. What ever happened to Eamon Fennell...I thought he was destined to make a big impact this summer? Is he injured?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭IRockUrSocks

There has been a behind the scenes political struggle in the Dublin camp for some years now. Some of the more senior players had an influence in Pillars team selection so many of the starters since the early 2000's have been guaranteed their place. For too long, the selectors have chosen players based on their names and not their form.

The team we witnessed on Monday afternoon is not the best Dublin county football has to offer. So many Vincents regulars mainly because of Gilroys connections with the club. There are great players in the clubs dotted throughout the capital but they don't get a look in, why?

Names that spring to mind is the U21 captain Cian O' Sullivan, Barney Rock's son, Dean, and Kevin Nolan. Dennis Bastick is a fish out of water in defence, it's not his natural position and Brian Cullen has always shown more promise as a forward than in the midfield role.

On Monday, Gilroy got his tactics wrong and the team as a whole, just didn't perform. I say out with the old, in with the new. Bring those juniors up to the senor panel, because if the same squad is selected for next years campaign, it'll be more August heartbreak. If Pat Gilroy and Whelan can't do that, then bring in someone who will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/0806/1224252080551.html

By the sounds of things, Gilroy was all over the place, and his dropping of Whelan and Ryan was pure idiocy :(. Initially I thought Gilroy was onto a winner in that he was keeping his big guns for the important games, but the alarm bells rang when he Whelan and Ryan were on the bench against Kildare. There was no way they'd be up to speed for the quarters.

Who will replace Whelan? While I do rate Darren Magee, I don't rate Ross McConnell. What ever happened to Eamon Fennell...I thought he was destined to make a big impact this summer? Is he injured?

Gilroy is been slated elsewhere for being too loyal to the same old players who have continually failed and not introducing enough new players, looks like he cant win either way, and to be fair in realtion to the two players above Whelan wasnt able for 70 mins 5 years ago never mind now and Shane Ryan has been a hurler mascarading as a footballer for far too long, he just doesnt convince as a natural footballer at all everything looks forced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

whelan hasnt really been good enough for the last few years.i thought gilroy was using him the right way,he wasnt good enought to start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Eamonn Fennell has been injured this summer. Im quite certain that he will be back around next summer. Equally, names like Davoren, Vaughen, and O Carroll will equally be getting a look in other positions.

I do hope Shane Ryan stays around. He is great when breaking ball is concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Dublinproud

There will never be another Whelo but the closest thing we have right now is Fennell,until his club situation gets sorted we wont be seeing him in the Blue and Navy.Judging by this year Rhino does not figure in the current managements plan.I personally hoope he walks away and goes back to the hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭mattym

I'm not going to start "dub bashing" here, but why did a man who was on his day brilliant, keep having moments of madness with his elbows. As a Meath man i dreaded seeing him playing against us because he really was a match winner, something i think the dubs are lacking at the moment. And dont get me wrong, we havent too many of them ourselves in Meath!!! Down through his career he has avoided more red cards that i care to remember, i think referees had a fear of sending him off for some reason??? A great player but he wont be missed...

mattym wrote: »
    I'm not going to start "dub bashing" here, but why did a man who was on his day brilliant, keep having moments of madness with his elbows. As a Meath man i dreaded seeing him playing against us because he really was a match winner, something i think the dubs are lacking at the moment. And dont get me wrong, we havent too many of them ourselves in Meath!!! Down through his career he has avoided more red cards that i care to remember, i think referees had a fear of sending him off for some reason??? A great player but he wont be missed...

I'll just ask you this...Do you miss Graham Geraghty? Every team has players of immense talent that does questionable things.Whelo was sought out for special treatment by many teams and reacted sometimes.Most times with Whelo it was out of frustration and who can blame him? Bleeding Blue and Navy for years and still only a few crappy Leinster medals to show for it...very sad.

Yes we do miss Graham Geraghty and from the Dubs i know, you would have the same feelings for him that we would for Mr. Whelan. And yes Graham did many "questionable" things duing his career but please, how many time did Whelan get away with swinging elbows, the damage he could have done with any one of them is frightening. I'm not going to mention any instances because between the 2 men in question, we could go on all night swapping examples. I think in most cases it was not provoked and maybe if he put his "frustrations" into playing football he might have gotten an All Ireland medal at some stage...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,258 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

I'll just ask you this...Do you miss Graham Geraghty? Every team has players of immense talent that does questionable things.Whelo was sought out for special treatment by many teams and reacted sometimes.Most times with Whelo it was out of frustration and who can blame him? Bleeding Blue and Navy for years and still only a few crappy Leinster medals to show for it...very sad.
    Crappy leinster medals??????

now you are insulting the leinster championship? HOW VERY DARE YOU!

thats whats wrong in dublin football you are fixated on sam maguire and still getting further away from realising winning an all ireland!

and 5 leinster championships is sad why?

in my opinion now you know very little about our game as if you did you wouldnt have said that:mad:

btw whelan has no excuses for his actions against kerry or any other team -his behaviour is a disgrace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Dub973

Being from the same club as whelo I have huge respect for the man. For both club and county he plays his heart out everyday. And in regards to his 'elbows'...this adds to his success,he's not going to be pushed around by and wimps from Meath,Kerry you name it. He is one of the most feared midfielders in the country because of his hard-hitting and dominance.

Please stat whelo-you'll never be replaced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

I thought Fennell couldn't get a club?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Dub973 wrote: »
    in regards to his 'elbows'...this adds to his success,he's not going to be pushed around by and wimps from Meath,Kerry you name it. He is one of the most feared midfielders in the country because of his hard-hitting and dominance.

Being "hard" are being "dirty" are not the same thing

Orizio wrote: »
    I thought Fennell couldn't get a club?

Eamon fennell has a three year ban from Dublin club football because of his attempt to transfer to vincents. He is training by himself without a club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭DancingQueen:)

Shane Ryan was dropped ? :eek::(

Being "hard" are being "dirty" are not the same thing

You don't no the man. Ciaran is an absolute gentleman on the pitch and he's alot harder than any meath man I know....actually harder than anyone I know

so come back when you have something that is actually correct

You don't no the man. Ciaran is an absolute gentleman on the pitch and he's alot harder than any meath man I know....actually harder than anyone I know

FYI I am free to air my opinion on Ciaran Whelan in this thread if I want, it is not up to you to decide who can and cannot post here.

In relation to the actual content of your post other posters were talking about him being dirty and you answered this by talking about him being hard. I am just highlighting the difference. Anyway I do not know the man personally, but if I was compiling a list of the "hardest" GAA players he would not be a name that springs to mind automatically.

If Whelan feels that he will not be playing that much for the county team then I could not blame him for retiring. He has given years of service and I am sure has put in countless hours training, maybe it is time to let someone else take over.

Very intelligent posts i must say dub973!!!!!! Would you encourage juvenile players to use their elbows to add to their success??? As i said in my first post, he was a great player, but could have been so much better if he was a "cleaner" player. I dont think the "wimps" from Kerry would be too bothered. They would be too busy counting All Ireland medals!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

''Head in the sand'' post of the year imo, thanks for that I needed a good laugh

Crappy leinster medals??????

now you are insulting the leinster championship? HOW VERY DARE YOU!

thats whats wrong in dublin football you are fixated on sam maguire and still getting further away from realising winning an all ireland!

and 5 leinster championships is sad why?

in my opinion now you know very little about our game as if you did you wouldnt have said that:mad:

btw whelan has no excuses for his actions against kerry or any other team -his behaviour is a disgrace

Ray i can see by your previous posts you are a wind up merchant...I won't be rising to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

It's about time Whelan went TBH and I think it will do Dublin the world of good. He's been the poster boy for a Dublin team that have had a litany of failures for far too long now.

He can be a match winner alright and lift the spirits of the team, but only against second rate teams like Sligo or Donegal. Put him up against Daragh O'Se, Paul McGrane, Ronan McGarrity or pretty much any midfielder from a top side and he's been found wanting. Even the likes of Padraig Clancy from Laois has given him the odd run around.

On Monday he caught that first ball and then didn't do much else of use. Alright Dublin were out of it by then but he still didn't impose himself on the game like a player who gets the plaudits he does should (recently described on here as "the best midfielder to not win an All-Ireland" which I found laughable).

If I was a Dublin supporter I'd be hoping a few more like him move on. Get fresh blood in and relaunch the team without these lads from the past. They've never won anything and never will at this stage. Whelan should have left years ago (can't remember what year it was but the year he lost his starting place and was moved to the half forward line).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Tazdedub

Its great for folks outside Dublin saying that its great now Whelan is gone but for us Dublin folks we are left wondering who will replace him, and I am worried about that? McConnell and Magee were given a chance this year to step up and they didnt take it, maybe McConnell might in another while but this year we didnt see anything from him. Fennell is not good enough to me really and wouldnt have the work rate and fitness to get up and down the middle of the pitch. Maybe there is a player out there in club football that we havent seen yet for one reason or another and maybe just maybe they can replace Whelan but at the moment I dont think there is anyone in the current panel to replace him and that really saddens me. :(

Ciaran is more of a gentleman than graeme gerarhy or dara osea will ever be. I'm not surprised yous are delighted he's going because yous are as scared as hell of the beast that is

I'm sure Daragh O'Se, Ronan McGarrity and the lads are quaking in the boots of playing against a midfielder who is constantly anonymous against them.

I'm not worried about whether he's a gentleman or not. He's a good midfielder. He never was a great one and his best years are behind him so he never will be a great one either.

Hardly past his best if he received an all-star recently. And ge obviously is a big name looking at the amount of attention this thread is attracting.

And beleive me mcgarrity would be quaking in his boots after that hit whelan got on him 2 years ago which left him concussed

Hardly past his best if he received an all-star recently. And ge obviously is a big name looking at the amount of attention this thread is attracting.

And beleive me mcgarrity would be quaking in his boots after that hit whelan got on him 2 years ago which left him concussed

I think Whelan attracts alot of opinion because, as I said above, he's Dublin's poster boy. Also, alot of people think he's the best thing since sliced bread while, others like myself, see him as hugely overrated.

Either way, you've just proven my argument. McGarrity was ruling over Whelan that day so Whelan did what he knows best. Took the man out. That, in my opinion, makes him a poor footballer.

Although I can see why idiots such as you hold him up like a hero. The charity shield is on tomorrow so you can go back to supporting Rooney and co. for the season.

Lemlin wrote: »
    I think Whelan attracts alot of opinion because, as I said above, he's Dublin's poster boy. Also, alot of people think he's the best thing since sliced bread while, others like myself, see him as hugely overrated.

Either way, you've just proven my argument. McGarrity was ruling over Whelan that day so Whelan did what he knows best. Took the man out. That, in my opinion, makes him a poor footballer.

Although I can see why idiots such as you hold him up like a hero. The charity shield is on tomorrow so you can go back to supporting Rooney and co. for the season.

Lol plenty of WUM on here...If you want to talk soccer seriously there's a section for that.Not all Dublin GAA fans are soccer fans.This thread is about who can replace Whelan.Try to refrain from the stereo typical side swipes...its boring after a while.

For me to stay away from the stereotypical side swipes, people need to refrain from proving they should have that label. A fan coming on here and lauding Ciaran Whelan for purposefully injuring another player is only living up to the stereotype so that's the way I'll see them.

Not all Dublin GAA fans are soccer fans but I'd imagine the one who posted above is.

Lets not go down the who is a real fan, you are a soccer fan etc. route, it has been done to death.

Also calling people WUM's, trolls, wind up merchants etc. is not useful, if you have a problem with a post then report it please.

Anyway back on topic, if Whelan and Ryan (just speculation on my part) retire then I can see Dublin being in trouble in midfield. A switch was made pretty quickly on Monday, maybe that is an indication of how little belief that the current management have in any replacements.

So cruiserweight apparently its ok to call another poster an idiot but not a wind up merchant?

If you see a post where someone was called an idiot then report it, the moderators cannot read every post in the forum. If you want to know what is and is not okay then read the forum charter, but I assume that you have done this already right

Point taken!

He received 2 all stars the last of which was in 2007.

As for endorsing violence in GAA games, that is not really in the spirit of the game now is it and IMO is borderline trolling. Despite some good performances for Dublin and winning a number of Leinster titles, a large number of GAA followers around the country will remember Whelan for some of his other antics. That is not a reputation that I would want and there are other fine players who will be remembered for similar antics rather than their playing ability or achievements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Grudaire

Meh, Dublin, and most Northern teams get called dirty players by many, while Kerry are often held up as the pinicle of clean football, but if you look at last years All Ireland Final Kerry were the far dirtier team - against Tyrone!

Roughness is part of the game, and with many isolated incidents Whelan is a great player in my opinion, particularly in Dublin football. He was a great fielder of a high ball, and brought much to Dublins midfield structure.

Calling me a soccer fan is the most stupid thing you've ever done. I'm a die hard Dublin fan who has gone through seasons of hearthake on the hill bit I'm still going. So if that's not a good fan I don't know what is. Ciaran whelan is a skillful player and also a dominant one. I don't understand this 'dirty' reputation. Whelan I admit gives the hits but also takes them. He does what he does for the good of the team! And I beleive all proper gaa fans see him as an admiral man and a tremendous player

Cliste wrote: »
    Meh, Dublin, and most Northern teams get called dirty players by many, while Kerry are often held up as the pinicle of clean football, but if you look at last years All Ireland Final Kerry were the far dirtier team - against Tyrone!

Roughness is part of the game, and with many isolated incidents Whelan is a great player in my opinion, particularly in Dublin football. He was a great fielder of a high ball, and brought much to Dublins midfield structure.

Fair play to you-somebody is talking sense!

Skillful yes, dominant yes, but please dub973, are you actually serious that you dont know where this "dirty reputation" comes from? You must not see very much from The Hill if you cant see where it comes from. Every county has their hard men but he was just dangerous and wreckless.......

For starters I don't unterstand this 'was' in everything. The man said it is unlikely but he is considering his future. There's fight in the beast yet.

He may have been wreckless sometimes but that is pure heart and passion in the man. Referees understand this aswell as for a hard-hitting player he has not seen many red cards

In fairness most of Ciarans recklessness comes out of frustration.If the Dublin team had 14 others that played with the same passion and had the same talent he'd have an All Ireland medal in his arse pocket by now.

I really have no come back to that last message dub973. All i can really say is firstly, i hope to god that your attitude is the attitude of the minority (which i think it is) because gaelic football will end up being played in a ring by men with gloves on! And secondly, get over it, the man was good, in his day, but that day is gone. Sorry to break it to you but he's finished. Sure you can go and watch him playing his club football...........

In fairness most of Ciarans recklessness comes out of frustration.If the Dublin team had 14 others that played with the same passion and had the same talent he'd have an All Ireland medal in his arse pocket by now.

Agreed completely the passion he shows makes him a ledgend of Dublin gaa and also an all time great. Don't know why the culchies don't get it!

I really have no come back to that last message dub973. All i can really say is firstly, i hope to god that your attitude is the attitude of the minority (which i think it is) because gaelic football will end up being played in a ring by men with gloves on! And secondly, get over it, the man was good, in his day, but that day is gone. Sorry to break it to you but he's finished. Sure you can go and watch him playing his club football...........

Your talking utter muck!! You've must never have seen the man..actually you probably haven't,sorry,I forgot there's no television in boggerland ya culchy spanner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭mufc4lfe

Ciaran Whelan is one dirty Dub!All through the years hes been the same!Off the top of my head I remember the belt he gave a meath player in the championship 3 or 4 years ago.And again on Monday things werent going his way,getting dominated by the legend that is Dara O'Se and he intentionally elbows Aiden O'Mahony in the face.In fairness he had his moments over the years,a powerful scoring midfielder and could pluck balls out of the sky but im afraid he wont get that elusive medal he so dearly craves and deserves.

And who your sweets off you dub973???? How about you go and grow up enough to have an adult discussion with adults. Its very late for someone your age to be still up. I suppose it is the weekend, mammy and daddy must let you stay up late...

mufc4lfe wrote: »
    Ciaran Whelan is one dirty Dub!All through the years hes been the same!Off the top of my head I remember the belt he gave a meath player in the championship 3 or 4 years ago.And again on Monday things werent going his way,getting dominated by the legend that is Dara O'Se and he intentionally elbows Aiden O'Mahony in the face.In fairness he had his moments over the years,a powerful scoring midfielder and could pluck balls out of the sky but im afraid he wont get that elusive medal he so dearly craves and deserves.

Ciaran whelan is a ledgend of the game-end of story! And judging by your username I don't think you can comment on GAA issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

As sad as it is to say it he's finished. Great servant to Dublin football. I'll remember him for his great fielding and his runs from midfield. Will always remember that goal against Armagh when he smashed it off the crossbar and into the back of the net. He hasn't got the fitness anymore.

And who your sweets off you dub973???? How about you go and grow up enough to have an adult discussion with adults. Its very late for someone your age to be still up. I suppose it is the weekend, mammy and daddy must let you stay up late...

God you'd know your a culchy,blinding sense of humour what? Lol-that'd have to be one of the worst comebacks I've ever heard,almost as bad as joe sheridans obesity issue

hunter164 wrote: »
    As sad as it is to say it he's finished. Great servant to Dublin football. I'll remember him for his great fielding and his runs from midfield. Will always remember that goal against Armagh when he smashed it off the crossbar and into the back of the net. He hasn't got the fitness anymore.

Maybe so,fair point there. He is a ledgend and will be remembered for his supreme skill and dominance. At least you show some respect for the ledgend not like some other culchies here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

This has to be a wind up.

All I'll say is that the only thing I'll remember him for is taking McGarritty out in the AI Semi-Final and throwing that last elbow on Aidan O'Mahony on his way out the door.

Good riddance as far as I'm concerned.

Fair enough dub973, you win. Ciaran Whelan IS the best thing since sliced bread, you are right, i am wrong. Dubs are also clearly the superior race and i am a "wimp". Now that you won, why dont you run on home to mammy and leave this discussion lark to the adults...

Seriously go on a PR course or something,your comebacks are terrible and the whole mammy thing is uselessly bad. Anyway bet ya your still living with your parents like the rest of yous boggers