Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Increase in roadkills?

• 04-08-2009 8:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭

I drive a lot between the Midlands and Dublin. I have never seen so many roadkills over this summer compared to other years be it on motorways, main routes, byroads etc. I've seen a lot of young foxes, badgers, ferrets, rats and many unidentifiable creatures. I just find it quite concerning and I'm wondering if others have noticed a similar increase this year in other parts of the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Records (yes there are such things for roadkill) show no major change this year. It's just that time of year!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

It's the inexperienced young animals being killed on the roads at this time of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭BryanL

Drivers have to take some blame too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

i've noticed way more badgers this year than i ever did on motorways, weird!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

cowzerp wrote: »
    i've noticed way more badgers this year than i ever did on motorways, weird!

There's no ditches or hedges for the cadavers to roll into after being hit along motorways. They're probably just more visible when killed along motorways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Diageio_Man

could this show that there was an increse in the breading of these species this year?

BryanL wrote: »
    Drivers have to take some blame too

To an extent maybe but anyone who swerves from a safe direction of travel for a rabbit or a fox cub in my opinion is a danger on the road. Bigger animals are a different story of course..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,805 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Having witnessed the reckless, out of control antics of boyracers on all types of urban and rural roads in this country I can safely say these individuals have no respect for man or beast:mad:

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Having witnessed the reckless, out of control antics of boyracers on all types of urban and rural roads in this country I can safely say these individuals have no respect for man or beast:mad:

Totally irrelevant to this topic. Road kill happens regardless of driving habits. I've struck wildlife myself and I'm by no means a boy racers and I'm particularly aware of animals crossing our roads. It happens! Respect for anything does not come into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

I have noticed a lot of badgers alright but nothing else. Someone said above about more breeding. I did read somewhere, i think hunting section, about a boom year. Something to do wit moon. Anyone know anything about this?

Totally irrelevant to this topic. Road kill happens regardless of driving habits. I've struck wildlife myself and I'm by no means a boy racers and I'm particularly aware of animals crossing our roads. It happens! Respect for anything does not come into it.

So driving like a nutjob does not increase your chances of killing stuff on the roads - flies in the face of many a road safety campaign I'd say:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

I've been told (but it may be an urban legend) that some boy racers are having a competition to see who can hit the most animals... They swerve to hit them...:(

Jackobyte wrote: »
    I've been told (but it may be an urban legend) that some boy racers are having a competition to see who can hit the most animals... They swerve to hit them...:(

I dont know many boy racers although id say if this is true it would be a select few. Although a boy racer to me is someone who gets a 1.4 civic or similiar car, sticks a set of alloys on there car wit lexus lights and thinking its a rally car so maybe your right. I have a couple of friends who have rare high powered cars that cost a lot of money and wouldn dream of risking a scratch on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭Amtmann

Records (yes there are such things for roadkill) show no major change this year. It's just that time of year!:(

Who keeps the records?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

Dusty87 wrote: »
    Although a boy racer to me is someone who gets a 1.4 civic or similiar car, sticks a set of alloys on there car wit lexus lights and thinking its a rally car so maybe your right.
    That's what I'd consider a boy racer too
    Dusty87 wrote: »
    I have a couple of friends who have rare high powered cars that cost a lot of money and wouldn dream of risking a scratch on it.

I know one or two people you have gotten rare high-power cars imported from Japan or abroad and they wouldn't dream of damaging them either... There is a difference between owning powerful cars and owning sh*te cars and thinking they're powerful racers...

Jackobyte wrote: »

Given the nature of the scumbags I've seen involved in this kind of thing i wouldn't be in the least bit suprised that they get a sick kind of thrill in mowing down defenceless wildlife:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

Given the nature of the scumbags I've seen involved in this kind of thing i wouldn't be in the least bit suprised that they get a sick kind of thrill in mowing down defenceless wildlife:mad:

yes because 'boys' are the only ones who drive fast..

This has very little to do with the topic in hand and is just your way of having a go at people who "think" they are michael Schumacher... OH and a GOOD proportion of them are "GIRLS" so you might want to rethink how you phrase it.

As far as road kill, id say its a good sign in that numbers are increasing, its never nice to see a badger or a fox on the side of the road, and ive had my close encounters, but its inevitible, and its EVERYONES fault for feck sake, not just young MALE AND FEMALE drivers to like to drive to fast...

Trying to associate scum who try to kill wild animals with lads who like to do up their cars is just sad!! get a grip!!! If you want to talk about this some more, head over the hunting thread, im sure they will entertain ye..

Neil, calm down lad:) no one is blaming boy racers. Jackobyte just said that he's heard of a game young male drivers play. He said he not sure is it true. I mostly post in the hunting section, i cant see where your coming from wit the hunting statement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

keep i a civil here pleases lads. as mod im not going to give my opinions but just remember this is the nature and birdwatching forum, if you want to discuss boyracers i belive the motors forum would be more apt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 mellickricky

haha it started off about roadkill and then moved to boy racers....I reckon truckies etc with less maneuverable vehicles would be more inclined to hit mammals and birds crossing the motorways...also the increase in speed as compared to rural roads leaves them in danger. I think it would be interesting to do a study on population dynamics of mammals after the building of the motorways, if you think about it large species such as deer could be easily separated from other heard members....Its funny that they put those tunnels for the snails in kildare (remember)...Irelands funny.

Sorry for boring you but this bits interesting....theres an equation that when the ammount of hedgehog roadkill is multiplied by x number it gives you the population density for that year.im sure its the same for other animals....as the old saying goes "for every dead fox on the road theres two in the bush":D:D

stevoman wrote: »
    keep i a civil here pleases lads. as mod im not going to give my opinions but just remember this is the nature and birdwatching forum, if you want to discuss boyracers i belive the motors forum would be more apt.

I wasnt at all looking for a debate stevoman, was just pointing out that i wasn blaming anyone group of people on roadkills;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Irishmarinelife

Ive seen a lot more badgers than usual this year, and a few days ago, a tiny, unbelievably small deer, outside Ballinrobe in County Mayo.

http://irishmarinelife.com

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭artieanna

On saturday I saw two hedgehogs an otter a rabbit and an other animal killed (couldn't identify what he was) on a main road over a stretch of about 10miles.

What bugs me is why is there no netted wire put up along main roads especially the newly built roads. In the 80's they put up great heavy duty mesh 'type' wire when they built some of these roads. Surely they could add it into reps to do this as it would save an awful lot of animals from being killed on roads....

I never saw an otter before, its just a pity I had to see him dead on the side of a road...:(
    Its an awful shame....

I think I should add here that anyone doing the speed limit on a main road can kill an animal that wanders across their path and especially at night time.

What would the wire along roads achieve? Foxes, Otters, Hedgehogs etc have to be able to get through their territories - many of which are bisected by roads.

artieanna wrote: »
    In the 80's they put up great heavy duty mesh 'type' wire when they built some of these roads.

Are you sure this wasnt where forests full of deer were split in two by a road?
    Also i dont think it would be too practical. As srameen said they wouldnt be able to get to their territories. Foxes for instance can travel miles every night in search of food.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭robp

Fencing off roads obstructs population movements and could potentially do more damage to fauna numbers then the actual road kill mortality. Movement is essential to allow feeding and dispersal. With existing roads their isn't a whole lot that can be done but the idea of green bridges to allow safe crossing for animals, is slowing taking off with the contruction of new roads. It could dramatically reduce road kill numbers. I understand it is now sometimes a required on new Irish roads.

artieanna wrote: »
    On saturday I saw two hedgehogs an otter a rabbit and an other animal killed (couldn't identify what he was) on a main road over a stretch of about 10miles.

What bugs me is why is there no netted wire put up along main roads especially the newly built roads. In the 80's they put up great heavy duty mesh 'type' wire when they built some of these roads. Surely they could add it into reps to do this as it would save an awful lot of animals from being killed on roads....

I never saw an otter before, its just a pity I had to see him dead on the side of a road...:(
    Its an awful shame....

I think I should add here that anyone doing the speed limit on a main road can kill an animal that wanders across their path and especially at night time.

Wildlife underpasses are a common feature on roads in Europe and Britain and are quiet successful since much research goes into their design and location. Sadly in this country our Heritage whether it be built eg. Tara or natural as in our wildlife are not considered important enough by the likes of the NRA to protect when it comes to major road projects.:(

I think you should do your research. We have been installing underpasses for years now on new road builds. Environmental Impact Studies are completed and any necessary underpasses or wildlife protection is provided. We just get on with it and don't brag.:P

I think you should do your research. We have been installing underpasses for years now on new road builds. Environmental Impact Studies are completed and any necessary underpasses or wildlife protection is provided. We just get on with it and don't brag.

I think part of the problem is that the results of these EIAs and resulting wildlife accommodations is rarely communicated to the public positively. The NRAs website Environment section isn't very user friendly to the lay person. Often the public only hears about the expenses of these policies though opportunistic media outlets. It does cost taxpayers money so they should aim to justify why its essential. It really is in stark contrast to the promotion of human heritage discovered on road schemes. I think personally they do great job through the publication of Seanda archaeology magazine and their regular seminars. So they are well capable..

I find no fault whatsoever in what you say Robp but I think any publicity/publication around the now standard practice of providing numerous underpasses on motorways is unnecessay. The M1 alone has over 100 of them. It's really no big deal that they are provided. I just took exception to another person complaining (wrongly) that we don't provide underpasses in Ireland. :)

I think you should do your research. We have been installing underpasses for years now on new road builds. Environmental Impact Studies are completed and any necessary underpasses or wildlife protection is provided. We just get on with it and don't brag.:P

I don't think so - in the case of the Gorey and Ennis bypasses such was the carnage on these roads within weeks of opening that the issue was brought up at numerious council meetings by councillors who wouldn't exactly been known for their concern in regard to such things:rolleyes:

Under passes were provided on the Ennis Bypass. Presumely they were'nt being used. Are any post-construction assessments carried out to evaluate their use or impact?

robp wrote: »
    Under passes were provided on the Ennis Bypass. Presumely they were'nt being used. Are any post-construction assessments carried out to evaluate their use or impact?

They are not just shoved in any-old-place. The EIAs determine the regular, and potentially required, passing points. Of course some animals take time to use them but generally the success rate is very good. Losses on old by-roads are much higher than on major new roads.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭artieanna

The wire was along all major roads not just where deer are fenced.

I know that the wire is not an ideal situation but surely it deters the animals from wandering onto the manic busy roads and being killed. Foxes may travel miles but wire makes them take a different route.
    I honestly cannot see animals out finding an over/underpass to cross the road, but hey in saying that if it works great!..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 mellickricky

I'm a Zoology graduate; A while back I wanted to do a PhD on "large mammal dynamics in post NDP Ireland", by comparing past records and reports of population size and structure and investigating geographic and dietary patterns. I reckon you could come up with some dramatic results and I also think mammals especially could adapt quite promptly to our new infrastructure.

To be honest more animals die on the smaller roads than the big ones...for one reason and that’s because you can see a lot further on large roads and have more room and time to react.

Also motorways were not built over night...it would be the habitats destroyed that id be more worried about...but then again it’s not rainforests being burnt down...we can thank Irelands award winning procrastination for giving our wildlife the time to re-locate.

Last note...have you seen the hawks/kestrels etc on the perched on motorway signs and patrolling the margins for rodents...it’s really nice to see.

Don’t take my observations as fact please...oh and if there’s any Uni lecturers looking for a Phd student...I’m all ears;)
    Cheers

Rik:D

Yep iv often seen some sort of bird of prey a few mile before the toll on the m6. Cant get a good look to identify it. Eyes too busy on the road :):)

The large planted verges, and central reservations, of motorways are of huge importance as they are a haven for small mammals; giving cover so often lacking in much of our countryside - hence the success of Kestrals et al along motorways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭Amtmann

Srameen, who records the roadkill? I saw very many mammal passes under the new M8 between Mitchelstown and Fermoy. It occurred to me that they would unfortunately be the perfect places for unscrupulous individuals to set snares. I wonder how quick badgers, foxes and otters are to start using the passes? I saw over ten dead badgers over a four month period on the M8 between Two-Mile Borris and Urlingford - I guess the survivors learn quickly.

Here is one of the areas where you can record roadkill

http://www.biology.ie/sub-step1.php?m=npws