Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NFL Gamepass

• 03-08-2009 6:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,472 ✭✭✭✭

Going to get gamepass this year, previous years I've been watching it on sopcast and other places but I decided to get Gamepass this year, does anyone else here buy it?

I've got a couple of questions. How much is it for the season?, I want all the games for 1 specific team not all the games from all teams, is this offered?

How is the quality?, I have a 20mb connection so it will be able to handle it, would it look ok if I connected my laptop to my TV?

When can you buy gamepass?, is there anything else thrown in like a NFL Network stream 24/7 or is that just in the current off-season pass?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭Hynzie

Oatesy23 wrote: »
    Going to get gamepass this year, previous years I've been watching it on sopcast and other places but I decided to get Gamepass this year, does anyone else here buy it?

I've got a couple of questions. How much is it for the season?, I want all the games for 1 specific team not all the games from all teams, is this offered?

How is the quality?, I have a 20mb connection so it will be able to handle it, would it look ok if I connected my laptop to my TV?

When can you buy gamepass?, is there anything else thrown in like a NFL Network stream 24/7 or is that just in the current off-season pass?

Yeah its good. I bought it for the last two weeks of the season when i was home from college for christmas and didnt have sky. The quality its good far and away better than sopcast! I dont know much about internet speeds but it played fine for me on just standard eircom broadband in the middle of nowhere in Mayo so it should be fine.

You can get it off nfl.com. I think its about 200 dollars for the regular season and you can watch any game you want which is cool. The only problem is that they blackout the games that sky are showing live at 6 and 9. That doesnt include the red button games and the sunday, monday and thursday night games are not effected either. Its not too bad and if you really want to see an early game sky are showing you could go back to sopcast:D

I am not sure but i remember something about there being a team pass for specific teams games. Im not sure if the sky blackout applies to this or not.

Not sure if you get the nfl network during the season they might be starting that this year. Last season they gave you a few nfl network shows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭Sea Devils

I'm probably going to get Gamepass as well. Whats the ideal speed Internet connection to have when using it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭JJ

Game Pass options can be found here:

https://gamepass.nfl.com/nflgp/secure/loginform

I'd definitely recommend going with the HD. It's so much better. NFL Network 24x7 is a nice bonus too. I'm not sure if they're still doing the normal Game Pass but the page is still here:

http://sports.yahoo.com/nflgamepass

and it says, "NFL Game Pass requires bandwidth of 300k or greater." That's upload speed I believe. The HD site says:

A broadband internet connection (DSL/cable or higher) of 750 kbps or higher is needed for NFL Game Pass HD. If you have an internet connection speed of 2.0 Mbps or higher and your computer meets the requirements below, you will be able to enjoy NFL Game Pass HD at its highest video quality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭tallaghtoutlaws

Gamepass is excellent. The HD is awesome also.

Plus to gamepass the faster your connection the better the stream and the quality jumps up and down depending on your internet speed.

Problems with the HD though its a good full minute behind the live coverage of the game. I have no idea why but it is. As good as it looks on a HDTV connecting it up I leave my laptop on with the scores up and a full minute behind ruins the feed when the score pops up before it happens while watching. The normal non HD option is on par with real time.

As for all the games. Be aware if Sky Sports show your team on a Sunday you will not be able to watch that team on Gamepass. The interactive games on Sky also now have become hit and miss. But the 2 main games there will be restrictions on watching them on gamepass if Sky are showing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,472 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Damn 210 is more than i thought it would be for following 1 team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I just signed up!
    The full package so get to see all games and NFL Network 24/7 for 2009.
    Though it better include the playoffs, as my beloved Ravens will be there! :)

And during the offseason now you can watch every game from 2008. That's plenty to keep you entertained.
    I'm picking random games I don't know the scores to.
    Man, the Rams are hammering the Cowboys right now! Even if the game happened month ago it's new to me.........

Damn 210 is more than i thought it would be for following 1 team.

€145 is what it costs which is $209. Sign up now to get good value on the ****ty exchange rate.

Oh and watching this on a 24" imac.
    But it's HD and looks glorious!

If I was smart I'd hook my imac to the HD TV in the living room and watch it there.
    But I've no clue of cables so not sure how? :confused:

Better start a thread in the appropriate forum,

€145 is what it costs which is $209. Sign up now to get good value on the ****ty exchange rate.

I ALWAYS forget to convert it, always.

Do you get the NFL Network stream following one team or do you have to choose the other one with all games for it?

The extra is worth it for NFL Network 24/7 IMO.

mikemac wrote: »
    Oh and watching this on a 24" imac.
    But it's HD and looks glorious!

If I was smart I'd hook my imac to the HD TV in the living room and watch it there.
    But I've no clue of cables so not sure how? :confused:

Better start a thread in the appropriate forum,

What you need is the blue video cable that you get with desktop PC's, most hd tv's have the slot on them.

Or an s-video cable, if your laptop las an s-video output. My laptop looks great on my 42'' doing this.

I ALWAYS forget to convert it, always.

Do you get the NFL Network stream following one team or do you have to choose the other one with all games for it?

The extra is worth it for NFL Network 24/7 IMO.

I pay the whole lot. Handy watching another game after the Pats games if the Pats are on early in the day.

Just signed up:cool:

All the 2008 NFL network programmes are archived and viewable.Top 10,America's game etc. It may be pricey but it sure is worth it:)

I wonder what the chances of them showing preseason would be especially since it seems Sky might not show them

Do you get right in?

Going to sign up later for the whole lot..

Sea Devils wrote: »
    Just signed up:cool:

All the 2008 NFL network programmes are archived and viewable.Top 10,America's game etc. It may be pricey but it sure is worth it:)

I wonder what the chances of them showing preseason would be especially since it seems Sky might not show them

They havent shown Pre-season in the last 2 years as far as I can remember. Altough I never really check as I have been in the States for both of the last pre-seasons.

Takes less than a minute to sign up if you have your credit card with you.
    Though I have my credit number memorized :p

mikemac wrote: »
    Takes less than a minute to sign up if you have your credit card with you.
    Though I have my credit number memorized :p

Do you work for Game pass? :D:D:D:D lol

I knew someone would post that :D

I signed up for the off-season pass at $35 two weeks ago but tbh I didn't get great value, should have signed up months ago!
    Sure I got to see a few games but had I signed up in March I could nearly have watched every game.

Only signed up to 2009 tonight and was pleasantly surprised to see the 2008 games included, that's all

Quick question, is the phone number important or can i type in some random number?

They give an example 0041- and whatever

I tried my Irish 00353 number but the site rejected it and said it was the incorrect format.

Feck it, I copied their example.
    I don't expect the NFL to be calling me
    Unless it's to offer me some mega front office job :pac:

Not accepting my Visa, paid my bill 2 weeks ago and haven't used it yet :confused:.

Guess I'll have to get a 3v card.

My UPC internet has been ****e the last week so I've had to put off getting Gamepass and hope UPC get it together and get me a decent speed for the HD streams :).

Do you get the pre-season on it by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭boccy23

No pre-season.

No post-season.

Only regular seasion games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭UhOh

who are you getting a 20mb connection from??

I signed up for the week just to try it out. NFL Network 24/7 & great quailty. I got to see most of the HOF inductions etc. I've been impressed so far.

UhOh wrote: »
    who are you getting a 20mb connection from??

I signed up for the week just to try it out. NFL Network 24/7 & great quailty. I got to see most of the HOF inductions etc. I've been impressed so far.
    My UPC internet has been ****e the last week so I've had to put off getting Gamepass and hope UPC get it together and get me a decent speed for the HD streams :).

Do you get the pre-season on it by any chance?

(Speeds have come back for now )

Quick question how often does the broadband go out? And where do you live and what are your speeds like. Have to say Eircom has gone to the dogs and say our homeline which is 3mb wont go to 7mb and 3 barely runs at 1.8.

Held off buying my gamepass because of this issue.

Quick question how often does the broadband go out? And where do you live and what are your speeds like. Have to say Eircom has gone to the dogs and say our homeline which is 3mb wont go to 7mb and 3 barely runs at 1.8.

Held off buying my gamepass because of this issue.

Well I've had UPC 20MB since December and the last week is the first time I have had problems. I get between 18.5MB and 19.5MB all the time in Sligo.

Back down to ***te speeds again :mad:.

How bad is ****e speeds :D Its still probably better than eircom.

Between 1MB and 6MB see here.

Jebus still alot better than Eircom. Me thinks im making a phone call tomorrow. :D Thanks Oatsey most appreciated. Now I can watch Gamepass the way it should be watched.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 jd2010

Firstly Game pass rocks, had it last year and it was brilliant. I just signed up again but I can't get any of the archived games to work??? NFL network etc works but not the games, any ideas? I've a 6mb connection...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭UhOh

ah, sorry didnt see the UPC comment. Cant be bothered so, 20mb broadband & a crap TV service with no HD :D, no thanks

tallaghtoutlaws, I had eircom aswell, totally rubbish, slow as s**te. I have gaelic now which gets pretty close to the 3mb as advertised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

I've had Gamepass HD the last 2 years. Quality is great (I have 3 Mb).

2 problems with it though;

(1) When ur team is on Sky live your game is blacked out on Gamepass. I don't have Sky nor want to get it (too expensive for me) and

(2) It sure eats up your download limits. V troublesome if your limit is low. Mine is 12 Gb and it is barely enough for 4 games in a month.

Edit: Just bought the full pack, at todays exchange rate it is for nuthin.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,193 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

So what is the craic with the post season, will there be a separate package to buy or do you just miss out?

adrian522 wrote: »
    So what is the craic with the post season, will there be a separate package to buy or do you just miss out?
    Yes, separate package... every postseason game is normally on the telly live though (sky) so no need for gamepass if u have sky.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,193 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Yes, but if I don't have sky will all the games be blacked out?

Could get sky player for the month I suppose.....

Yeah but all the playoffs would be on sky I would imagine....

adrian522 wrote: »
    Yeah but all the playoffs would be on sky I would imagine....

Sorry I didn't see your last post . As you said you're best bet is to get Sky Player for the month.

Hey lads... anyone know what the kbps should be set to on gamepass this year (bottom right of screen beside volume control)??. I have 3Mb down broadband. Seems to default to 450 for me but I can change it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Sorry to bump an old thread but have many people purchased Gamepass this season and what are your thoughts and opinions on it? I think I'll go for it next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭McG

Paully D wrote: »
    Sorry to bump an old thread but have many people purchased Gamepass this season and what are your thoughts and opinions on it? I think I'll go for it next season.

this is my second year with it and I love it. fantastic quality picture and the ability to watch games whenever (or Redzone) you want. I like the new condensed game feature too to watch games with all stoppages cut out (games take about 25mins in total).

It's not cheap but it's a great product.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

first year having it and will definitly be buying it again, well worth the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,445 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I love it too. Its so great to be able to switch over to another game whenever you want. Love it and its well worth the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

With the new fangled smart "internet" TV's would it be possible to stream the NFL games from gamepass on the TV?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Benny Cake wrote: »
    With the new fangled smart "internet" TV's would it be possible to stream the NFL games from gamepass on the TV?

Yea, just need a cable to connect your laptop to the TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭FreeOSCAR

Agree with what everyone has said. It's fantastic, especially when your team isn't on the box. I use the iPad version so it's great to be able to wake up in the morning before work and just watch the condensed version of the late game in ~20 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Perfect lads, cheers. I think that's my mind made up for next season anyway :)

I won't bother getting it now even though I could get the rest of the season and play-offs for €99 as I'm sure most of the play-off games will be on Sky anyway.

Thanks again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

I bought the Gamepass when I started working nights while in college. Now, I work much less nights but I seriously cannot justify getting rid of it.

The only con about the Gamepass is the lack of sleep I've been deprived over the last couple of months since I've had it hooked up to my TV.

It's simply fooking awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

FreeOSCAR wrote: »
    Agree with what everyone has said. It's fantastic, especially when your team isn't on the box. I use the iPad version so it's great to be able to wake up in the morning before work and just watch the condensed version of the late game in ~20 mins.

how do you do the condensed version?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,445 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

evil_seed wrote: »
    how do you do the condensed version?
    Its on the screen at the bottom. You have the choice between full or condensed.