Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Amanda Brunker anyone else hate her?

• 02-08-2009 4:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭

Now for some light hearted celeb news she does the job but today in the Sunday World she made such a airhead comment,page 24,about the total exosure contestant Daniella,she said Daniella getting knocked was a double loss because(1.she was awful in the show but listen to this 2)she is going to NUIG doing an arts degree "im not exactly sure what an arts degree gets you"
    Amanda brunker is everything that is wrong with young girls today of the celtic tiger,id love to be doing a degree sometime in some subject.young girls today are so dumped down its sad:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

moved from tLL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭irishvamp90

Jules wrote: »
    moved from tLL.
    why was this moved i want female opinions on here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

It's a showbiz related question though, rather than a ladies' issue...

I've met Amanda Brunker and I really liked her. Thought she was funny and good company.

I feel like she definitely misrepresents herself in the press though, from what I've seen of her! She says and does some silly things that make her appear like an airhead. In person, she seemed intelligent, witty and very funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭b12mearse

ya i hate her cause she behaves like that and shes suppose to be a mother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭Corb

That coming from a woman who didn't even do her Leaving Cert?! You have to laugh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭garbanzo

Not a fan at all but Jayz . . . . she has a grand rack on her !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Writes in the Sunday World, generally name dropping her celebrity friends and talking about her latest fantastic diet.

But if her diets were so good, why is she constantly on them?
    She ain't exactly petite

She leaked some nonsense about a sex tape to generate some publicity for her novel. Shameless!
    And her dinner party program on TV got axed.

What will she try next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Anto McC

mikemac wrote: »
    Writes in the Sunday World, generally name dropping her celebrity friends and talking about her latest fantastic diet.

But if her diets were so good, why is she constantly on them?
    She ain't exactly petite

She leaked some nonsense about a sex tape to generate some publicity for her novel. Shameless!
    And her dinner party program on TV got axed.

What will she try next?

Anything. Shameless self exposure. I can't stand the woman and the fact she think she's some kind of journo becuase she is writing for that rag is hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

i like amanda brunker , apart from being gorgeous with big jugs , unlike most women , she doesnt take herself too seriously and plays the bimbo card to her advantage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

irish_bob wrote: »
    i like amanda brunker , apart from being gorgeous with big jugs , unlike most women , she doesnt take herself too seriously and plays the bimbo card to her advantage

But why play it at all? :) There are more than enough dumb airheads out there without her adding to it. :-/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭mags16

I agree that Amanda Brunker's public persona is not very attractive but when I met her in person, heavily pregnant, in a tracksuit, with no make up on, she was absolutely charming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭blond45

mags16 wrote: »
    I agree that Amanda Brunker's public persona is not very attractive but when I met her in person, heavily pregnant, in a tracksuit, with no make up on, she was absolutely charming.
    just read her book CHAMPAGNE BABES. it was given to me for my birthday other wise i wudnt ave bother,d with, i read it and it was ok,sh. there,s alot of adult sessions going on ,what was her life before haven babys is what the book is about but names are changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Brunker could be worse. She could write for LIFE magazine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

I read her first book and whilst I was reading it I found it very hard not to imagine Ms. Amanto Bunkon as the lead character. I seriously could not separate fact from fiction as it did appear to represent her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Salome

I didn't like her at first - probably because of the Jordan-esque persona that she kinda had - but I've heard her interviewed in recent years and she comes across a lot better than I expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

I like her.. she comes across as normal and down to earth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 soccerprom

Yea, I hate her too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭flutegirl

It's a showbiz related question though, rather than a ladies' issue...

I've met Amanda Brunker and I really liked her. Thought she was funny and good company.

I feel like she definitely misrepresents herself in the press though, from what I've seen of her! She says and does some silly things that make her appear like an airhead. In person, she seemed intelligent, witty and very funny.

The few times i've seen her on afternoon programmes she was very entertaining, very sharp.

Wasn't she a close close friend of James Nesbitt. And didn't she and Jordan have a tiny row in a toilet one night and Ms. Brunker blew it all out of porportion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭GSpoon

I say fair play to her - I have far more respect for her than i do for the likes of Pippa O'Connor, Sarah Morrissey etc.. Amanda is a stunning woman and she actaully has personality to back it up. I really admire the way she doesnt take herself too seriously.

She hasnt really done herself any favours over the years with airhead comments but i seriously think its a bit harsh to say you 'hate' her... if you dont like her dont read her article or her book!! simple as:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Lana80

She seems sound

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭GinaH

Have to add here, Amanda is a really nice lady, she is big time into Animal Welfare and has a lurcher she adopted from the DSPCA.
    She is always promoting Greyhounds and Lurchers as pets and is a great ambassador for the cause. Not liking 'Champagne Babes' though, half way through it and a bit too much sex, drugs and rock and roll for me.
    I bet Amanda could write a really funny, good book about 'Living with a lurcher' along the lines of 'Walking Ollie' which I got from Amazon (A must for anyone who has ever had a pet lurcher)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭blond45

Have to add here, Amanda is a really nice lady, she is big time into Animal Welfare and has a lurcher she adopted from the DSPCA.
    She is always promoting Greyhounds and Lurchers as pets and is a great ambassador for the cause. Not liking 'Champagne Babes' though, half way through it and a bit too much sex, drugs and rock and roll for me.
    I bet Amanda could write a really funny, good book about 'Living with a lurcher' along the lines of 'Walking Ollie' which I got from Amazon (A must for anyone who has ever had a pet lurcher)
    did not say i didnt like her its her book thats a bit, as you say yourself to much sex and rock and roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭cartom

I think Amanda seems like a really fun person, who would be :) good company on a night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭civildefence

She's a clown, she seems very self-centred and patronising to me

Fair play to her. She has made IT. She even has her own:cool: thread on boards.ie

cartom wrote: »
    I think Amanda seems like a really fun person, who would be :) good company on a night out.

I think she'd do too much table hopping and networking.

deelite wrote: »
    I think she'd do too much table hopping and networking.

Yes, when I think about it, you are right.

cartom wrote: »
    Fair play to her. She has made IT. She even has her own:cool: thread on boards.ie

How do you know this....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

She kinda reminds me of the Irish Kerry Katona :D

Was she a Miss Ireland at some stage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭meenmore

Sunday World =/= Journalism. News of the World is even worse.
    The Guardian et al are in such a different league it's not funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭GinaH

Just finished reading Amanda's book 'Champagne Babes'
    If the Orgy and the gratuitious sex were taken out, it would make a good 'Chick Flick' Hugh Grant style. Bet it happens for her.

I've been having a re-think about Ms. Brunker and I have a funny feeling that she's not being "marketed" in the correct way. I think she'd be much better suited in an "agony aunt" type of role for the 13 - 25 year olds - but she'd have to drop that "slimming aid thingy" she advertises. I'd say she'd dish out sensible and sound advice.

Wow, you've really given this subject a lot of thought!

I'm sure she knows how she wants her career to progress - she's doing ok so far.

Salome wrote: »
    Wow, you've really given this subject a lot of thought!

I'm sure she knows how she wants her career to progress - she's doing ok so far.

I honestly don't think her "niceness and down-to-earthness" really comes across on the platforms she has been given or has chosen to do. She is as you say doing "ok" but I think she has a lot more potential.

Unless you're her agent, you've given this waaaay to much thought! And I'm sure she, or any celebrity, does not need endorsements or career advice from randomers on an internet forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Eulick D

Why would you do that. Being a sexist doesn't bother me at all. The only people that will call me a sexist are women and their opinion doesn't matter.

Eulick D wrote: »

Why would you do that. Being a sexist doesn't bother me at all. The only people that will call me a sexist are women and their opinion doesn't matter.

Qué?

Unless you're her agent, you've given this waaaay to much thought! And I'm sure she, or any celebrity, does not need endorsements or career advice from randomers on an internet forum.

And unless you are Ms. Brunker you have seriously taken my coments waaaay too much to heart!!!!!! Have a nice day

Nope I'm not the fragrant Ms Brunker - I wish I had her book royalties though!!!

I'm going to read her new book when I've finished "Letters to a Love Rat" by Niamh Greene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭flutegirl

Would be interesting to know what she gets per book/contract: thinking of heading down that route myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Lol_j

Do you know what really annoys me about Amanda Brunker? She tore some poor model a new one because she lost weight because she felt like a heifer as a size 12. now the girl didnt say anything about anyone else being a size 12 being a heifer just that it didnt work for her. Amanda made a big thing out of it saying she was calling size 12 women fat.

A year later, Amanda is the face of those slimming tablets and went to a size 12. then drops again to a size 8 or whatever, because she felt she needed to be slimmer.

Its the double standards that get to me. Bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,462 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Lol_j wrote: »
    Do you know what really annoys me about Amanda Brunker? She tore some poor model a new one because she lost weight because she felt like a heifer as a size 12. now the girl didnt say anything about anyone else being a size 12 being a heifer just that it didnt work for her. Amanda made a big thing out of it saying she was calling size 12 women fat.

A year later, Amanda is the face of those slimming tablets and went to a size 12. then drops again to a size 8 or whatever, because she felt she needed to be slimmer.

Its the double standards that get to me. Bitch.

Yeah thats her problem she's a bullying bitch as I've stated before she bullied Emma from The Den when they were on a charity show set in a radio station as was her bitchy bullying friend Blathnaid, they kept on about the poor girl's breast size.
    Also I see TV3 have her on their new revamped mid-day show so won't be watching that and never buy the Sunday World because she's on every second page! So can't stand her and hope she retires soon (some hope :( )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭kizzabel

She buys into the shallow, self absorbed nature of celebrity far too much.
    And realistically in Ireland do we really have celebs?
    I dont really think so
    aaah we have plenty of local boyo done good but theres nothing flawlessly immaculate in our celebrities. unlike american and some uk celebs who (although perhaps airbrushed) are always well turned out. Irish celebs are too visably flawed and as with the above lady truly let themselves down when they open their mouths.
    We dont have a Paris or TPT who are just famous for being famous.
    And then theres the fact that its a small country and you'll always have someone that has an aunt by marriage related distantly, who totally crushes any misconceptions you might have about the irish celeb being of slightly elevated status. Nation of begrudgers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 katebear

she a bully simple as

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Paddo81

Shes a babe, simple as. Since she lost afew stones she is just too hot. The wimin on here are mostly jealous id say! Her husband, (whos not in her league looks wise) is one lucky basterd!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Paddo81 wrote: »
    Shes a babe, simple as. Since she lost afew stones she is just too hot. The wimin on here are mostly jealous id say! Her husband, (whos not in her league looks wise) is one lucky basterd!

Man your standards are low. I dont want to 'attack' her looks but thats whats shes pedaling and therein lies the problem. Shes a bloody mutt, there was an ad on the radio for the launch of some salon or shop and it said, 'meet model' Amanda Brunker o_0.

Does it not set off alarm bells that the only press she gets is from being on every second page of the Sunday World, either with her baby, her book, her baby, her book and sometimes her dogs which I'd mount long before I'd even contemplate her.

Shes Intolerable.

Paddo81 wrote: »

Yep, that's it. Any woman who doesn't like another woman is OBVIOUSLY jealous. :rolleyes::rolleyes: We can process other emotions, you know :-)

She was on the Midday show today and they were discussing mother-in-laws (or past boyfriends mothers). She more or less said that with the exception of her present partner's mother - she never really got on with any of them. She said that none of the mothers ever liked her -i I wonder why.

Mothers always know best........