Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Magnum 185cm cable lock??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭mgadget

Don't know where you're locking it but if it's in public and in Dublin, try and bring the lock back and get this Magnum Plus Mini Shackle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭cheerspal

Its in town in an under ground car park on the Quays, but heard last week a few bikes have been nicked despite 24 hour security and cameras.

I will head back tomorrow and see if that lock is there you suggested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Consider throwing a few more quid at it and going for a Kryptonite lock also. The New York/New York 300 locks are very very good locks and worth the investment if you've a bike thats worth a bit and you feel like keeping. If you've quick release wheels you may also play with the idea of an extra cable to lock through them when locking the bike. Between the two of them they'd be both security and a deterrent against thieves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

I would use the lock you bought as a secondary lock to keep your wheels attached to the bike. But I'd get a heavy duty ABUS or Kryptonite U-lock to attach your frame to a post/railing/pole.

Watch these:

http://www.streetfilms.org/archives/hal-grades-your-bike-locking/
    http://www.streetfilms.org/archives/hal-grades-your-bike-locking-3-the-final-warning/

Cycleogical on Bachelors Walk have some money off Kryptonite locks at the moment, though they are the lower quality grey ones. The better ones (Orange and Yellow) are also cheaper there than in Cycleways.

Good stuff.

Thanks guys.

I was looking through youtube tonight and found this video

Kryptonite lock opened with a pen

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_2vLtpVPqhI

Has anyone tried this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

That was only certain Kryptonite locks, which were withdrawn in 2004.
    Until 2004 Kryptonite locks used the tubular pin tumbler locking mechanism. In 2004, videos circulating on the Internet demonstrated that some tubular pin tumbler locks of the diameter used on Kryptonite locks could be easily opened with the shaft of an inexpensive ballpoint pen of matching diameter.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kryptonite_lock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭mgadget

Take into account the type or bike rack you're locking the bike to also. The Mini U-lock is grand if you can lock through the frame or the back wheel through the rear triangle of the bike frame. If the bike rack you're using is one of those low ones where you lock through the bottom of the wheel then a Kryptonite or Abus lock and chain long enough to lock through the frame would be a better bet but both are pricey.

Lock Strategy by Sheldon Brown:
    If you don't have secure parking at your workplace, you should indeed have a serious lock, such as a Kryptonite. The thing is, you should not carry it home every night. The weight of a typical U-lock represents the difference between a $400 bike and a $700 bike.

Just leave the lock at work, locked to whatever you normally lock your bike to. Carry a light cable lock with you for quick errands or emergencies.

If you use both the U-lock and the cable lock at work, you are more than twice as safe as you would be with either of them alone. Either type of lock can be defeated, but each requires a different large, bulky tool which is useless against the other.

Don't take your bike apart to lock it, it is really bogus. The cable lock will secure your front wheel to the frame and any convenient object, and the U-lock will secure your rear wheel and frame. If you have a quick-release seatpost bolt, replace it with an Allen head bolt, and stop worrying about having your saddle stolen.

The best cable locks are the ones that have the lock built-in, rather than relying on a padlock. The padlock is the weak link, easily cut with bolt cutters, the tool of choice for most bike thieves. A new, sharp bolt cutter will cut a cable too, but an old, worn-out one will only crush a cable.

The best U-locks are the smallest. My favorite is the Kryptonite Mini, which not all bike shops stock. The Mini is much smaller and lighter than the more popular models, but just as secure. It may be even more secure, because of the limited room to put a jack inside it. It also gives less purchase for leverage-based attacks.

People tend to buy the big clunky U-locks because they don't know how to use them properly. A U-lock should go around the rear rim and tire, somewhere inside the rear triangle of the frame. There is no need to loop it around the seat tube as well, because the wheel cannot be pulled through the rear triangle.

Some will object that felons might cut the rear rim and tire to remove the lock. Believe me, this just doesn't happen in the real world. First, this would be a lot of work to steal a frame without a useable rear wheel, the most expensive part of a bike, after the frame. Second, cutting the rear rim is much harder than you might think. Since the rim is under substantial compression due to the tension on the spokes, it would pinch a hacksaw blade tight as soon as it cut partway through. Then there are the wire beads of the tire, also difficult to cut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭DJsail

Use it as a secondary lock only with two d-shackles, one each for the frame and rear wheel, already had two bikes stolen (at the same time) in my gaff's carpark despite security, CCTV and a similiar lock. Had just taken them off the back of the car after a ride and was leaving the clean-up till the next morn only to find them missing a couple of hours later.

Felt I was paying over the odds at Halfords but it did come with a cash gaurantee in the event of theft, That said sincerely doubt this is the most air-tight contract in the world and would strongly reccomend including your bike in any house/contents insurance and then checking the particulars of the policy regarding security etc..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

DJsail wrote: »
    Felt I was paying over the odds at Halfords but it did come with a cash gaurantee in the event of theft, That said sincerely doubt this is the most air-tight contract in the world and would strongly reccomend including your bike in any house/contents insurance and then checking the particulars of the policy regarding security etc..

Those insurance policies on locks are not usually valid in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

penexpers wrote: »
    Those insurance policies on locks are not usually valid in Ireland.

Why not, we're paying more for the lock than in order countries and we don't get the benefit of the insurance?

DJsail, that's terrible. Did you get anything off the management company in terms of reimbursement or at least cctv footage of the thiefs? Have heard alot recently of bikes getting stolen in underground supposed secured carparks in apartment buildings. A large fee goes to the management companies of these places each year so where is the security? They should be held partly responsible.

Does anyone know of the situation regarding bicycle insurance for people in rented accommodation. Have looked into it some and it's very expensive from what I can see. It looks like the only reasonable insurance is for those that have their own house and can list the bicycle under the contents insurance.

After a heated discussion with the management company and the security firm invloved it became fairly obvious fairly quickly that their liability would not stretch to bikes secured to a railing ''not fit for purpose'' or something along those lines.

The local Gardai although sympathetic couldn't provide much help as in fairness a body was apparently found on the Malahide Road that day and the rantings of a cyclist who had his ride stolen didn't really compare!

CCTV provided images of a few vans in the vicinity but its believed a fire exit was used to get the bikes out onto the street and apart from two lads who were well covered there's little chance of getting the bikes back. Have since taken precautions and the BOI offer apartment contents insurance with cover for your bike even when its stored away from your premises.

Its important to remember that the local station were adament this was an increasing problem with my bikes probably being sold for a couple of quid (despite costing a bloody fortune) and they had already confiscated quite alot of unclaimed bikes which are now rusting to bits behind the station itself! What a lovely thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Yea it's crazy, nothing so annoying as having your bike stolen. I've had 3 stolen over the space of about 18 months over two years ago and they weren't even good bikes. Reported them to the guards but nothing back.
    That's interesting about the BOI contents insurance, have never heard of that so will have to look into it. Thanks.
    By right the guards should plant a few bikes around the city with gps tracker devices embedded in them and reprimand the gangs that are stealing them. It's more that just scumbags stealing the odd bike for a quick buck.

Yeah agree as its far to common to be scum alone, look into the BOI its fairly cheap at just over Eur90 for the year and gives the peice of mind of knowing your bike is covered when locked to the back of your car after a race or in bits on the floor of your apratment!

Right guys, thanks for all the help. I am going to keep the magnum lock and use it in conjunction with the 7 foot kryptoflex I just bought from chain reaction cycles. A guy in work is a field engineer and he has a big box of locks that they use to secure their sites. I'm not sure of the name but he said they are the best and very very secure. My bike isn't top notch but I hope to get a lapierre r-500 lite in a few weeks.

Thanks again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

cheerspal wrote: »
    Right guys, thanks for all the help. I am going to keep the magnum lock and use it in conjunction with the 7 foot kryptoflex I just bought from chain reaction cycles.

Two cable locks? Bad idea. It'll just take 10 seconds rather than 5 to steal your bike. The quality of the locks themselves is irrelevant - thieves will just bolt-crop the cables.

fair enough but if it comes as a choice between a bike with two substantial locks rather than one, I doubt the one lock will come up trumps in the same way a house with an alarm bell box over the door will be less of a traget than those without.