Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

1 in 4 kids not wearing seatbelt

• 31-07-2009 8:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/parents-failing-to-put-seatbelt-on-one-of-every-four-children-1847654.html
    MORE than 60,000 children's lives are being put at risk every day because their parents don't make them wear a seatbelt -- even though more adults are buckling up than ever before.

And a shocking study from the Road Safety Authority (RSA) has found that although adult seatbelt wearing rates are at their highest level ever, one in four children are not being strapped into the car.

The RSA says that 246,802 children under the age of 14 years travel to school by car every day, but that thousands are being put needlessly at risk because they are not wearing any seatbelts.

And the road safety watchdog says that parents are committing the most selfish act of all by jeopardising their child's life while protecting their own.

"Could you think of a more selfish thing to do that put your own seatbelt on but not your child's?", a spokesman said.

The Adult and Child Seatbelt Survey published yesterday surveyed almost 17,000 adults and over 4,300 primary and secondary school children. It found:

Overall seatbelt wearing rate for adults is at 89pc, the highest ever recorded.
    74pc of primary school children were appropriately restrained in rear seats, an increase of 4pc.
    72pc of secondary school children wore seatbelts, up 9pc.
    Compliance tended to be higher in the morning school run than during the afternoon.
    Drivers on rural roads are less likely to wear seatbelts, despite higher accident rates.

Ireland has among the highest child casualty rates of any EU member state. The RSA's Child Casualty Report found that 198 children under the age of 14 were killed on the roads between 1997 and 2006, with another 855 seriously injured. Some 35pc of the casualties were passengers in cars. Three out of every four child seats are not fitted correctly.

Failure

Drivers face up to four penalty points and a fine of up to €800 on conviction for not wearing a belt and ensuring passengers are restrained. Any passengers aged over 17 years and caught not wearing a seatbelt get a €25 on-the-spot fine.

Some 55,393 penalty point notices have been issued to drivers for failure to wear seatbelts since 2002, but gardai have issued just 7,117 penalty point notices to drivers for failing to properly restrain their children.

Last night gardai said they were committed to reducing deaths and serious injuries on the roads.

"We would appeal to all motorists, especially parents, to ensure that all children are properly restrained while travelling," a spokesman said.

Transport Minister Noel Dempsey said it was "hard to believe" that parents would not ensure their child's safety.

"While the vast majority of drivers are choosing to wear a seatbelt and to ensure that those in their car wear them too, some people are still just not getting the message," he said.

One in eight car drivers killed in 2007 were not wearing seatbelts, and women are twice as likely to wear a seatbelt than males.

RSA chief executive Noel Brett said that two out of every three people would survive a car crash if they wore a seatbelt.

I find that pretty shocking to be honest. I never even start the car without my seltbelt on, it's subconciously automatic as I sit in.

On the other hand, nice to here about something that not speed related in the the paper;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

It is horrendous how parents can do this to their children and a range of excuses are offered up such as:

"I have to get to work" from a woman with 6 people in the car, four of whom are chidlren in the back, 2 of which have no belts on

or

"I took a risk of not getting caught" from a man with three unbelted children in the back of his van.

These are two excuses I have been told in the last two weeks.

Disgraceful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

TheNog wrote: »
    It is horrendous how parents can do this to their children and a range of excuses are offered up such as:

"I have to get to work" from a woman with 6 people in the car, four of whom are chidlren in the back, 2 of which have no belts on

or

"I took a risk of not getting caught" from a man with three unbelted children in the back of his van.

These are two excuses I have been told in the last two weeks.

Disgraceful

I hope you "did" them for it or else all the HH's will be all over you for not doing your job;)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I read an article on breakingnews a short while ago - people who don't strap their kids have a similar selfish, contemptful mentality as her:
    An English mother who told social workers that every time they took a child off her she would have another one has been accused of "irresponsible behaviour".

If you are not going to look after your kids then you shouldn't be allowed have them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭dragonsgates

You should come down to Mullingar.

Vans, Jeeps, and cars driving around, with the kids sitting on their laps in the front, while smoking.

No Garda enforcement whatsoever.

What do these people have to do to understand the dangers, or should we do nothing and let them enter the Darwin awards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

I hope you "did" them for it or else all the HH's will be all over you for not doing your job;)

Of course I did
    You should come down to Mullingar.

Vans, Jeeps, and cars driving around, with the kids sitting on their laps in the front, while smoking.

No Garda enforcement whatsoever.

What do these people have to do to understand the dangers, or should we do nothing and let them enter the Darwin awards?

The problem here is I see people doing crazy stuff all the time when I am driving my own private car as Im sure you do. People on their phones, people with kids unbelted and people driving dangerously. But when I am driving a marked patrol car I see none of these things, the reason why is because I am driving a highly visible marked patrol car. When people see the marked patrol car they pull down the phone, the tell their kids to hide and they drive responsibly.

A few years ago a survey was conducted on members of the public asking them what they would like the AGS to do and the top answer was more high visibility patrols which resulted in more marked cars on the road than unmarked. Sometimes I do get my hands on an unmarked car from the Crime Unit when its not being used and honestly I spend the day pulling over people for phones, for being unbelted and for driving dangerously. Unfortunately the times I can get hold of an unmarked is few and far between so I have to resort to other tactics which I know people here dont like. I parked up the unmarked down a little side road or a gateway to a field and watch drivers as they pass.

It never cease to amaze how normal rational people turn into crazies behind the wheel doing all sorts of stupid things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I remember hearing that a child under 12 cannot be in the front seat unless in one of those properly restrained child seats. Can anyone confirm/deny that for me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,155 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I have been given excuses when asking friends and family why they do not do it:

They only take off the belt
    It easier this way because they are quiet now
    Its hurts them.

Do you know why it hurts them? Its because that seat belt is not designed for a child and your child should be in a booster seat.

No excuse can be made and it will be too late when their childs brains are all over the windscreen. Ok, that may sound vulgur to some BUT that CAN eventually happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I hope he did them for it so their kids won't end up in wheelchairs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭dragonsgates

TheNog wrote: »
    Of course I did

The problem here is I see people doing crazy stuff all the time when I am driving my own private car as Im sure you do. People on their phones, people with kids unbelted and people driving dangerously. But when I am driving a marked patrol car I see none of these things, the reason why is because I am driving a highly visible marked patrol car. When people see the marked patrol car they pull down the phone, the tell their kids to hide and they drive responsibly.

A few years ago a survey was conducted on members of the public asking them what they would like the AGS to do and the top answer was more high visibility patrols which resulted in more marked cars on the road than unmarked. Sometimes I do get my hands on an unmarked car from the Crime Unit when its not being used and honestly I spend the day pulling over people for phones, for being unbelted and for driving dangerously. Unfortunately the times I can get hold of an unmarked is few and far between so I have to resort to other tactics which I know people here dont like. I parked up the unmarked down a little side road or a gateway to a field and watch drivers as they pass.

Thats good to know.

But the Gardai are walking past these people in Mullingar on their way to the court.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

I wouldn't even start the car without a seatbelt on or for that matter any of my passangers,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭TomMc

Some people are just ignorant, with no discrimination. They see wearing a seatbelt as just rules and regulations for the sake of it, not the bigger issue as to why these rules apply, i.e. for their own safety. Or are stupid and complacent enough to think it will never happen to them.

Not wearing a seatbelt is a bad habit, just like wearing one is a good habit and of course the law. Unfortunately some people have to learn the hard way, through a fine, penalty points, injury or worse.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

Herself regularly reminds me of the time we were stopped at a checkpoint and I was assed were the kids belted in. Seemingly she believes I answered "of course they are" in a tone of high dudgeon.

It bugs me. Collecting the kids from school I see cars passing by with the kids standing up or sitting in the front despite not being tall enough and not having a booster.

Our lads were taught from day 1 that seat belts had to be used.

I have a neighbour who is around 17 and learning to drive. He persists in driving without his belt. I mentioned this to him before and he claimed that he just unbuckles it coming into the estate although I have since seen him on the road without it on.
    I have told him that should I see him again without it, I'll make a formal complain about him. Thats bound to happen in the coming days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Cabaal wrote: »
    I wouldn't even start the car without a seatbelt on or for that matter any of my passangers,

I have some fun with my own mother and indeed my "father in law" with this. Both whinge and complain. But the key doesn't turn in the ignition until they buckle up.

Anybody else automatically reach over their right shoulder even when sitting into the passanger seat? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭badlyparkedmerc

The RSA may be twisting some stats to make the most tabloidish headlines, the report is somewhat unprofessional and while their survey is interesting as long as they follow the same methodology year on year, there may be a bit of bord snip related look-how-important-we-are type shouting going on.

Here's one example of the kind of stuff I didn't like from page 11 of the report. http://www.rsa.ie/NEWS/upload/File/Seatbelt%20Survey%2030%2007%2009.pdf

"However, female drivers were two times more likely to
    wear their seatbelt compared to male drivers."

The correct stating is the barely remarkable fact that female drivers are ~7% more likely to wear their seatbelt.

Their figures in fact show that a male driver is 2 times more likely to not wear a seatbelt, which isn't the same thing at all. The Sun might twist it around like the RSA did but I'd expect a government funded report to get it right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Sids Not

How can car makers put in a bleeper to let you know youre not wearing your seat belt, but still allow the car to be started and driven away..:confused:

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 18,381 Mod ✭✭✭✭Solitaire

IMHO there should be some kind of gizmo to prevent engaging any gear other than first or reverse unless all the seatbelts are buckled. Not too extreme IMHO, gives just enough time to get everything together before driving off into traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

this is a constant annoyance to me. my own sister never made her kids belt up for years,drove while on the phone etc.

she bought a jeep and it had the bleeper installed. so her daughter made a point of belting in the seatbelt and then sitting on it, in the front seat.
    she was 14 at the time.

when i seen this i asked my sister to stop the car,which she did in the middle of the road,stopping traffic despite the large parking space 20 yards away.

i then left the car and walked home. i refused to get into the car in future till they belt up.

she got caught and fined and now wears her belt and makes the little cryer wear one too.

i wont get started on the disgracefull acts i see outside our local school everyday. the guards should post a car there on random days. it would yeild a fortune in fines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

lazy ignorant and dangerous parenting tbh.

its amazing how many of these morons put their own belts on tho.

Sids Not wrote: »
    How can car makers put in a bleeper to let you know youre not wearing your seat belt, but still allow the car to be started and driven away..:confused:

My gf has one of them in the car. its the most annoying ****ing thing. If you take off the back seltbelt and get out while the engine is still running it doesn't turn off :(
    Solitaire wrote: »
    IMHO there should be some kind of gizmo to prevent engaging any gear other than first or reverse unless all the seatbelts are buckled. Not too extreme IMHO, gives just enough time to get everything together before driving off into traffic.

There are too many reasons you may not be wearing a seatbelt for that to be practical. (eg off public roads there no reason to wear one)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

One thing that always baffled me is everyones persistence in not wearing a seatbelt in a taxi. Virtually ALL my mates who would normally wear a seatbelt during the day will just jump into a taxi at night without a care in the world, as if a taxi is the safest place to be.

Anyone else notice this?

One thing that always baffled me is everyones persistence in not wearing a seatbelt in a taxi. Virtually ALL my mates who would normally wear a seatbelt during the day will just jump into a taxi at night without a care in the world, as if a taxi is the safest place to be.

Anyone else notice this?

But everyone knows your invincable when drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Not even when drunk, it seems as soon as night falls and someone else is driving, all logic goes out the window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

On a related note, it's amazing how many people ignore the safety briefings on a plane. It's there for their safety and has saved many thousands of lives, yet they seem to think of it as irrelevant to them. Scares the sh!te out of me to know in a crash (90% of which are survivable) most people won't have a clue where the nearest exit is. Seems like the second they get on board they lose all sense of perspective. People just think 'Feckit, if it crashes we're dead anyway' or 'Feckit, it'll never happen.' That's the mentality of people who don't use a seatbelt of don't belt their kids in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

My gf used to owrk in Mama's & Papa's years ago and the stories she had would make your hair stand on end.

How about a 4 month old baby being put into a booster seat because the proper car seat didn't match the upholstery?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

Sleipnir wrote: »
    My gf used to owrk in Mama's & Papa's years ago and the stories she had would make your hair stand on end.

How about a 4 month old baby being put into a booster seat because the proper car seat didn't match the upholstery?

:eek: ffs

Confab wrote: »
    On a related note, it's amazing how many people ignore the safety briefings on a plane. It's there for their safety and has saved many thousands of lives, yet they seem to think of it as irrelevant to them. Scares the sh!te out of me to know in a crash (90% of which are survivable) most people won't have a clue where the nearest exit is. Seems like the second they get on board they lose all sense of perspective. People just think 'Feckit, if it crashes we're dead anyway' or 'Feckit, it'll never happen.' That's the mentality of people who don't use a seatbelt of don't belt their kids in.

But you really only need to hear that once then you remember it and it just gets annoying...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,782 ✭✭✭Damien360

Anybody else automatically reach over their right shoulder even when sitting into the passanger seat? :)

I do this all the time. I cannot even sit in car without a seatbelt. I will not even move the car until all passengers have theirs on, front and back.

Something I saw a about 3 years ago. Often went to Supervalu(think it's that) in Crumlin and approached by getting off long mile road (going city bound) to the right just after kylemore junction. There is a church and school at the back of this.

As I approached the lights directly facing the supermarket entrance, a woman in a micra was just in front at the lights waiting for green. Her child (about 5 year old girl) was in the front passenger seat with the window rolled down fully. The girl was doing her best to touch the front wheel arch while caring mammy was on the phone. Her upper body was completly out of the car.

Lights turned green, mother pulls forward and a range rover went through the red going left to right with another woman on the phone. Just missed them. Mother in micra, now mad as hell that someone else nearly hit her car (could'nt care about the daughter as far as I can summise), accelerated and followed to her right. Little girl clinging to the door frame for dear life. I got such a shock that I stopped and actually missed the green even though I was behind them. If the accident happened it would be a tragic accident and not manslaughter on the part of the mother.

That is the worst I ever saw. Every day, up and down the country I see kids in the back and front of cars with no seat belts. one in four not wearing belts is not true. It is much higher.

Why can't guards blitz a few schools repeatably. 8.45 to 9.15am, 12.30pm to 1.30pm and finally the 3pm school finish. The message might not get across but fear of points might do it. It is easy to train kids to wear seatbelts. My kids at 2 and 5 say to buckle them in when they are in their car seats before any journey.

Damien360 wrote: »
    Every day, up and down the country I see kids in the back and front of cars with no seat belts. one in four not wearing belts is not true. It is much higher.
    Do you report them/make a formal complaint?
    Garda Trafficwatch: 1890 205 805

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭jaybee747

Seatbelts are a must in my car, I have 3 kids and they know seatbelts go on as soon as we are in the car and don't come off until car is parked and engine stopped.
    People who allow their kids to stand,jump/sit in a car unbelted are irresponsible parents,shouldn't be allowed have kids when they have no concern for their safety. And this lark off they'll just take them off doesn't wash, your the parent make them wear them.You'll be alot happier if someday your in a crash and the seat belt saves there life.Simple as.

jaybee747 wrote: »
    People who allow their kids to stand,jump/sit in a car unbelted are irresponsible parents,shouldn't be allowed have kids when they have no concern for their safety. And this lark off they'll just take them off doesn't wash, your the parent make them wear them.You'll be alot happier if someday your in a crash and the seat belt saves there life.Simple as.
    The problem is that many parents want to be their kids friends rather than parents!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 18,381 Mod ✭✭✭✭Solitaire

kbannon wrote:
    The problem is that many parents want to be their kids friends rather than parents!

Great way to be a "friend" to your own child by risking their lives! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

...I always, always, buckle up, and all my kids/SO. Simply non-negotiable. Car won't budge out of the driveway, otherwise.

However, let's not forget about the over-crowded car thing, as in NOG's contribution.

If you have a car where all the seatbelts are in use, and you are carrying extra passengers above that - say, 4 kids in the back of a car - you cannot be prosecuted for that child not wearing belt. The seatbelt law is more lax than you think.......

I came across a good checkpoint today - 2 mountain bike Gardai - bikes parked akimbo on the road, stopping cars for tax.

See, you don't always need a Mondeo ! :D

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Don't most cars nowadays have a weight sensor in the seat to determine if there's a person sitting in it or not? It'd be an idea for the ECU to disallow starting unless the appropriate weight sensor corresponded to a 'seatbelt on' flag. This flag could be triggered for the weight of a baby seat + baby.

Pretty simple really. Naturally the only way around that would be to put the belt on and sit on it... which really is insane.

+1. Very true.
    If you have a car where all the seatbelts are in use, and you are carrying extra passengers above that - say, 4 kids in the back of a car - you cannot be prosecuted for that child not wearing belt. The seatbelt law is more lax than you think.......

But isn't that exceeding the maximum passenger capacity of the vehicle and breaking the law anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Don't most cars nowadays have a weight sensor in the seat to determine if there's a person sitting in it or not? It'd be an idea for the ECU to disallow starting unless the appropriate weight sensor corresponded to a 'seatbelt on' flag. This flag could be triggered for the weight of a baby seat + baby.

Pretty simple really. Naturally the only way around that would be to put the belt on and sit on it... which really is insane.
    No, they don't, and it wouldn't be that easy. Who's to determine what the weight of a child is ? 1kg, 10kg ? And a baby seat vs booster, again, what weight ? It'd be a minefield, tbh.
    But isn't that exceeding the maximum passenger capacity of the vehicle and breaking the law anyway?

Actual capacity of a vehicle is determined by WEIGHT, not the no of passenger iirc........no law saying you can't but 4 light persons in a car built for 2 heavier ones........

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

galwaytt wrote: »
    Actual capacity of a vehicle is determined by WEIGHT, not the no of passenger iirc........no law saying you can't but 4 light persons in a car built for 2 heavier ones........
    ? Are you sure...coz that sounds wrong to me. Ive been in a car that was stopped by the cops before with 1 adult and 5 young teenagers and they brought up the fact that we had 6 in a car designed for 5.

Those are so ****ing annoying :mad:

Anyway what if you just have stuff on the back seat? for example being an occasional scout leader I may have quite heavy tents in back of car. Not going to go to hassle of doing up seatbelts before putting tent in. Its not practical for all situations.