Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Hobby :)

• 31-07-2009 12:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭

Now i want say as airsofter Air(it is only my minds,my personal as player)

I am 36 y old from Lithuania, i finded airsoft in Ireland and playing it since 11.07.For me Airsoft is not sport, it is my
    Hobby, i dont count my kills(hits) per game,i do not count how times i was hit,my point is meet peoples who may offer to me good time and i try do for them the same!
    Thanks to all who gave to my the best moments in my airsoft expirience,hope you can say that i gave to you the same.

P.S.Why i write it here?Cos i know - Airsoft is hobby,not sport :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

36!!!! I don't belive it :D....hobby/Sport/Excuse to get out with the lads for beer... Doesn't matter. This is the most sense I've read tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

-=AIR=- wrote: »
    Now i want say as airsofter Air(it is only my minds,my personal as player)

I am 36 y old from Lithuania, i finded airsoft in Ireland and playing it since 11.07.For me Airsoft is not sport, it is my
    Hobby, i dont count my kills(hits) per game,i do not count how times i was hit,my point is meet peoples who may offer to me good time and i try do for them the same!
    Thanks to all who gave to my the best moments in my airsoft expirience,hope you can say that i gave to you the same.

P.S.Why i write it here?Cos i know - Airsoft is hobby,not sport :)

i agree completely

sure; take it seriously and try yer best but play to play not to win at all costs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

I totally agree tbh... its all about the social side, having fun and playing hard... its a game, games dont have to be won... i never won house growing up... doesnt mean you cant enjoy it. Yeah, some people are competative, fair play to them... the best part of this game is we can play for whatever reason we want.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭lochdara

being competitive is what stops you getting bored, but shaking hands and thanking your opponent for a good game at the end of the day is what makes this a good thing.

Im new enough to airsoft but the amount of times i have being offered bbs and equipment when i need it makes me what to keep playing. And now i have more equipment i now have the chance to offer my spare bits and bobs to the new guys and anyone who needs it.

Currently fundraising for Irish Motor Neurone Disease Association

In Memory of my fab Wife www.sinsin.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭-=AIR=-

Respect Iceage,Tigger,Firekitten and Lochdara! 300 wiews and 4 aswers.:D
    So we where wrong,airsoft is sport ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

lochdara wrote: »
    but shaking hands and thanking your opponent for a good game at the end of the day is what makes this a good thing

+1 on Malcolm's post.
    When I first start playing airsoft I was so surprised at how sound the airsoft community was and how helpful they could be to noobs as in letting them/me try there AEGs out and stuff.In my opinion it is 50/50 Sport and Hobby.
    I don't think we can deny the fact that airsoft is a sport as it is, but we also cant deny that its a hobby either.
    And I an irish airsofter would like to thank the people who have provided airsofters in Ireland with shops,technicians and skirmishing sites as airsoft would be nothing without these things and most important the airsofters themselves who make everyone welcome regardless of being new to this sport/hobby or being a veteren to it aswell.

Just one point why Airsoft cant be sport:you taking hits or not and nowbady watching you :) and war game cant be a sport !

For me a sport is an activity, ie cycling, scuba diving, golf etc. I do all of those but not for competition. It promotes healthy lifestyle as does airsoft. It also promotes team work and fair play, ie taking hits and working with a buddy,

You can call it a hobby if you wish, all of the above is a hobby to me

lochdara wrote: »
    For me a sport is an activity, ie cycling, scuba diving, golf etc. I do all of those but not for competition. It promotes healthy lifestyle as does airsoft. It also promotes team work and fair play, ie taking hits and working with a buddy,

You can call it a hobby if you wish, all of the above is a hobby to me

Sport have ratings-right?In which place of world airsofters are you or me ;)

thats easy,,,, I am NO.1...
    well in my little world i am..

From where you got this info :D

i told myself that.... lol

And i beleive me too;)

You are invited tu ABZ game tommorow for free, be there at 1000 !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,348 ✭✭✭Rhinocharge

Just one point why Airsoft cant be sport:you taking hits or not and nowbady watching you :) and war game cant be a sport !

Sport as good sportsmanship perhaps.
    Most sports have a referee, as long as you enjoy the game & play safely then each to his own.
    For me I associate a sporting activitity which involves physical excercise & a hobby as non-physical, but that's just me. :)

Collecting AEGs and GBBs i think is a hobby but when you play it,it becomes a sport.

You are invited tu ABZ game tommorow for free, be there at 1000 !

Cheers

Im playing myself tomorrow...

Thanks for the offer

Sport as good sportsmanship perhaps.
    Most sports have a referee, as long as you enjoy the game & play safely then each to his own.
    For me I associate a sporting activitity which involves physical excercise & a hobby as non-physical, but that's just me. :)

for me a hobby is anything i do outside of working time..

incl photography, cycling airsoft etc,
    so physical would be my sporting hobbies.

mle1324 wrote: »
    Collecting AEGs and GBBs i think is a hobby but when you play it,it becomes a sport.

No my frend this is still hobby :) no protocols with results, just good weekend day;) when all will do it as hobby then we send marshals far away :)

i'm not saying your wrong but for me when i'm skirmishing its a sport more then a hobby.:)
    But still the whole point is to have fun on a skirmish:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭Dread-Lock

Sport - An athletic activity requiring skill or physical prowess and often of a competitive nature, as racing, baseball, tennis, golf, bowling, wrestling, boxing, hunting, fishing, etc.

Hobby - An activity or interest pursued for pleasure or relaxation and not as a main occupation: Her hobbies include stamp-collecting and woodcarving.

I personally call airsoft a sport. But does it really matter if people call it a sport or a hobby? AFAIK thanks to the IAA Airsoft is recognized as a sport in Ireland.

Sports don't have to be competitive, nor do they have to have spectators watching. But take the Take AIM Cup for instance, that has a ranking system and there were spectators. And it most certainly was competitive.

And me personally I do try and keep a rough track of my "kills" and "deaths" (Although when I'm storming a kill box or what not it'll be the last thing on my mind ;)). And then I try and better myself the next game or the next time I go airsofting.

Yes I play airsoft for pleasure, but I'm not looking for relaxation. I love the thrill of hunting someone down and getting a "kill". As do I love trying to evade being hunted. So I suppose as the saying goes: "Each to their own".

i'm not saying your wrong but for me when i'm skirmishing its a sport more then a hobby.:)
    But still the whole point is to have fun on a skirmish:pac:

Respect you!

But again i'ed like to say that without the shops and sites airsoft would not be a hobby or sport....it would be nothing and that is why i'm so appreciative of the retailers,site owners and organisations who are in Ireland and i'm sure i speak on behalf of all airsofters in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

I'd say hobby and sport.

The maintenance, modding and preparation are all hobby like, the game is a bit competitive, but mostly fun.

Its a physical activity, where you try your best to win the game, but without the aggressive competition titles and leagues have.

I suppose its my hobby, but I describe the actual playing as a sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,348 ✭✭✭Rhinocharge

But again i'ed like to say that without the shops and sites airsoft would not be a hobby or sport....it would be nothing and that is why i'm so appreciative of the retailers,site owners and organisations who are in Ireland and i'm sure i speak on behalf of all airsofters in Ireland.

Without the players, retailers & sites would have no reason to exist. It's a symbiotic relationship, we need one for the other. We're a community of airsofters'. :):)

Cant agree,just us - players may decide where we will play,all airsoft sites ,all shops they are dependent from us ;)
    If Airsoft sport - where is olimpic Irish airsoft team :D
    Thanks all for discourse ! Nice minds and words!

But you need shops and sites to have players for airsoft to be played ,if there is no shops and sites there is no players.thats the way i look at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Gray

Personally I think of Airsoft as both a sport & a hobby, when I'm skirmishing it's a hobby & as much about a bit of craic between games as having a good game. But when it comes to things like the Take AIM Cup its a sport.