Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Girl won't get the pill

• 30-07-2009 9:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I slept with a girl las nite, condom burst. I told her to get the pill today and she wont ****ing get it because she says its too ****in expensive and shes sure it will be grand. I dont want a kid what are the chances of pregnancy? I hear even without a condom it is hard to impregnante?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Can you pay for half?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭herya

There is always a chance of pregnancy if your condom has burst. Pay for the pill if you want to be sure (she's unreasonable, you should just split it). You don't want to be a daddy due to pill cost haggling, just reconsider sleeping with this girl in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

The sooner she takes it the better, I suggest you offer to pay for it if you can and see if that will persuade her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Well, it is your responsibility too so you should offer to pay for half the cost.

shes now sayin she cant be arsed goin into the clinic to get it as she has too much to do over the next few days!

How likely is it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Loula

I hear even without a condom it is hard to impregnante?

Seriously? No offense but ah, how do you think it works?!

Also, she is being ridiculously irresponsible

If the three days for the pill go by, you can have a coil fitted to prevent the implantation of an egg that has been fertilised, I strongly suggest it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

I don't like the sound of this at all. I wouldn't be 100% certain that this girl would even take the pill if the OP offered to pay for the whole thing. Might be worth accompanying her to the doctor/clinic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭wasper

I slept with a girl las nite, condom burst. I told her to get the pill today and she wont ****ing get it because she says its too ****in expensive and shes sure it will be grand. I dont want a kid what are the chances of pregnancy? I hear even without a condom it is hard to impregnante?
    If you don't want a kid & the costs associated with it. Then pay for the pill in full. And make sure you go with her to buy the pill. Because she sounds like she is not bothered with getting pregnant.

Please please please - just go with her and pay for it - do ye have that 24 hour gp service where you live ?? Seriously you do not want an unplanned pregnancy .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

You might have to face the fact that maybe she wants to get pregnant...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

she sounds like a keeper:rolleyes:

really,you have some say in it too, tell her how concerned you are and it would put your mind at rest if she went,offer to accompany her(she could just be scared about the whole experience of having to share her intimate details with the doc and then taking it.)

really though,if she's any cop on at all,she should put her feelings aside and just get it.she has 72hrs,but the sooner she takes it the better and more effective. i can't say how likely/unlikely pregnancy is, as we don't know where in her cycle she is etc. but it's certainly risky to not get emergency contraception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

If the three days for the pill go by, you can have a coil fitted to prevent the implantation of an egg that has been fertilised, I strongly suggest it.

Getting the coil fitted is a much bigger deal than the MAP... If she's not willing to even do that then I doubt the coil is going to be something she'll consider.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭kittenkiller

Do you have a close female friend who you could pay to go to a clinic to get the pill for?

Ask her to go in, pay for everything and then hand the pill to your lovely new lady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭ladygirl

go with her to doctor - pay for it if you have to, and make sure you see her taking the pill... she is such a muppett,, "the pill is too expensive, eh how expensive is a baby".. Be very careful who you sleep with in future as there are lots of girls out just looking to get pregnant,,,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

My goodness, what is this girl playing at?? THIS is why this country needs to make the morning-after pill available over the counter. You really HAVE to put your foot down here OP...this will affect your life as well. Kick up a MAJOR fuss..if the condom split and you ejaculated then yes, there's is a chance she will get pregnant.

Here's the address of the Well Woman clinic close to Ha'penny Bridge 9and they've a clinic on the Southside too)....they're very nice in there, it's no biggy and you'll be in and out within a half an hour and it's closed at 7.30 tonight. There are clinics like this all around Dublin...just google them. Offer to pay for it if you can.

http://www.wellwomancentre.ie/medical.html

If I were you, I'd be putting my foot down BIG time! This will affect your life as well as hers and she's acting selfishly.

Do you have a close female friend who you could pay to go to a clinic to get the pill for?

Ask her to go in, pay for everything and then hand the pill to your lovely new lady.

That would be fraud and frankly dangerous it could be that the young lady in question may not be given the M.A.P. due to health reasons, never EVER
    get perscription meds for someone else and never EVER take someone elses meds esp if you have never taken them before.

Lesson to all here...

Don't. Ride. Sluts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭weird

Yeah, they say it is very dangerous to take the pill after 6 years and that a woman's lieklyhood of developing breast cancer increases.

perfectly reasonable she doesn't want to take the pill.

You're either gonna have to suit up and wear a johnny or stop putting your hoo hoo in her ha ha

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

weird wrote: »
    Yeah, they say it is very dangerous to take the pill after 6 years and that a woman's lieklyhood of developing breast cancer increases.

perfectly reasonable she doesn't want to take the pill.

You're either gonna have to suit up and wear a johnny or stop putting your hoo hoo in her ha ha

he did wear one... it burst...

- Drav!

Please read the first post before contributing the Pill in mention is the Emergency Contraceptive Pill also know as the Morning After Pill.

Rojomcdojo
    Unhelpful and off-topic posting will get you banned from this forum.
    Do take time to read the charter which contains the rulesand abide by them.
    Have a nice day.
    Thaedydal

Perhaps because she's under the impression things will be okay she's not that worried because of where she is in her cycle?

However, regardless of where I was in my cycle I wouldn't hesitate to take the MAP - it's a lot less expensive than a child!!

It's impossible to say how likely it is she could be pregnant, the chances could be very high or you might have nothing to worry about. Women can fall pregnant on their first time trying for a baby....or their 91st time...Based on her attitude, unless she desperatly wants a baby, I think she'd be a lot more worried if she were at a dangerous point in her cycle.

If I were you, to lessen the chances of a baby just pay for the MAP for her and then at least you know you've done all you can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭weird

he did wear one... it burst...

- Drav!

OP, maybe you need a bigger condom? Has it burst just the once or have they burst before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

might be bit late now, mornin after pill needs to be taken within 72 hours - she needs to get to docs and get him to give her presciption - doc cost €50, then go to chemist for pill - not sure how much it is, but its not that much, be she needs to do it asap

Pill itself costs around €14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭mood

Is she crazy! Got to clinic with her and pay for it all or it might never happen.

If I were you I would never be with this girl again. After all this blows over I would move on (after she has taken the morning after pill). Tell her that you want to be with someone responsible as you do to want to risk being a father at this point in your life. This might seem extreme but with her attitude it is likely she will get caught.

Offer to pay her half of it, if not all of it. It's just crazy that she doesn't want to get it sorted!

On a sidenote, Ireland is so bloody backwards when it comes to this. It's so ridiculous how you have to go to the doctor to give you a prescription and then on to a pharmacy where you have to get it done. In England you just go to the pharmacy straight - some will even give it to you for free if you sign up to some sort of program. Superdrug being one of these chains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭mood

Maybe if you know one of her friends you could phone them for chat about it and they might help talk her into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭mandysmithers

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    Lesson to all here...

Don't. Ride. Sluts.

Eh, I don't see why she's a slut. Stupid & irresponsible, ya, but just from what the OP has said, I don't know why you think she's a slut.

what age is this girl ?

ok forgive the preach. but this is the real danger of casual sex. u never f**kin know when the other person is f*8kin crazy and willing to mess with your life. even taking precautions is no guarantee.

so i don't know what to tell you. involving a mutual friend might help, might make things worse, might pressure her into it. she really needs to cop on thou. you could tell her you are trying to be responslbe and if she ends up pregnant then it will be her problem. but your headin for fireworks down that road and i personally couldn't actually follow thru on that......but that doesn't mean i wouldn't say it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Oh The Humanity

This is dodgy OP.

March her to the clinic/doctor and go in with her and make her get the morning after pill. You have 72 hours from the time ye had sex.

She may be somewhere safe in her cycle but she MAY on the other hand be an untrustworthy woman looking to tap you.

Tell her in no uncertain terms you are not accepting any excuses about being too busy or not being able to afford it. This is more important than any of her excuses.

Go in with her and insist on her taking it in front of you.

ok if she abolustely is refusing you need someone to be a witness to it. involve a friend loyal to you if she won't see sense

Do you know anyone that is close to her? Tell them. She needs to see sense that what she is doing is really irresponsible!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 rhyolite

having read the thread - and fcuk me how can people that stupid not get run-over on the first road they cross - i must ask: does she know you?

coz if she doesn't - or indeed you can run away - i'd do so.

normally i'd get on my high horse about "if you stick it in you've got responsibility for what comes out", but in this case her refusal to do anything about the MAP after the contraception you BOTH used (meaning that, in effect, you both agreed that you didn't want to conceive on this occasion) visibly failed means that your moral responsibilties have (imv) been wiped by her idiocy (deception?).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Op I'm not sure what age you and the girl are but the doctor in the GlenRoyal Shopping centre in Maynooth will see you for €20 if she has a Student card. Hope you manage to get this sorted soon. Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Also are you sure she's not on any other method of contraception? She could be taking the pill or have the implant or injection and was using condoms to stave off STDs. I know it's these methods aren't 100% foolproof (and she does seem like a fool) but if she is taking on one of these then she could know for pretty much certain she isn't pregnant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭lilyrose

OP - the girl is being completly irresponsible.
    I dont know your location but If it is the cost of going to the doctors that is the problem would it be possible to make your way up north, as the MAP is available over the counter in any pharmacy.