Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pick my boring bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I'd buy none of them. For that budget, find something decent used, like this, if it fits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Kolo

Lumen wrote: »
    I'd buy none of them. For that budget, find something decent used, like this, if it fits.
    I was hoping for something with gears. And with the cycle to work thingie I can get around €100 off.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

How long is the commute. I commute on a fixed and it's quite fun. Wouldn't go for a tricross though, it's a niche cyclocross bike.

RobFowl wrote: »
    How long is the commute. I commute on a fixed and it's quite fun. Wouldn't go for a tricross though, it's a niche cyclocross bike.

Fixed or geared doesn't really matter for commuting, you just want something that works, and most new bikes in the €350 range will be completely ****.

The Tricross is a perfectly decent commuter bike - tough and practical, and you would be hard pressed to do better for €300.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

The Carerra Subway is probably the best value of those bikes. It is a good solid commuter/town bike that gets very good reviews. Plenty of people on UK forums with one who say it is a good bike for the price. After that, I would go for the Giant, I have tried the next one up in the line, the CRS 3.0, and it seems to ride very nicely. I have that same derailleur setup on my hack bike (Tourney and C051) and it is pefectly reliable.

With respect to Lumen, he is talking out of his arse, it is perfectly possible to get a decent bike that will reliably trundle around town around the €350 mark. There is a pricepoint below which you would not want to go, if you had posted on here asking about Apollos from Halfords or some €100 monstrosity from Dunnes that would be a different matter. But yes, you will get a half decent hybrid for €350 if that is all you want to spend. You will of course get something better for more money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

if i was commuting in a city again its the type of bike i'd be looking at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭dazzday

buckleycycles.ie in athlone are doing a CRS 3.0 for €289...

throw in the C2W scheme and youve got your bargain.

Although id personally try and stretch towards something like a Specialized sirrus sport or Giant FCR 4...more "road-bike" like.

blorg wrote: »
    With respect to Lumen, he is talking out of his arse, it is perfectly possible to get a decent bike that will reliably trundle around town around the €350 mark.

I didn't say it wasn't possible to get a decent bike at that price. My Tricross cost under €300.
    blorg wrote:
    The Carerra Subway is probably the best value of those bikes. It is a good solid commuter/town bike that gets very good reviews. Plenty of people on UK forums with one who say it is a good bike for the price

From your own link...
    Anyway I wandered into Halfords - mostly because at the time I didn't know any better - and I came out with a Subway 1.

I certainly won't be doing that again. Their build quality and attention to detail are woeful.

Okay the bike itself.

1. Handling - generally good - once you get rid of those horrific tires. They were very slippy and non-grippy. I swapped them for a set of Schwab Marathon road tires. Far better. Now very crisp road-holding indeed. Even in the rather snowy / icy conditions of Feb they held their own.

2. Brakes - the supplied pads are hopeless. I wore them away in two weeks of moderate riding.

3. The saddle - not friendly at all. That's next on the list to swap out.

4. Gear changing - frisky. It's been back twice to have that problem sorted out. I've had leaping gears, the SRAM grip shift has also gone west once. The bike is still thankfully under warranty but I dread it going wrong a third time.

5. Build quality - not great. All the shiny bits on it are now going rusty. The bike when not on the road is stored in the garage at home, and under a covered cycle shelter at work. I also try to keep it as clean as possible.

6. Gearing - could be better. There are a fair few hills in the way and it struggles. It first I thought it was me (and it probably was) but now I'm starting to think that it could do with re-gearing. On the flat in Reading it performs superbly so maybe I need to move to somewhere with less hills.
    grodge08 wrote:
    I agree that the gears on the Subway can be quite crunchy at times and also at really inopportune moments the gear will slip from being low to an inappropriately high one which can throw me completely as I'm building up a rhythm.
    lardboy wrote:
    My rear gear hanger has now had to be replaced 3 times in less than 1000 miles, once following an accident with a moped (my fault) but twice within a month it has simply snapped during use. I think the springs in the rear gear set may be too strong for the forces being applied to the hanger, meaning that it breaks when moving up a gear.
    pezzeruk wrote:
    I was pleased overall with the bike but not very happy with the front shifter which was not set up right from the start with the annoying grate everytime you switch gear which despite my best endeavours still has not been resolved.

Your Tricross was got in a UK sale and normally retails in Ireland around the €600 mark (used be €700.) As you know I have the same bike as my own commuter and like it but SS/fixed is not for everyone.

I take issue with this statement, which is frankly bullshít:
    most new bikes in the €350 range will be completely ****

If you were talking about a full suspension MTB or indeed most road bikes you would have a point but it is perfectly possible to get a decent geared hybrid for around that pricepoint and at least two of the bikes the OP has mentioned (the Subway and the Giant) are probably among the best value in that market segment. Ideally you want to avoid front suspension, that is the main risk, that you will get a cheap and nasty fork.

The Subway has a good editorial review and the average user review (which you selectively quote from) is still 4 out of 5 with the main question being over Halfords build quality (a recurring theme.) Note all those people you quote also say they are overall happy with the bike! If you search BikeRadar and other UK forums you will find more happy Subway owners.

If you are worried about Halfords building the bike and don't know how to sort yourself then get the Giant from CSS who will build a bike properly (or indeed Buckley Cycles, that is a good deal on the 3.0 which is better.)

My own hack hybrid (Dawes Discovery 201) has a RRP around the €350 mark, has a similar gearing system to the Giant CRS 4.0 and has been perfectly reliable. I have tried the CRS 3.0 and it rides very nicely. I think 7 speed is easier to keep working with cheaper components.

It helps of course if you look after the bike and service it regularly... Many purchasers of cheaper bikes don't do this and I suspect this has more to do with many problems experienced with the entry level from reputable brands, which tends to be quite decent stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Kolo

First of all, thanks for all the replies
    11km each way.
    dazzday wrote: »
    buckleycycles.ie in athlone are doing a CRS 3.0 for €289...

throw in the C2W scheme and youve got your bargain.

Although id personally try and stretch towards something like a Specialized sirrus sport or Giant FCR 4...more "road-bike" like.
    Cheers, just checked the giant fcr 4, looks good but €500 is a bit too pricey. Although if I want to use it for a cycle at the weekend it might be worth investing the extra few euro. Damn you!
    The Carerra Subway is probably the best value of those bikes. It is a good solid commuter/town bike that gets very good reviews. Plenty of people on UK forums with one who say it is a good bike for the price. After that, I would go for the Giant, I have tried the next one up in the line, the CRS 3.0, and it seems to ride very nicely. I have that same derailleur setup on my hack bike (Tourney and C051) and it is pefectly reliable.

With respect to Lumen, he is talking out of his arse, it is perfectly possible to get a decent bike that will reliably trundle around town around the €350 mark. There is a pricepoint below which you would not want to go, if you had posted on here asking about Apollos from Halfords or some €100 monstrosity from Dunnes that would be a different matter. But yes, you will get a half decent hybrid for €350 if that is all you want to spend. You will of course get something better for more money.
    Yep, like everything the more money the better the product. It can keep inching up and before you know it you're spending a grand:eek:
    But I don't want to go down the Dunnes stores route

What shop in Dublin would be the best to go into? I read a bit about Cyclelogical on this forum and I'm not going in there! Is cycleways a better bet, or somewhere out of the city centre?

Joe Daly's in Dundrum is a very good shop which will give good advice and good follow-up service. Your main options there at that price range would be Dawes or Trek- probably the former as Treks are a bit pricier. Something like a Dawes Discovery 201 would be a very good choice (I have this bike myself) and the recent ones in matt black look very good too IMHO.

Irrespective of what you think of them Cycleogical don't really do that end of the market as far as I know. Cycleways are decent but in the past have tended to be a bit pricey, maybe have got a bit more competitive (on Specialized in particular) recently.

If you want to go for longer weekend spins, I would consider at that point stretching the budget a bit to go for something a bit better; I have done 40-50km or so on the Dawes in the past when my road bike was out of order but a nicer bike is always better for longer spins.

Bear in mind with the cycle to work scheme if on the higher tax bracket you are effectively getting 50% off, AND you can only do it every five years. As such if you think there is a possibility of getting more into cycling and using the bike for any sort of riding beyond that I would be highly inclined to spend as much as you possibly can on the bike and aim for something near the €1,000 mark (for which you will only pay €500) to get the maximum saving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Bloch

City Cycles on Blackhall Place (up from that new white bridge on the Liffey that leads up to Prussia street. Just at the back of the Lighthouse cinema actually)
    is a new place only open a few months - from a smaller shop they used to have in Cabra.

They have plenty of showroom space and a good range there. Prices seem reasonable to me. Also, since they are not (yet) very busy, they may have more time and patience if you come back needing adjustments.

The city centre shops always seem very hectic to me, with let's say a preference for dealing in high-end components and maybe a bit of bike snobbery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Bloch wrote: »
    City Cycles on Blackhall Place ....
    I'd go along with that, I drop in there every now and then. Sound bunch. Wheelworx in Clondalkin do Giants too and have an excellent mechanic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭mazza

I have the Subway Carrera as my 'hack about town and occasional cycle to work' bike when I don't want to bring my (somewhat) better bike.

I think its ok in terms of parts and weight for the price and it'll probably do the job for you, though you will tire of it if you cycle a better bike also.

I put thinner tyres, mudguards and a carrier on it (with panniers) for commuting and it did me fine.

Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

I didn't say it wasn't possible to get a decent bike at that price. My Tricross cost under €300.

From your own link...

Jesus Lumen, did you jump out of bed the wrong way? Carrera Subway is a perfect bike for commuting, of course you can get better, but you will pay for it.

As fot thos quotes nit pick much? we both know that they are quotes from gob****es who dont have a clue.:
    pezzeruk wrote:
    I was pleased overall with the bike but not very happy with the front shifter which was not set up right from the start with the annoying grate everytime you switch gear which despite my best endeavours still has not been resolved.

Id reccomend this guy to go and get the gears adjusted, its quite clear thats all thats needed, poor set up isnt the fault of the bike, its either pezzeruk if he built it himself or Halfords(both quite probable)
    lardboy wrote:
    My rear gear hanger has now had to be replaced 3 times in less than 1000 miles, once following an accident with a moped (my fault) but twice within a month it has simply snapped during use. I think the springs in the rear gear set may be too strong for the forces being applied to the hanger, meaning that it breaks when moving up a gear.

More bollix, gear hangers dont just "snap". They are the same hangers that are used on kona and other carrera MTB, Ive never had issue with them, then again I dont smack my rear mech off stuff, neither do i lock in a bunch of bikes. This just sounds like ****e coming from a guy who is hard on bikes.
    grodge08 wrote:
    I agree that the gears on the Subway can be quite crunchy at times and also at really inopportune moments the gear will slip from being low to an inappropriately high one which can throw me completely as I'm building up a rhythm.

Again this guy is probably running it into the ground, sounds like he needs a new chain and a decent gear adjust. Nothing wrong with the bike, Its wear and tear caused by the owner which will happen on a e100 bike and on a e10000 bike.

1. Handling - generally good - once you get rid of those horrific tires. They were very slippy and non-grippy. I swapped them for a set of Schwab Marathon road tires. Far better. Now very crisp road-holding indeed. Even in the rather snowy / icy conditions of Feb they held their own.

All tyres and bikes at this price range are ****, not **** enough to warrant a change. This guy sounds like hes blaming the machine for his shortcomings.
    2. Brakes - the supplied pads are hopeless. I wore them away in two weeks of moderate riding..

Pure ****e, unless his rims are metallic files, he didnt wear anything away in 2 weeks. He should also know as hes a "expert" that hard compound pads are **** and wont stop you...pick one jackass, stopping and replacing or just having them as ornaments.
    3. The saddle - not friendly at all. That's next on the list to swap out...
    Fecking sissy, the saddles are standard issue.
    4. Gear changing - frisky. It's been back twice to have that problem sorted out. I've had leaping gears, the SRAM grip shift has also gone west once. The bike is still thankfully under warranty but I dread it going wrong a third time.
    Granted grip shift is ****e, the new subway has rapid fire. Also leaping gears are normal after the bike is used for a while. Just needs a tune up.
    5. Build quality - not great. All the shiny bits on it are now going rusty. The bike when not on the road is stored in the garage at home, and under a covered cycle shelter at work. I also try to keep it as clean as possible..
    Well, mate you have a problem with your garage then, my bikes aint rusted, kept inside now, ones a carrera, maybe the only difference is mine is looked after? cleaned when its dirty, and polished up. Things dont just rust, they rust because they oxidise with moist air and water, so you bike is encountering these,. Polish it up and youl be fine
    6. Gearing - could be better. There are a fair few hills in the way and it struggles. It first I thought it was me (and it probably was) but now I'm starting to think that it could do with re-gearing. On the flat in Reading it performs superbly so maybe I need to move to somewhere with less hills

Really clutching at straws, the bike is good but it doesnt make up for your physical shortfalls

kona wrote: »
    Jesus Lumen, did you jump out of bed the wrong way? Carrera Subway is a perfect bike for commuting, of course you can get better, but you will pay for it.

I think perhaps my comments were not taken in the spirit in which they were intended. :)

I didn't say the Carrera was shít, or the Giant. Blorg posted a link to a review and mentioned that lots of users said positive things. I read the comments on the review, and they looked quite negative. That's all.

As for my comment that "many €350 bikes are ****", that's based on what I see when I go into an average bike shop. I don't deny that it's possible to find something usable at that price, and that's not what I said, and I gave my own bike as an example.

If I was looking for a commuter under €350, I'd buy tax man's €300 as-new Tricross and spend the change on tyres/gear, but the OP subsequently stated that he wants gears, which is fine. I was just chucking opinions in.

I think perhaps my comments were not taken in the spirit in which they were intended. :)

I didn't say the Carrera was shít, or the Giant. Blorg posted a link to a review and mentioned that lots of users said positive things. I read the comments on the review, and they looked quite negative. That's all.

As for my comment that "many €350 bikes are ****", that's based on what I see when I go into an average bike shop. I don't deny that it's possible to find something usable at that price, and that's not what I said, and I gave my own bike as an example.

If I was looking for a commuter under €350, I'd buy tax man's €300 as-new Tricross and spend the change on tyres/gear, but the OP subsequently stated that he wants gears, which is fine. I was just chucking opinions in.

Ha I dont think they were either:P

Sure internet sites are ****e for reviews there is always one guy who has somthing bad to say, look at the threads here!:eek:

I didn't say the Carrera was shít, or the Giant. Blorg posted a link to a review and mentioned that lots of users said positive things. I read the comments on the review, and they looked quite negative.
    The OP posted that he was looking for a commuter around the €350 mark and listed three hybrids, which would we pick. Two of them happened to be very good value, the sort of thing that would be recommended anyway if someone just came in asking "what commuter for €350?" You said you would "buy none of them", that "most new bikes in the €350 range will be completely ****" (clearly implying that you thought the Carrera and Giant are "****") and continued to push a fixie when the OP says he wanted gears... This is frankly utterly wrong and bad advice, solid entry level hybrids universally start around that pricepoint. You then proceed to selectively quote from user reviews giving the bike 4 out of 5... I think this is one for the Kona special smiley: :rolleyes:

To be honest Lumen, I would not be running out to buy a Subway or a Giant CRS 3.0 myself but I can step outside my own requirements for a second and see that they make a lot of sense for a starter commuter on a tight budget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Girlfriend had a Carrera Subway, grand bike and would get a thumbs up from me..

To be honest Lumen, I would not be running out to buy a Subway or a Giant CRS 3.0 myself but I can step outside my own requirements for a second and see that they make a lot of sense for a starter commuter on a tight budget.

You're implying that I'm incapable of stepping outside my own requirements. Not true. I'm no fixie/SS fanatic. My Tricross gathers dust in my shed - I find gears easier on my legs.

However, a single speed is a perfectly reasonable choice for commuting - easy to maintain drivetrain, no cleaning and very little to go wrong. I'm not pushing it, I just offered it as an option.

I don't know why you're so bothered by me expressing my opinion, I thought that was the point of this place.

Lads friday is tomorrow;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭dazzday

Kolo wrote: »

Cheers, just checked the giant fcr 4, looks good but €500 is a bit too pricey. Although if I want to use it for a cycle at the weekend it might be worth investing the extra few euro. Damn you!

Its pretty much a straight bar road bike, and make your 11km commute like driving!
    They have a great sale down there at the moment and have 2nd hand bikes available (got a 6month old FCR 3 for €400). The specialized Sirrus Sport at €430 is a bike i could fall in love with!

As great as buying online is price wise, id really reccomend sitting on the bike first before anything, all the reveiws and reccomendations in the world wont help you if you dont feel comfortable. Just keep shopping around!

I don't know why you're so bothered by me expressing my opinion, I thought that was the point of this place.
    It was really the "most new bikes in the €350 range will be completely ****" bit that rankled, as this is the entry level for a quality hybrid... So suggesting the OP _has_ to buy secondhand or up his budget is bad advice IMHO.

Anyway, I got Kona on my side which means I won. :pac:

Yeah, if Kona is having a go at me for being argumentative I must need a holiday.

I admit defeat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭jinka

Stay clear of Cycleways

Had a spotty asshole try to put me down for spending 500e. "oh we dont really sell below that price as they are crap"
    General ****head

Yeah, if Kona is having a go at me for being argumentative I must need a holiday.

I admit defeat.

I just want to see what the other side of the fence is like;):p

jinka wrote: »
    Stay clear of Cycleways

Had a spotty asshole try to put me down for spending 500e. "oh we dont really sell below that price as they are crap"
    General ****head

Pretty good advice IMO.

although change the 500 to e300 and your about right.

Although Ive seen some fairly mediocre bikes there, maybe they sell overpriced ****e:D

Oh he put you down for spending e500?! I agree asshole! e500 would get you a very good commuter IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭DJsail

Go for the Carerra Subway, they must be built by Chuck Norris, a mate got one on the bike to work scheme and initially took the piss, but have seen this thing get bashed by van, chucked down the stairs to the office daily and chained up in Temple Bar over a weekend with not a note-worthy mark on it.

Your budget is fairly small so with that in mind buy this and be happy, you can always upgrade the tyres later but not bad for city cycling as it is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

I'm using a MTB at the moment, and while I'm happy enough with it I want something better. I was thinking of going for a Hybrid, but what do you think about just skipping the Hybrid and going for an entry level Road Bike like the Defy for commuting. I liked to extend my commute (11k) as exercise/training. I've been waiting on a cycle to work scheme for about a year but its still not happening at work. They've been saying it will be next week for like 6 months. If it does happen I'll use it to get something much better.

really depends on how much you have to spend and the length of the commute, the Subway's mentioned above are excellent value and sturdy bikes but aint the fastest on earth, plus for weaving in and out of traffic the flat handle bars and upright position are probably safer.

However if you can handle the different body position and need the speed for the longer commute then try the Giant Defy range, for the same frame but with flat bull ended bars and a slightly higher spec try the FCR's they're racing bikes without the drop bars (which can be fitted later if necessary) all good value but try and spend a little bit more for the Carbon fork options on both!

DJsail wrote: »
    try the FCR's they're racing bikes without the drop bars (which can be fitted later if necessary)

Not really cost-effective, since the shifters are probably the most expensive part of the groupset (Tiagra shifters are over €200, for example).

Better to decide what type of bars you want and stick with them, or else sell the bike on if you want to change.

yeah granted the STI's can be pricey but second-hand parts for a decent sora/tiagra pair will cost about a hundred which isn't a major expense and will give the advantage of ownig a quality road bike for a fraction of the price and which can be changed over to commuting fairly easily.

Agreed its probably better to choose what bars will be more suitable before forking out the cash though!