Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway wednesday

• 28-07-2009 10:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭

Tips/selections and reasoning sr im not contributing many tips myself but i have a few contacts who pull a few nice strokes now and again
    so I will contribute them in sometime.
    Also well done to those who done some bookie damage over last few days. Lets see what wednesday brings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

Jaamid is interesting in the Plate.
    Ran well at Punchestown in the soft and well in.
    Im on at 30s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Assuming soft ground or worse...without seeing any speed ratings.

Tawaagg/Not Til Monday
    Present Gem/The Rebel Return
    Teach Nua (yes he's out again)NR
    Blackstairmountain/High Chaparrel
    Wins Now/Northern Allianance NR
    Halaziya/Moving Heart
    Steig/Young Lochinvar
    Maurice Utrillo (token pick)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭FeetMagic

Im betting big on Roby De Cimbre @ 16:25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Tony3004

im betting ................... i still wont pick a winner in galway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭biscuits1981

nearly afraid to give a tip here now with what happened on tues tips between mike and stallion any way was in a restaurant tonight in galway and my friend who was with spotted mark weld having something to eat he asked him for a tip and he said moving heart in the 5 05 has a great chance,for ye who dont know mark weld is a son of dermot weld any way just thought let ye know that info and the reasoning behind it...

best of luck with it if ye do back it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Goldcupfav

Know this is Galway thread but got tip for Braveheart Move in the 4.00 at Goodwood. Tip came from very good source inside Moyglare stud who own the horse! Was 9/2 with ladbrokes earlier tonight now 4/1 best price around. Dont expect it to be this price at the off. GL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭alibabba

FeetMagic wrote: »

Just wondering is the ground against him
    The trainer was on during the week hoping for the ground to be dry for him ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

Only bet I'm throwing on today is in the Plate, Wins Now and maybe a little somethin' e/w on Odachee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

powers paying 5 places in plate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,943 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

DeadSkin wrote: »
    Only bet I'm throwing on today is in the Plate, .

what time is the race ?

Headshot wrote: »
    what time is the race ?

4.25pm

alibabba wrote: »
    4.25pm

must be blind

cant see it there ?

Headshot wrote: »
    must be blind

cant see it there ?

see it where ?

Galway Wed 29 July 2009 Card
    16:25 The William Hill Galway Plate (Steeplechase Handicap) (Grade A)
    2m 6f , Race Value: €250,000

The William Hill Galway Plate (Steeplechase Handicap) (Grade A) Guaranteed value of EUR250,000 (Generously sponsored by William Hill) (The Owner of the winner will receive a Sterling Silver Salver and the Trainer and Rider will also receive replicas, all presented by William Hill) Of which the second will receive EUR50,000, the third EUR25,000, the fourth EUR10,000, the fifth EUR7,500 and the sixth EUR5,000

p-A7111
    Royal County Star A.J.Martin 143

ch g Magical Wonder (USA) - Belladoon
    10, 11-7 (Dunsany Racing Syndicate) D.N. Russell

5-02335
    Kerryhead Windfarm Adrian Maguire 142

br g Bob Back (USA) - Kerryhead Girl
    11, 11-6 (James R.Browne) S.J. Hassett (3)

(Blinkers)

1f-3403
    Northern Alliance A.J.Martin 140

ch g Naheez (USA) - Lady Bettina
    8, 11-4 (Irish Rover Syndicate) D.F. O'Regan

Oodachee (GB) C.F. Swan 136

b g Marju - Lady Marguerrite (GB)
    10, 11-0 (Modreeny Syndicate) D.J. Casey

(C/P & T/S)

94-0340
    French Accordion Paul Nolan 134

b g Accordion - Royal Thimble
    9, 10-12 (Padraig Brady/Martin O'Sullivan) A.P. Cawley

(C/P & T/S)

51p-651
    Ballyholland C.A.McBratney 131

b g Tiraaz (USA) - Lilly Bolero (GB)
    8, 10-9 (Cathal M. McGovern) Andrew J. McNamara

p6pu-39
    Bothar Na W.P. Mullins 131

ch g Mister Lord (USA) - Country Course
    10, 10-9 (Mrs Michael O'Dwyer) P. Townend

21120-1
    Roby De Cimbre (FR) P.F.Nicholls (in GB) 131

gr g Myrakalu (FR) - Belle De Liziere (FR)
    6, 10-9 (Terry Warner) R. Walsh

(T/S)

p10514
    Washington Lad P.A.Fahy 131

ch g Beneficial (GB) - Kyle Lark
    9, 10-9 (Garrafrauns Syndicate) P.W. Flood

(Blinkers)

3u2125
    Jaamid (GB) Noel Meade 130

b g Desert Prince - Strictly Cool (USA)
    7, 10-8 (Peter M.Law) P. Carberry

(T/S)

101p-91
    Oscar India Henry de Bromhead 130

b g Oscar - Curry Lunch
    10, 10-8 (A.J. Burns) B.J. Geraghty

(C/P)

Piano Star (GB) Michael Cunningham 130

b g Darshaan - De Stael (USA)
    9, 10-8 (Mrs.Michael Cunningham) S.W. Flanagan

(C/P)

1fp-0f2
    Cool Running C.Roche 129

br g Glacial Storm (USA) - Strong Wings
    9, 10-7 (John P. McManus) A.P. McCoy

Tumbling Dice T.J. Taaffe 127

b g King's Theatre - Eva Fay
    10, 10-5 (Mrs John Donegan) J.L. Cullen

(Blinkers & T/S)

Justpourit D. T. Hughes 126

b g Glacial Storm (USA) - Gale Choice
    10, 10-4 (D. T. Hughes) R. Loughran

(C/P)

6-41935
    Knock On The Head Joseph Crowley 126

b g Flemensfirth (USA) - Hilldalus
    7, 10-4 (John P. McManus) M.P. Walsh

8481-63
    Hill Fairy (GB) J. Morrison 125

ch f Monsun (GER) - Homing Instinct (GB)
    7, 10-3 (J. Morrison) K.T. Coleman

4-p51f5
    Line Ball C.Roche 125

b g Good Thyne (USA) - Navaro
    8, 10-3 (John P. McManus) A.P. Crowe

(Blinkers)

2701-04
    Nine O Patrick Neville 125

b br g Black Monday - Torrential Times
    12, 10-3 (Sean Rushe) T.J. Doyle

(Blinkers)

Green Mile (GB) A.J.Martin 124

b g Montjeu - Green Bird (USA)
    7, 10-2 (Road To No Town Syndicate) R.C. Colgan

(T/S)

5262-01
    Wins Now (GB) Niall Madden 124

ch g Croco Rouge - Valdaia (GB)
    8, 10-2 (John P. McManus) N.P. Madden

/-bf564
    Anothercoppercoast Paul A.Roche 123

ch g Presenting (GB) - Parsee
    9, 10-1 (Mrs E.Queally) J.R. Barry

RESERVE
    2217-19
    Keys Pride Stephen Ryan 123

b f Bob Back (USA) - Thats Irish
    9, 10-1 (Michael Martin)

(T/S)

RESERVE
    1f-024f
    On The Other Hand C.F. Swan 123

b g Oscar - Coumeenoole Lady
    9, 10-1 (John P. McManus)

(T/S)

RESERVE
    Aggie's Lad A.J.Martin 123

b g Saddlers' Hall - Grangemills
    7, 10-1 (Pound Syndicate)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 THE STALLION

THE STALLION shall remain silent today, but rumour has it the ground is drying out. Mike must be there today blowing hot air.
    NO.1 WILL GO WELL AT A PRICE, BUT WHICH NO.1 THE SELECT FEW HAVE BEEN INFORMED

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

THE STALLION shall remain silent today, but rumour has it the ground is drying out. Mike must be there today blowing hot air.

This has turned into a sad sad place.

Pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

FeetMagic wrote: »
    That's a lay for me, especially at the current price.

thoughts on Teach Nua folks ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭Trankton

Cool Running in the plate looks very interesting at a big price 25-1 e/w. McCoy booked to ride (won on it twice before, one of them at galway) and thr ground should not be a problem.

Also think Washington Lad e/w, loves the ground and should come on for it's 4th place in Cork earlier in the month. 14-1 a great price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭damalo

Wednesday is usually a quiet day. My 3 selections for today are:

2.00 Nephin Lad (small bet each way)

3.10 Not Til Monday (Ran well on Monday - 2nd)

4.25 Wins Now (Dont think ground is going to suit Roby - I can almost see the course from here and the sky is dark and going to pour I think)

What exactly is the point in doing that?

DeadSkin wrote: »
    This has turned into a sad sad place.

Pathetic.

My tupenceworth: I did support the Stallion when he was having his indifferences with other boardsies, but he latest post really defeats the purpose of been a boards member altogether. He should have a rethink about his position and how he is handling this situation.
    Been a 'Stallion', I thought he would come out fighting today, show them all who is the 'King of Ballybrit' and Champion Tipster !

But so far it looks as though he is going to remain hiding behind the stand waiting on Number One to come up the hill and then tell us all ... 'I told you so'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Vim Fuego

Trankton wrote: »
    Cool Running in the plate looks very interesting at a big price 25-1 e/w. McCoy booked to ride (won on it twice before, one of them at galway) and thr ground should not be a problem.

My thoughts exactly, I threw a few quid each way on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 iEire

Could't blame you Stallion, Mike was blowing some s***e.

I'm going to take a guess here, 3:45 No.1 Abroad ;)

My guess

1 p-A7111 Royal County Star

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

My tupenceworth: I did support the Stallion when he was having his indifferences with other boardsies, but he latest post really defeats the purpose of been a boards member altogether. He should have a rethink about his position and how he is handling this situation.
    Been a 'Stallion', I thought he would come out fighting today, show them all who is the 'King of Ballybrit' and Champion Tipster !

But so far it looks as though he is going to remain hiding behind the stand waiting on Number One to come up the hill and then tell us all ... 'I told you so'

Spot on imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭Trankton

Outside of Galway. Good word on Sweetheart in the first at goodwood at 15-2.

“She’s been in marvellous form this year. I’m sure it will be lovely ground and the extra five furlongs should play to our strengths. I’m confident that she’ll run very well.” Jamie Poulton, trainer of Sweetheart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Aggies Lad is a cracking e/w bet @ 25s for the plate.

Don't worry about him being the third reserve, he'll be running.

Bluetonic wrote: »
    Aggies Lad is a cracking e/w bet @ 25s for the plate.

Don't worry about him being the third reserve, he'll be running.

IS the going going against him ?

No it'll handle the ground alright. It's jumping has improved a lot over the last 12 months too and carrying such a light weight is a big plus - it's carry around 2 stone less than it's last 4 outings.

Would like to see someone else rather than Power on board as I think he gave him a poor ride in Killarney two weeks ago which subsequently prevented him from going into the first 22 for the plate. Then again I am not a professional jockey so there are probably reasons for the last 3f that day out.

His last 4 runs are : 1123
    Jasus 2 stone lighter , must be worth a punt alright.
    You cant rule out Wins Now either ?

His last 4 runs are : 1123
    Jasus 2 stone lighter , must be worth a punt alright.
    We'll nearly two stone, 11-12, 11-10, 11-10, 11-10 - 10-1 (today). A stone and three quarters-ish!

Northern Alliance is N/R

We'll nearly two stone, 11-12, 11-10, 11-10, 11-10 - 10-1 (today). A stone and three quarters-ish!

Why is he soooooo light today so ?
    ( i could never understand that handicap system )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭Leixlip_Red

One of the jocks mentioned this in an interview on Monday(RTE) after one of the races... said Aggies lad has a massive chance if he gets in.... Can't remember for the life of me who it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭jkmanc1974

Present Gem has a big chance today, fingers were burnt by the stable last time out when young Lynch fell off it 2 out.....

Brgds
    Johnny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

To put it in rather simple crude terms, he is facing much tougher horses in a much better class race today, hence his handicap mark means he's carrying less weight. (I.E The horses carrying more weight are rated higher than him)

mike65 wrote: »
    Northern Alliance is N/R
    Yeah there are 4 NR, Northern Alliance, Green Mile (both Martin), Tumbling Dice and Hill Fairy.

PP paying 5 places, max runners now 21.
    Top rated horse gets 11-7 (Royal County Star) and they work their way down the ratings on the weights.
    One of the jocks mentioned this in an interview on Monday(RTE) after one of the races... said Aggies lad has a massive chance if he gets in.... Can't remember for the life of me who it was.
    Power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

Northern Alliance is N/R

why's that? Was gonna have an each way punt on him.

Opinions needed here lads, cause i'm not very good at this craic:

Armarak
    Miss Chaparral
    Cool Running
    Moving Heart.

Was gonna put them into a yankee, see what happens. Need some money to pay off a student loan so any advice greatly appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭ArraMusha

For the plate 'Roby De Cimbre'

Ruby on him, check the form, remember who did well last year....P.F.Nicholls.

why's that? Was gonna have an each way punt on him.

Opinions needed here lads, cause i'm not very good at this craic:

Armarak
    Miss Chaparral
    Cool Running
    Moving Heart.

Was gonna put them into a yankee, see what happens. Need some money to pay off a student loan so any advice greatly appreciated!

Cool Running is worth a punt e/w give past form and 5 place from PP. You'll get him at 12/1

ArraMusha wrote: »
    For the plate 'Roby De Cimbre'

Ruby on him, check the form, remember who did well last year....P.F.Nicholls.

Yeah but PF has been out saying he's a little worried about the ground - at those tight odds I'd be happier to pick something else

16/1 at the moment with PP
    Why oh why didnt I grab 25s when I had the chance:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭HoPpiE

As soon as I read he was 25's I went to Paddy but he was already 16's. Damn slow internet on my phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

damalo wrote: »
    Cool Running is worth a punt e/w give past form and 5 place from PP. You'll get him at 12/1

Thanks for input. Was looking at his form on the ATR website. The fact that McCoy is on him made me have a second look. Any opinions on the other 3? Think Moving Heart in the 5:05 has a chance at being another dermot weld winner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭Leixlip_Red

Kicking myself now too.... Will still do the 16's though.

All seems to be falling into place for it (2 of Martins pull out and featherweight gets in)

Pulled up with half a mile to go no doubt

All the withdrawals are down to the ground, its going to be testing out there.

Not so Mike, Hilly Fairy is in season and Tumbling Dice has a nasal problem.

Really oh fair enough, that said it will be testing.

http://www.met.ie/latest/rainfall_radar.asp?ani=y

[img]http:www/weathermaps/radar/WEB_radar_200907290900.gif[/img]

Here you go Mike :D

Web_radar.gif

edit....dam you fixed it :P

Fecking would'nt copy for me :pac: