Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to stop the ATM diggers?

• 27-07-2009 9:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭

OK, all this mullarkey of using JCB's to rip ATM's out of buildings had got to stop.

I know there are a lot of unemployed builders with a FAS cert who are experts in driving JCB's but using them at 4 am to disturb the peace and tranquility of our rural villages and towns, not to mention causing further damage to the poor bank's balance sheets is a bit much.

So any bright sparks out there with any ideas on how we might put a dent in these scoundrel's ambitions?

An ink-filled anti-tamper device fitted to every exposed ATM machine that will activate upon removal of said ATM to contaminate and spoil the notes? Something more drastic?

Or should we just shrug our shoulders and let these modern day Robin Hoods continue on their mission?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Rubber bank machines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Powerful explosives attached to a mercury balance tilt switch :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Tomebagel

dont worry,reccession has already got rid of most the construction sites,its working on the rest give it time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Phone MacGyver, he knows what to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Boxfresh

Build a moat around all ATM's that can only be accessed by boat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭greyed

"No diggers" signs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Go to the source... get rid of ATM's, actually get rid of cash altogether. Back to the bartering system... I'll give you a cow for your ipod, leave on the music and I'll throw in a bag of spuds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

jester77 wrote: »
    I'll give you a cow for your ipod, leave on the music and I'll throw in a bag of spuds.

Deal..
    Pm sent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Is there anything to be said for saying another Mass?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Very simple really, electrify the ATM machines and let it be known, kill two birds with the one stone so to speak, it will kill the guy driving the digger if he stupid enough to have a go and it will stop the theft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Lord Derpington

junkyard wrote: »
    Very simple really, electrify the ATM machines and let it be known, kill two birds with the one stone so to speak, it will kill the guy driving the digger if he stupid enough to have a go and it will stop the theft.

And kill anyone who wants to get there cash from the atm...

But you want to electrify the ATM (Automated teller machine) machines so machines that distribute ATMs so, i suppose thats ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

greenfly wrote: »

Pffft details..

This is the banks money were talking about.

Some public collateral damage is acceptable.
    Also it stops those pesky customers removing their cash from the banks.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Put a gps tracker inside it...?

:rolleyes: Have a device fitted to the ATM machine whereby when it's yanked from the wall that it will electrify who or what ever yanked it from the wall. ATM machines are powered by electricity anyway just in case some of ye think there's someone inside it handing out the money. It's like dealing with three year old's sometimes on this forum I swear.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

All these diggers should be flogged or deported. Nothing but a drain on the economy. And I don't give a fck what the bleeding heart do gooders have to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

greenfly wrote: »

Sure nobody has any money in the bank now anyway

Wazdakka wrote: »
    Pffft details..

This is the banks money were talking about.

Some public collateral damage is acceptable.
    Also it stops those pesky customers removing their cash from the banks.

And who pays the insurance premium with their charges and who bails them out when they run out of money? "WE DO!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

You know the little man that lives inside the ATM and counts your money and puts it out through the little slot for you?

What do the bastards do with him after they've robbed the ATM?

Poor little fella must be terrified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭numanuma

Like the old days similar to when shops used to leave the tills open at night .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Bloody Australians, coming over here, robbing our banks...

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    You know the little man that lives inside the ATM and counts your money and puts it out through the little slot for you?

What do the bastards do with him after they've robbed the ATM?

Poor little fella must be terrified.

Serves him right the b@stard never gives me any money when I go there.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭numanuma

Hagar wrote: »
    Bloody Australians, coming over here, robbing our banks...

Its the Chinese he's after...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

MayoForSam wrote: »
    let these modern day Robin Hoods continue on their mission?

Robin Hoods?:rolleyes:

I never got a cent off them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

Bloody card skimmers. I know they would get revenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭corglass

Use the atm and get out something small like 10/20 euro, them before the little shutter thing closer, push in a piece of timber and hold it open. Then pour in sand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

The correct answer is to have an ink bomb in the money box, when the ATM gets a serious jolt, detonate the ink bomb saturating the cash, making it useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Attach pressurised CS Gas canisters to them

Or add sand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭beardo81

Team of highly trained snipers covering every ATM in the country, 24/7 cover for all banks and let the taxpayer pick up the bill.

After all the banks CANNOT be held responsible for any mistakes EVER.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Lambsbread

Put a cut out of Mr T beside each machine.

Get the guards to get google to release the names/ip addresses of anyone who searched for "atm opening" "exploded diagram of an atm" etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Ban JCBs and all wheled and tracked machinery at once!

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Number of things one can do.

Install a motion detection device internally to the machines. This can be (and are) very small and easily installable devices. Once the machine then is detected as moving within previous set hours, this device can firstly switch on an external sonic device which is internal to the shop and/or to the surrounding area to the building.

Extremely high-power sonic sound waves can break the eardrums of a person of persons in the locality.
    Sub-sonic waves can cause severe pain or disorientation. This is usually sufficient to incapacitate a person. At higher energy levels, a subsonic shock wave is powerful enough to do damage, for example, you could choose a frequency that produces vibration of the eyeballs — and therefore distortion of vision, as well as severe pain and sickness and vomiting.
    The crew of the cruise ship Seabourn Spirit (2005) used a long range acoustic device (LRAD) to deter pirates who chased and attacked the ship so the tech has been around for a while.

(The USA police are considering such a device for handling large rioting crowds. See here. The American military is considering using a similar sonic device in Iraq. See here. The U.S. DOD has shown phased arrays of infrasonic emitters. The weapon usually consists of a device that generates sound at about 7 Hz. At this frequency, armour and concrete walls and other common building materials allow sound waves to pass through, providing little defence.)

That's just one example. The same motion detector and as someone has already suggested, activate a dye release system which also contains a strong repellent smell to it and also might have an inbuilt ultralight frequency too. That way if any of the money shows up, there is a greater chance of traceback. A certain dye can also contain a non-harmful level of radiation. This too can aid further detection and traceback to those that have handled the money (good for proof in court as certain specific levels of radiation can be set for each batch of money for different areas).

Same motion detectors can also be linked by a number of ways to the local Garda station (easily done), linked to heavy duty pop-up bollards which can be installed in carparks or surrounding cash machine areas, etc the possibilities are endless.
    Then there is the GPS tracking ability. I wouldn't just put one in but at least two. I won't detail how/where to install these devices here.

There are also electronic devices that emit ultrasound levels of sonic heatwaves. These can be effective again against those in a directional vicinity to the cash machine. Deactivation of such a device (remote or direct wire) by the legal authorities can be done by a number of specific ways which I won't list here.

In some if not most cases, the machines reside on the forefront of buildings. Where possible in others cases, its better if they are actually internal within the premises but there is pro's and cons to this too depending on locality, speed of police response time, etc.
    There is also the obvious risky task of removing the actual cash every night from the machine - pros and cons to this too.

There is also other things that can be installed such as motion detection devices, etc around buildings but the possibilities are many and varied.

Sadly, what it boils down to is deterrent costs versus the monetary value to that which is at risk and which is the better or worse to lose!

P.S. There is also sonic (directional, if you wish) devices that also knock out electronic based engines. These are based along the technology of EMP (Electromagnetic Pulse). Low or short/long sudden bursts of which can be VERY effective.
    Try moving a digger/car/van/lorry/etc that has had its engine knocked out/turned off by such a device! You might as well be trying to move a 3+ ton large brick!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Biggins wrote: »
    Number of thing one can do.

Install a motion detection device internally to the machines. This can be (and are) very small and easily installable devices. Once the machine then is detected as moving within previous set hours, this device can firstly switch on an external sonic device which is internal to the shop and/or to the surrounding area to the building.

Extremely high-power sonic sound waves can break the eardrums of a person of persons in the locality.
    Sub-sonic waves can cause severe pain or disorientation. This is usually sufficient to incapacitate a person. At higher energy levels, a subsonic shock wave is powerful enough to do damage, for example, you could choose a frequency that produces vibration of the eyeballs — and therefore distortion of vision, as well as severe pain and sickness and vomiting.
    The crew of the cruise ship Seabourn Spirit (2005) used a long range acoustic device (LRAD) to deter pirates who chased and attacked the ship so the tech has been around for a while.

(The USA police are considering such a device for handling large rioting crowds. See here. The American military is considering using a similar sonic device in Iraq. See here. The U.S. DOD has shown phased arrays of infrasonic emitters. The weapon usually consists of a device that generates sound at about 7 Hz. At this frequency, armour and concrete walls and other common building materials allow sound waves to pass through, providing little defence.)

That's just one example. The same motion detector and as someone has already suggested, activate a dye release system which also contains a strong repellent smell to it and also might have an inbuilt ultralight frequency too. That way if any of the money shows up, there is a greater chance of traceback. A certain dye can also contain a non-harmful level of radiation. This too can aid further detection and traceback to those that have handled the money (good for proof in court as certain specific levels of radiation can be set for each batch of money for different areas).

Same motion detectors can also be linked by a number of ways to the local Garda station (easily done), linked to heavy duty pop-up bollards which can be installed in carparks or surrounding cash machine areas, etc the possibilities are endless.
    Then there is the GPS tracking ability. I wouldn't just put one in but at least two. I won't detail how/where to install these devices here.

There are also electronic devices that emit ultrasound levels of sonic heatwaves. These can be effective again against those in a directional vicinity to the cash machine. Deactivation of such a device (remote or direct wire) by the legal authorities can be done by a number of specific ways which I won't list here.

In some if not most cases, the machines reside on the forefront of buildings. Where possible in others cases, its better if they are actually internal within the premises but there is pro's and cons to this too depending on locality, speed of police response time, etc.
    There is also the obvious risky task of removing the actual cash every night from the machine - pros and cons to this too.

There is also other things that can be installed such as motion detection devices, etc around buildings but the possibilities are many and varied.

Sadly, what it boils down to is deterrent costs versus the monetary value to that which is at risk and which is the better or worse to lose!

You really do have the know-how to be some manner of criminal mastermind/super villan don't you Biggins? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Put card skimmers on all the machines. After the machines are stolen, when the robbers go to get the money out you can scan their card details and steal all their money. The plan is flawless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭manc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Only build ATM's near offices of the Revenue Commissioners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭grundie

The correct answer is to have an ink bomb in the money box, when the ATM gets a serious jolt, detonate the ink bomb saturating the cash, making it useless.

That is what is supposed to happen. In fact all cash handling mechanisms* included points to attach dye bombs. The problem is that they are very easy to set off by accident. As a result, most non-bank maintained ATMs do not have dye-bombs fitted as the people maintaining them don't want to run the risk of an expensive accidental deployment.

The dye powder used in such dye bombs is protein based and harmless, but virtually impossible to wash off as it penetrates everything it comes in to contact with.

*Well, De La Rue ones and they own 80% of the market.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    You really do have the know-how to be some manner of criminal mastermind/super villain don't you Biggins? :)

Quite the opposite is what I aim for. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 EL_Diego

Hire Chuck Norris to Guard Them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Automatic deep drop safe for the cash container/caddy.
    Once the ATM's alarm sensors trigger through impact from whatever type of machinery, the caddy drops about 7-10 metres into a metal lined tube that narrows...the caddy then wedges tight against the sides of the tube and is unrecoverable without a few solid hours work. The cash can then be recovered undamaged by dyepacks and such.
    These guys can target as many ATMs as they like then...all they get is the equivalent of an eVoting machine.

FWIW I worked in a couple of strongrooms for ATMs in banks...the room itslef is so secure from the inside, 1/4" steel plate on all walls ceiling, floor, steel door etc....but then they just fit the machine to the outside world with a line of blocks, a lintel and some brickwork. They merely invite this sort of theft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

i for one welcome our ATM theif overloads, the guys inside the machine sorting out the cash, stealing our PINs, its him i worry about

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Only way to be sure is to catch them in the act.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

This ATM machine will self-destruct in 10 seconds...

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Minefields around all ATMs

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

my thoughts exactly, and i said so in a similar thread a few days ago.

what's the bets they'll get around to doing this........ in 2015

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Only way to be sure is to catch them in the act.

You know given the fact that every town and village in Ireland has one of these (maybe not all connected to a bank branch) and the other fact that not every town and village in Ireland has a regular Garda presence, the practical method of catching them in the act isn't going to work on it's own...you need to slow the process of gaining access to the cash itself as much as possible, as this allows time for gardaí to arrive from the nearest station.
    With cutbacks coming across the board in the near future, that garda presence is probably going to lower further, whilst attacks such as these are probably going to become more common along with a lot of other property crime.

Short of moving to a cashless economy (maybe we're on our way there already? :pac: ) robberies like these are a fact of life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

junkyard wrote: »
    :rolleyes: Have a device fitted to the ATM machine
    An ATM is an automated teller machine, there is no need to put an extra "machine" at the end as that means something else. An ATM machine is a term for a busy porn star...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭newmills

Where is the citizen when you need him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭You Suck!

Where is the citizen when you need him?

Bemoaning the recession in the pub next door.....At least the fella in the jcb is showing some inititutive in these tough times :)