Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Maintenance Grant 09/10

• 27-07-2009 9:47am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 26

Hi There!

Does anyone have any idea when the 09/10 provisions will be released?

The forms are available but not being accepted by the local authorities as the provisions are not available yet.

Also typically how long does it take for them to get back to you with a yay or nay?

I have a place on a postgrad h-dip but I cant accept it if I don't get a grant as I cant afford it. But I have been offered a job also, and if I don't get the grant I will take the job.

I'd rather do the h-dip as its what I want, but if I don't get the grant I'll take the job and save and do it next year.

I just want to know what the time line (usually) looks like.

Thanks. :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Last year's scheme came out around July 18th. So soon hopefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Elfinamsterdam

Sad Professor, thanks!

I called again this morning and they said the provisions will be out shortly but that it will be in the media as there will be severe cuts. :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Sad Professor, thanks!

I called again this morning and they said the provisions will be out shortly but that it will be in the media as there will be severe cuts. :(
    Oh no. Did it seem like they actually knew this or were just guessing?

Sounded like she knew what was happening..... was told to keep ears pinned to media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭YourName

Pretty cool the way you can donload the form online now eh:

http://www.studentfinance.ie/mp7658/download-maintenance-grant-application-form/index.html

True, I thought that was pretty cool.
    And you can download the notes too so you can get the explanations too which is really helpful.
    Unfortunately you can’t bring that to the CoCo just yet as they are not accepting them.

Well ... not yet, they will soon I hope! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭YourName

Yeh well handy allright, but its pink as opposed to green last year, sick if you ask me :):):)

Hopefully there won't be too drastic cuts, and they will start accepting them soon

Seemingly the cuts will be up to a third..... but they are due to accept them soon.

I really don't see how they can justify cutting it. I mean it was overdue an increase for a while now. Students don't have mortgages so they don't benefit from interest rate drops and it's not like the grant is enough to pay for rented accommodation.

But if they increase the reckonable income band they'll be screwing us altogether since we're assessed on 2008 earnings and a lot of things went up at the start of that year (social welfare, etc).

Isn't the Dublin Archdiocese report due soon? Watch, they'll probably announce the grant scheme on the same day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭username4321

Tbh, they have to make cuts somewhere its just unfortunate we as students have to suffer.
    Does anyone know do u have to wait until you have accepted a cao offer to hand it in? because i know you write down what course you're doing on the form but i don't find out until the 17th so.. whats the story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭cul-2008

Isn't the Dublin Archdiocese report due soon? Watch, they'll probably announce the grant scheme on the same day.

Haha you're probably spot on there Sad Professor!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭brownacid

Theres a section in the form that asks for resultys in each year of your course and looks fr documentation, I dont have docs for my first year results, and in this years exams I failed one and have to repeat do i have to wait until after i get the result to apply or whats the story there?

Will they provisionally grant me the grant and then take it away if i dont get the reslut?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Michaelrsh

Tbh, they have to make cuts somewhere its just unfortunate we as students have to suffer.
    Does anyone know do u have to wait until you have accepted a cao offer to hand it in? because i know you write down what course you're doing on the form but i don't find out until the 17th so.. whats the story?

I'm applying for the maintenance grant for the first time this year too. I downloaded the form and they don't exactly ask what course you will be doing, you do however need to give your CAO number so I suppose that they can find out for themselves when you get the results. I don't think therefore it would matter if you apply either before or after the 17th August, as long as it's before the 31st August. Also, people do receive offers after the 31st August up October, how would they apply for grants? It's safe I guess to apply asap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭ontour

Drastic cuts in the amount given, or in the income limits? :(

According to the checklist that came with my application form, you are supposed to include the offer from the college/CAO. I believe you provide further proof of your acceptance to the course at a later date.

Oh yeah i see it now - "Evidence of Exam results or participation on a PLC, FETAC or third level course".

But can someone like me who is applying for an undergraduate course for the first time and who has not receive a college offer yet send the form off? I mean there might always be the change that I wouldn't receive an offer before the 31st of August (the closing date for the maintenance grant application) because the CAO stops giving out offers in October.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭username4321

Michaelrsh wrote: »

But can someone like me who is applying for an undergraduate course for the first time and who has not receive a college offer yet send the form off? I mean there might always be the change that I wouldn't receive an offer before the 31st of August (the closing date for the maintenance grant application) because the CAO stops giving out offers in October.

also would like to know what the story is here.

Maybe contact the council/vec to confirm but I'd say it's okay to apply. They are more interested in your income/eligibility at this stage.

As you may have seen no real cuts... very strange as this was EXACTLY what she said on Monday morning...

Guess she was talking asshat, but it sounded pretty real as I was about to be ill on the phone thinkin... oh well there goes the h-dip.

*phew eh*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Miss_Moneypenny

In terms of a time line, it would appear to depend on where you live and who you are dealing with:rolleyes: Some county councils are delaying sending out the forms until next week and won't process them until then:(

Ah in my case its Westmeath County Council

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Miss_Moneypenny

Hi will send you a PM if you would like to know my county council. Would prefer not to post it as Ive been on the phone to them a few times:D

Oh yeah i see it now - "Evidence of Exam results or participation on a PLC, FETAC or third level course".

also would like to know what the story is here.
    I came across an answer for this question on Studentfinances.ie:
    If you think you are eligible for the maintenance grant, you should apply for it as soon as possible after the application process opens, usually in June of each year. You do not have to wait until you receive an offer of a place or enroll in college. The closing date for receipt of completed applications by the grant-awarding agencies for the 2009-10 academic year is 31 August 2009. Only when your application has been completed in full and submitted to the grant-awarding authority can your eligibility be determined.

http://www.studentfinance.ie/mp7232/maintenance-grant/index.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Berberis

My daughter was sent out her renewal application form early June and had to have it returned by the end of June to Wicklow county council

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭amtaxi

Submitted my form today - hoping now that I have letter by 31st August to state I have grant or else I have to get €1500 somewhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭amtaxi

Please note changes in grant for next year!!!

Minister O'Keeffe gave notice that, with effect from the start of the 2010/11 academic year, further changes will be introduced. These include:
    • Some social welfare allowances, including the Back to Education Allowance which had been excluded in the means-testing process, will be included as reckonable income in assessing eligibility for student grants;
    • The income tax adjustment for farm stock relief will be disregarded in calculating reckonable income for means-testing purposes;
    • The residency requirement in the State for grant eligibility will be increased from one year to three out of the past five years for the student - a move that's in line with provisions already outlined in the Student Support Bill;
    • The duration of the break in studies required for re-entry as an independently assessed mature student will be increased from one year to three years.
    Minister O'Keeffe said: 'I'm announcing these changes for the 2010/11 academic year so that students and their families are notified well in advance and have reasonable time to prepare.
    'The new measures will ensure better equity and equality in calculating eligibility to student maintenance grants so that we can continue to target public resources at those who need them most.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I'm filling out the form now. Jaysus, it's an awful headache! They really don't want to give it to you!!

Trying to get all the documentation together is a nightmare too. P60s, P21s, social welfare statement, letter of holiday earnings, arghhh! I've barely even started filling in the form yet.

In future years I'll just get a renewal form, right? Please tell me I won't need to go through all this again?

Trying to get all the documentation together is a nightmare too. P60s, P21s, social welfare statement, letter of holiday earnings, arghhh! I've barely even started filling in the form yet.

In future years I'll just get a renewal form, right? Please tell me I won't need to go through all this again?

Yeah, I should start a rant in R&R!! I have to get documentation for all the courses I've previously done, figure out what I've earned in the last year, as I'm living at home I need my mother's earnings (won't be too impressed with that) so I need her P21 and P60 as well. My brother is in college as well so I need proof of that AS WELL!!! ARRRRggghhhhh.

I was on the dole for 8 weeks last year so I guess I need something from them? Where do I get that - looking at you Sad Professor - ring up, call in to SW office?

I dread turning the next page.................

ah b****x, my dad is retired so need his pension info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭kenon

Thats what I was about to ask, I was looking on that student finances website looking for the renewal grant application but I cant find it. I filled out that main application thing last year, painful experience.

On the County Dublin VEC website, all the schemes are for last year and not this year.

I'll have to wait for it to be sent out.

5/6 a side football

Coolmine Sports Centre - Wednesdays - 8pm

PM me for a game

Thread

Yeah, apparently there is a renewal form.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055628481

• Closed Accounts Posts: 563 ✭✭✭save_our_socks

Right hopefully someone here can help since Ive recieved conflicting information from the grant office. I am 23 since September but was living with my parents so I know that I will be assessed on their income but I dont know if Im a mature student dependant on parents or other candidate, Im going into my 3rd year of my course.....

Yeah there definetly is a much simpler renewal form but I dont think you can get it online like the full application which means I'm at the mercy of the VEC and their "oh, yeh...emmmh we're changing systems at the moment...you'll get it soon..." spiel.

5/6 a side football

PM me for a game

Thread

Right hopefully someone here can help since Ive recieved conflicting information from the grant office. I am 23 since September but was living with my parents so I know that I will be assessed on their income but I dont know if Im a mature student dependant on parents or other candidate, Im going into my 3rd year of my course.....

No, you have to be of mature student status from when you started the course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

I'll be 25 starting a 12 month Masters in January 2010, never received a grant before, am I pretty much guaranteed some kind of maintenance grant? Living away from home for with over 12 months and been on Jobseekers for about 8 weeks since I graduated from my undergrad degree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 563 ✭✭✭save_our_socks

Thank you! Uh I havent worked this hard since my exams.....these forms are ridiculous! Thank god its my last year and I wont have to do this again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭ayapatrick

if i print the form of the internet will it do to send in, or will i need the booklet of the local vec? must get crackin at this!

bigkev49 wrote: »
    I'll be 25 starting a 12 month Masters in January 2010, never received a grant before, am I pretty much guaranteed some kind of maintenance grant? Living away from home for with over 12 months and been on Jobseekers for about 8 weeks since I graduated from my undergrad degree.

Haven't a clue about grants and masters but I found this thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055335337

As you haven't had a break in study you might still be assessed on your status since last year. Although you are now on Jobseekers you many have a case.
    ayapatrick wrote: »
    if i print the form of the internet will it do to send in, or will i need the booklet of the local vec? must get crackin at this!

Nope, downloading the form is fine.

1) I'm confused as to weather I should send my "Student Grant Application Form" to my local VEC or my local authority (i.e., country council). In what case should I send it to the VEC and in what case should I send the form to my Local County Council??:confused:

2) Also, I heard somewhere that Social Welfare payments are not included as part of the reckonable income. However, on page 11 of the "Student Grant Application Form" where it say "Summary of Reckonable Income", it asks you to calcualate social welfare payments as part of the reckonable income. What's the story there?:confused:

1) I'm confused as to weather I should send my "Student Grant Application Form" to my local VEC or my local authority (i.e., country council). In what case should I send it to the VEC and in what case should I send the form to my Local County Council??:confused:
    Have a look here:

http://www.studentfinance.ie/mp7554/find-your-scheme-and-where-to-apply/index.html

Basically if you are applying under the HEG scheme (i.e. you are doing an honours degree) you apply to the council. All other schemes go to the VEC.
    2) Also, I heard somewhere that Social Welfare payments are not included as part of the reckonable income. However, on page 11 of the "Student Grant Application Form" where it say "Summary of Reckonable Income", it asks you to calcualate social welfare payments as part of the reckonable income. What's the story there?:confused:
    Only certain social welfare payments are excluded:
    The following Social Welfare and HSE payments are excluded in the calculation of reckonable income: Child Benefit; Family Income Supplement; Disability Allowance (where paid to the candidate); Blind Pension (where paid to the candidate); One Parent Family Payment (Means-tested); Guardian's Payment (previously known as Orphan's Pension); Back to Education Allowance (Second Level and Third Level Option); Foster Care Allowance; Domiciliary Care Allowance; Carer's Allowance.

Can I ask where you got this information from Sad Professor, not that I questioning it, I just want it for reference. Thanks for the help!!!!

It's all on Studentfinances.ie.

I got that bit here:

http://www.studentfinance.ie/mp9392/check-reckonable-income-bands/index.html

Just click on "reckonable income" in the red font.

:confused:Another question:o, under dependent children (Q.7, p.3), do I include myself in this list as I am, techniqually, dependent, as well as my siblings.

:confused:And also, underneath that where it says if one or more of those dependent children are attending a full time course or further education in 2009/10, would I include myself there (as I do aspire to go to college) even though I don't know such information as; college attended/ course & year/ and, awarding grant authority?

It also says there that "documentary evidence is required in respect of each child attending one of the courses below", which I obviously don't have because I don't know what college I'm going to.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭chriz

Did anyone else get a form with ther grant application asking for information about your parents or yourself if you recieved any social welfare in 2008.

It says on it that it has to be filled in by the SW officer and stamped . Its mad im unfortunate enough to be unemployed and brought that in to get it filled out today and they hadent a clue apparently loads came in with it and they turned most away:confused:
    I have to get information from my parents that live miles away from each other in another county just because they were both recieving lone parents in 2008 its hard enough to get p45s p60 and then to have seen this grrr.:mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭irlpic

Yes,the social welfare section has to filled out by a sw officer before returning completed form.The form only covers the year 2008 so is not worth filling if you are only unemployed since Jan'09.

P60's,P21's,P45's,PSP's such a handl'in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭chriz

The wrath of the grant is unforgiving:mad:

What the grant form has accomplished so far,a headache,40 euro in cred *damm ye 087 people* and traveling on a bus for over 4 hours :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Quick question guys.

I filled out the full maintenance application form last year and got my grant. Heading into 2nd year now so can I just fill in some sort of renewal form, is that right?

All of my income details are the same as last year except that now I will qualify for the special top up rate:) well i should, unless they have some way of preventing me from getting it again this year:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭manutd4life

i have a bit of a problem.

after you accept your offer,you're meant to fill out form sa1 (course acceptance form) into your la/vec.the thing is i cant download this form.i dont know if it has been released yet but any info on it would be helpful.

another thing.where it asks for you la/vec details what do you put in.i've put in the la details but because i have also ticked that i could be doing level 6/7 do i have to include the vec datails?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭ethernet

Quick question guys.

I filled out the full maintenance application form last year and got my grant. Heading into 2nd year now so can I just fill in some sort of renewal form, is that right?

All of my income details are the same as last year except that now I will qualify for the special top up rate:) well i should, unless they have some way of preventing me from getting it again this year:eek:
    I didn't fill in any renewal form going into second year and still got it. Didn't know there even was a renewal form! The plot thickens. It is an awful application to complete.

I got my renewal form today. Its a nice, simple, 2 page form in which you just fill in the name of your course, sign your name and send them your results.

5/6 a side football

PM me for a game

Thread