Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Junior Cert 2010

• 27-07-2009 12:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭

I know its a bit early for a thread like this, we're down on the door of August & i'm sure like myself you all hate to be reminded. Anyhow there's no time like the present & I just wanted to see how may boradsies are doing the JC this year.Hopefully I'm not alone.
    So if your a 2010 JC Boardsie post here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

You're taking over our forum already!:(

My sis is. She'll prob post on this when she gets back from the gaeltacht.
    Do not make friends with Calla95. I'm warning you now.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭padocon

You're taking over our forum already!:(

My sis is. She'll prob post on this when she gets back from the gaeltacht.
    Do not make friends with Calla95. I'm warning you now.;)

I know, I feel like an intruder! Well at least thats 1! Warning taken!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

padocon wrote: »
    I know its a bit early for a thread like this, we're down on the door of August & i'm sure like myself you all hate to be reminded. Anyhow there's no time like the present & I just wanted to see how may boradsies are doing the JC this year.Hopefully I'm not alone.

What subjects are you doing apart from the basic ones. As someone who's completed the education system... well the second level of it anyway, I might be able to give you a hand on some things.

That_Guy wrote: »
    What subjects are you doing apart from the basic ones. As someone who's completed the education system... well the second level of it anyway, I might be able to give you a hand on some things.

Thanks!
    Business, Home Ec, Science, Tec Graf.
    I'm terrible at science and pretty good Buisness & Home Ec, Ok at Tec.

Home ec is a very easy written exam as theres no pressure on you since you kind of secured a C already since you have 50% of the exam done. What are you doing as your textile project, may i ask? I made an embroidered cushion..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Business

I found the bookeeping side of business very annoying and I was terrible at it. Luckily, in most of the exam bar some of the short questions, you can avoid them and go for theory questions. But if you do that you really need to know your stuff because if you run into a question you don't know in paper 2 you've no choice but to do an accounting one.
    If you're good at that though, business will be grand. Put some effort into it, it's an easy B and if you're particularly good a handy A.

Didn't do home ec.

Science

Alot of just learning stuff off. It's a very long course. Biology is pretty much rote learning. Do your study and you'll be grand for it.
    Chemistry was the hardest I thought. But by that I just mean it was the most difficult out of the 3 and it wasn't impossible. Chemicals, atoms and bonding. Pay attention in class as alot of things need to be explained in this by a teacher and make notes.
    Physics was grand, abit boring though. Maths was required but nothing an Pass maths student couldn't handle I'd imagine, especially with a calculator. Learn your stuff and formulae and you'll be grand.
    You also must do a project, and I'd advise you make sure to give this your 100% effort. Firstly, if you make **** of it your chance of getting an A is gone, secondly, if you do very well it'll reduce your pressure to the exam. Project assignments are picked randomly every year and there is one from biology, physics or chemistry. You must do two. Do not fear to keep asking your teacher if you're unsure about anything. Tip: Usually, at least one of the projects are from a leaving cert course. Looking in a leaving cert book will pretty much tell you exactly what to do. Like the 2009 physics project. Also, don't copy.

Finally, you must make sure you have all the mandatory experiments done and written up. This is the easiest 60 marks you can get before doing the exam and not bothering would be fairly lazy imo. Don't worry, you might not have them all done yet, you still have to finish the course in 3rd year.

Only did tech graphics in 1st year, hated it! No advice for it, sorry.

Hope I helped. :)

Home ec is a very easy written exam as theres no pressure on you since you kind of secured a C already since you have 50% of the exam done. What are you doing as your textile project, may i ask? I made an embroidered cushion..:)

I have my textile done already. I did a cross stitch wall hanging. There was a bit of pressure to do it but did it grad.
    jumpguy wrote: »
    Business

I found the bookeeping side of business very annoying and I was terrible at it. Luckily, in most of the exam bar some of the short questions, you can avoid them and go for theory questions. But if you do that you really need to know your stuff because if you run into a question you don't know in paper 2 you've no choice but to do an accounting one.
    If you're good at that though, business will be grand. Put some effort into it, it's an easy B and if you're particularly good a handy A.

Didn't do home ec.

Science

Alot of just learning stuff off. It's a very long course. Biology is pretty much rote learning. Do your study and you'll be grand for it.
    Chemistry was the hardest I thought. But by that I just mean it was the most difficult out of the 3 and it wasn't impossible. Chemicals, atoms and bonding. Pay attention in class as alot of things need to be explained in this by a teacher and make notes.
    Physics was grand, abit boring though. Maths was required but nothing an Pass maths student couldn't handle I'd imagine, especially with a calculator. Learn your stuff and formulae and you'll be grand.
    You also must do a project, and I'd advise you make sure to give this your 100% effort. Firstly, if you make **** of it your chance of getting an A is gone, secondly, if you do very well it'll reduce your pressure to the exam. Project assignments are picked randomly every year and there is one from biology, physics or chemistry. You must do two. Do not fear to keep asking your teacher if you're unsure about anything. Tip: Usually, at least one of the projects are from a leaving cert course. Looking in a leaving cert book will pretty much tell you exactly what to do. Like the 2009 physics project. Also, don't copy.

Finally, you must make sure you have all the mandatory experiments done and written up. This is the easiest 60 marks you can get before doing the exam and not bothering would be fairly lazy imo. Don't worry, you might not have them all done yet, you still have to finish the course in 3rd year.

Only did tech graphics in 1st year, hated it! No advice for it, sorry.

Hope I helped. :)

I'm the same with the business love theory to bits! Comes natural, commen sense but that bloody book keeping bring me to a B :(
    Trading Profit + Loss is fine but takes me 45mins, I'm slow at it! All the rest is just annoying! Sales Book, Purchases book there all the same but have annoying little bits!

Thanks for the Science tips! When do we get that project? I have the Exp book nice & neat, locked safely in my class rooms press!

Any history tips?:)
    ... teach me how to learn!:rolleyes:

We started our project in early February if I recall correctly. The closing date this year was 24th of April, will probably be similiar in 2010.

That's another reason I didn't bother with bookeeping in business, alot of time wasted (unless you get it perfectly right and have time to do the rest of the exam). Keep working at them because they come up alot in the short questions, and considering 2008 and 2009 got easy enough short questions, ye could get tougher ones.

History...I think it's one of those subjects that depends a LOT on how good your teacher is. Know lots who had a useless teacher. Our teacher was excellent. We didn't bother with the books and instead we got hand-out notes. He did all the hard work, all we had to do was learn.
    There's no denying it, HL history is long and tough. I can't imagine how bad it'd be with a bad teacher. You need to put your head down. Have you seen exam papers in any subjects yet? Anyway, my advice for history HL is to learn your textbook pretty much off by heart. Make out essays. In the exam papers, bear in mind every point you make is work 2 marks. So a 20 mark essay requires 10 points. Not sure how much experience you have with exam papers though.
    Modern history such as WW2 and early 21st century world affairs are probably the easiest. They're easy to learn, quite interesting and worth alot of marks, and is a guaranteed question. Irish political history is guaranteed but I hated it. It wasn't as interesting, and was very complicated and hard to learn. What I did (and I wouldn't advise it) is predict what'll come up in 2009 by looking at older exam papers. Wouldn't you know it, everything I predicted came up! :D

Not much to give with history, it's a hard one, don't be lazy, it's one of those ones you just need to learn, learn, learn, learn abit more, and learn.

Thanks!

I did business and science.

I liked business a lot even though the teacher I had was a bit annoying. I loved the accounting side of things due to the fact that I was pretty good at maths.
    The theory side of it was ok too but you need to kind of keep up with a bit of business news to help yourself out a bit.

Science for me was a pain as I didn't really enjoy it and I didn't really do all that well in it. I loved the Biology part of it but Chemistry and Physics were very tedious and slightly annoying.
    I loved the practical side of things moreso than the theory side of science.

I didn't do home ec or tec but my sister did home ec and she said it was handy enough. The only thing she didn't like about it was the cross stitch part as she said it took up a lot of time.

That_Guy wrote: »
    The only thing she didn't like about it was the cross stitch part as she said it took up a lot of time.

We had only 4 weeks to do it! :eek: It was like,eat, sleep, school & cross stitch!

As said above I think all subjects depend on the teacher.

We had only 4 weeks to do it! :eek: It was like,eat, sleep, school & cross stitch!

4 weeks is a very short time to do it alright considering it is very time consuming and tedious. The finished products do look very nice though at the end.

All subjects do depend on the teacher. If you feel you're struggling with a subject and you feel it's down to the teacher then I'd recommend going to the Institute in Malahide. They do Christmas courses there AFAIK.

http://www.malahideinstitute.com/juniorcert/

Might be use to some of ye. I went to the Institute on Leeson St for LC grinds and they really helped a lot. I'm not sure if they do JC grinds though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

I'll be doing mine and felt like posting this :pac: I'm pretty much screwed cause I've never done a drop of study in my life and I dunno if I'll be able to handle after school study etc. Ohwell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

Me :(

Doin' Buisness studies, French, Technology and the standard subjects :pac:

are you serious!!!:eek: 4 weeks!
    We started ours in April, kept going all the way through May and then we finished them at the end of September.
    So 3 months.
    We weren't allowed bring ours home though.
    So we just did them during our class time..
    Did you type up your written project for it? I hate that part so much.
    :cool:
    God, so much work for only 15% of the marks.

are you serious!!!:eek: 4 weeks!
    We started ours in April, kept going all the way through May and then we finished them at the end of September.
    So 3 months.
    We weren't allowed bring ours home though.
    So we just did them during our class time..
    Did you type up your written project for it? I hate that part so much.
    :cool:
    God, so much work for only 15% of the marks.

Yea typed mine up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭Halla Basin

Why oh why oh why oh why is science optional...

in my school, it isnt..:P
    Why? Did you not choose it as one of your subjects?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭dungeon

There are projects in Science, Home Ec, Religion and CSP. Any other subjects where you have to submit extra stuff. What about music??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭dungeon

I know there is the practical exam in music- when is that held?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 IrishRed1892

Just did the JC and it's PISS, dont worry about it at all. I didn't study until the week before and i still think I took it too seriously! Just remember it has absolutely NO affect on the rest of your life.

Thanks for the study encouragement, ha ha

Dont leave science and maths and history until the week before coz they are preety long courses that you prob couldnt get thro properly in a week if you are trying to balance out your study with your other subjects. Altho if you have a mathsy brain (which i dont have AT ALL) then you should be grand with the maths.

I was preety much studying my ass off like 3 weeks before the JC. 8 hours i think i did one day which was crazy stuff altogether. Amazingly though, i never bothered opening a history book as i hate that subject with a passion and could never bring myself to open the book. :P
    ah sure, dont make the same mistake i did and work too hard and too long, take time out for yourself but then again dont be lazy and do nothing coz you think these exams are gonna be easy coz some of them arent! Like maths (i found that paper 1 a bi**h..)

They do determine if you do honours or pass for the leaving so they hold some level of importance.

Oh and another thing, try not to drop to pass in a subject! 2 of my friends were in honours maths and dropped down to pass and totally regretted it. One said that they wanted more of a challenge and the other one said that they just thought that it would have been nice just to tackle the honours paper at least and give it a go. But if you really need to then what can ya do but just think it over at least.
    Anyways good luck in the JC next year. I actually enjoyed the experience. Dunno why though :P.

God, have to wait a month for the results! Really curious now..

Dont leave science and maths and history until the week before coz they are preety long courses that you prob couldnt get thro properly in a week if you are trying to balance out your study with your other subjects. Altho if you have a mathsy brain (which i dont have AT ALL) then you should be grand with the maths.

I was preety much studying my ass off like 3 weeks before the JC. 8 hours i think i did one day which was crazy stuff altogether. Amazingly though, i never bothered opening a history book as i hate that subject with a passion and could never bring myself to open the book. :P
    ah sure, dont make the same mistake i did and work too hard and too long, take time out for yourself but then again dont be lazy and do nothing coz you think these exams are gonna be easy coz some of them arent! Like maths (i found that paper 1 a bi**h..)

They do determine if you do honours or pass for the leaving so they hold some level of importance.

Oh and another thing, try not to drop to pass in a subject! 2 of my friends were in honours maths and dropped down to pass and totally regretted it. One said that they wanted more of a challenge and the other one said that they just thought that it would have been nice just to tackle the honours paper at least and give it a go. But if you really need to then what can ya do but just think it over at least.
    Anyways good luck in the JC next year. I actually enjoyed the experience. Dunno why though :P.

God, have to wait a month for the results! Really curious now..

Yeh history is the worst, I'm so happy I never have to do it again (well except for art history but that's different).

Yes it does determine if you do pass or honours to some extent but if you did **** in your JC maths and have to do pass for the LC if you really want to do honours and are capable of doing it they aren't going to say "no, you failed the JC you can't do honours maths for the LC"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Gaeilge-go-deo

You bastard bringing this up..:P
    Im doin Science Business French Tech graph..
    Im really pissed with TG i got like 50 in the summer test and my other grades were like twice that haha..
    Im ****in it for geography we have like a quarter of the course done in two years..:S

Im really pissed with TG i got like 50 in the summer test and my other grades were like twice that haha..
    Im ****in it for geography we have like a quarter of the course done in two years..:S

Thanks for reminding me you got all As!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Gaeilge-go-deo

I didnt get all A's i was bein sarcastic.. ha

Ya ya!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭IsMiseConor

Yeah I'm doing my junior cert next year.

Doing science, business, German, Technical Graphics and then all the standard subjects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Fairdues

The guy who claims it was ok to leave it until the last week should publish his results here on 9th September. Then is the time to decide whether or not it's ok to leave it til the last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Fairdues

Mind you I reckon there's a bit of bravado there. Highly unlikely that his parent/guardian would stand for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

Oh yae!!! Junior Cert... Can't wait:rolleyes::rolleyes:

I'm doing:
    1. English
    2. Irish
    3. Maths
    4. Spanish
    5. History
    6. Geography
    7. Science
    8. C.S.P.E.
    9. Business
    10. Metalwork

I don't mind business... I'm rather good at the accounting side (got 98% in this years summer exams, but there was very little theory involved and that was where i dropped my marks...:o

I don't like Irish Téip... can't understand a word of one of the readers (you know the guy who tries to be from donegal and slurrs all his words, you'd swear it was double dutch!!!:P)

We don't do Religion, P.E. or S.P.H.E. as exam subjects in my school (thank god!):D

I have very good memory (i.m.o.). I got 74% in history without ever opening the book to study:cool: (it was on same day as irish so it didn't get any attention...)

Most ppl in my year have trouble with honours maths... I don't have a bother at all... I got 96%...

Overall, in this year's summer exams I got 7 A's and 3 B's and i didn't study much... I started studying one week before the first exam...:D

Fairdues wrote: »
    The guy who claims it was ok to leave it until the last week should publish his results here on 9th September. Then is the time to decide whether or not it's ok to leave it til the last week.

well you could do that. Alot of people i knew did that and they got on grand.
    Some of those exams are an insult to our intelligence. Like this years geography exam.
    Really, very overrated.
    But id at least do two weeks of study before the exams. A week seems like stretching it abit :P.

well you could do that. Alot of people i knew did that and they got on grand.
    Some of those exams are an insult to our intelligence. Like this years geography exam.
    Really, very overrated.
    But id at least do two weeks of study before the exams. A week seems like stretching it abit :P.
    Ahh yet it has one of the lowest A-rates. You still need to know your stuff. Okay, the short questions just reading graphs and copying the answer, fair enough. Less intelligent people need a chance too. It's got such a tiny mark (180 I think is maximum) that it makes the percentages very tight.

jumpguy wrote: »
    Ahh yet it has one of the lowest A-rates. You still need to know your stuff. Okay, the short questions just reading graphs and copying the answer, fair enough. Less intelligent people need a chance too. It's got such a tiny mark (180 I think is maximum) that it makes the percentages very tight.

yea but you could get a B on that test really. I lost my geography book so i was living off notes from class (which was natin!) and exam papers so was just hoping for the best and i found it grand.
    Ask me next month. Ill get back to ya on it :).

Well, I know a good few people in my class who'd be delighted to get a C. The warning on the short questions was hilarious "Return the answer book or marks will be lost". What an understatement, 33% of the exam would be lost.

Jackobyte wrote: »
    Oh yae!!! Junior Cert... Can't wait

Please tell me you're joking!

You forgot to quote the sarcastic roll of eyes smilie!!!

Mind you I reckon there's a bit of bravado there. Highly unlikely that his parent/guardian would stand for that.

are you on about me?

I'm not saying I'm expecting to do brilliantly, just that it's fairly easy so you don't need to worry about it. But it doesn't matter at all! The junior cert doesn't count for ANYTHING!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Geography is a joke, Anyone can pass it and get an honour atleast a C no problem.
    Getting a B or an A is basically having the best long answers out of what an examiner corrects.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭Halla Basin

Geography is a joke, Anyone can pass it and get an honour atleast a C no problem.
    Getting a B or an A is basically having the best long answers out of what an examiner corrects.

Hmm, I agree. Shallow and pedantic.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

For candidates with a good level of literacy, the JC is no problem. It is an exam designed for candidates to do well in.

Although I originally sat the Inter. Cert. in 1978, I may well take Music in the Junior Cert. this year with a view to doing it at Leaving Cert. in 2011.
    I have taken up the concertina as an instrument.

spurious wrote: »
    For candidates with a good level of literacy, the JC is no problem. It is an exam designed for candidates to do well in.

Although I originally sat the Inter. Cert. in 1978, I may well take Music in the Junior Cert. this year with a view to doing it at Leaving Cert. in 2011.
    I have taken up the concertina as an instrument.
    Good for you!!! Must take some dedication to do that!!!:D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Well, it's partly to let the kids I teach see that it's never too late to do exams and partly for the craic we'll have practising and on the day of the exam.

I went back and did Art for the Leaving Cert. about ten years ago and I enjoyed it a lot - apart from the mental repeat Leaving fee, even after a million years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭jw93

Heres my take on it I didnt start studying properly until a week before the exams but my parents thought I was studying since easter it's very easy to just sit in your room and do nothing and waste time but I really regret doing that now as when everyone else is on here saying they got all A's and B's I'm going to be the F**king eejit who gets mostly C's with a few D's and B's and you might say thats not bad for someone who only studied for a week before there exams but the thing about the Junior Cert is its very easy to pass or get a C in but its extremely hard to get an A or even a B in so my advice would be to make sure you have all your notes and old copy's and books for all your subjects organised in seperate folders and be ready to start studying after Christmas but all you need to do is an hour or two a day up until easter and then after easter do as much as you can every night and then you will be guaranteed the best results your capable of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭RHunce

Thanks!

if you need help with tg or want to know what its like in senior cycle ie, dcg just ask! i love the subject cant get enough of it, have been getting a's since 1st year and just finished4th going into 5th :D, the best part is the 40% for LC will now be based on a project and there is only one paper!! i love it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

Overreacting much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭squishness

Honest to goodness, we had less done by the start of third year and it was still so damn easy!
    You'll be grand. Just know how to read a map. :pac:

Oh dear,
    Your all so smart here :eek: The only subject I got a A in for my summer exams was P.E. I need to open some books hahahah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

M&S* wrote: »
    Oh dear,
    Your all so smart here :eek: The only subject I got a A in for my summer exams was P.E. I need to open some books hahahah
    On the internet a high B means an A and high C means a B, alot of people exagerrate (I don't anyways)

Don't bother opening any books until may and before the mocks. The JC is alot easier than it looks (except for Maths and all the languages)

On the internet a high B means an A and high C means a B, alot of people exagerrate (I don't anyways)

Don't bother opening any books until may and before the mocks. The JC is alot easier than it looks (except for Maths and all the languages)

To open a book it would mean going out and buying some seeing as I lost most of mine and I hope your right about that :D
    Theres no pressure on me to do well anyways so...