Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dubs v Kerry (ALL MATCH DISCUSSION GOES HERE)

• 26-07-2009 8:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,175 ✭✭✭✭

Can't f**ckin wait. :pBring it on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭manster

Absolutely brilliant draw, as a Kerry man I was hopping about the place when I heard. Thank God we didn't get Cork or Tyrone. Mayo are also going well, so it's too early to meet them.

Dublin well they are LEINSTER champions - big swing:pac:
    They haven't beaten us in Croker for decades.
    Their media will have them built up no end come the weekend.
    They wet themselves against big teams (even including Mayo) in Croker.
    They know they had their chance against us two years ago and they messed up.
    They were in the same position against Tyrone last year (Tyrone weren't playing well yet they steamrolled the 'Leinster champions'
    They have spent the last week swanning around Carton House at training camps, whilst Kerry were slumming it against Longford, Sligo & Antrim - they won't be ready for the white heat of battle

Also, we avoided getting Tyrone or Cork in the semi-finals. I tell you boys the luck is with us. As Paidi often said "I'd rather be lucky than good". The team is building slowly but nicely and the last 15 minutes today they showed me a light of hope for next weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Easy win for Kerry. Just glad they aren't on our side of the draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

itll be a fascinating game and buildup.will kerry awaken from their slumber, are dublin as good as theyre made out to be-so many questions surrounding it. if dublin do beat them im leaving the country for a while as the dublin hypemachine will explode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,175 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

If there was ever a good time to play Kerry its now. I can see the Dubs winning with a few points to spare.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

manster wrote: »
    I tell you boys the luck is with us. As Paidi often said "I'd rather be lucky than good". The team is building slowly but nicely and the last 15 minutes today they showed me a light of hope for next weekend!

Shhh... we need them to think we are down and out and very beatable. Kerry played as good as I have seen them this year in the last 15mins, if they play like this for the full 70 the nexy day I can foresee alot of blue jerseys streaming down Jones' Road with about 15mins to go in the match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Kerry are going to beat us. They are guaranteed to have the same sort of transformation as Tyrone had, and steamroller the Dubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Denis Irwin

manster wrote: »
    Absolutely brilliant draw, as a Kerry man I was hopping about the place when I heard. Thank God we didn't get Cork or Tyrone. Mayo are also going well, so it's too early to meet them.

Dublin well they are LEINSTER champions - big swing:pac:
    They haven't beaten us in Croker for decades.
    Their media will have them built up no end come the weekend.
    They wet themselves against big teams (even including Mayo) in Croker.
    They know they had their chance against us two years ago and they messed up.
    They were in the same position against Tyrone last year (Tyrone weren't playing well yet they steamrolled the 'Leinster champions'
    They have spent the last week swanning around Carton House at training camps, whilst Kerry were slumming it against Longford, Sligo & Antrim - they won't be ready for the white heat of battle

Also, we avoided getting Tyrone or Cork in the semi-finals. I tell you boys the luck is with us. As Paidi often said "I'd rather be lucky than good". The team is building slowly but nicely and the last 15 minutes today they showed me a light of hope for next weekend!

Jesus wept and to think Spilliane and co call Dublin arrogant :rolleyes:

• Subscribers Posts: 16,614 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Orizio wrote: »

agreed, sure I probably won't even go. We haven't a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

Kerry have played 3 division 4 teams and have been very unconvincing. There's no doubt the Kingdom will raise their game for the Dubs but i expect the Dubs to raise their game too with memories of Tyrone last year and Kerry in 2007 still hurting them. Dublin to win by 5 or 6 points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Ice_Box

Easy win for Dublin and just what they need to start taking themselves seriously. Kerry fans should just not bother showing up. Even though dublin havent beaten Kerry in the championship since 1976, (and the dubs still go on about it as if its the greatest game every played). Im sure if they win the next day they will say this is the greatest game every played. History in the making.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

this is interesting matchup, this will be kerrys 4th match in 4 weeks without a break, the dubs should be well rested, no donaghy, kerry looking very vulnerable against sligo and longford

surely the dubs are going to win?? well it looked that way too against tyrone 4 years ago, mayo 3 years ago, kerry 2 years ago and tyrone last year........

dartbhoy wrote: »
    Kerry have played 3 division 4 teams and have been very unconvincing. There's no doubt the Kingdom will raise their game for the Dubs but i expect the Dubs to raise their game too with memories of Tyrone last year and Kerry in 2007 still hurting them. Dublin to win by 5 or 6 points.

We also haven't beaten Kerry in the Championship for a long time and that's a monkey we have to get off our back sooner or later so hopefully this is what will fire the lads up even more. But I ain't taking anything for granted especially after what happend us last year against Tyrone when they (Tyrone) came into the game on the back of a couple poor performances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭Vinnie K

Any one have any idea when and where the game will be played? Does it have to be played in a neutral venue or did i hear wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭garbanzo

I've said this before but this year . . . we've Ireland with the triple crown and grand slam, Leinster the Heineken Cup and . . . please, please, please, The Dubs to go ALL the way this year. Bring it on. Can't wait.

Vinnie K wrote: »
    Any one have any idea when and where the game will be played? Does it have to be played in a neutral venue or did i hear wrong?

All Q/F's are in Croker AFAIK and Spillane mentioned after the draw something about Dubs and Kerry being in Croker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Orizio wrote: »

I am incline to agree with you. Were ya on hols?

Look Dublin will be built up for a fall and I think they will struggle to keep within 4 or 5 points of Kerry.

Kerry will be happy with the draw. They will have all the spin doctors at work and Jackie Healy-Rea will have the match played played in Kilgarvan as the roads are in such a desperate state.

But seriously Kery have to be favourites, Dublin only won Leinster and Kerry have the experience. Gilroy made no secret of the fact when I interviewed him he has a 2 year plan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 doglover1

Dubs will win, 2 pts in it.
    Kerry are past it and didn't look the greatest today....the trouble in the camp say it all.......something in the Munster water!
    Dublin are young and fit and won't let the failures of the past get to them.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭Vinnie K

All Q/F's are in Croker AFAIK and Spillane mentioned after the draw something about Dubs and Kerry being in Croker.

Cheers mate, ya i heard spillane saying that alright, but someone was saying it to me that the q/f werent on in croker and had to be a neutral venue, taking the piss id say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Vinnie K wrote: »
    but someone was saying it to me that the q/f werent on in croker and had to be a neutral venue, taking the piss id say.
    They were right, all the quarter finals will be in a neutral venue - Croke Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 doglover1

Bluetonic wrote: »
    They were right, all the quarter finals will be in a neutral venue - Croke Park.

Yeah, Parnell Park is our Home Venue so Croke Park neutral.
    Will tickets will available online? Probably tomorrow before we hear what day the dubs are playing - hope it's Sat.

Ice_Box wrote: »
    Even though dublin havent beaten Kerry in the championship since 1976, (and the dubs still go on about it as if its the greatest game every played).

You mean 1977.

doglover1 wrote: »
    Will tickets will available online? Probably tomorrow before we hear what day the dubs are playing - hope it's Sat.
    I doubt there'll be any game on the Saturday to give them 24 hours extra insurance time for the relaying of the pitch. Double header Sunday with a single game (Dublin) on the Monday would be my thoughts.

Bluetonic wrote: »
    I doubt there'll be any game on the Saturday to give them 24 hours extra insurance time for the relaying of the pitch. Double header Sunday with a single game (Dublin) on the Monday would be my thoughts.

Yup and AFAIK Monday is one of the days allocated for a 1/4 final as well as Sat and Sunday.

Tyrone can only play Saturday or Sunday as there is no bank holiday in NI so if they decide to give an extra 24 hours for the pitch to settle in/insurance time then the only logical decision is for Dublin to be playing Monday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭VERYinterested

Says on GAA fixtures page that the game is on Saturday August 1st:

http://www.footballchampionship.gaa.ie/

Says on GAA fixtures page that the game is on Saturday August 1st:

http://www.footballchampionship.gaa.ie/

FFS ye would think with the pitch being relayed they would have Tyrone v Kildare and Cork v Donegal on the Sunday as per the fixture list and the Dublin v Kerrry on the BH Monday to give the pitch an extra day to settle.

Wouldn't really be fair to ask Kerry fans to travel on a BH Monday when you can have it on the Saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭culabula88

how will the pitch fair out??
    dont know if those fixtures are true as i thought that the central fixtures committee had to meet first.

p.s. they obviously have a mistake..

August, 1st
    GAA Football All-Ireland Championship: Qualifiers Rd 4
    Limerick v Meath (TBC)

August, 2nd
    GAA Football All-Ireland Championship
    Mayo v Limerick / Meath (tbc)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭culabula88

http://www.footballchampionship.gaa.ie/fixtures/?month=August

August, 1st
    GAA Football All-Ireland Championship: Quarter-Final
    Dublin v Kerry (Croke Park)
    August, 1st
    GAA Football All-Ireland Championship: Qualifiers Rd 4
    Limerick v Meath (TBC)
    August, 2nd
    Provincial Champion v Round 4 winner (Croke Park)
    August, 2nd
    August, 2nd
    Tyrone v Kildare (tbc)
    August, 2nd
    Cork v Donegal (tbc)
    August, 2nd
    Mayo v Limerick / Meath (tbc)
    August, 8th
    August, 23rd
    GAA Football All-Ireland Championship: Semi-Final
    Munster champions / Round 4 winner v Ulster champions / Round 4 winner (Croke Park)
    August, 30th
    GAA Football All-Ireland Championship: Semi-Final
    Leinster champions / Round 4 winner v Connacht champions / Round 4 winner (Croke Park)

copacetic wrote: »
    Wouldn't really be fair to ask Kerry fans to travel on a BH Monday when you can have it on the Saturday.

No different to having the match on a Sunday.

they aren't having it on a Sunday either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

doglover1 wrote: »

neutral except for one set of fans taking up the whole end of one side of the ground ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭6ix

As a neutral, who's well aware of the regular Dublin hype machine and the 'cute Kerry hoors', I'd still have to fancy Dublin strongly. Kerry just aren't at their best this year, (especially minus Donaghy) and they haven't met any real opposition bar Cork.

It'll be a close game, but I reckon Dublin by 4/5 in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭DancingQueen:)

can't believe we got Kerry :(
    Should be one hell of a match, looking forward to it and im keeping my fingers crossed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭IrishKev

Hope its on Saturday, but will the pitch be relayed in time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

It's refreshing to see the Dubs not being over hyped this year. I think they'll give Kerry a right go, but Kerry by 3. Just the game Kerry and Tyrone wanted! :p

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭The Bull

says here it on saturday

http://www.footballchampionship.gaa.ie/fixtures/?month=August

August, 1st
    Dublin v Kerry (Croke Park)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

rossie1977 wrote: »
    neutral except for one set of fans taking up the whole end of one side of the ground ;)

Well if it makes any difference Kerry can have the canal end.

Great draw. Looking forward to it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Jesus I'm going to support the Dubs for once :eek:

Dublin to win by 5 points

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

No-win situation for the Dubs, unfortunately. If they beat Kerry the hype will build to unmanageable proportions. Worst imaginable draw for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

I think we'll do it.

This is a new, revamped, young Dublin side, and I can't see either Tyrone 08 or Kerry 07 being too overbearing in their heads.

Kerry without Donaghy really is a huge boost for us, but they seemed to get back to some sort of scoring form today.

This game will either make or break Bastic. He has done well so far, but I'm not entirely convinced he can cut it against the bigger sides. Hopefully I'll be proved wrong.

Dublin by 2, in a replay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

can't believe we got Kerry :(
    Should be one hell of a match, looking forward to it and im keeping my fingers crossed
    Got to beat the best to be the best

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 jamin'

So it's going to be played in Croker on the 1st of August? Anyone have any idea when tickets go on sale? I've been on Gaa.ie and ticketmaster looking for ages but can't see any mention of it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

rossie1977 wrote: »

Someone has to fund the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭joey54

Kerry are like a wounded animal at the moment. It's going to be one damn tough game for the dubs, possibly too tight to call.

Kerry have been struggling but they'll always manage to produce something special against the likes of the dubs. having said that this is a fantastic opportunity for this Dublin team to finally bury the past and move on to bigger and better things.

It is not going to easy, it's going to be an extremely tough game, both mentally and physically. My hope is that Dublin can just sneak the win but I am wary. This Kerry team aren't going down without a fight, especially against the dubs!

My prediction is a draw with Dublin winning the replay narrowly.

Come on you boys in blue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

2 ways of looking at this.

You just consider this season and the impressive Dubs will steamroller a side used to struggling against division 4 sides.

You consider history as a whole and the fact that Dublin are perennial underachievers and Kerry have contested the last 5 AI finals. Different story.

Theres room for both which makes this a really good anticipated contest. For what its worth i think Dublin will dominate against Kerry for the first time in an age. Kerry are simply playing football a level below whats required and i don't think they can simply turn it on at will.

Like i said though i could easily be wrong. Come on the Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭keithm1

dublin to win with pints to spare :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Dubs will be overwhelming favourites.
    Kerry are a spent force according to the whole country.

form goes out the window for this game. theres one massive game in this kerry team and this is chance for redemption mark 2. armagh 2006 was the biggest game in years for Kerry, this is bigger. nobody gives us a chance, suddenly people think we are shi* and have no point in turning up.

i cant wait for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭munsterdevil

keithm1 wrote: »
    dublin to win with pints to spare :D

I'll think you'll find that is how all teams win a football match!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Dubs will be overwhelming favourites.
    Kerry are a spent force according to the whole country.

form goes out the window for this game. theres one massive game in this kerry team and this is chance for redemption mark 2. armagh 2006 was the biggest game in years for Kerry, this is bigger. nobody gives us a chance, suddenly people think we are shi* and have no point in turning up.

i cant wait for this.

My sentiments also Homerjay, I believe Kerry are like a ticking timebomb waiting to explode and when they do some team will be left battered, I think the last 15 minutes yesterday in against Antrim in Tullamore are a precursor for what awaits Dublin next weekend.