Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

33 too old to consider joining AGS?

• 25-07-2009 4:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 47

Wont bore you with background/reasons for not applying earlier but I have been thinking for a long time that a career with AGS is what I want.

Problem is, as everyone knows, now they aren't hiring. I'm 29 now and assume that with all the people still in the system and the current situation it will be at least 4 years before another campaign starts. At that stage I'll be 33/34. Is this a bit old to be considering starting a career in AGS? I mean 2 years training and 2 years probabtion and I'll be closing in on 40.

My goal would be to become a detective in a specialist unit, but from what I've read/ heard you're looking at about 5-7 years minimum from graudation before you would get into these areas. At this stage I would be over 40.......and just wondering whether you would ever have a chance of getting onto detective training or into a specialist unit at that age. I mean why would they waste money to train you when you will be retiring in a few years when they could invest in a 27-28 year old who would have another 30 years service?

Be interested in hearing any experiences of those who joined as a "mature" entrant or opinions from serving members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Hi sf94. Im not a member but I certainly dont think youre too old. You are at the age where you have some life experience under your belt which would stand to you both when you apply and as a member. At the moment recruitment is frozen til 2011 unless sanctioned by the minister which could happen at any time. By the end of next year there will probably be a recruitment drive so you may not be as old joining as you think. Plenty of people join at the age limit of 35!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭jason99

Hi sf94,i am not a member of ags but i have been giving some serious thought to joining them or the prison officers.I'm 32 going on 33 and i dont believe that i'm too old to join.If anything,it's only at this stage in life that i feel mature and experienced enough to join.I am sure that ags are looking for mature candidates who have a wealth of life experiences that could be of benefit to them on the job.As for the next recruitment campaign,hopefully we will all see some movement there before the end of the year when the budget is out.Retiring members of ags have to be replaced.So hang in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭DFB BOY

SF94,we had a lad training for us there bout 4 years ago and he was in his 40s,never too late to join anything if thats what you want to do,not sure when the guards will be recruting again but im sure when you do start training there will be older people than you there,if you want to do it,go for it :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭northside girl

I agree with everything that has been said previously. When I was in Templemore there were quite a few in my phase who were at the 35 age limit. One guy even applied at 35 and was 36 by the time he started. Some of the lads were married and had kids and gave up good jobs for AGS. From what I've seen, I think age is something that bothers the candidates more than it does AGS . As mentioned earlier you will have life experience and maturity to your advantage and that indeed is something that will stand to you. As for specialist units and becoming a D/Garda, there are plenty of members in my station who are in their 40s so I wouldn't get too bogged down thinking about age. My advice to anyone worrying about their age before applying is to forget about it and just apply, whenever the next recruitment drive is that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 sf94

Thanks for all the replies, they've made me feel alot better about the situtaion. Suppose I was more worried about age hindering progress once you're in AGS but I think what northside girl said is probably (hopefully!!) true......age is something that bothers the candidate more than AGS. Thanks again and guess I'll just hang in there for the next while!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 cathykelly

hey

Im kinda in the same boat myself, I'm 28.:eek: I have a mortgage and a fairly secure job. I would love to be a member of AGS. Really wish I hadnt wasted all this time in the wrong job. :(Anyways due to the recruitment ban I've applied to the garda reserves and hopefully that will work out in my favour.. then I'll have a very clear idea of what it means to be a guard. Maybe this is something you should look into while we all wait patiently for the recruitment ban to be lifted..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 sf94

cathykelly wrote: »
    hey

Im kinda in the same boat myself, I'm 28.:eek: I have a mortgage and a fairly secure job. I would love to be a member of AGS. Really wish I hadnt wasted all this time in the wrong job. :(Anyways due to the recruitment ban I've applied to the garda reserves and hopefully that will work out in my favour.. then I'll have a very clear idea of what it means to be a guard. Maybe this is something you should look into while we all wait patiently for the recruitment ban to be lifted..

+1 on the mortgage (so thats another consideration)................and the wasting time in the wrong job!!!

As for the reserves I'm a good bit along that process.....just passed my medical recently so hoping to get called for training soon enough. I agree that it'll give you a good idea of the job and should hopefully help in any AGS interviews in the future!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 cathykelly

hey

Its good to know Im not the only one with the same concerns.. age thing was bothering me for a while... sure with any luck, we'll all be in templemore for the full timers together..:D we can hang out with the "oldies:("

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Irish_polizei

The only subject i would be worrying about at joining at that age is the pension.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭pr43

The only subject i would be worrying about at joining at that age is the pension.......

who so? what is the pension implications of koining at 35?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭jake59

pr43 wrote: »
    who so? what is the pension implications of koining at 35?
    You would have to buy back a lot of years to retire on a full pension. Although what with life expectancies rising the retirement age could be up to 65 in twenty years time. Ye just never know.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭tinofapples

Really wish I hadnt wasted all this time in the wrong job.

+1 on that. Only realised at the age of 29/30 that I would love to be a member. Have the mortgage,wife and child but if the opportunity comes up I'll try my best to get to Templemore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Irish_polizei

jake59 wrote: »
    You would have to buy back a lot of years to retire on a full pension. Although what with life expectancies rising the retirement age could be up to 65 in twenty years time. Ye just never know.:D
    Thats exactly what i was going to say.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 cmul100

Hi guys,

As a ex garda, the one thing I can say is that age doesn't matter in templemore. Everybody's in it together no matter what your age, background etc is. For those of ye with partners and kids, it will be difficult, you'll be away from them every week from sun night to friday evening with the exception of wedesday afternoons when you can get a pass to go home. But it'll be worth the sacrifices if it's something that you really want. The average age of recruits has risen in the last few years and the powers that be much prefer someone with life experiences to a green 18 or 19 year old just out of school. Best of luck to ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 0x0121

cmul100 wrote: »
    Hi guys,

As a ex garda, the one thing I can say is that age doesn't matter in templemore. Everybody's in it together no matter what your age, background etc is. For those of ye with partners and kids, it will be difficult, you'll be away from them every week from sun night to friday evening with the exception of wedesday afternoons when you can get a pass to go home. But it'll be worth the sacrifices if it's something that you really want. The average age of recruits has risen in the last few years and the powers that be much prefer someone with life experiences to a green 18 or 19 year old just out of school. Best of luck to ye.
    Hi, im 34 years of age.I graduated from UCD with a masters degree.I have spent the last 10 years doing jobs which i really hate.Last year my neighbour who is a garda said to me about joining, he said i would make a great gaurd.I had wanted to do it when i was younger but i was an idiot, i let my parents dictate my life.Since 2008, ive had my heart set on the gaurds but then this recession hit!!!!
    I,ll be 35 at the end of next april.Am i wasting my time guys.This means so so much to me.I know maybe im putting all my eggs in one basket but i know that its the career for me.I have some friends in it and they love it.Am i wasting my time??Its constantly on my mind, morning, noon and night.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

I really don't think they'll be recruiting before next April, by which time you'll be 35 and too old to join. We (PSNI) have an upper age limit of 60 around 57... just in case you might look North?
    0x0121 wrote: »
    Hi, im 34 years of age.I graduated from UCD with a masters degree.I have spent the last 10 years doing jobs which i really hate.Last year my neighbour who is a garda said to me about joining, he said i would make a great gaurd.I had wanted to do it when i was younger but i was an idiot, i let my parents dictate my life.Since 2008, ive had my heart set on the gaurds but then this recession hit!!!!
    I,ll be 35 at the end of next april.Am i wasting my time guys.This means so so much to me.I know maybe im putting all my eggs in one basket but i know that its the career for me.I have some friends in it and they love it.Am i wasting my time??Its constantly on my mind, morning, noon and night.

hi, thanks for replying!!Can i ask one question?is the cut off date on your 35th birthday or is there some time after that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭tinofapples

hi, thanks for replying!!Can i ask one question?is the cut off date on your 35th birthday or is there some time after that?

Have you checked the website ?

"Candidates to join the Service must be between 18 and 35 years of age."

I'd imagine you'll be eligible right up till your 36th birthday.

PSNI,s answer left me gutted, absolutley gutted!Maybe he is right, but i just cannot give up hope yet.If i can ride it out untill i just turn 36 i still have a chance.This means so much to me, you just cant believe.I just want to give it a shot.
    "He who has hope, has everything"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭I'm listening

PSNI,s answer left me gutted, absolutley gutted!Maybe he is right, but i just cannot give up hope yet.If i can ride it out untill i just turn 36 i still have a chance.This means so much to me, you just cant believe.I just want to give it a shot.
    "He who has hope, has everything"

You must not be older than 35 (i.e 36;)) when you do the Aptitude test (First stage of recruitment)

ok, so, i will be 35 on the 27th of april next year.Lets pray to god that there will be some sort of recruitment the end of next year.am still in with a chance?Im just very nervous cos i was looking at the garda familiarisation booklet for 2008, it said candidates must be no older than 35 on the 2nd of may i think.it all seems a bit confusing.i would appreciate if someone could clarify the 35 years of age thing.This means a lot to me to have hope and would appreciate some solid info.Thanks a mill guys.Im prayin for everyone!!!!!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

(We recruit every year)

i know psni but my heart is set on the gaurds.

Ring appointments and ask them for clarification, thats the only thing that will put your mind at rest and at least its an official answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Mark63

I applied in January 2008 and I think I remember the ad. had a specific date in it - like you must be born after 1st Jan 1973 or something like that. I don't have the ad. habdy. As someone who applied in their 30s too I hope you get the chance to give it a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Mark63 wrote: »
    I applied in January 2008 and I think I remember the ad. had a specific date in it - like you must be born after 1st Jan 1973 or something like that. I don't have the ad. habdy. As someone who applied in their 30s too I hope you get the chance to give it a go.

Hey page 3 here http://www.publicjobs.ie/downloads/08012_Notes_for_Candidates.pdf states "be at least 18 and under 35(i.e. must have been born between 2nd May 1973 and 1st May 1990, both dates inclusive".

Im absolutely F****d so.My god, im in bits.Wishing everyone else out there the best of luck.I really mean that lads.I,l light a few candles for ye all.you just cant imagine how i feel at this moment in time.Bottom of the barrell stuff!GUTTED!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Im absolutely F****d so.My god, im in bits.Wishing everyone else out there the best of luck.I really mean that lads.I,l light a few candles for ye all.you just cant imagine how i feel at this moment in time.Bottom of the barrell stuff!GUTTED!

I won't say that I know how you feel because odds on, I probably don't and no offence, hopefully won't.

You know it really ain't over until you turn that year older in April next year. I like to keep optimistic (as hard as it gets at times) and with changes afoot every other week in this country, anything is possible.

It does look right now at this day in September that they won't be holding another drive for some time to come, but then again they may decide to hold one before April 2010 to keep the numbers constant in the system and keep them secure in the knowledge that they have more candidates in the system prepared to enter Templemore at momentary notice.

Keep the chin up mate, it is not over for you yet :)

Thanks lad, im trying to be positive but its hard man.Im here at the moment in my bro,s house, girlfriend came over to make over to make dinner.I didnt touch a bit of it.Im smoking a fag now with tears streaming down my eyes.I have energy for nothing, all i want to do is hit the bed.Have to go to work soon in dublin,im working nights in a factory near dublin airport.Im living in portlaoise.The wage is ****, 400 euro.Take 100 out of this
    for diesel and tolls.Is this what a masters degree gives you?i know there are thousands without a job but its not all about money.you have to be happy at what your at.i was never a money man.All i ever wanted was just to be happy.

Seriously, its not over til the fat lady sings. I dont think many people on here really believe the moratorium will stand for the full duration. As I said, ring appointments just to get clarification. If there really is no hope then maybe the PSNI is worth thinking about. It may be the guards you have your heart set on but its the next best thing really. It could be the best move you ever made! And you can apply asap and make your mind up while you're in the process. Its worth looking into surely?

Thank you for your positive comments.It really is refreshing and nice to hear people with such a positive outlook.im a pessimistic person by nature, thats just me but i take great heart from everyones positivity.Me ma will be lighting candles for all of ye!A little bit of divine intervention would go a long way.Im just home from my nightshift in dublin.I was 10 minutes late due to some roadworks on the m50, hadnt planned on it, im a fierce man for time.Got into work and the clown thats over me wants to have disiplinary action against me!!!!!Unbelievable, im just really unhappy at the moment.To anyone who gets the chance to apply for AGS, dont f**k about, grab the oppurtuinity with both hands!! I,ll say a little pray for all of ye.Thanks a mill lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

Jeez man, your atking it hard,
    As previously said keep the chin up,
    If they push out the retirenment age maybe they will also push back the age limit on recruitment, also if this is your dream why dont you look at the PSNI, dont think there's an age limit (could be wrong)
    I also read in another thread people are becoming very optimistic about a new campaign, its been advised to register with publicjobs.ie if your interested so keep the head up.

Cheers for that lad!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 eric muray

lads i applied 2 years ago at the age of 22 and failed on interview and report writing and i was worried about been too immature as i like having the crack and smart comments and not been good at the job if i got in but everyone is in the same boat with worries and age, no one is never too old for it and we all can help each other out, just stick at it, my uncle got in to a similar job at the age of 38 and was yhe best move he made

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭willit

Hey 0x0121, man you're breaking my heart there buddy. Before you really give up you should do what Blue Belle says and contact AGS themselves. I seem to remember reading on one of the other threads that since they changed the application process, i.e. going through publicjobs.ie, so long as you register there before you're 35 then it should be ok. So if you register now and they don't call you until after you turn 36 it should still be ok.
    I really don't want to raise your hopes with false info but I'm sure I've read that on here before and I seriously wouldn't make this up. I wonder if B Belle or K4Sam remembers anything like that as I'm sure you guys were logging on to that same thread around the same time? Either way call AGS and ask them buddy. As Andy Dufrense said in Shawshank "hope is a good thing, perhaps the best of things". There's always hope my friend, why else do all the other counties enter the football championship every year :p:p:p Come on the Kingdom.
    Meanwhile, keep onto that job and keep your head up buddy. Whatever about anything else it will make you even more determined if, hopefully, things work out for you. ;)