Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Grandmother's pension robbed.

• 25-07-2009 2:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭

Hello.

I want to know what some of the members of the emergency services think of this.

My nan and my grandad were collecting their pension. They got followed to the car by 2 romanian women, and when they sat in, they were asked for change. My grandfather wound down the window and gave them some coins. The 2 women then went over to the passengers side and stuck thier hands in the window asking for more. In the confusion, they managed to open the door, take out my nan's handbag from between her legs, pull out her bi-weekly pension and put the bag back in the car.

They have reported the women to the guards but have come up against the 'ah the cute little scuts' attitude that so often comes up with these crimes.

It was a completely conscious and planned attack against two extremely vulnerable people. I don't think it's a wild stretch of the imagination to think that they were waiting to do this, or even that they have done it before. It happened in a very busy car park (i'm currently talking to the head of security to find a decent video of them) in a very busy town, and as of yet the guards have only seemed to fob us off.

I just want to know form the guards who use this site, how seriously do ye rate this crime? How vigorously would ye pursue it? If I could tell ye exactly who had commited the crime with full proof, what would ye do about it? I have got the impression form the gardai that its nothing to worry about, and that really grinds my gears...

Please dont take this as an 'I hate the gardai rant... or an I hate romanians' rant for that matter (im going out with a romanian!!!!) I just want to know if my grandparents can get the money back. After all, they rely on that money.

Thanks for reading

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

Talk to a solicitor, there is a way to claim off the state for being the victim of a crime.
    I know a person that took a claim against the state for being the victim of a robbery, the basis of the claim was that the state failed to protect them..... and they won the case and were compensated for it.
    No harm in trying

Alternatively if you feel the members concerned didnt deal with the matter in the correct manner go to the station and ask to speak to the sergeant and explain the situation/case to him/her and see what they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

gamgsam wrote: »

I just want to know form the guards who use this site, how seriously do ye rate this crime? How vigorously would ye pursue it? If I could tell ye exactly who had commited the crime with full proof, what would ye do about it? I have got the impression form the gardai that its nothing to worry about, and that really grinds my gears...

Very serious, any attack on elderly persons would and should be considered very serious! If it was my investgation I would pursue it as far as possible and then go beyond it.

If you can prove who did it then there should be no issue with prosecuting them. But be warned travelling romainians are very difficult to track down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

+1 Nice Guy Always
    One of my pet hates is crime against the elderly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭mcguiver

Well, lets start wth the politically correct bit. I assume these people looked like Roma's, the "travelling community" from Romania/Bulgaria area.
    My Romanian friends get lots of hasstle due to people generalising...in fact mant Romanians here are working away pretending to be Italian to avoid any hastle.

It's a cowardly crime, by the lowest of the low.

Unfortunately these thefts are almost imposible to convict. Perhaps the Gardai didn't communicate very well, I'm assuming you dealt with them..... or did your grandmother tell you....anyway, I'm getting off the subject.

I find these type of crimes are usually done where there is no c.c.t.v. around. Usually by people wearing traditional Roma clothing, scarves etc.(hiding face) So the cop should arrive on scene and ...knowing their locality.. be able to say, yes there is possible c.c.t.v. or no, there's none because I kniow the area.

I've been involved in a few similar cases, and believe me I treat every crime against the elderly as serious, and you end up in court with free legal aid for bad guys. Show the judge the c.c.t.v., which in most cases is pretty decent.
    "Judge, I accept my client can be seen reaching towards the victim, but it would not be safe to convict as you cannot make out where their hands are"

Strike out...lack of evidence.

Its hard to comment on a case where I dont know the full facts. On a more helpfull note I would recomment your grandmother gets a report from the cops dealing with her and bring it to the post office, I understand there is a system for her to get her pension payment if she has been a genuine victim of crime.

Our whole system needs a huge shakeup, from Garda to judge, to ministers. Only decent people fear the law. Decent training, decent resources, serious jail time// hard labour etc. I recommend any decent person to go sit in the public gallery of your local district court... you will be shocked, then go find a politician and give them hell!!