Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland 2029: What do you expect?

• 25-07-2009 12:12am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭

i was just thinking what this country will be like by that time?
    we'll be well beyond recession at that point, do people think we'll be any better off(not material), our attitudes changed (drink, sport and the like)view of foreigners etc

do we see a country(city) on a shining hill or will it be like mad max?

topic is very broad, and optimism is welcome:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

i'll be 42. Feck that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭Kradock

England 2028 ,

You'll never beat the Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭jkl

Doom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

i can see another rise in the economy by that time. We'll see people who emigrated around this time return with a new found wealth. Jobs will be available.

I can see the justice system being a complete farce by bringing in stupid laws and still living in the dark ages.

Politicians will be more promising and truthful. They will live up to what they say.

Our drinking culture will still be here, as will a rise of liver and kidney failures.

Anti-social behaviour will be worse, and the elderly will be given 0 respect from youths.

And I expect to be 37 :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Children wearing yashmacs and burkas to protect them from being oogled by paedophiles.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

After hours will still be complaing about the foreigners, scumbags, the government etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭johnmct77

2029.......skynet goes 4 the kill, mary harney now a hardened aged and (less bloated) warrior ,leader of the irish resistance makes contact with john connor 4 an assault on its defense grid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭anti chris-t

i reckon it will be a little more liberal than it is today but it will still be a backwater country.possiblly with floating cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Excellent thread, but i honestly have no idea. Probably still be waiting for the Claregalway by pass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

We'll probably be rich again but a lot more sensible with our money next time around... Hopefully the gov will invest more prudently in the future, especially with regards to the health system or else I could have split by the time 2029 rolls around. Less tourists around as well I'd imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

After hours will still be complaing about After hours
    Definitely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭Kradock

galwayrush wrote: »
    Excellent thread, but i honestly have no idea. Probably still be waiting for the Claregalway by pass.

Stuck at those fecking lights that can't see the traffic isn't all coming out of fecking Galway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 TheBouldNaoise

Well, with global population rising to 9bn and global warming burning the ****e of the middle lattitudes, half the populations of Africa, India, China, etc... will be heading our way for a bit of cool air and a pint of Guinness.

We probably will still be electing monumental gob****es to run our dear little island, and no doubt they'll continue to make a balls of it.

In 2029 I'll be in my 60s so I won't to suffer it for too long...but God help my unfortunate children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Pop's Diner

You'll finally be able to get connection between the green & red luas lines on o'connell st. Dublin will feel so modern when that happens! wow!

i reckon it will be a little more liberal than it is today but it will still be a backwater country.possiblly with floating cars.

typical lack of planning in this country!:eek::P, we build motorways and then the floating cars come along rendering itall useless!:cool::P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

There'll be a bounty on all Fianna Fail supporters and members, they'll be dragged through the streets on sight, we'll still be paying for the banks and it will probably still be raining.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

- Dublin will finally have a metro
    - Ireland will be alot more like England security wise, more surveillance
    - We'll all have identity cards to carry around
    - The USA will no longer be the world's only superpower
    - Overpopulation will be world's new worry
    - Ireland will have further economic progression, having recovered from the late noughties early ten's recession, we'll have caught up to the rest of the world
    - Nanotechnology will allow huge medicinal and personal breakthroughs (able to tell you your health, instant diagnosis, if you're diet is too fatty, being able to artificially indicate if your full)
    - The internet will have become an integral part of everyday life, arguably more important than the car
    - Broadband will be availiable to everyone in Europe
    - Humans will have landed on moon again, and in 2029, will be preparing a mission to land on Mars
    - I will be 35 years old
    - Some of the oldies on boards will be toothless and bald (:P)
    - We'll have found some extraterrestial life
    - There will be food control and overly sugary and fatty foods will be banned in an attempt to combat obesity
    - Consoles will be replaced by simulators
    - Cars will be powered by non-CO2 emitting means (hydrogen, probably)
    - Ireland will be atleat 20% powered by green energy
    - First Irish person in space
    - Atleast 4 spacestations in Earth orbit
    - A space station in lunar orbit, and a lunar base
    - A plan to put a space station on Mars (like our plans to land on Mars now - distant, but there)

All I can think of at the moment. Enjoy my list, poke, prod, but you'll never know til then.. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

This is unfair after the death topic :D I now have a fear that i'll be relatively old by then.
    We'll have the broadband network sorted by then at least. We'll also be fearing a new strain of monkey flu from columbia. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

I'll be 38... Hopefully married with kids, and happy - the main thing.

Hopefully the future governments will spend the cash gained by any future Celtic Tigers wisely and invest it in a first world education system and a first world health system.

Also, global warming, blah blah blah.

jumpguy wrote: »
    - Ireland will have further economic progression, having recovered from the late noughties early ten's recession, we'll have caught up to the rest of the world
    - Nanotechnology will allow huge medicinal and personal breakthroughs (able to tell you your health, instant diagnosis, if you're diet is too fatty, being able to artificially indicate if your full)
    - The internet will have become an integral part of everyday life, arguably more important than the car
    - Humans will have landed on moon again, and in 2029, will be preparing a mission to land on Mars
    - I will be 45 years old
    - There will be food control and overly sugary and fatty foods will be banned in an attempt to combat obesity

All I can think of at the moment. Enjoy my list, poke, prod, but you'll never know til then.. :)

proper conquest of earth orbit(multiple spacestations) wud be nice and man back on the moon along with india,china and russians and possibly europeans, massively powerful AI, something inspirational 2 look forward to as we steer our way through this **** fest OF THE EARLY NOUGHTIES /TENS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Yeah, right!

That, sadly, is already happening :(

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 TheBouldNaoise

Nice one jumpguy...!

- I will be 45 years old
    - First Irish person in space
    - Atleast 4 spacestations in Earth orbit
    - A space station in lunar orbit, and a lunar base
    - A plan to put a space station on Mars (like our plans to land on Mars now - distant, but there)

Wouldn't be at all surprised if broadband is old hat in 20 years time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

It will be wireless and transferred to an implant chip in your head.

- We'll all be sitting here, posting in a boards thread entitled "Ireland 2049: What do you expect".
    - Some of us will consider it funny to reply to tons of posts with "YORE SISTUR"
    - Fianna Fail will run the country and people will bitch about it constantly, yet the bitching will be nowhere around on election day.
    - And Dermot Ahern will finally have retired over a scandal involving undisclosed donations

Oh and all this will be happening in space.

yerayeah wrote: »
    Wouldn't be at all surprised if broadband is old hat in 20 years time!
    Well, it'll be like 200 mb at least, no doubt, but what do you call internet that fast? Super-broadband?

I'll just be glad to tell my kids (hopefully) about the times of dial-up and Pentium III processors.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Pygmalion wrote: »

Nah virtual reality is the future. Haven't you seen johnny quest.

Lirange wrote: »
    It will be wireless and transferred to an implant chip in your head.

That will be covered on conspiracies threads.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

Nah virtual reality is the future. Haven't you seen johnny quest.

I miss that show... I wonder will they make a film about it in 20 years?...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

Well one thing won't change, we won't trust politicians.

Pygmalion wrote: »
    - We'll all be sitting here, posting in a boards thread entitled "Ireland 2049: What do you expect".
    - Some of us will consider it funny to reply to tons of posts with "YORE SISTUR"
    - Fianna Fail will run the country and people will bitch about it constantly, yet the bitching will be nowhere around on election day.
    - And Dermot Ahern will finally have retired over a scandal involving undisclosed donations

Fianna Fail on the back of a buoyant economy do the following.....

-ask for political donations not in a tent in galway...
    -but on a spacestation
    -to build their own
    -which promptly falls out of earth orbit due to cheap polish labour construction and poorly paid astronauts

a ten year tribunal is then set up...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭jiltloop

Why 2029? Could you not round it up to 2030? I hate uneven numbers. Jesus God I'll be nearing my 50 birthday in that year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

jiltloop wrote: »
    Why 2029? Could you not round it up to 2030? I hate uneven numbers. Jesus God I'll be nearing my 50 birthday in that year!
    Well if he said 2030, that's in 21 years time. 21 years is a bit uneven.:)

Dman001 wrote: »
    Yeah but he could've just notchosen to post the thread in 2009, 2010 is a nice number.

Dman001 wrote: »

Yeah but he didn't say in 20 years time he said in 2029. Actually theres a weird asian film called 2029. It's a very strange film maybe thats why I have an aversion to that year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

That will be covered on conspiracies threads.:D
    No the future belongs to cyborgs. People will live forever. People will upgrade to new bodies like they upgrade their computers. They'll upload themselves to new hosts just like we transfer to new hard drives. By 2029 the reckoning be nigh. :cool:

johnmct77 wrote: »
    Fianna Fail on the back of a buoyant economy do the following.....

-ask for political donations not in a tent in galway...
    -but on a spacestation
    -to build their own
    -which promptly falls out of earth orbit due to cheap polish labour construction and poorly paid astronauts

a ten year tribunal is then set up...........
    If we built it with Irish labour it'd probably be billions over-budget and 20 years delayed because the space-carpenters never showed up. We'd also have to wait ages for our space planning permission to come through.

jiltloop wrote: »

ah man sorry i picked just because it would be the turn of the decade and 2029 makes people look at a thread more than 2030!:)

I know, I'm just the type of person who when turning up the volume on a tv/radio has to stop on an even number.

Well, it'll be like 200 mb at least, no doubt, but what do you call internet that fast? Super-broadband?

I'll just be glad to tell my kids (hopefully) about the times of dial-up and Pentium III processors.
    I don't know if we can really imagine what direction things will take. Like, 20 years ago could you have forseen the iPhone? Isn't there some law about the speed of progression of technology, something like everything gets twice as fast or small in 1 1/2 years or something like that so who knows what we'll take for granted in 20 years time!

If we built it with Irish labour it'd probably be billions over-budget and 20 years delayed because the space-carpenters never showed up. We'd also have to wait ages for our space planning permission to come through.

or we'd build without planning permission thinking "how jeez nobody'll notice sure its only a wee porch of a yoke" and it'll be ripped down 4 us by the ISS planning authorities by use of a missile:D

boy i'm goin off topic here....ok everybody back to the original idea:)

yerayeah wrote: »
    I don't know if we can really imagine what direction things will take. Like, 20 years ago could you have forseen the iPhone? Isn't there some law about the speed of progression of technology, something like everything gets twice as fast or small in 1 1/2 years or something like that so who knows what we'll take for granted in 20 years time!
    That's true (not sure if it's 1.5 years though but I'll take your word for it). Everything will be just over 13 times faster and smaller than it is now. Dang. My laptop is 3 years old. By 2029, it'll be able to create something 15 times as fast for it's size, or something 15 times smaller for the same power.

I can't wait. :D
    or we'd build without planning permission thinking "how jeez nobody'll notice sure its only a wee porch of a yoke" and it'll be ripped down 4 us by the ISS planning authorities by use of a missile:D
    Then we'll be space-stationless and have to sleep rough on the moon. :(

An Taisce would have stopped it anyways.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

Once China gets the oil they need (when they have a war with Saudi Arabia) where all ****ed lads! They will rule us eventually..............:eek:

Only messing,who the fuck knows?! I'll probably be dead so what do I care lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭docdolittle

GaNjaHaN wrote: »
    i'll be 42. Feck that.

Ditto... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

My daughter will be turning 21 and I should finally be able to breathe a sigh of relief...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Irishpimpdude

Eh we will all be dead in 2012 duh!!! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2012_Doomsday_Prediction

An Taisce would have stopped it anyways.;)

if its orbiting ireland's airspace at any point, there'd be no escaping the wrath of an taisce !:D:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Irishpimpdude

Sleepy wrote: »
    My daughter will be turning 21 and I should finally be able to breathe a sigh of relief...

Not if she is taking drugs or gets pregnant...

That's true (not sure if it's 1.5 years though but I'll take your word for it). Everything will be just over 13 times faster and smaller than it is now. Dang. My laptop is 3 years old. By 2029, it'll be able to create something 15 times as fast for it's size, or something 15 times smaller for the same power.

I can't wait. :D

Then we'll be space-stationless and have to sleep rough on the moon. :(

at least the moon might have a functioning ecosystem by that time unlike us now(i joke, i joke):rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: