Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gun attack.

• 24-07-2009 4:24am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭

I think this is worth watching. The reaction is a little OTT, but I guess - if someone pulled a gun on you, it's hard to predict how angry your reaction is.

The story from what I can gather - Some guys were skateboarding, when a local gangster pulls a gun on one of them. The skater waits for the right moment, and takes the thug down and beats the utter tripe out of him.

Video is pretty violent, so watch with caution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Moral of the story-pussy's carry guns.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Justice has been served. The other lad hitting his head with skateboard looked painful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Jason Mc

I think that skateboarder may want to move out of the area quick sharp

Should have shot the fat sack of ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Removed from youtube, but you can see it here.

I presume it's the same video anyway. The skateboarder looks 15KG or more lighter than the lad with the gun. Does very well for himself tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭fizzynicenice

HAHAHA YESSS!!
    .....bashed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 daymz

Jason Mc wrote: »
    I think that skateboarder may want to move out of the area quick sharp

brave kid, but there's no way those gun-wielding scumbags will allow that to go unpunished. i wonder if that kid is still alive, i sure hope so. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

Hopefully one of these groups was just passing through town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

dlofnep wrote: »
    I think this is worth watching. The reaction is a little OTT,
    If he's still conscious he can still pull a trigger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Dabko

brilliant. Should have put him in a permanent coma.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

If he's still conscious he can still pull a trigger

I think the gun was taken off him.

I probably would have done the same tbh. Like I said, it's hard to say how you would react.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

He wasn't holding the gun correctly, the recoil, though low, would damage his wrist. Complete newbie to this ganster thing. I don't really see where the self defence comes in. The skatter made a sloppy job I incapacitating the gangster.

Boston wrote: »
    I don't really see where the self defence comes in.

He didn't get shot. Seems to me, he defended himself just fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭thehomeofDob

Fkn ponses and their guns. I dunno if the skater intimidate or slagged the scumbag, but he did his part an bet the **** outta him. Good job I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

He wasn't holding the gun correctly, the recoil, though low, would damage his wrist.

It wouldn't.

He didn't get shot. Seems to me, he defended himself just fine.

He purely used his fist, no use of knees, elbows, feet or head. From the punches he was landing I wouldn't be surprised if he broke a finger or two. If the other guy knew anything at all about defending himself the skater would have been in serious trouble.
    It wouldn't.

I don't know, I've done a lot of airsofting and pretty much consider myself and expert as a result.

He purely used his fist, no use of knees, elbows, feet or head. From the punches he was landing I wouldn't be surprised if he broke a finger or two. If the other guy knew anything at all about defending himself the skater would have been in serious trouble.

He defended himself from being shot. It doesn't matter how he did it, or how it looked. It's self defense.

I don't know, I've done a lot of airsofting and pretty much consider myself and expert as a result.

Aiyana Scary Airplane was in the army. I'd say it's safe to say he knows a thing or two about guns.

He defended himself from being shot. It doesn't matter how he did it, or how it looked. It's self defense.

I get that, but what I'm wondering is what its doing on a self-defence and martial arts forum? Wheres the skill? Its just a video clip of one person beating up another in a hamfisted brawl. No really the image I like to see attached to professional/amateur sports.
    Makikomi was in the army. I'd say it's safe to say he knows a thing or two about guns.

I should probably use smiles or something.

Makikomi was in the army. I'd say it's safe to say he knows a thing or two about guns.

Actually I still am..

Here's moi defending the Israeli border against Islamic terrorists!..

Hill880optwr-1.jpg

:P <smilie inserted>

I get that, but what I'm wondering is what its doing on a self-defence and martial arts forum? Wheres the skill? Its just a video clip of one person beating up another in a hamfisted brawl. No really the image I like to see attached to professional/amateur sports.

Disarmed the gun, took the attacker down. What do you want, some fancy special effects, some aerial cartwheels perhaps? Whatever gets the job done. It's in the self defense forum because, well.. no other forum is suitable and it displayed as guy defending himself from a guy with a gun.
    Actually I still am..

And here I was going to invite you to Christmas dinner! :D

The bashes over the head with the skateboard was a bit much.As for the gun,He was holding it in a threatening manner more likely shock tactics rather than intending to actually shoot. Personally I would have shot the guy who pulled the gun in the first place, Better than looking over your shoulder for the rest of your life.

I think the gun was taken off him.

I probably would have done the same tbh. Like I said, it's hard to say how you would react.
    The gun we seen, how do we know he did not have anymore or a knife, Always better to be up for assault/gbh than be 6 feet under

The bashes over the head with the skateboard was a bit much.As for the gun,He was holding it in a threatening manner more likely shock tactics rather than intending to actually shoot. Personally I would have shot the guy who pulled the gun in the first place, Better than looking over your shoulder for the rest of your life.

The bashes over the head were a bit much, but you'd have shoot him!..

LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭zebrafumbler

A guy threatens your life and your well within your rights to give him an almighty straightener. Fair play to him, he obviously didn't get enough if he could walk away/stumble at the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

The bashes over the head were a bit much, but you'd have shoot him!..

LOL.

:pac::pac: I thought I'd misread that, too.

From my perspective it shows that when someone pulls a gun it's not gonna always be in a nice neat way that you often seem to get shown on weekend "self defence" courses. It all looked very messy and very unpredictable.

tallaght01 wrote: »
    :pac::pac: I thought I'd misread that, too.

From my perspective it shows that when someone pulls a gun it's not gonna always be in a nice neat way that you often seem to get shown on weekend "self defence" courses. It all looked very messy and very unpredictable.

Yup, and some of the comments above are hilarious!.

Once I had a struggle with a gun armed with a gun (back in 1991) and while I couldn't get to my own weapon I was screaming at the guy with me to "SHOOT HIM IN THE FVCKING HEAD" and my mate froze!.

I must have shouted "SHOOT HIM IN THE FVCKING HEAD" & "JUST FVCKING KILL THE CVNT" ten times - nothing.

Far play to the skaters in this clip, just a pity the bastard could get up and walk away to do it all another day.

But until your in the same situ, honestly no one has a clue how they'd react.

And here I was going to invite you to Christmas dinner! :D

I'm hoping to be oversea's this Christmas, Kosovo or Chad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 daymz

hoping to be in kosovo or chad for christmas?! :eek:

i'm glad there are committed people like you in the armed forces!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Actually I still am..

Hill880optwr-1.jpg

:P <smilie inserted>

LOL, while you're standing there protecting Israel, Hamas are firing rockets over your head :pac::pac:

You can count them with that telescope thing as they go by :P

couldn't resist :D

Jon wrote: »
    LOL, while you're standing there protecting Israel, Hamas are firing rockets over your head :pac::pac:

You can count them with that telescope thing as they go by :P

couldn't resist :D

Ah sure, I had the IRA fire Mk17 motors over my head while I protected Britain's border - terrorists, only the name changes :P

(and don't tell anyone, but Hamas are not in Lebanon!).

A guy threatens your life and your well within your rights to give him an almighty straightener.

Regardless of the moral rights and wrongs, you do not have the legal right in this country.
    Yup, and some of the comments above are hilarious!.

Once I had a struggle with a gun armed with a gun (back in 1991) and while I couldn't get to my own weapon I was screaming at the guy with me to "SHOOT HIM IN THE FVCKING HEAD" and my mate froze!.

I must have shouted "SHOOT HIM IN THE FVCKING HEAD" & "JUST FVCKING KILL THE CVNT" ten times - nothing.

Far play to the skaters in this clip, just a pity the bastard could get up and walk away to do it all another day.

But until your in the same situ, honestly no one has a clue how they'd react.

Jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

The bashes over the head with the skateboard was a bit much.QUOTE]
    Regardless of the moral rights and wrongs, you do not have the legal right in this country.

?????

Did you lad's watch the video? Some scumbag but a gun to the skaters head. Hitting him with a skateboard is a bit much? He deserve a LOT worse, pity he was still able to walk.

As for it being legally right or wrong - insanity plea there please. Someone put a gun to my head, I flipped out and hurt them.

The pity is those scumbags probably came back for that kid and shot him.

Naos wrote: »
    As for it being legally right or wrong - insanity plea there please. Someone put a gun to my head, I flipped out and hurt them.

good luck with that if you ever ended up in a similar situation here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

I like how all his mates stood by watching, waiting for their mate to get shot, actually videoing it, and when the mate gets on top they're all like "LET'S GO!!"

Haha, with friends like these...........

That gun-totting scum-fvck deserved much worse than he got! Who was saying "It's over, get off him"? because i wanted him to keep going!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

good luck with that if you ever ended up in a similar situation here.

I'd not stick around to be honest.

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I like how all his mates stood by watching, waiting for their mate to get shot, actually videoing it, and when the mate gets on top they're all like "LET'S GO!!"

Haha, with friends like these...........

That gun-totting scum-fvck deserved much worse than he got! Who was saying "It's over, get off him"? because i wanted him to keep going!

If you watch the video closely you'll see a similarly attired people in the background also fighting. This suggests that the skaters friends took out the gangster's homeboy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Coupstick

I am not a lawyer, nor do I claim any expertise in law. However, this seems pretty clear on the right to defend yourself when threatened with injury:
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1997/en/act/pub/0026/sec0018.html#zza26y1997s18

Although the follow-up beating in the video may not have constituted reasonable force under Irish law.

At several points in the video who could have extradited himself from the situation and chose not to. The courts would rape him.

It didn't take place in Ireland. It's a moot point. You pull a gun on someone, you deserve to have your head kicked in.

Far from a moot point. The poster said "A guy threatens your life and your well within your rights to give him an almighty straightener." On an Irish forum, which creates the impression that you have such a right under Irish law. You've a right to defend yourself and running away is what your required to do if you can. You don't get to smash someone's head in with a skate board.

Sure you do. Someone pulls a gun on you, the law matters not.

Last I checked I couldn't outrun a bullet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Coupstick

At several points in the video who could have extradited himself from the situation and chose not to. The courts would rape him.

Can you link to any relevant cases in Irish law, ideally involving firearms?

Quite possibly the law does not distinguish, but a threat with a gun is different to a threat with a knife. Much easier to harm someone as they run away if you have a gun, I suspect, which makes safely retreating more difficult. Not that it would be a particularly common scenario in this country!

Last I checked I couldn't outrun a bullet.

The "gangster" is disarmed prior to being hit in the head with the skate board. The skater had to be dragged off him. At the point where he's on the ground, purely protecting his head, what possible justification or need was there to pick up a skate board and hit him in the head? What threat was he at that stage?

Coupstick: Better to ask over on the legal discussion forum. If you want examples of people being arrested for "over" defending themselves or their property search this forum, or the Irish Times website.

what possible justification or need was there to pick up a skate board and hit him in the head?

Him pulling a gun on them perhaps? Make him think twice about pulling a gun on someone in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Better to be tried by 12, than carried by 6.

Fcuk the law in that scenario, and I'd imagine there'd be so much read 'n' right in your underpants the last thing on your mind would be the bloody law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

Coupstick wrote: »
    Can you link to any relevant cases in Irish law, ideally involving firearms?

Quite possibly the law does not distinguish, but a threat with a gun is different to a threat with a knife. Much easier to harm someone as they run away if you have a gun, I suspect, which makes safely retreating more difficult. Not that it would be a particularly common scenario in this country!

ye'd be grand in an irish court with a good solicitor and pleading self defence (in fear of you safety and others around you), it prob wouldnt even go to court for that matter your man with the gun would be done with something!

dave80 wrote: »

ye'd be grand in an irish court with a good solicitor and pleading self defence (in fear of you safety and others around you), it prob wouldnt even go to court for that matter your man with the gun would be done with something!

ok, would you please tell what danger the "gangster" was to the guy who hit him in the head with the skate board? He was

1) Unarmed at that stage
    2) No longer fighting, purely trying to protect his head
    3) Incapacitated on the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭johnathan woss

Steven Gerrard recently got a not guilty verdict on an affray charge after hitting a guy 3 times.
    He was in a gang of six and the other man was on his own.
    His defence was that he was afraid that the other guy was going to hit him.

Granted we're not all millionaire footballers but if someone threatens you with a gun then surely "I was afraid he was going to regain control of the gun and KILL me" is a good defence.

I'm not 100% sure on this, but last time I checked Ireland wasn't part of the UK.

See these posts on Irish law. The "duty of Retreat" business isn't something we inherited from the English.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

ok, would you please tell what danger the "gangster" was to the guy who hit him in the head with the skate board? He was

1) Unarmed at that stage
    2) No longer fighting, purely trying to protect his head
    3) Incapacitated on the ground.

the guy with the skateboard could think the gangsta still had the gun and was about to shot his mate in the scuffle, so in fear of his friend saftey he hit him with the skate bored!

is that good enough for ye, we could argue the point why he should/shouldnt hit him all but at the end of the day id take my chances in court, instead of standing there like a pus*y while my friend was in trouble wondering weather or not to do something because i might get arrested for something!