Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards AC XC Team

• 22-07-2009 6:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭

Just wanted to get an idea of number that plan to run the Dublin Novice XC and maybe the inters/Seniors.

Teams will be picked closer to the date but the plan is to have more then one team , The A Team will be our strongest and will be the 6 fastest Board AC runners that are available to run. If you plan to race stick your name below, Note you must be a paid up member of Boards AC to run :).

Thanks to Tergat for helping out with a training plan for this, this will be posted on the Boards blogspot in the coming days.

If you plan to race stick your name below, Note you must be a paid up member of Boards AC to run :).

Name|Seasons Best Race|Time
    Shels4ever|Raheny Mid summer 5k|20:34

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

shels4ever wrote: »
    Just wanted to get an idea of number that plan to run the Dublin Novice XC and maybe the inters/Seniors....Note you must be a paid up member of Boards AC to run :)...If you plan to race stick your name below, Note you must be a paid up member of Boards AC to run :).

Cool... do you have to be a Boards AC member to run though ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Cool... do you have to be a Boards AC member to run though ;)
    Well to be on the Boards AC team yep ;) . But you could support us if your still afraid of joining ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

Peckham|Most recent race was in February :o - Garda CC 4 mile|24:58

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Woddle|MSB 5k|19:25

My race points calculator actually gives my 800m race as the best performance, I ran it in 2:31 but I think the 5k might be more relevant. Well done on getting this up and going and it gives people plenty of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Although I can't run Boards AC in AAI events I did notice in the Raheny clubhouse last night that they have a list of about 20 races where they expect their best team to turn and target some prizes.
    As you have started this for the XC you should consider half a dozen races, championships and open, so folks can build them into their plans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭figs

figs|BHAA NCF Floodlights 5k - March '09| 21:34

Have only ever run one cross country race, under floodlights and first race for years, so would hope to improve on that time if I did it tomorrow! Once DCM '09 is finished, I'd like to do a bit of shorter stuff for the winter, and will happily make up the numbers for the BAC team if needed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Can you please post dates for the races? Thanks much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Can you please post dates for the races? Thanks much.

The Approx date for the Dublin Novice as far as i know is 4th of Oct which is the first of the championship races (Novice, inter and Senior)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I've never run XC so I'm afraid too and I've been too lazy to join Boards AC. I might come and be your cheerleader though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭bren74

ecoli wrote: »
    The Approx date for the Dublin Novice as far as i know is 4th of Oct which is the first of the championship races (Novice, inter and Senior)

From what I've got from various sites and heard from others - this is the XC schedule to the best of my knowledge - open to clarifaction !

Sun October 4th Dublin Novices XC
    Sun October 11th Dublin Intermediate XC
    Sun October 18th Gerry Farnham XC
    Sun October 25th Leinster Novices XC
    Sun November 1th Leinster Intermediates XC
    Sun December 5th National Novices XC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Best of luck guys. Love to give it a go sometime, but it's sandwiched between two marathons.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Count me in.

I'll not give you a time for for a race now though although there are a few to choose from in one of the other threads. I'll be a few months out of actual running training by then though so no telling what time I'd be capable of doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

figs wrote: »
    Gerard65|4m XC January|27mins

As you know I've been sick/injuried up till now. Might have a more up to date time for you before the event.

figs wrote: »
    Robinph|To be put through tests on his retun from playing in the snow||

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭meathcountysec

bren74 wrote: »
    From what I've got from various sites and heard from others - this is the XC schedule to the best of my knowledge - open to clarifaction !

Sun November 8th Leinster Intermediates XC

Adjusted date for Leinster Inter XC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Feck it, I've have been interested in taking part but I've registered for the DCM so the dates for these CCs aren't the best for aspiring marathoners :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Sun November 1th Leinster Intermediates XC

It' a very tight calendar if you want to take part in more than just novice. Thankfully I don't have to worry about the intercounties or the euros!! I haven't seen the dates appear on the Dublin athletics site yet and the AAI ones are generally a guideline for the county championships. Here's what they have. All the assumptions are mine.

Sun Oct 4 County Cross Country (assume Novice)
    Sun Oct 11 County Cross Country (assume Inter)
    Sun Oct 18 Gerry Farnham
    Sun Oct 25 Provincial Cross Country (assume Novice)
    Sun Nov 1 County Cross Country (assume Senior)
    Sun Nov 8 Regional Cross Country (assume Inter)
    Sun Nov 15 Regional Cross Country (assume ?? Senior? No idea)
    Sun Nov 22 Inter Counties
    Sun Dec 5 Novice Championships
    Sun Dec 13 Euro XC

OCTOBER
    4th : Recommended date County Novice, Masters, Even ages

11th : Recommended date County Intermediate, Uneven ages

25th : Definite date Leinster Cross Country Championships (even ages, Novice, Master)

NOVEMBER
    1st : Recommended Date County Senior

8th : Definite date Leinster Cross Country Championships (uneven ages, Intermediate)

22nd : Definite date AAI Cross Country Championships (even ages, Junior & Senior Inter-Counties)

DECEMBER
    6th : Definite date AAI Cross Country Championships (uneven ages, Novice)

Its up to individual counties when they schedule their own championships. Meath senior is on in December.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

This is a little earlier than I expected. The date doesnt really suit me so Ill put my name down provisionally. Basically if you need me to make up a team I have no problem running but if Im not needed I might choose not to do it.

Robinph|To be put through tests on his retun from playing in the snow|
    Running Bing|Tom Byrne 5k-June 09| 19:16

My 800m (2:19) and mile (5:16) are better performances but I imagine the 5k would be more relevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

Last few years Dublin Novice has been last Sunday of September; Dublin Masters (over 35) first Sunday in January.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭bren74

Last few years Dublin Novice has been last Sunday of September; Dublin Masters (over 35) first Sunday in January.

Was there a change in the schedule for the Dublin Novices last year to accommodate the Rathfarnham 5k? I see both are on the same date this year

The recommended County Novice date is always first Sunday in October, but individual County Boards can change that as they wish. Don't know why it's been changed in the last few years, possibly to facilitate Rathfarnham 5k, but no harm to have 2 weeks between the Novice and Intermediate anyway if you ask me.

October is going to be a busy month....

shels4ever wrote: »
    October is going to be a busy month....

You've got to pick and chose wisely so you're not wrecked by the time the big one comes around first Sunday of December.

Thats a good point, if thats the target race ;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Since my last race in Bristol in the middle of June where I did 38:33 for the 10k I've only been out running three times since due to being very busy "playing in the snow". Today though without any other training I did manage 42:51 in a pretty hilly 10k race in Queenstown. Certainly not the recommended way of preparing for racing but I'll submit that time for the BAC selectors consideration for now.

robinph wrote: »
    Since my last race in Bristol in the middle of June where I did 38:33 for the 10k I've only been out running three times since due to being very busy "playing in the snow". Today though without any other training I did manage 42:51 in a pretty hilly 10k race in Queenstown. Certainly not the recommended way of preparing for racing but I'll submit that time for the BAC selectors consideration for now.
    So you've been arsing about in the snow for weeks and can come out and run under 43mins for 10K? YOU MAKE ME SICK:D

gerard65 wrote: »
    So you've been arsing about in the snow for weeks and can come out and run under 43mins for 10K? YOU MAKE ME SICK:D
    Would be great if this fella stopped playing in the snow and focused on running ;) I'd say a 28'ish min 5 mile would be possible :)

Will you have much time to train over the next few week?

Things are about to get very busy with the "playing in the snow" now as we get closer to the next exam. I am trying to get out and run on any days when there is not much else on though, just there is not many of those kind of days.

I'll try my best to keep the standards of BoardsAC up though whilst I represent the club abroad.

I downgraded to the 5k for todays race series in Queenstown and managed 2nd place in 20:13 so that should be a slight improvement in my chances with the team selectors.

robinph wrote: »
    I downgraded to the 5k for todays race series in Queenstown and managed 2nd place in 20:13 so that should be a slight improvement in my chances with the team selectors.
    Well done . I'm looking at 20:15/20 for my next 5k so you better get your acto together ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Just spotted the dates on Dublin Athletics

So for all Dubliners and Boards AC the fixtures are

- Oct 11 - Dublin Novice

- Nov 1 - Dublin Senior

- Nov 29 - Dublin Intermediate

Leinster and National are as posted by meathcountysec

The novice's the day after the bhaa teachers xc :( Would love to do both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Is there a limit to the amount of times you can race Novice?

In Meath you can run it until you win it..... Not sure what other counties do. Different criteria apply for provincial and national novice competitions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

You can keep running county novice until you finish in the top 3 or are on the winning club team. In the provincial or national novice, you stay eligible until you finish in the top 3 or are on the winning club or county team.
    Some counties allow you back to novice after a few years if you have won nothing in the meantime ( not sure on that one ).

gerard65 wrote: »
    The novice's the day after the bhaa teachers xc :( Would love to do both.
    No teachers for me this year now.

Just though i'd bump this up

What distance is the novice XC??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

Peckham|Pearl izumi 10k|38:34

Just to update my season's best in this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭trihead

hey all,

Few qs......

Just wondering whats the difference between the novice and intermediate races - is it the distance/ course route/overall standard of runners?

Also once you start the novice races for the season do you have to stay there or can you try the other races out? Can you jump straight into the intermediate if you havnt raced before in the novices?

For someone doing xc season for the first time [loads of running done though] would you suggest doing xc with bhaa races or the aai races or an combination ?

Thanks for any help:)

trhead

trihead wrote: »
    hey all,

Few qs......

Just wondering whats the difference between the novice and intermediate races - is it the distance/ course route/overall standard of runners?

Also once you start the novice races for the season do you have to stay there or can you try the other races out? Can you jump straight into the intermediate if you havnt raced before in the novices?

For someone doing xc season for the first time [loads of running done though] would you suggest doing xc with bhaa races or the aai races or an combination ?

Thanks for any help:)

trhead

The main difference between novice and intermediate I would imagine is the standard, example Bazman won the national novice but finished 5th in the intermediate (I think)

The BHAA is a great place to start your xc career, I did this last year and am now venturing into the novice for the first time this year. The first BHAA xc race takes place on the 10th of October the day before the novice and it's a 4mile lap course out in Castleknock.

A few questions of my own. How many are you allowed on a team and how many from that team to score. If there is a limit on how many per team, are you allowed 2 teams. I assume there is an entry fee, anyone know how much.

Woddle wrote: »
    A few questions of my own. How many are you allowed on a team and how many from that team to score. If there is a limit on how many per team, are you allowed 2 teams. I assume there is an entry fee, anyone know how much.

Best place to get definitive answers to these questions is to contact your friendly neighbourhood county sec ;)

Aine Pobjoy is Dublin Sec, I believe.

Gerard65|pearl izumi 10k|43:25

Keeping it real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Gerard65|pearl izumi 10k|43:25
    Slogger Jogger|pearl izumi 10k|37:24

Keeping it unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭emerald007

people - forget about any idea of time for cross country events - it doesn't matter in this realm, it's a new universe where only position and pain are measured.

For dublin/leinster as i understand, its the first four to score and its normally one team per club - you can name as many as you like on the team, the idea being that the fifth/sixth person is ahead of other teams fourth runner.

The idea that a new xc runner could start their first season, and run novice, intermediate and senior is a joke - no wonder club runners get burnt out from unrealistic expectations. this won't happen, but you like to see a clearer promotion/demotion system in place. only runners in the top 50% of a certain grade could then expect to enter the next level up, and the bottom 20% of grade would be knocked back down. It would at least mean the field in each race are more standardised.

8 named on team, 4 to score. 4 scorers finishing positions are added up and team with lowest score wins.

Each club can enter as many teams as they want, but if someone named on the B team beats all the A team runners, that's tough luck, still counts for B team, so this is where the captain earns his spurs. Don't have to fill a team of 8 - i.e. you could enter 2 teams of 5, but have to be careful here in case you get an injury and a no show and end up with only 3 finishers and so no team...

Should be price for team entry on the entry form (don't know if they're up on AI website yet). Don't think it's too steep ? 30Euro?? and around 8Euro for an individual IIRC.

Novice is 6k, Inter 8k, Senior 10k at Dublin County level. As they are Oct 11th, Nov 1st and Nov 29th. You could do all 3 if you didn't bother with other races, but Senior may not be too enjoyable. A better option for might be to do Dublin Novice and Inter and National Novice (Dec).

The difference in standard is an interesting one - probably harder to win Inter than Novice, but perhaps easier to come 10th in Inter than 10th in Novice i.e. can get up to 200 in Nat. Novice, only get about 80 in Nat. Inter, possibly because Inter is on same day as National Masters...Plus with Novice being 'only' 6k it goes off like an 800m race - Inter is a tad more refined.

If you come top 10 in Dublin, chances are you'll get asked to run for Dublin at the National Novice - 6 on the team I think, but there's usually a few in the top 10 who can't make it on the day, or run for another County.

Come in top 3 individually or win the team event and you are ruled out of County Novice in future.

emerald007 is spot on when he says times are irrelevant. You'd be as well to have a trial to pick you're teams - use it as a training race 2 or 3 weeks before, have a low key race in some Park, 1st 8 across the line in the trial make the A team, 2nd 8 in the B team etc.

I don't know how the captain (shels) wants to play this, we have 8 who want to run and then we have a few to decide which include Ral3, Kevinkilbane and Christeb.
    So first question is do we go with 1 team or 2, I would be in favour of 1 team of 8 (our best possible team) and then if we had enough for a second team, well then register them and it'll give us all a taste of team competition.
    We could use the Rathfarnham 5k to pick the rest of the team, I think those who went sub 40 on Saturday should automatically make the 1st team regardless of whether they run Rathfarnham or not.

So that would be
    Slogger (must sign you up before you get poached :D )
    Peckham
    Christeb (waiting for confirmation of whether he'll run this)

So that leaves the rest still needing to prove themselves
    Robinph (big question mark over his fitness :D probably not
    Running Bing
    shels4ever
    woddle (already signed up for Rathfarnham)
    Gerard65Figs
    Ral3(waiting for confirmation of whether he'll run this)
    kevinkilbane (waiting for confirmation of whether he'll run this)

Anyone else interested?
    I can see Krusty, Rusty and Jlang being an asset and then we could def have Ateam and B team