Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do Wedding Crashers Really Exist

• 22-07-2009 7:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭

Was watching the Film Wedding Crashers last night(good show) and it got my thinking,does such people exist in Ireland??Does anyone know anyone or did you ever crash a wedding where you knew absolutely nobody at the wedding.I want to hear your stories??try and be honest,we could all make a story up:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

Few years back I used to work in factory and my cousins wedding was coming up – so I would be in canteen during break/lunch talking all about it and 2 of the girls that worked there decided the were going to crash it (didn’t tell me)
    so they went for few drinks in town and joined in the evening part of the wedding and 1 of the girls was in the toilet, and while she was in Q, she got chatting to the brides mother (not knowing who she was) and my aunt was asking her if she was having good night ect and then asked her if she was friends of John (groom) and the girl actually said to her, don’t say anything but we don’t know the bride and groom, we just knew there was a wedding on so decided to join in for a good night!! My aunt actually started to laugh at her and then introduced herself and found her honesty and the situation so funny! She then told her they were welcome to stay for the night and enjoy themselves!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,546 ✭✭✭Enii

When my friend was getting married a man came up to him in the hotel and asked could he join them for the meal!!!!! Obviously my friend said no!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭thebiglad

I try to avoid going to friends and relatives weddings...

Cannot imagine why anyone would want to crash weddings of total strangers!!!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Not quite wedding crashers but at my sister's wedding a few years ago, there was a second wedding reception at the same venue on the night, and a few people ended up 'crossing' over, sitting down to dinner with the wrong party. Hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

I was shooting a wedding last year and it was after the meal when the music was about to start. I noticed this guy walk in but didn't bat an eye lid as he was dressed fairly similar to the other guests. It was only the fact that I saw him walk to about 3 other tables and collect all the sandwiches and bring them to back to another where he decided to finish them off.

I took a picture of it to show the couple and he wasn't in the slightest bit bothered as he even changed posed for me. He then proceeded to help himself to a few drinks on the tables and promptly walked off never to be seen again.

I took my hat off at the ballsy approach and we all laughed about it afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/us-soldiers-did-not-gatecrash-wedding-1835684.html
    By PAT FLYNN

Thursday July 23 2009

THE father of a bride has rubbished claims that his daughter's wedding was "gate-crashed" by US troops in battle gear.

When Amelia Walsh and Sean O'Neill tied the knot in Co Clare last week they caused a stir after wedding guests complained that the troops had wandered "uninvited" into the reception.

But yesterday Eamon Walsh from Newmarket-on-Fergus, Co Clare, said the happy couple were "proud" to have the soldiers at their function. He said the newlyweds had actually invited the troops to attend having posed for photographs with them earlier in the day.

Almost 300 troops were booked in to the Clare Inn, near Newmarket-on-Fergus, after their Iraq-bound aircraft was grounded at Shannon Airport by technical problems.

Amelia's father Eamon said the men were "invited in" by the bride and groom who wanted them to experience an Irish wedding. "They behaved in an exemplary manner at all times and if our troops behaved in the same way when they are on peacekeeping duties, I would be very proud," said Mr Walsh.

Several guests had claimed the men "gatecrashed" the wedding. One guest said: "It wouldn't have been so bad if they weren't in uniform but there were some people who were taken aback."

Mingle

Joe O'Neill, the groom's uncle, stated on his internet blog: "As the soldiers began to mingle into the private banquet area, they were told by their commanding officer that the area was a private party and off limits. Common decency and Irish hospitality, however, overruled political opinions and the groom informed them they were welcome to join the party."

- PAT FLYNN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

I think the father of the bride has it right. There's no way in hell US troops would gate crash a wedding in the presence of commanding officers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Seoid

I haven't seen that movie but I gatecrashed a few weddings when I was a teenager. Twice because we were staying in the same hotel as the wedding was on but were too young to go out or were in the middle of nowhere, so we crashed the wedding and danced the night away! Got chatting to some lovely country fellas too... They know how to throw a party down in Kerry.
    The other time when I was even younger, about 14 and the wedding was really dry and boring but we were just having fun dancing so the videographer kept filming us because we were the liveliest there! We had to keep hiding so their video wouldn't be full of us. My mum tried to find us to get us out but the staff wouldn't let her in :D

I wouldn't have any food or drinks served at a wedding I wasn't invited to though, it would've felt a bit too much like stealing...
    Especially now that I'm getting married myself & have an idea of how much it all costs!

I wouldn't mind gatecrashers too much as long as there's not too many & they were a positive addition to the party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭tannytantans

Used to do it all the time when I was younger :o

Our local nightclub was joined onto a hotel and if you were with the wedding party you got in free to the club after. I even vaguely remember getting my photo took with a bride one night - dunno who she though we were!!!

Actually wouldn't mind if someone did it at mine - as long as it was only the afters!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 ocr

i think the main crashers are those who call into a wedding near the end to hear the band i know before i had my wedding i semi crashed a few weddings to listen to bands so i persume this happens all round

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

ocr wrote: »
    i think the main crashers are those who call into a wedding near the end to hear the band i know before i had my wedding i semi crashed a few weddings to listen to bands so i persume this happens all round
    I would nearly go as far as to say that the band invite the people to listen to them, almost like an audition, how else would the people know where they were playing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Recently I was invited to the afters of a wedding. The groom was a lad I had shared a house with in Australia.

So in walks myself and my OH ... we are almost immediately greeted by the Bride who asked if we were just popping in to check out the band, she told us not to worry as herself and her new husband had done it to loads of weddings before booking them.

I was like a rabbit caught in the headlights so instead of explaining that we'd actually been invited I just mumbled "yeah, something like that, are they any good" :P

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Don't ask me why, but that has reminded me of a story (totally non-wedding related so feel free to delete).

A few years ago a friend of mine's Grandmother died so myself and 2 other friends headed up to Gort to the funeral. In we arrive and see people going into a funeral, so off we go in the door, didn't recgonise anyone but had to go through the whole thing, "sorry for your troubles, etc. to everyone", out we left, and thought "oh that was embarassing" so up the street we looked and spotted another funeral,

This funeral had a bit of a queue, but we recgonised a couple of the people in it so we figured that had to be it, so in the queue, talking to the person in front "there's only the 2 funeral homes in Gort isn't there?" to be told "yup, but there is a funeral in a private house out the road", we were gone so far in the queue that we had to go in, but we thought happy days at least we know where the proper funeral is, so in we went and then off to the proper location

You guessed it, wrong funeral again, found the other funeral wasn't on in Gort, was on in Beagha (sp.), off we toddle, we're greeted by our mate "thanks for coming lads, there's no point in going in there it's packed, you coming for a pint?", so we ended up going to 3 funerals by mistake and not going into the 1 we were susposed to be at, great session though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭garbanzo

I remember a few guys crashed my wedding alright. I was cool with it though they seemed to get a bit nasty later on in the night. The usual " all ye Dublin guys down in our town with ye're funny ways sh*te. "

I remember telling them they were welcome but if they tried to start a row I was going to personally lead the charge of 30 odd lads who would beat seven shades of ****e out of them. They were pretty cool after that.

Great night !

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I'll be scoping out a few weddings later in the year. To see bands/Dj's. I'll stick on the good clothes and stick around for the night too. Sure you'd have to, weddings are great craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

A friend of mine got married recently and was warned by the manager of the hotel to put up a table plan as they had cases of people crashing Wedding Meals where there were no table plans.

She also had nobody invited to the afters but loads of people came to the door of the function room claiming to have been invited to the afters. The hotel actually had staff on the door to stop people coming in who were no invited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭izzyflusky

I was about to ask about the table plan.

All the weddings I've been to had table plans, so I don't kno how any one in that case could gate crash it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

beertons wrote: »
    I'll be scoping out a few weddings later in the year. To see bands/Dj's. I'll stick on the good clothes and stick around for the night too. Sure you'd have to, weddings are great craic!

You should ring the venue and ask them to contact the bride and groom and ask if it's OK to stick your head in for a few minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Trashed

after 6 months in the states and ending up in vegas crashing weddings was a way of eating!!! Id say me and my friend did about 20 in one week.

When the OH and I were staying in a hotel last summer and we were having breakfast one morning and he got chatting to an older couple. It was their daughters wedding that night, but alot of the grooms family couldnt make it because of a sudden death his side of the family. the daughter was so upset she wanted to cancel the wedding etc.

my oh&the FOB hatched a plan and invited everyone that was staying in the hotel to the wedding to make up the numbers..... turned out to be the best night ever and the bride was so happy. the hotel even gave them money off the wedding package and the groom of the wedding is going to be our best man next year.