Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€10,000 and a month off. What to do?

• 21-07-2009 3:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭

Not tha long ago I was made redundant and as the title of the thread suggests, I got quite a generous payoff (not bad considering I was only 4 months with them!). I had been reluctant to spend this as I imagined I could be quite a while out of work (quantity surveyor) however I've been offered a job on the London Olympics and it starts in a few weeks. So any ideas on how I can lighten my pockets in the intervening period and have as much fun as possible. 21 male and single if that helps with your ideas.

I was thinking coke and hookers, but thats cliché.

After Hours, I need your help!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Stand near the local dole office and wave the wad of cash at the unemployed people. Always good for a laugh :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

FAP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Cliche shmiche...coke and hookers ftw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Hookers and Coke? It's not Coke and Hookers but it's close!

Go abroad, Germany sounds good. And if you need a travel partner and you are willing to pay my expenses and beer I will come with you. And thats not even a joke, I am serious!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Champagne and high class escorts?

- Drav!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Mayoegian

Have a bit of sense and don't spend it like there's no tomorrow. Look around you, thousands of people are losing their jobs and have no money, and you want to spend it on 'coke and hookers'.

Just because you have this money, doesn't mean you have to spend it right away-SAVE IT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

KTRIC wrote: »
    Stand near the local dole office and wave the wad of cash at the unemployed people. Make some of them do a dance or trick to earn money. Always good for a laugh :D

Fixed your post.

By stock, stay at home and watch stock channel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

I was thinking of going to the far east or drive across the states, but unfortunately not many (indeed any!) of my friends are in my position at the moment. Have many of you experience as the solo traveller? What did you make of it?

Ruu wrote: »
    Fixed your post.

Your ideas intrigue me and I wish to subscribe to your news letter :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

If you are going down the coke and hookers route, and hey why not, remember hookers are already paid to provide a service DO NOT waste your coke on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Relevant

I was thinking of going to the far east or drive across the states, but unfortunately not many (indeed any!) of my friends are in my position at the moment. Have many of you experience as the solo traveller? What did you make of it?

You should bring one of you friends* along for free, or in return for certain services rendered....

*female

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

put it aside for a rainy day,
    once the rainy day comes, indulge yourself in coke and hookers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Mayoegian wrote: »
    Have a bit of sense and don't spend it like there's no tomorrow. Look around you, thousands of people are losing their jobs and have no money, and you want to spend it on 'coke and hookers'.

Just because you have this money, doesn't mean you have to spend it right away-SAVE IT.
    Booooo!!! Spend it! Spend it all now while you still can.
    Have many of you experience as the solo traveller? What did you make of it?
    Yes it's the only way to travel, once you get used to it you'll wonder what you ever wanted friends for in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭greyed

Save it for when he has some time off when hes retried? Travel!! Stimulate some economy somewhere. Take the trans-Siberia train route, stop off in Kazakhstan. Hello from Japan, here is cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Go to a remote Scottish island and burn it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭builttospill

Mammy stop embarrassing me here in front of all my cyber peers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,567 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Pepsi and scrum-halves

I can the the theme of Hookers and Coke is quite strong here. Maybe the OP should just take the hint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

go to vegas for a few days :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Mayoegian

greyed wrote: »
    Save it for when he has some time off when hes retried? Travel!! Stimulate some economy somewhere. Take the trans-Siberia train route, stop off in Kazakhstan. Hello from Japan, here is cool.

No not when he's retired, just in a year or two when he has no job, high debts and the bank man knocking on his door. He's young and should save this for the future. He'll look back and regret spending all the money instead of putting it to better use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Blow it all at the Galway races, one big "feck you" bet which is just slightly bigger than the one placed by JP McManus who was stood in line ahead of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Put 8 grand away.

take the other 2 grand and go tour Bavaria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Give 8 grand to me.

Put 8 grand away.

Take the 10k and come to Bavaria, I'll mind it for you when you going touring ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Not tha long ago I was made redundant and as the title of the thread suggests, I got quite a generous payoff (not bad considering I was only 4 months with them!). I had been reluctant to spend this as I imagined I could be quite a while out of work (quantity surveyor) however I've been offered a job on the London Olympics and it starts in a few weeks. So any ideas on how I can lighten my pockets in the intervening period and have as much fun as possible. 21 male and single if that helps with your ideas.

I was thinking coke and hookers, but thats cliché.

After Hours, I need your help!

Knock yourself out NSFW
    http://www.theadulttoyshoppe.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Spend it on Hoke and Cookers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

No not when he's retired, just in a year or two when he has no job, high debts and the bank man knocking on his door. He's young and should save this for the future. He'll look back and regret spending all the money instead of putting it to better use.

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Enda is that you?

Thanks for another perspective :) I do know what its like to have no money, I've been scrimping and saving up until yesterday when I got the offer. As I said I thought I'd be out of work for a long time and I had made plans to go back to college if I couldn't find anything. The money was originally planned to cover my fees and at least part of my living expenses for a year as I wouldn't be eligable for the dole when in education and as I've already got a degree I wouldn't be entitled to back to education allowance.

I know I don't have to spend it, and I know I won't spend it all. I'm just looking for interesting things to do as hopefully I'll never find myself on a perlonged holiday again. I have one month and want to make it memorable. The coke and hookers I mentioned, although fun, was just to get typical AH responses out of the way:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Buy and sell this guy.

ScumLord wrote: »

Yes it's the only way to travel, once you get used to it you'll wonder what you ever wanted friends for in the first place.

Really? I know when I'm on holidays with someone I often find myself wanting to do my own thing but have to compromise. Its just the idea of going alone seems rather lonely? Especially in the countries I'm interested in visiting are non-english speaking, and the natives would have poor enough english I believe. (Korea, Japan, China, India)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Dampsquid

You come onto boards asking how to spend 10k?

Maybe you could buy some real friends...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭the_god_swan

Cut all your money in half so that you will then have €20,000. Save the €10,000 as the mammies here have suggested, by gluing it all to your body. Then squander the remaining €10,000 on pebble dash and womens clothes... Another problem solved ;)

.... Whos next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Really? I know when I'm on holidays with someone I often find myself wanting to do my own thing but have to compromise. Its just the idea of going alone seems rather lonely? Especially in the countries I'm interested in visiting are non-english speaking, and the natives would have poor enough english I believe. (Korea, Japan, China, India)
    If you find the right place to stay the people there are usually friendly and just looking for a bit of craic. Then of course there's couchsurfing. Mixing hostels the odd hotel and a bit of couchsurfing would ensure you always meet people and can easily have some alone time when you want it. Staying in hostels can be a bit overbearing there's so many people in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Soul Cake Duck

Volunteer to work in South America/Africa or one of the countries you listed...Don't pay the organisations for a package thingy as I don't think much of that money goes to actually charity but arrange it yourself seen as you have the financial side sorted & there is a Volunteerism forum on boards....that’s is of course if you'd be interested in voluntary work otherwise its looking like coke and hookers!! Jesus it 17:01 I'm out of here...what do they think, I'm working for free!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

Supercroc wrote: »
    Volunteer to work in South America/Africa or one of the countries you listed...Don't pay the organisations for a package thingy as I don't think much of that money goes to actually charity but arrange it yourself seen as you have the financial side sorted & there is a Volunteerism forum on boards....that’s is of course if you'd be interested in voluntary work otherwise its looking like coke and hookers!!

pfffft.

Everyone knows the poor smell!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭Leixlip_Red

Oppenheimer1: I got a €10,000 check from my redundancy, and my dad said I need to put it in the bank so it can grow over the years.
    Bank Teller: Well that's fantastic, a really smart decision young man. We can put that check in a money market mutual fund, then we'll reinvest the earnings into foreign currency accounts with compounding interest aaaand it's gone.
    Oppenheimer1: Uh, what?
    Bank Teller: It's gone. It's all gone.
    Oppenheimer1: What's all gone?
    Bank Teller: The money in your account. It didn't do too well, it's gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

For once, I agree with Degsy.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Use some of it to hire someone who has what is called common sense.

You need to do this because anyone who comes on to boards with that kind of cock and bull bull**** needs it badly.

Use the other 8k to buy some cop on.

Oppenheimer1: I got a €10,000 check from my redundancy, and my dad said I need to put it in the bank so it can grow over the years.
    Bank Teller: Well that's fantastic, a really smart decision young man. We can put that check in a money market mutual fund, then we'll reinvest the earnings into foreign currency accounts with compounding interest aaaand it's gone.
    Oppenheimer1: Uh, what?
    Bank Teller: It's gone. It's all gone.
    Oppenheimer1: What's all gone?
    Bank Teller: The money in your account. It didn't do too well, it's gone
    Actually I've had it sitting in a "high interest" account for a while. Just checked it there, I've earned €20 or sweet fuck all since I've put it on deposit. High interest my arse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭tipex

You need to take 2k and go travel for the mth, you might not get the chance again and it'll be so worth it. Do not worry about travelling alone for a month, if you're really concerned tour along mainstream routes and stay in any hostel in rough guide/lonely planet and you'll have all the company you need and you can afford to indulge in private rooms if you want

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭Leixlip_Red

Actually I've had it sitting in a "high interest" account for a while. Just checked it there, I've earned €20 or sweet fuck all since I've put it on deposit. High interest my arse!

Don't trust the banks these days... all my cash goes straight under the matress...

Directions to my house anyone?

mike65 wrote: »
    Blow it all at the Galway races,.

No better place to head with a wad of cash!!

Use some of it to hire someone who has what is called common sense.

You need to do this because anyone who comes on to boards with that kind of cock and bull bull**** needs it badly.

Use the other 8k to buy some cop on.

Thats a bit harsh, all I was looking for was some interesting ideas of things to do or locations to visit. If you don't believe me in how I've come into this situation well thats your prerogative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

Vegaz.

Take a months tour of Hellmand province Afghanistan.

Sensitivity of your post in these times would lead me to opine you would be well treated there;)

Thats a bit harsh, all I was looking for was some interesting ideas of things to do or locations to visit. If you don't believe me in how I've come into this situation well thats your prerogative.

Oh I believe you all right.

It's just that coming on boards to highlight the fact leads me to certain conclusions, none of them complimentary.

Sorry 'bout that, but that's the way she crumbles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭CutzEr

Invest in tele-marketing..

Take a months tour of Hellmand province Afghanistan.

Sensitivity of your post in these times would lead me to opine you would be well treated there;)

Although an interesting place to visit, (and more along the lines of why I opened this thread in AH, to get suggestions of unusual locations) I think the FCO has an advisory against unnecessary trips to that area. Have fun yes, but as i'm not a professional soldier, it would be irresponsible of me to go there, as my presence would also put others in danger.