Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

mastitis

• 21-07-2009 8:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭

Just yesterday,late evening noticed a cow thats due to calf,in early September...front quarter is up,what would u do? penstrep+tube it..can it be saved,as not get at it--till after work this evening! she was grand ytday morning!bummer! summer flies-damn!!!
    Also have 2 animals, a first calver+an oldish cow,(not calving till nex spring)she did swell in one quarter-last month or so-but nothing came of it,did nothing about it,it went down as quick as went up!
    anything u could use on them, tar?spray! just to protect them? tubes mayb--not quiet cows,like dairy cows..which can b tubed easily

any advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Did she have an extended dry period? When a cow has an extended dry period she should get treated with dry cow tubes again as the first treatment wears off. The only thing to do now is to milk out the quarter treat with milking cow tube and inject cow with a good antibiotic for a few days and hope for the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭wiggy123

she be dry now since feburary!
    will try that sam--thanks!
    first problem i've had--touch wood, bein mastsis free this last 10yrs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

watch her closely, as you know summer mastisis can be fatal, would need vet if she seems off colour

it is best to keep in a high open field with no hedges if possible (less Flies)
    Also treat with poron or spot on , You must treat all animals in the bunch.

****..thats not gd news Snowman! shes with another cow just--shes due to calf early nex month! springing at mo!
    field is sheltered,etc..hedges!
    did her a few months back with pour on!

do same again later--pout on,milk teat out-treat with a tube--then a gd shot of penstrep!
    she seems in gd tune,back chawing this morning!is eating+is in great order..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

stockholm tar is a very good fly repellent .. we do our dry cows every fortnight with pour on and tar ... i hate flies ... when we milk in the evening time there's always millions of them around but they feck off when the first row goes out , its amazing how nobody is ever around when i am doing the first row and as soon as they go out help arrives:rolleyes:

will do that on the 2 dry cows...after scanning--there going to a meadow for the rest of teh summer!
    pour on--taht spot on?or like pour on(ivormectin)??

will tar them--well try to--sucklers...

tar, that b no good on cows that are due to calve soon..
    pour on would??

i put the tar on the side of the leg of ant cows that are springing and put it on the udders of the rest ... the pour on i use is eezepour(sp) its from osmonds and is a cheaper version of spot on but works just as well..

cheers whelan!
    will do that tonight!
    ah i have spot on....
    easier said that done--puttin tar on udders of suckler cows..will try!

took cow in last night...
    milked front right teat out(think its gone,bad--vy hard)
    tubed it twice--with dry cow+milking cow tubes...
    got 20ml of pentstrep+i did her with spot on...and tarred her udder..seems back right spin is gettin bad also..****! will treat her again 2nite--tubes+penstrep!
    she is in great order--mayb too fat! and due to clave 1st week of September!

ah now--may go back to total Spring calving!

if you can get a thing og cream like cheno unction to get swelling down , its always better to strig out as often as possible to get rid of any poison in there - for your sins :rolleyes:- maybe see of you can inject her with something a bit stronger if she's unwell

if the quarter is gone maybe cut it off and the gooo can runout itself - is it a show cow or does her bag matter?

thanks for the advice!
    where u get that cream..
    was thinking of a shot of curazon! but mite throw the calf then!do damage, it would get the swelling down
    will strig her out again 2nite+re tube!
    what would u inject her wit?

what cut here--what u mean! nah not a show cow,but is a nice animal..only a 2nd calver(is bro in laws)

shes in gd form tis morning,when i seen her!eating grand! bit perker..
    have never had any mastitis probs b4,in 10 years since had cows!
    unreal how quick quarter went up--grand monday morning-then bang-swollen that nite..mad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

that summer mastitis is a bastxxd..keep drawing her but if no improvement you would be better to cut the tit , she would never have milk in that quarter again but it might be better than consequences..anyway sounds like you might have caught it in time

you'd get the cream from the vet , sometimes we cut the teat off about half way up and the stuff can run out itself but its a last resort .... i would check with vet before you inject her its just that pen/strep wolud be on the mild end of the scale.....if shes in good form the the pen/strep should be ok .. framomycin is what we use for the milkers with mastitis but cant remember if it would harm the calf it works quickly to get the swelling down

vy gd--thanks for all teh advice!
    hopefully i have her sorted..don't if lose the teat...as she has 3 others--afraid it would spread..is a young+gd cow,plan to har her around for a few years!
    will b treatin her later again--when get home from work!
    this work thing is a bummer!

hi...
    update..
    took cow in last night again,seemed in better tune!
    strigged out quarter again,seems to hav soften!
    tubed her again and give her a shot of penstrep!
    tar applied also...
    she seems to have a sore front hoof...splitting,nearly like foot rot on a sheep!say thats what attracted the flies..
    shes a bit lame with it + sore for her..
    what would u give her--to mend it!
    spray it--hoofs not overgrown or anything!
    is getting vitamins-through mineral lick,pre calver!
    see ground is soft--with all the rain!

got good stuff from vet before for foot rot, its called "maxoject 10%" on the bottle, not sure what the common name for it is, worked well though

cheers..will suss that stuff out so!

do you get the hoof care man? i will give you his number if you want i just had him last week

think have a no of a fella nearby! does hoof care--paring!
    shouldn't have to do them..angus cattle meant to hav gd feet!
    must b the bad summer--weather, ground always wet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

The farm relief service does hoof care.

I have a few cows who were too late calving last year and were then bulling too late so I didn't get them in calf, I do milk then once a day, they don't have a lot and its not affecting cell count, its my dairy solution for summer mastitis....

is is kevin walsh you use ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

whelan1 wrote: »
    is is kevin walsh you use ?

Luckily had no cattle with feet problems for a number of years now, can't remember his name now, so I won't guess.

I'll ask the brother in law, he had an animal who got some hoofcare earlier this week.

bitch of a cow, got mastitis again in the same quarter...
    its worst than before...
    strigged it out again, hard! retubed her+shot of pentstrep..
    not due for another month!
    hazzle..
    shes a young cow(06 model)--but looking at her, has bad feet..so cull mayb in order!

wiggy123 wrote: »
    bitch of a cow, got mastitis again in the same quarter...
    its worst than before...
    strigged it out again, hard! retubed her+shot of pentstrep..
    not due for another month!
    hazzle..
    shes a young cow(06 model)--but looking at her, has bad feet..so cull mayb in order!
    sure keep trying for a few more days, if she doesnt improve have the vet cut that tit, sure she would be fine with 3 good ones

was thinking of doing that! slitting it..
    heard from uncle he lost a calf, spring time! cow has mastitis--4 teats...never knew/noticed..all looked normal
    what would u do--to the quarter when she calves-stop calf sucking her!as its front right quarter
    am tarring it at mo..

calf will figure out which tit is good or bad and wont bother with the bad one once he/she is up and going

gd to hear!
    as she is a pedigree angus.. and incalf to a good bull--so don't want to lose the calf...

cow still not calved...was due last friday..is close!
    say another day or 2..
    the spin/teat is ballooned up again..quarter is hard, only 3 teats seem ok!
    i had tarred her 2 weeks back+redid her with spot on/pour on!
    no good
    so fingers crossed--all b grand when calves..would it harm the future calf(hopefully)if he drink or yokes at that teat

think they realise very quickly where the dud spin is

hope so..know soon enough i'd say--all goin well b calved b4 wkend..incalf to bohey jasper!
    if it did drink at that teat-is swollen up! would it do any harm to the calf?

doubt it , as they would more than likely only drink a small bit when they realise the taste

gd to know...thanks!

update on Cow--she calved yesterday afternoon..by herself..
    a handy bull calf-small..all ok, drank her and all
    looks like she losing another teat,flies..joke!
    i used spot on/ivormectin/tar on her-still got to her!
    ah well--probably shift her after she rears this calf...
    shes to much of a hassle..these days you don't them-problem cows...

i think the f'ing flies have subsided in the last few days but they are unreal good the calf is ok

there are a disaster..have bated a bit!
    nothing out there that will totally do the job

sheep dip teats???
    tar comes off after a week

update..calf is drinking the 2 healthy teats at mo
    other 2 seem to be gone,swollen-so has the 2 quarters..looks like one quarter has busted just beside the front teat..what would u do? spray/tar it! stop flies etc..
    has gotten another shot of penacillin the wkend..
    will the 2 gd quarters b ok,,,not get infected with this eruption...
    please advice?

put pour on on her ... flies are nearly gone i hope ... just leave the 2 duds alone should just dry up themselves if calf isnt sucking them . other 2 should be fine

thanks will do that!
    other 2 seem to b ok..hes drinking them anway-and he looks ok! gd job hes a small calf, so 2 teats will do him lovely..