Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Society Weekend Away

• 20-07-2009 3:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭

Lads

Been given the responsility of organising my society weekend away for 2010, long way away but doing the prep work just now.

Any recommendtions/advice?

There will be between 40-50 lads going ,ideally golf course with hotel and within two hours of Dublin.

Any ideas would be greatfully received.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭BraveDonut

I organised one for Mount Wolsely in Tullow, Co. Carlow.
    Great hotel and course. The weekend was enjoyed by all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭MiniGolf

Glasson Golf Club near Athlone.... Great course, great staff, great setting, Athlone town very near ( I am sure they could organise transport if you wanted!) Top restaurant near - Wineport Lodge - from the RTE programme, The Restaurant. The only thing that I didn't particularly like was the hotel restaurant. Don't get me wrong though, the food is fine..... it is just that it is not up to the (decor!) standards of the reception/lobby area and the rooms! Rooms are superb!!
    We were there for a weekend with another couple and enjoyed every minute!!!:D:D:D
    Oh yes........ only an hour and a half from me.... near Greystones, so just over the hour from the M50!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭ozymandias10

ballykisteen......2mins from limerick junction ...hotel and lodges ...course is nice as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

I'd have suggested Macreddin, but that's too risky now.
    Other suggestions, with hotel attached:
    Moyvalley (but you'll be a bit limited to the hotel re. going out)
    Athlone (Hodson Bay Hotel) - could combine with Glasson Golf Club/Hotel, which has superb rooms.
    Knightsbrook (not my favourite, but others like it)
    Druid's Heath (a bit long and difficult for a course, but stay at the Marriott hotel and play Druid's Glen)
    Heritage at Killenard (like Moyvalley, quite a long way from anywhere)

Other courses which are close to towns/hotels
    Concra Wood
    Headfort
    Portarlington
    Courtown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Thanks for the replies lads will defiately look into them......wonder if I will be able to keep everyone happy(doub that!)

Macreddin was my number 1 choice before it got into trouble.

Kevin, great work on the book will definately be consulted when making my decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

might be no harm to say if ye plan to plat 1 or 2 courses and if ye like a good test or an easy run

soundsham wrote: »
    might be no harm to say if ye plan to plat 1 or 2 courses and if ye like a good test or an easy run

Completely open to suggestions two courses could be an option, we have handicaps ranging from 5 to 28 in the society so will be tough to please everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

maybe a tough course day 1 easy day 2 after a few gargles the night before

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

Slieve Russell might be worth considering. Cracking Hotel and a cracking course. No-one would object to playing it twice either im sure but for a 2nd course Lough Erne is only 30 mins away from there. Ballyconnell has a good few pubs in it too for such a small town so there wont be any shortage of watering holes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,650 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Dundalk would be a good choice good town for nightlife plenty to do including irelands only floodlight race track and irelands only permanent ice rink .
    Crown plaza hotel is probably the pick of the hotels.
    As for golf you have
    Dundalk golf course
    greenore 15 minutes away
    concra wood 15 minutes away
    seapoint or baltray 30 minutes away
    ardee or nuremure 20 minutes away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Jersey Girl

Tullamore and Esker Hills are two really good course only three miles from Tullamore and an hour and 10 minutes from Dublin. Bridge House Hotel and Tullamore Court do special golf and society offers.
    Tullamore is one of the best parklands in the country while Esker Hills is the home club of Shane Lowry.
    Have played both but with Esker it's advisable to hire buggies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭1967

You could do worse than Waterford you have a choice of Waterford Faithlegg,Waterford Castle and Tramore numerous hotels to choose from you would get a good deal on the lodges on the island that Waterford Castle is on,failing that Mount Wolsley is a good shout and on the other day play Bunclody only 15mins from Mount Wolseley cant recommend it highly enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭jimjo

ThunderCat wrote: »
    Slieve Russell might be worth considering. Cracking Hotel and a cracking course. No-one would object to playing it twice either im sure but for a 2nd course Lough Erne is only 30 mins away from there. Ballyconnell has a good few pubs in it too for such a small town so there wont be any shortage of watering holes.

+ 1. Can really recommend the Slieve Russell. You can literally fall out of your bed to the 1st tee, great course and you can get served all night...!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭Dylan69

Nothing risky about Macreddin...it's on the up despite the recivership...from what i have heard lately!!!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,650 ✭✭✭kingshankly

jimjo wrote: »
    + 1. Can really recommend the Slieve Russell. You can literally fall out of your bed to the 1st tee, great course and you can get served all night...!
    but it is in the areshole of nowhere,and imo an overrated hotel.
    saying that it is a fine course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Fatswaldo

+1 on esker hills - tullamore - bridge house. Good courses. (Definite buggy requirement for esker) Bridge house is a huge hotel complete with golf simulator, always something on. Very friendly and look after you well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Fatswaldo wrote: »
    +1 on esker hills - tullamore - bridge house. Good courses. (Definite buggy requirement for esker) .

Sorry, but if Shane Lowry was able to waddle around there every day then surely it's not that tough on the legs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 NoSummer

Its sounds like a stag night! What society is it anyway?

NoSummer wrote: »
    Its sounds like a stag night! What society is it anyway?

Siemens Society, now if it wasn't logistically hard going home to Scotland would be an option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 danny74

Completely open to suggestions two courses could be an option, we have handicaps ranging from 5 to 28 in the society so will be tough to please everyone.

How about Adare Golf Club (new) day 1 great test of golf and Adare Manor GC (old) day 2 very enjoyable fun course. I booked such an outing earlier this year and got great rate for both. Also loads of hotels etc in Adare and a great place for a bit of craic. We had a very enjoyable 2 days. Adare is only 2 1/2 hrs from the big smoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

Whats your budget