Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

July 19th??

• 19-07-2009 6:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭

What’s so special about July 19th?

Why does that strike me as important?

Isn't there something we always do on July 19th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I'm having a curry with some beers.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,155 ✭✭✭✭Berty

1969 Apollo 11 goes into Moon orbit

and my mothers birthday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭lgoring21

independence day??nay?

maybe sum1 u knows birthday?

Macnas Parade night at the Galway Arts Festival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭José Alaninho

Would that be the day the ice-age ended?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

the eurovision ted, the eurovision!

July the 19th....

On this date, Galway liberated from Indians...

Marathon becomes Snickers....

Aha! Ice-age ends! I was right! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

That u forgot my birthday yesterday:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭juma

bm365 wrote: »

I wouldn't know bm365, you big bollocks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭MikeC101

It was your turn to pick up the kids from Sunday school this morning, dammit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

It's the day after July 18th and the day before July 20th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

2012 has been moved forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/July_19
    Knock yourself out with the choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

Moon Landing maybe?

No

sugarman wrote: »
    Would that be the day the Ice Age ended?;)

That was on a tuesday .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭bm365

juma wrote: »
    I wouldn't know bm365, you big bollocks!

Have you been reading those Roddy Doyle books again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

A Neurotic wrote: »
    Moon Landing maybe?

Could be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

If you are as sad as me and watched the "From the Earth to the Moon" marathon on FX all weekend, you will know that the moon landing happened on the twentieth day of the seventh month of the year of our lord nineteen hundred and sixty nine (god, I hate OTT american news anchors!)

I think 19th of July is significant on boards.ie because that is the day we decided to sacrifice a virgin newbie to the lord almighty (cushion). Hasn't happened for a few years though....Are you volunteering to revive this lost tradition OP?

*gathers virtual stix for bonfire sacrifice*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Let the daughter and your kids out of the dungeon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

is it bathtime again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭bonerjams03

poisonated wrote: »
    is it bathtime again?

No, that was just after Christmas.... Remember?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭KatiexKOUTURE--

BVB wrote: »
    That u forgot my birthday yesterday:(

Same as..:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

You didn't get a strange phone call after watching a video on July 12th by any chance?

I see the Americans have got us saying the month first in dates now.

Have you been reading those Roddy Doyle books again?
    I have bm365 ya big gobshíte:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

The eve of Bruce Lee's death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

the one day of the year i have a shower weather i need it or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

HOLIDAY!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

HOLIDAY!

Ah off to Father O'Rourkes shiny new caravan so

You're alright there, Ted. He's a fair bit away...it might be worth speeding up a bit there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭juma

Ted: Did you bring the Scrabble Dougal?

Dougal: I brought the normal Scrabble and the Travel Scrabble. The Travel Scrabble for when we are travelling and the normal Scrabble for when we're here. Actually, no, wait, I didnt bring either of them. God I'm an awful eegit!

You're alright there, Ted. He's a fair bit away...it might be worth speeding up a bit there.
    He's puncturing the tires Ted!

He's probably very cold now that his towel has blown away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Wasn't this thread done a year or two ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

How did that one end because the suspense is killing me.

Tis something we do every year sure.... what was it again? July the 19th, hmmmm....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Was that the day the Ice Age ended?

Edit: Ah **** it anyway! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Dougal: Ted, do you remember that film where the scientist transplants his head onto the fly.

Ted: Oh yes what was that called?

Dougal: Out of Africa i think. But anyway he's running around the house and the wife is trying to hide the jam...

Ted: I'll have to stop you there Dougal.

Dougal: Why Ted?

Ted: No reason i'll just have to stop you there.

How did that one end because the suspense is killing me.
    We found out it was in a film called "Stallion Farm", heard it was a bit rude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

juma wrote: »
    Ted: Did you bring the Scrabble Dougal?

Dougal: I brought the normal Scrabble and the Travel Scrabble. The Travel Scrabble for when we are travelling and the normal Scrabble for when we're here. Actually, no, wait, I didnt bring either of them. God I'm an awful eegit!

DOWN WITH THIS SORT OF THING

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

It's done every year and rightly so. Long may it continue.

It comes after the 18th! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

giggsy664 wrote: »
    DOWN WITH THIS SORT OF THING

CAREFUL NOW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭SuperDude87

Dougal: Ted, do you remember that film where the scientist transplants his head onto the fly.

Ted: Oh yes what was that called?

Dougal: Out of Africa i think. But anyway he's running around the house and the wife is trying to hide the jam...

Ted: I'll have to stop you there Dougal.

Dougal: Why Ted?

Ted: No reason i'll just have to stop you there.

I can't stop laughing uncontrolably! I miss Irish humour and Father Ted! There are so many gems in it!!!

Shure! roide me sideways was one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭Keogg

it was my 18th birthday. Oh Yeah =] I'm well going to the next AH Beers ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

Father Ted Crilly: Dougal, what’s so special about July the 19th?
    Father Dougal McGuire: I don't now Ted, ya big b******s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭whadabouchasir

lucylu wrote: »
    Father Ted Crilly: Dougal, what’s so special about July the 19th?
    Father Dougal McGuire: I don't now Ted, ya big b******s.
    Ted:"Dougal have you been reading Roddy Doyle gain?
    Dougal:"I have not Ted,ya gob****e."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭JMcCR

Mrs Doyle: There's always time for a nice cup of tea. Sure, didn't the Lord himself pause for a nice cup of tea before giving himself up for the world.

Ted: No, he didn't, Mrs Doyle!

Mrs Doyle: Well, whatever the equivalent they had for tea in those days, cake or something. And speaking of cake, I have cake!

Ted: No, thanks, Mrs Doyle.

Mrs Doyle: Are you sure, Father? There's cocaine in it!

Ted: WHAT?

Mrs Doyle: Oh, no, not cocaine. God, what am I on about. No, what d'you call them. Raisins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭SuperDude87

Shure! roide me sideways was one of them.
    LOL!

Had that clip downloaded onto my phone at one stage

The language was appauling!!!
    You effing bastard
    You fecking bollix

lol +1 Mrs Doyle