Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tour Of Ireland Route Announced

• 17-07-2009 9:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭

The stages have been confirmed as:

Stage One - Friday 21st August – The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt, Enniskerry to Waterford – 196km

Stage Two – Saturday 22nd August – Clonmel to Killarney - 196km

Stage Three – Sunday 23rd August – Bantry to Cork City – 184kk

The last stage finishes on the same tough city circuit that we used last year in Cork.

Stage one has already been announced with the race climbing over Mount Leinster on tough scenic route to Waterford from the Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt, Enniskerry.

Stage two from the Tipperary town of Clonmel will take in three categorised climbs offering the riders spectacular views of the countryside as well as king of the mountains points. The race zigzags across the counties of Waterford, Cork and Kerry heading to the finish in the centre of Killarney.

Stage three starts in the historic market town and port of Bantry on a pretty coastal route on the way across to Cork City where the final yellow jersey will be presented to the race winner.
    With More details to be issued next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Thanks. Hopefully I will get to see end of S2 and start or S3.
    Any details on climbs in these stages?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Murph100

Ah feck, no Conor Pass !! :( That was such a great spectacle last year, tons of people and a great atmosphere, what a pity ! Even Killarney to Bantry, starting from Dingle would have been a bit more ' wow '. Bantry to Cork aint exactly epic, and before anyone gets offended, I'm from Bantry !!! ( Bring them up over Seskin maybe.... )

Looking at the mileage from that stage, they must be going the coastal route, so possibly Skibb, Clon and Kinsale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭cyclopath2001

ROK ON wrote: »
    Thanks. Hopefully I will get to see end of S2 and start or S3.
    Any details on climbs in these stages?
    Looking at the map & past form, I'd say:
    '
    Stage 2 - The Vee, Musheramore, Curragh.

Stage 3 - a flat route maybe via Kinsale.It's also critical to get the peloton onto the circuit in Cork, in one grouo. The possibility of dropped riders coming in later messes up the organisation. Most of of the sprinters climbed off on the Cork circuit last year, leaving only about half the field to finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

not worth the journey from donegal then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Did I hear somewhere that Armstrong and Cav are entering this?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Armstrong is in and he has some class of a World cancer forum on in Dublin just before or after. Cav was in it last year, don't know about this year.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

from http://www.tourofireland.ie/

The Tour of Ireland event organisers have finalised route details for this year's race. The three day race, in association with Fáilte Ireland, takes place on 21st to 23rd August with seven times Tour de France winner Lance Armstrong (Astana) and eight time Tour de France stage winner Mark Cavendish (Team Columbia-HTC) already confirmed as entries.

Just a query - is anybody interested in heading to see some of the stages.

If so, I am hoping to see some of stage 2 (from either the Curragh Climb or the Musheramore climb).

Also, for anyone who knows West COrk, where would be a good spot to watch some of stage thee (wont make it into Patricks Hill).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭DePurpereWolf

Is it 3 times over Patrick's hill? or 4 times?
    http://www.tourofireland.ie/stage3.php
    Graph says 4 times, text say 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

i am pretty sure it's 4 times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Graph says 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭DePurpereWolf

Jumpy wrote: »
    Graph says 3.
    no, text on graph says 3, but if you count the hills, you count 4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 BIKE75

Just a query - is anybody interested in heading to see some of the stages.

If so, I am hoping to see some of stage 2 (from either the Curragh Climb or the Musheramore climb).

Also, for anyone who knows West COrk, where would be a good spot to watch some of stage thee (wont make it into Patricks Hill).

How long are these climbs , have relations in Macroom so will be staying there. Are they close to millstreet, Anyone got more info

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭showry

BIKE75 wrote: »
    How long are these climbs , have relations in Macroom so will be staying there. Are they close to millstreet, Anyone got more info

thanks

stage 2 goes through millstreet

http://www.tourofireland.ie/stage2.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Bikerbhoy

Hi Caroline may I ask do you work on the Tour ?

i am only a volunteer, i dont know anything until the last minute :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

i am only a volunteer, i dont know anything until the last minute :P

hi caroline ,are they any plans of the race going over the sally gap do you know.

all i know is on here
    a few million leaflets are being sent around the county to private house by anpost. watch out for it in your letter box, it's very well done!
    you might come across a few team training the previous day around sally gap though. can you beat lance up SG?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

can you beat lance up SG?
    I think the safe answer there would be... no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

http://www.cyclingweekly.co.uk/news/latest/386157/cervelo-and-saxo-bank-confirm-teams-for-tour-of-ireland.html

No Jens! :(
    Cervelo has picked a strong British and Irish-focussed line-up, with Philip Deignan, Roger Hammond, Jeremy Hunt, Daniel Fleeman, Daniel Lloyd joined by Martin Reimer and Davide Appollonio in the distinctive white and black kit. Hunt won a stage of the Tour of Denmark last week, and Hammond finished the race third overall.

Saxo Bank has confirmed that Australian Stuart O'Grady will head up their team for Ireland. He will be joined by young British rider Jonathan Bellis and backed up by a strong team that comprises Karsten Kroon, Kurt Asle Arvesen, Alexandr Kolobnev and Matti Breschel.

Raam wrote: »

yeah i saw that ... :(

I dont want to do it anymore now :P

I presume that is because he is not better yet, I would have thought with those injuries it would be a bit of a long shot although I know he had suggested he might still do it.

Found these these Jens Voigt facts this morning looking for news on the injury. Along the lines of Chuck Norris facts, some are amusing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭warrfla

blorg wrote: »
    I presume that is because he is not better yet, I would have thought with those injuries it would be a bit of a long shot although I know he had suggested he might still do it.

Found these these Jens Voigt facts this morning looking for news on the injury. Along the lines of Chuck Norris facts, some are amusing.

Hilarious link - quite like this one
    Jens Voigt once challenged Lance Armstrong to a “who has more testicles” contest. Jens won… by five.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

all i know is on here
    a few million leaflets are being sent around the county to private house by anpost. watch out for it in your letter box, it's very well done!
    you might come across a few team training the previous day around sally gap though. can you beat lance up SG?

just got that booklet today - great that they're promoting it like that. how many did they send out, do you know?

afaik to everyone with a letter box. Must check my mail :)

Anyone seen the TV ad too???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭SACH Central

I think the safe answer there would be... no

I think the safe answer is YES!!... If I was on the same stuff as him. I am that doped Ass. We are (me and LA) those doped Asses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭quietobserver

I think the safe answer is YES!!... If I was on the same stuff as him. I am that doped Ass. We are (me and LA) those doped Asses.

????

I can say with some confidence that I doubt doped members of this board would beat an undoped Armstrong up Sally Gap.

Correct, but some undoped members of boards would possibly beat up either version of LA at Sally Gap (possibly using a crankset!!!).

@Caroline - do you have a detailed route map.

I plan on watching the 2nd stage from the last climb on the route (the one outside millstreet). However when I looked at an OS map, there are about 5 different approaches to the climb (Curragh). They are all secondary roads.
    I would like to know which route the peleton will use, so that I can plan my days viewing.

@Caroline - do you have a detailed route map.

I don't i am afraid, the only route map I have it the same as this

stage2_title.jpg

The Best Places to Watch From

PLACETIME (Fast schedule)
    O'Connell Street Clonmel10.00 am
    Ardfinnan 10.21 am
    The Vee 10.35 am
    Lismore 11.02 am
    Fermoy 11.36 am
    Castletownroche 11.57 am
    Mallow 12.14pm
    Drommahane 12.22 pm
    Rylane 12.55 pm
    Musheramore 1.05 pm
    Millstreet 1.20 pm
    Curragh 1.29 pm
    Millstreet 1.38 pm
    Ballydaly 1.47 pm
    Barraduff 2.08 pm
    Port Road Killarney 2.27 pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

The geansies are available for anyone who is interested -

http://www.prendas.co.uk/details.asp?ID=2411

My preference would be for the other one that came in at the same time -

http://www.prendas.co.uk/details.asp?ID=2383

Jawgap wrote: »

Nice, thanks. Significantly cheaper than last year too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

a well placed sheep would sort him out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

Jawgap wrote: »

Wonder if they'll be selling them at some stages of the TOI. If not I may have to sort out the credit card again :P

kensutz wrote: »
    Wonder if they'll be selling them at some stages of the TOI. If not I may have to sort out the credit card again :P
    They are - there are shops at every start and every finish selling Jerseys, Tshirts, Socks, hats etc...

Excellent. I'll have to grab em and shove them in my camera case :D

kensutz wrote: »
    Excellent. I'll have to grab em and shove them in my camera case :D
    @Kensutz- may be cheaper from Prendas, the jersey was €90 last year while Prendas are selling it for £49.95. (Shipping is only £2.95.)

Good man. I half expected something like that to happen. Prendas it is then

I thought the jerseys were on sale for 60 lids last year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

Anyone any ideas on the best vantage points around the start on Friday 21st? It's got to be either the start itself around Ramsay's joint in Powerscourt, with all the attendant hubbub and crowds, but a good opportunity to see the lads up close in their finery - OR somewhere on the long gentle hill up the Sugarloaf, where you can persuade yourself that you are a fat Basque separatist in a free KOM hat and can knock Lance off while standing in the middle of the road with the compact camera jammed up against sweaty eyesocket. Either sounds pretty good to me.

Oh and of course - I wonder how early you'd have to be to beat the crowds/guards closing off roads? I know there's a handy suggested 'peleton passing' time on the site, but you'd have to be there a good half hour before I'm guessing...

Actually you are right, it was in dollars, $95. €60. Apologies! I even corrected someone at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Zipp101

Can anyone sell me the idea of going to Powerscourt to see the start?
    How long before 10 would you need to be there and will there be much of a chance to get close to any riders?

Hopefully there will be a good crowd on MT.Leinster. Anywhere close to the Mt.Ventoux crowds would be nice!!

Zipp101 wrote: »
    How long before 10 would you need to be there and will there be much of a chance to get close to any riders?
    I hope you are not this guy

pic.php?dir=20092437&file=20092437-106582.jpg&thumb=1pic.php?dir=20092437&file=20092437-106583.jpg&thumb=1pic.php?dir=20092437&file=20092437-106584.jpg&thumb=1pic.php?dir=20092437&file=20092437-106585.jpg&thumb=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Zipp101

I hope you are not this guy

pic.php?dir=20092437&file=20092437-106582.jpg&thumb=1pic.php?dir=20092437&file=20092437-106583.jpg&thumb=1pic.php?dir=20092437&file=20092437-106584.jpg&thumb=1pic.php?dir=20092437&file=20092437-106585.jpg&thumb=1

Of course I'm not that guy.Why I've been making a tit of myself even before that contemporary was in his rocker.

That photograph really damaged my rep. by the way.
    How insensitive of you blorg.
    See you in hell!

101574.jpg574.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭cyclopath2001

Different brand too. Last year's were Di Marchi, quite a nice wicking frabric. This year's are Santini, have not seem them yet.

I like the Santini stuff. Have quite a few bits and pieces from them now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭michaelm

oflahero wrote: »
    - I wonder how early you'd have to be to beat the crowds/guards closing off roads? I know there's a handy suggested 'peleton passing' time on the site, but you'd have to be there a good half hour before I'm guessing...

Having followed the Tour for two days last year all I can say is that in terms of security on the course, road closures etc it is incredibly relaxed. At all of the starts there was total acess to the riders, may be different with LA who will probably have minders. A few pics here, taken without any special accreditation show how easy it was to gain access. On the road itself I actually had to stop a car heading towards the cyclists along a narrow country road near Loughrea. The peleton was literally 2 mins away - and winding up for a sprint when the driver appeared around a corner heading in their direction!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭ozchick

Lance will have minders, you can be sure of that, had em in Rome for the Giro and they were VERY protective (but then the Italians were crazy about him!) Everything else was so relaxed and we were leaning on the small barrier outside a lot of the team buses chatting to the cyclists. Their team buses were 400m down the road from our hotel, it was amazing. So I'm sure it will be even more relaxed here.