Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

"Boy Racer" Crackdown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

draffodx wrote: »
    The law as it stands now means that a Garda can do you on exhaust noise now simply if its too loud in his/her opinion anyway as far as I know.

I don't really now if they can as there's no official law and some cars are loud as standard...

• Registered Users Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

steve06 wrote: »
    I don't really now if they can as there's no official law and some cars are loud as standard...

There is an official law, I contacted the Garda press office about it and they emailed me a link to it, that was months ago but I'll see if I still have it

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭Little Mickey

I've seen the points in earlier posts that the a*seholes with the FWD Civics, Focus, etc are the boyracers are those who are an annoyance in the neighbourhood (agreed), while the guys who drive the RWDs such as AE86s etc modify them for the love of it and don't make much noise when driving. Ever drive on a country road on a Monday morning and see the rings of rubber at every junction??? - hmmm, RWD I think and not at 3000rpm I think :D

Maybe the windows being tinted is so that they won't be blinded by the other boyracers who put the Merc style headlamps (except much brighter, you know the blue-ish ones) on thier cars - don't tell me they want to be like the executive "boyracers" :D

What's the dB level measured from a pub with the DJ playing on a Sat night?? Can the neighbours sleep? Thats another one for the boys in blue.

Someone on octane posted that the dB level on their wheelie bin while being wheeled is higher than most cars!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

I know,

I hope they plan on measuring the noise levels on buses and trucks and super cars too.

And while they are at it maybe they could measure the noise level on the trains that run at the back of my house that are exceptionally noisey.

On the brighter side of things though, I have sourced a silencer box that I can fit to my exhaust which won't cause any back pressure build up and will reduce the exhaust noise by few Db's :)
    At least it not going to cost me a fortune :)

I've seen the points in earlier posts that the a*seholes with the FWD Civics, Focus, etc are the boyracers are those who are an annoyance in the neighbourhood (agreed), while the guys who drive the RWDs such as AE86s etc modify them for the love of it and don't make much noise when driving. Ever drive on a country road on a Monday morning and see the rings of rubber at every junction??? - hmmm, RWD I think and not at 3000rpm I think :D

unfortunately rwd cars like silvias, altezzas and cheap bmw's are now within the price range of the arseholes and the interest in drifting as a sport has brought about idiots on the roads doing rings, I cant see the point? its neither fun nor skillful.

any genuine enthusiasts will keep it to the track or private yards away from public places.

I live in a very quiet area and there ends up being rings on the roads that are in the middle of nowhere but theres house's beside where its being done, coming home late one night I came across 3 Latvian(LV?) registered cars doing rings on a junction, called the gardai but they done nothing about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Maybe the windows being tinted is so that they won't be blinded by the other boyracers who put the Merc style headlamps (except much brighter, you know the blue-ish ones) on thier cars - don't tell me they want to be like the executive "boyracers" :D

You mean xenon?

You know alot of cars come with these as standard?Not just mercs

jackncoke wrote: »
    You mean xenon?

I think the trouble with retro fitting them to older cars is that the lenses weren't designed for xenon bulbs and scatter the light all over the place hence sometimes being blinding.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

I think the trouble with retro fitting them to older cars is that the lenses weren't designed for xenon bulbs and scatter the light all over the place hence sometimes being blinding.

I was just pointing out that its common enough to come as standard on some cars..they are very annoying however when not fitted properly and become blinding

jackncoke wrote: »
    You mean xenon?

Sorry I forgot to say "mercs, etc", I know they're fitted to lots of cars as standard now but they don't f*cking blind you on them.

any genuine enthusiasts will keep it to the track or private yards away from public places.

And you know that because...?
    Go down and question them?
    Oh Lord :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Speaking with enthusiasts and socialising with them you get to know what they are like.

I'm and Evo enthusiast. I plan to buy another 1 next year. I never hammer it on public roads.

Not worth the risk for a couple of reasons:

1: I don't want my car taken off me.
    2: I don't want to damage it.
    3: I don't wanna put un-necessary wear and stress on the engine.

you can spot the enthusiasts from a mile off. generally a very well looked after clean tidy car with sensible mods.

the little boy racer/ little girl racer car is a bog standard car with a big back box exhaust. their car is usually quite dirty/tatty, has no nct, and often has a shopping list down the side.

Now if they wanna drive a car like that that is their business. but I don't think she should be penalised for driving a "**** box". I know a lot of you dont like the loud exhausts etc. but your standard racer back box is a basically a bean can, and has a loud kind of whiney sound, kind of alike a moped.

while an enthusiast will get a full exhaust system which goes right back to the turbo and will make a deepish kind of gurgly noise, (although not as annoying a noise, a would imagine some of you would not like it)

In any case the enthusiast will make an effort to keep their car road worthy and function within the law. the racer wont bother with keeping their "numpty truck" in good condition. (a lot of them don't even bother servicing them)

I know that because there are a fair few proper groups set up of genuine enthusiasts, such as the ae86 group who are very selective about who they let in, they dont mess on the roadsand keep it to the track or dtdirl where track days are held along with proper meets where messing is not tolerated and reg numbers of cars that do mess are reported to the Gardai.

go down and question who?

Question those at the junction, yards doing the doughnuts.
    I know neighbours of mine who do and they're 100% Irish, working at thier jobs everyday earning good money.
    As for RWDs becoming affordable to the a*seholes - that's generic. I'm not saying that all those with cars like that are guilty but I do know those who do and they certainly aren't young or that. Some use these cars for everyday travelling, some only at the weekends.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,313 ✭✭✭Tefral

There is an official law, I contacted the Garda press office about it and they emailed me a link to it, that was months ago but I'll see if I still have it

here it is mate:
    I’m sure most of ye know how EU Directives are transposed into Irish Law. When an EU Directive is made they are put into Irish law by means of a Statutory Instrument (S.I)

So the Original Council Directive that dealt with this sound testing is: DIRECTIVE 70/157/EEC

This then was ignored by most countries and became more comprehensive in 2007 by the last amendment: 2007/34/EC.

Then only on the 27th of June last year (08) did it become transposed into Irish law under the Statutory Instrument S.I. No. 195 of 2008 EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES (MECHANICALLY PROPELLED VEHICLE ENTRY INTO SERVICE) (AMENDMENT) REGULATIONS 2008

The table here shows:

SOUND LEVEL OF MOVING VEHICLES
    Limiting values
    The sound level measured in accordance with the provisions of Annex III shall not exceed the following limits:
    Vehicle categories: Values expressed in dB(A)
    Vehicles intended for the carriage of passengers, and comprising not more than nine seats including the driver's seat | 74dB |
    Vehicles intended for the carriage of passengers and equipped with more than nine seats, including the driver's seat; and having a maximum permissible mass of more than 3,5 tonnes and:
    with an engine power of less than 150 kW | 78dB |
    with an engine power of not less than 150 kW | 80dB |
    Vehicles intended for the carriage of passengers and equipped with more than nine seats, including the driver's seat; vehicles intended for the carriage of goods:
    with a maximum permissible mass not exceeding 2 tonnes | 76dB |
    with a maximum permissible mass exceeding 2 tonnes but not exceeding 3,5 tonnes | 77dB |
    Vehicles intended for the carriage of goods and having a maximum permissible mass exceeding 3,5 tonnes:
    with an engine power of less than 75 kW | 77dB |
    with an engine power of not less than 75 kW but less than 150 kW | 78dB |
    with an engine power of not less than 150 kW | 80dB |
    To those that think we are all boy racers, Midnightclub.ie have organised an all ireland charity run in aid of Crumlin, so far we have raised €5000 before we have left for the road yet. 20 cars are collecting in each town in Ireland, the Guards are on board with it and all.
    MNCPosterJPEG.jpg

Im a fully qualified Quantity Surveyor, working away, I love my car and i love looking after it. Pay my taxes, my car is fully NCT'd. So to those that think we are all boyracers, open your eyes before the brush full of tar comes out. We are not all idiots with tiny corsas and massive exhausts, some of us (most of us) are upstanding members of the community who look out for each other.

Question those at the junction, yards doing the doughnuts.
    I know neighbours of mine who do and they're 100% Irish, working at thier jobs everyday earning good money.
    As for RWDs becoming affordable to the a*seholes - that's generic. I'm not saying that all those with cars like that are guilty but I do know those who do and they certainly aren't young or that. Some use these cars for everyday travelling, some only at the weekends.

I never meant it wasn't Irish people who work that dont do it?

I simply gave an account of what happened me on one night.

You dont have to be young or unemployed to be an idiot on the road or act like a tool in any rwd car.

With an engine power of not less than 150 kW | 80dB - that's less than the standard exhaust on a lot of cars and track days limit the DB level to 105.

Do you think they'll go after the bikers with this law? Most are louder than any car I've heard!

With an engine power of not less than 150 kW | 80dB - that's less than the standard exhaust on a lot of cars and track days limit the DB level to 105.

Do you think they'll go after the bikers with this law? Most are louder than any car I've heard!

Passenger Vehicles only come in under this. No bikes or commercial vehicles (ie tractors and trucks)

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭conneem-TT

It still doesn't say from what distance, at which side of the car ect.. the measurements are to be taken from

conneem-TT wrote: »
    It still doesn't say from what distance, at which side of the car ect.. the measurements are to be taken from

Testing your car can take the form of two tests 1. A moving Test and 2. (the more likely) Stationary test.

MOVING TEST
    At least two measurements shall be made on each side of the vehicle. Preliminary measurements may be made for adjustment purposes but shall be disregarded.
    The microphone shall be situated 1.2 metres above ground level at a distance of 7.5 metres from the path of the vehicle's centre line, CC, measured along the perpendicular PP" to that line (Figure 1).
    Two lines AA" and BB", parallel to line PP" and situated respectively 10 metres forward and 10 metres rearward of that line, shall be marked out on the test track. Vehicles shall approach line AA" at a steady speed, as specified below. The throttle shall then be fully-opened as rapidly as practicable and held in the fully-opened position until the rear of the vehicle (1) crosses line BB" ; the throttle shall then be closed again as rapidly as possible.
    The maximum sound level recorded shall constitute the result of the measurement.

Vehicles with no gearbox
    The vehicle shall approach line AA" at a steady speed corresponding to the lowest of the three following speeds: - an engine speed equal to three-quarters of the engine speed at which the engine develops its maximum power;
    - an engine speed equal to three-quarters of the maximum engine speed permitted by the governor;
    - 50 kilometres per hour.

Vehicles with a manually operated gearbox
    The second gear in the gearbox must be engaged if the vehicle is fitted with a two-speed, three-speed or four-speed gearbox;
    The third gear in the gearbox must be engaged if the box has more than four gears;
    if the transmission has a double gear ratio (transfer gearbox or two-speed rear axle assembly), the gearbox must be engaged in the ratio allowing the highest vehicle speed.
    The vehicle shall approach line AA" at a steady speed corresponding to the lowest of the following three speeds: - an engine speed equal to three-quarters of the engine speed at which the engine develops its maximum power;
    - an engine speed equal to three-quarters of the maximum engine speed permitted by the governor;
    - 50 kilometres per hour.

Vehicles with an automatic gearbox
    The vehicle shall approach line AA" at a steady speed equal to the lowest of the following two speeds: - 50 kilometres per hour;
    - three quarters of the maximum speed.
    Where there is a choice, the "normal" selector position for town driving is to be used.
    Interpretation of results To take account of inaccuracies in the measuring instruments, the result obtained from each measurement shall be determined by deducting 1 dB (A) from the meter reading.
    The measurements shall be considered valid if the difference between two consecutive measurements on the same side of the vehicle does not exceed 2 dB (A). (1)If the vehicle includes a trailer or semi-trailer, these shall not be taken into account in determining when line BB" is crossed.

The highest sound level measured shall constitute the test result. Should that result exceed by 1 dB (A) the maximum permissible sound level for the category of vehicle tested, two further measurements shall be made. Three of the four measurements thus obtained must fall within the prescribed limits

Measurement of Stationary vechicles
    Measurement of noise of stationary vehicles Position of sound-level meter
    Measurements shall be made at at a distance of 7 metres from the nearest surface of the vehicle.
    The microphone shall be situated 1.2 metres above ground level.

Number of measurements

At least two measurements shall be made.

Vehicle test conditions
    The engine of a vehicle without a speed governor shall be run at three-quarters of the rpm speed at which, according to the vehicle manufacturer, it develops its maximum power. The rpm speed of the engine shall be measured by means of an independent instrument, e.g. a roller bed and a tachometer. If the engine is fitted with a governor preventing the engine from exceeding the speed at which it develops its maximum power, it shall be run at the maximum speed permitted by the governor.
    Before taking any measurements, the engine shall be brought to its normal running temperature.

cronin_j wrote: »
    Passenger Vehicles only come in under this. No bikes or commercial vehicles (ie tractors and trucks)

So if I rip out my passenger seat and back seats I'll be ok then! :D
    cronin_j wrote:
    The engine of a vehicle without a speed governor shall be run at three-quarters of the rpm speed at which, according to the vehicle manufacturer, it develops its maximum power.
    So I'd be on the side of the road revving to about 5.5-6k so they can get a reading? that's a joke!

Interpretation of results
    All sound-level readings recorded shall be given in the report.
    The method used to calculate the engine power shall also be shown, where possible. The state of loading of the vehicle must also be given.
    The measurements shall be considered valid if the difference between two consecutive measurements on the same side of the vehicle does not exceed 2 dB (A).
    The maximum figure recorded shall constitute the result of the measurement.

Conditions of measurement
    Measurements shall be made on unladen vehicles in a sufficiently silent and open area (ambient noise and wind noise at least 10 dB (A) below the noise being measured).
    That area may take the form, for instance, of an open space of 50-metre radius having a central part of at least 20-metre radius which is practically level, surfaced with concrete, asphalt or similar material, and not covered with powdery snow, tall grass, loose soil or ashes.
    The surface of the test track shall be such as not to cause excessive tyre noise. This condition applies only to measurement of the noise made by vehicles in motion.
    Measurement shall be carried out in fine weather with little wind. No person other than the observer taking the readings from the apparatus may remain near the vehicle or the microphone, as the presence of spectators near either the vehicle or the microphone may considerably affect the readings from the apparatus. Marked fluctuations of the pointer which appear to be unrelated to the characteristics of the general sound level shall be ignored in taking readings

Its a technicality... as the law says:
    Vehicles intended for the carriage of passengers, and comprising not more than nine seats including the driver's seat

Im sure the judge would consider a car as it came from the factory and not a subsequent modification to the seating capacity as a vehicle intended to carry passengers...

Always worth a try...

So I'd be on the side of the road revving to about 5.5-6k so they can get a reading? that's a joke!

Its a joke alright but the side of the road is the best place to get measured as you can get it thrown out of court then on the basis of passing cars, nearby ditches, trees etc..

I never meant it wasn't Irish people who work that dont do it?

I simply gave an account of what happened me on one night.

You dont have to be young or unemployed to be an idiot on the road or act like a tool in any rwd car.

To me your post implied otherwise, sorry if I was mistaken. These guys spend money on thier cars for the love it so money is needed there - it's not only those who drive the old bangers with no NCT etc as was earlier suggested who are guilty.

Now those who only do doughnuts etc on the race track are not a*seholes but those who do it on the road, even one, are. Like I said i'm not blaming all those with these cars but the word a*sehole is being used quite loosely here.

To me your post implied otherwise, sorry if I was mistaken. These guys spend money on thier cars for the love it so money is needed there - it's not only those who drive the old bangers with no NCT etc as was earlier suggested who are guilty.

Now those who only do doughnuts etc on the race track are not a*seholes but those who do it on the road, even one, are. Like I said i'm not blaming all those with these cars but the word a*sehole is being used quite loosely here.

Sorry my post was probably not clear.

Anybody from any age to any back ground with any sort of income can have spent money on there car and be a nuisance on the roads.

Plenty of people have spent thousands on bodykits etc.. on there cars and drive them up and down the towns non stop causing a nuisance for residents, pedestrians and other road users.

An enthusiast is someone who spends money on there car alright but doesn't make a nuisance of themselves on the roads and keeps the spirited driving to a track

• Registered Users Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Have to agree with this, a lot of car enthusiasts seem to think it's alright to do donuts in the middle of the road, or drift coming out of junctions, they should all be banned for dangerous driving.

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    a lot of car enthusiasts seem to think it's alright to do donuts in the middle of the road, or drift coming out of junctions

I don't know 1 enthusiast who does this, and I've actually only ever seen this sort of thing twice on a public road, both times by scumbags in tarted up crap!

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Have to agree with this, a lot of car enthusiasts seem to think it's alright to do donuts in the middle of the road, or drift coming out of junctions, they should all be banned for dangerous driving.

In my opinion if there doing it on a public road there not a car enthusiast

Sorry my post was probably not clear.

Anybody from any age to any back ground with any sort of income can have spent money on there car and be a nuisance on the roads.

Plenty of people have spent thousands on bodykits etc.. on there cars and drive them up and down the towns non stop causing a nuisance for residents, pedestrians and other road users.

An enthusiast is someone who spends money on there car alright but doesn't make a nuisance of themselves on the roads and keeps the spirited driving to a track

I see your point, and also it would annoy the p*ss out of the lads who genuinely keep this driving behaviour to the racetrack if they had to, for want of a better word, de-modify their cars, i.e. change exausts etc but I think its fair to say that some kind of regulations to discourage the antics of the abusers is needed (which would also affect the non-abusers in this case). They make up a large amount of the road deaths statistics and your insurance is dearer because of them (among other things), especially if you are unfortunate enough to be in their typical age groups.

On a side note, sorry for going off topic but our driving test - going around a town at 50km/h - don't most fatal accidents happen on the open road doing 100km/h or more, especially at night? This is what should be tested, not that load of bollo*x.