Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RACE WEEK FESTIVAL IN GALWAY

• 17-07-2009 1:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 487 ✭✭

RACE WEEK FESTIVAL IN GALWAY@ THE EGLINTON
    Mon, July 27th – Sun, Aug 2nd

For all the punters across the land its time to sharpen your pencils , study the form , back the winners and play your cards right.
    As Galwegians we are blessed to host this event at the same time every year and we at the club are planning our own 7 day featival to coincide with the races .

Last year over 200,000 people attended the Summer Festival Meeting in 2008 where betting turnover reached over €31 million. The total prize fund for the fifty-one sponsored races reached an impressive €1.9 million.

The Galway Races are renowned worldwide for its electric atmosphere, excellent racing and infectious sense of fun.We all know the saying " what happens in vegas stays in vegas" ...... but it can also be said that " what happens in Galway stays in Galway ";) so if your a bit of a punter or just up for a bit of craic make your way over Galway and call into us here at the club .

OUR SEVEN DAY FESTIVAL IS AS FOLLOWS *** please note all the tournaments throughout the week qualify as Irish poker ranking events

• MONDAY THE 27TH JULY

Our Festival will start on Monday night with a €100+15reg texas no limit hold'em freeze out , It starts at the later than usual time of 9.30pm as Monday is an evening meeting and the last race is at 8.40 pm . Starting stack 8,000 blinds start @25/50 , 24 minute clock
    • TUESDAY THE 28TH JULY
    The Tuesday tournament is the same as Monday , a €100+15reg texas no limit hold'em freezeout with a later 9.30pm start. Starting stack 8,000 blinds start @25/50 , 24 minute clock

• WEDNESDAY THE 29TH JULY

The Wednesday night game is our classic Wed night game ( the longest running tournament in the west of Ireland ) a €100+15 reg texas no limit holdem freezout starting at the normal time of 8.30pm . Starting stack 8,000 blinds start @25/50 , 24 minute clock

• THURSDAY THE 30TH JULY ( LADIES DAY )

If you haven't won the best dressed competition ..... or have had enough of all the fake tan and high heels then call down for our tournament its a €100+15 reg texas no limit holdem freezout starting at the normal time of 8.30pm . Starting stack 8,000 blinds start @25/50 , 24 minute clock

• FRIDAY THE 31ST JULY ( THE BIG ONE :D )

Fridays tournament is a two day event it is a €320+30 buy in with day one starting at 9.30pm as the last race is at 8.40pm and day two starting on Saturday at 7pm . Starting stack is 10,000 blinds start @25/50 , and it is a 30 minute clock
    • SATURDAY THE 1ST OF AUGUST ( THE SECOND FAVOURITE )

Saturdays tournament is a €200+20 buy in starting at 7.30 pm , starting stack is 10,000 , blinds start at 25/50 and it is a 30 minute clock

• SUNDAY THE 2ND OF AUGUST

Sundays tournament is a €100+15 buy in the very same as Mon/Tue and Wednesdays games only it starts at 7.30pm ( so as youre not too wrecked on the following Monday )

AND IF ITS NOT TOURNAMENT POKER YOURE LOOKING FOR THERE WILL BE MAD CASH ACTION ALL NIGHT LONG

AND WE HAVE ALL THE LATEST GAMING TABLES SUCH AS LET IT RIDE AND TEXAS HOLD'EM BONUS POKER ALONG WITH THE TRADITIONAL BLACKJACK , THREECARD STUD , ROULETTE ETC.

See you all there

Dave C

www.theeglinton.com

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=55908566770

charter for the Monday night , Tuesday night , Wednesday night , thurday night and Sunday night tournaments

1. Who is running the event: The Eglinton Casino
    2. The purpose of the event: Commercial
    3. Date and Location of event: Eglinton Casino Galway, monday, tuesday , wenesday , thursday and sunday nights wc the 27th of July
    4. Registration and Start time of event:monday tuesday Reg from 8.30pm, starts 9.30pm sharp . Wednesday , Thursday reg from 7.30pm starts 8.30pm . Sunday reg from 7 pm starts 7.30pm
    5. Any prerequisites: must be a member. Bring valid passport/license on the day
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number: can be bought at the front desk. Max 110
    7. Type of Tournament: NLHE freezeout
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc: €100
    9. Cost of registration: €15
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund: 100%
    10a. Is any money from the prize fund held back for future tournaments, if so, how much: 1 or 2 €350 Monster Monthly tickets
    11. Any guaranteed prize pool:n/a
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels: n/a
    13. Starting Chips: 8,000
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts: n/a
    15. Blind levels: all levels antes included
    16. Blind timeframes: 24mins
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash: usually 10% of field
    18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill: Yes
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules: Yes
    20. Is there a tournament director: Yes
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say: TD handles all disputes and has final say
    22. Are there any cash games offered, if so, please outline the rake for each limit offered: Yes, various games. Rake 3.3% capped at €20 per pot in all games

charter for friday the 31st of July 2 day event

3. Date and Location of event: Eglinton Casino Galway, Friday 31st of July 2009
    4. Registration and Start time of event: Day one Reg from 8.30pm, starts 9.30pm sharp. Day two starts 1st of August 7pm sharp
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number: can be bought at the front desk. Max 110
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc: €320
    9. Cost of registration: €30
    10a. Is any money from the prize fund held back for future tournaments, if so, how much: 1 or 2 €350 Monster Monthly tickets
    11. Any guaranteed prize pool: €10,000
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels: n/a
    13. Starting Chips: 10,000
    16. Blind timeframes: 30mins
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash: usually 10% of field
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say: TD handles all disputes and has final say
    22. Are there any cash games offered, if so, please outline the rake for each limit offered: Yes, various games. Rake 3.3% capped at €20 per pot in all games

Charter for Saturday the 1st of August €200 buy in

3. Date and Location of event: Eglinton Casino Galway, Saturday 1st of August 2009
    4. Registration and Start time of event: Reg from 7pm, starts 8730pm sharp
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc: €200
    9. Cost of registration: €20
    11. Any guaranteed prize pool: €10,000
    13. Starting Chips: 10,000
    16. Blind timeframes: 30mins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Verbal_Kint

for sure what happens in galway doesn't stay in galway.

any plans to run a sat to 'the big one' on the 31st earlier on in the day?

45+5?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 487 ✭✭Theeglinton

So your the leak ..... busted :p

Were open from 8 pm so we will do exactly as you have suggested and have a sit an go , possibley a 35 + 5 or better yet a 70 + 5 and try and get two tickets per table

Folks

There is massive interest in the € 350 buyin , I have already sold 15 seats !!

If anyone wants to make sure of their seats pm me or call the club 091569222 or call me directly @ 0878120869

Dave C

www.theeglinton.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Macau Cork

Stick me down Dave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭theGIANT

keep a seat for me on friday aswell plz dave
    P.S

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 427 ✭✭GKidd

Down for Sat tourney.

Can I use my club credit for this?

Is Parkey back on the sauce?

Is Christy Morkam allowed to partake in proceedings?:P

Macau Cork wrote: »
    Stick me down Dave.

will do ken

theGIANT wrote: »
    keep a seat for me on friday aswell plz dave
    P.S

No problem Mr S

GKidd wrote: »
    Down for Sat tourney.

Can I use my club credit for this?

Is Parkey back on the sauce?

Is Christy Morkam allowed to partake in proceedings?:P

Gkidd , no problrm at all in using your credit .

Parkey , no idea but we are looking forward to seeing him :D

Is Christy allowed to partake?? why ever not , one of our model club members I only wish we had more like him ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

Bump. Racing starts today. Don't mention the hurling (or football)!

Race week in The Eglinton has once again kicked off. 42 players showed up for the first €100 freezeout of the week. And with Monday being the 'quiet' night of the week it looks like it will be a good one.
    Texas and Omaha cash games have started already so if anyone is not around or not interested in the tournments cash action is available.

Gaming tables will be open all week for everyone too. If it's your first time in the club don't forget your picture ID.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Daragh101

good tourney!

Hey guys,

Just wanted to add, we have some rooms available at a good rate for raceweek if anybody hasn't got accommodation sorted.

Send me a PM to let me know if you need a room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭SIDESHOW BOBs

what are the opening closing times of the cas dave , i fancy a busmans holiday ?

might not need a room if the gaff goes all night:)

what are the opening closing times of the cas dave , i fancy a busmans holiday ?

4 full cash games last night all night , a 1/2 , 2! 2/5 tables and a 5/10 omaha , there was some massive action :D and 42 runners in the tournament

It kicked off unusually early around 10 !! and tbh I will expect it to kick off earlier from wednesday onwards

as for finishing times .......... I'm just in the door

Give me a shout Bob 0878120869 sure I won't see you stuck ;)

It didn't take people long to get into the spirit of things! Over 80 runners in tonight's tournament. Tomorrow night should be even bigger and better. Don't forget it's starting at 8.30pm tomorrow.

Despite the recent drop in numbers in attendance and betting at the race course ( down 20% in attendance and down 30% betting turnover ) we managed to have record numbers in the club last night !!!!

We saw over 80 runners for our €100 freezout and had six fullly packed cash games with some great action .

The house games were in full swing and and the club was buzzing there are two full cash games in action as I speak and we expect even greater numbers of the coming days

We saw some of the countrys best known poker players last night such as Andy Black , Paul Lecky , Chris Dowling and Francis " wally " McCormack but to name a few and you all know about the line up of players we are having over the next few days fo our " IRISH CHAMPIONS CHALLENGE CUP "
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055634597

Congratulations to Michael "sideshow" O Brien on winning the main event and to our own Siobhan Blaney on coming second and also to Tom Kitt on making his second IPR ranking event final in three days.
    http://www.theeglinton.com/PokerClub/Results/tabid/70/Default.aspx

So for the best poker action in the country don't miss our RACING WEEK FESTIVAL :D

www.theeglinton.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Congratulations to Michael "sideshow" O Brien on winning the main event

www.theeglinton.com

My Hero, amazing what a man can do when he wants to avoid paying for a hotel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭westlife

Hi Guys, Won a tourny in the club a long time ago. Could not get the cash because the lad in charge was under strict instructions that the winner was to get an end of month ticket ( I explained to him I was a Jackeen!). I assum I can use this ticket for friday night?

Phil Baker

westlife wrote: »
    Hi Guys, Won a tourny in the club a long time ago. Could not get the cash because the lad in charge was under strict instructions that the winner was to get an end of month ticket ( I explained to him I was a Jackeen!). I assum I can use this ticket for friday night?

Phil Baker

Hi Phil,

If you have a €350 ticket you can use it for Friday no problem. We're expecting a good crowd so try and register early. We're open from 8pm.

On a side note, over 110 players tonight! It keeps on growing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 427 ✭✭GKidd

Hey Dave,

How many runners did you get last night?

Will be about tomorrow for the tourney.

It’s been a long long week for us with us managing to break all previous club records

I personally have not seen the cash action in the club before infact I have never seen the cash action I saw this week, there were 40k / 30k pots on the Omaha tables and all our tables were full Tuesday to last night, Tuesday and Wednesday saw record numbers for the 100 f/outs with Wednesday reaching 111 runners.

We were privileged to have the likes of Andy Black , Marty Smith , Padraig Parkinson and Tom Hanlon down along with Chris, Wally , Jaye , Dara o K and Paul leckey but to name a few.

The champions of champions Tournament was a joy to watch with Parky taking it down and Silkey coming second ( leaving us a €500 tip :Dthx boys )

The Main event was won by Claregalway resident ( go figure ) Conor Maguire winning over 6k for his efforts with club members Sean Cleary , Derek " the dangerous " Murray and Paul Johnston coming 2nd , 3rd and 4th respectively ( none of the foreign raiders managed to cash :p )

I'd love to tell you some of the carry on that was going on in and outside the club but like Las Vegas what happens in Galway stays in Galway .......;)
    Many thanks to all who called in to us over the week and a big thanks to all the staff who worked like trojans all week they were fantastic !!
    Next up for us is some auld fellas 40th birthday party to be held in the club on Wednesday the 19th of August ....... any guesses ??

I can tell ya I'm looking forward to a few nights sleep

Dave C
    www.theeglinton.com