Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BILLY SCURRY [3 Hour Set] Bank Holiday Sunday August 2nd // 4 Dame Lane

• 17-07-2009 12:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭

billyscurry.jpg

Subject 2nd Birthday [Part 2]
    Two Floors of Music with...

BILLY SCURRY [3 Hour Set]
    Conor Feeney [BigDishGo]
    Subway Mike
    Russell Parker
    Mark Greene

Bank Holiday Sunday August 2nd // 4 Dame Lane
    Doors 9pm // Adm: e5 // e6 Cocktail Menu
    www.subjectevents.com

Subject 2nd Birthday [Part 1]
    Friday July 31st at Pod, Harcourt Street, Dublin 2
    with special guests - JUAN ATKINS [Model 500, Metroplex - Detroit],
    TR One, Eamonn Doyle [D1] & Subject DJs
    Doors 10pm // Adm: e15
    [includes Access All Areas (5 Rooms) HYPE SUMMER SOUNDSYSTEM]
    Advance tickets from www.ticketmaster.ie and usual outlets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Subject

billyscurry.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Once again fair play to Subject keeping the entry fee to an absolute minimum, more's the pity other promoters couldn't follow suit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

jonny68 wrote: »
    Once again fair play to Subject keeping the entry fee to an absolute minimum, more's the pity other promoters couldn't follow suit!
    its practically all local djs right.
    no international acts but your happy to pay 15 bucks but 20 is too much to see an international dj

give it a rest johnny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Fintomiginto

Its €5.

Read the ad again.

Its €5.

Read the ad again.
    my bad i was reading the price for there birthday bash.
    but my point still stands,its only local lads playing at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Fintomiginto

seannash wrote: »
    my bad i was reading the price for there birthday bash.
    but my point still stands,its only local lads playing at it

Billy Scurry is a class Dj IMO so €5 is still value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,521 ✭✭✭francois

Agreed, great DJ and €5 is good value

Indeed Billy Scurry is one of the best DJ's Ireland has ever produced and many times ive seen him upstage the guest DJ, id defo pay a fiver into this if i was in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭aidan kelly

Calling Billy Scurry "only a local lad" is really disparaging - do you really need an international DJ to justify paying extra into a gig? I'd happily pay to see Billy over most international guests, he is quite simply one of the best DJ's in the world, and always delivers. Best gig of the weekend in Dublin for sure, and one that won't break the bank either.

no the point i was making was that of course the price is cheap because hes local.the promoters dont have the expense of flights,hotels,special requests etc that they would have for an international dj.

johnny keeps harping on about prices and to praise someone(whilst repeating your point of overpriced nights again) for keeping the price down when they dont have the extra expense of an international dj doesnt add any weight to his tired argument of overpriced nights.

i said they were local djs and didnt once say anything about there djing ability or whether it was going to be a bad night.

I'm not saying you implied it would be a bad night. You said they were "only" local DJ's, which I just object to, as sometimes local DJ's are far superior to their overpaid international counterparts. Billy is a prime example of that, he is superb, most people who've ever heard him play seem to agree.

As for Subject Events, Ronan and the guys have always kept the prices to a minimum - and to be fair so have all of the independent promoters (same could be said for Downtownsounds, Bodytonic, Electric City, and the likes), in fact there is only one independent promoter who consistently took the piss when it came to pricing, although I haven't seen many (or any) nights promoted by them recently. I think subject were charging €20 to see Juan Atkins, Phil Kiernan, TR One, Eamon Doyle, etc. last night, which again is excellent value for money. I've never been to one, but some of the prices for those "old school" nights are a joke, €20 to see a load of guys who've effectively retired 15 years ago? Serious rip-offs there imo.

If anything, it's the MCD's, POD's, etc. that charge outrageous prices, our independent promoters are more grass roots electronic music people, and don't over-charge us to see international guests. These are the people we as an electronic community should be supporting - not the "Sasha" esque tripod shows which completely lack atmosphere and feeling. Anyone paying €70 to see Fatboy Slim this weekend needs help, there is a party in London at the end of August called "Get Loaded in the Park" - it is £37 a ticket, goes on for nine hours, and has one of the best line-ups of the year, now that's value! (who knows, myself and "old school" Jonny might even agree on something, for once):

http://www.getloadedinthepark.com/

I'm not saying you implied it would be a bad night. You said they were "only" local DJ's, which I just object to, as sometimes local DJ's are far superior to their overpaid international counterparts. Billy is a prime example of that, he is superb, most people who've ever heard him play seem to agree.

As for Subject Events, Ronan and the guys have always kept the prices to a minimum - and to be fair so have all of the independent promoters (same could be said for Downtownsounds, Bodytonic, Electric City, and the likes), in fact there is only one independent promoter who consistently took the piss when it came to pricing, although I haven't seen many (or any) nights promoted by them recently. I think subject were charging €20 to see Juan Atkins, Phil Kiernan, TR One, Eamon Doyle, etc. last night, which again is excellent value for money. I've never been to one, but some of the prices for those "old school" nights are a joke, €20 to see a load of guys who've effectively retired 15 years ago? Serious rip-offs there imo.

If anything, it's the MCD's, POD's, etc. that charge outrageous prices, our independent promoters are more grass roots electronic music people, and don't over-charge us to see international guests. These are the people we as an electronic community should be supporting - not the "Sasha" esque tripod shows which completely lack atmosphere and feeling. Anyone paying €70 to see Fatboy Slim this weekend needs help, there is a party in London at the end of August called "Get Loaded in the Park" - it is £37 a ticket, goes on for nine hours, and has one of the best line-ups of the year, now that's value! (who knows, myself and "old school" Jonny might even agree on something, for once):

http://www.getloadedinthepark.com/

well said mate i totally agree:cool:
    local dj's indeed eh:rolleyes::D:)

the two of ye are fecking eejits.
    i NEVER said anything about the talent.i said the promoter hasnt got the overheads like they would if they brought out an international dj.

your putting words in my mouth.
    weve all discussed how overpriced some of the gigs are in ireland.
    even the biggest djs in the world are local lads to someone if they live where they live.

please please please show me where i said billy scurry was a bad dj or that he wouldnt be as good as an international dj;)

You are putting words in my own mouth, and your's while you're at it.

I didn't imply that you said Billy was a bad DJ - you made the point that it was "only local lads" (direct quotation) playing - I think Billy Scurry, who has played with just about every big name in the business (and often been better), qualifies as much more than a "local lad". That's the only point I'm making.

As regards international DJ's, I do find it sad that our own home grown DJ's cannot fill venue off their own bat, but that's the way things have gone. There's definitely a gap in the market for some new blood though, things are a bit stagnant in Dublin at present imo.

ugh,regarding the point of it being so cheap i said he was a local lad and this kept the cost down.

but i give up,you win internets