Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Caddy?

• 17-07-2009 10:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭

Something that never fails to entertain and pee me off, possibly in equal amounts is people using caddies in say, the captain's prize or a junior scratch cup.

It's completely subjective of course, but for me, there are times when it's fine and functional to use a caddy, and there are times when it's OTT and possibly purely for shaping purposes.

For example, at the qualifying stages of the Lord Mayor's last year my eye was caught by a Poulter-esque stride as a fellow 5-handicapper left his playing partners and struggling caddy 50 yards behind as he paraded down the fairway.

A couple of times, I've seen home members in their own Junior Scratch Cup assisted by soggy juniors, despite torrential rain or the use of two umbrellas.

And of course, the caddies usually carry the bag - because that's the way they do it on tour, and it'd look silly to have a caddy ease the burden and (god forbid) use a trolley! It just gets on my wick, and I'd be happy to hear from those who agree, those who disagree, and especially those who do it if they care to shed light on their thinking. But in my view, in relatively run of the mill competitions, it's nothing other than posturing and pretentiousness which, for whatever reason seems to me to be most prevalent in the 3-8 handicap bracket.

In a different way, I also don't understand guys who do it for the Captain's day (usually slightly higher h'caps than the above). While I don't think there's so much posing involved here as honest attempts to play better than ever before by having "everything perfect", giving clubs the annual clean and not drinking the night before for a change etc. I think this is dumb for golf reasons, in that usually these guys end up so far out of their comfort zone by breaking all of their usual routines, they end up feeling tense and placing huge importance on each stroke - disaster often ensues and the guy who shows up and treats it like any other game of golf tends to fair better.

I can't explain this all that well but for me, it's different in interclub matches. When you're playing very much against the guys beside you it's good to have someone to talk to and buzz off. I guess interclub is also the most competitive golf most of us will play so those days do actually merit the use of a caddy. But obviously that's just my opinion so I'm interested in other people's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭mag

yep, 100% agree.
    only ever used a caddy in matchplay. for 90% of golfers, unless you carry a monster bag or theyre wizard green readers then no need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Couldn't agree more. Especially on the points about the captain's prize obviously! I used to work as a green-keeper and found it hilarious in the week leading up to captain's you'd have every Tom, Dick and Harry up practicing until dusk. These same people would never hit a ball outside of a round in competition for the rest of the year but they thought by hitting 4 balls for every shot for a couple of days their game would magically traansform in time for captain's :rolleyes:

I've made my point about caddying in captain's in the other thread. I'd very rarely use a caddy even in inter-club, only if someone asked to caddy, which doesn't happen very often....but I don't mind people having caddies in Senior Cup or the likes as you know they have some sort of game and are not just posing.

Edit; I also hate when you go to courses and it's compulsory to have a caddy, really gets on my tits as they always seem to be very opinionated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

+1 on using caddy's in club competitions/majors. Obviously the fella who brings his young fella/daughter down to caddy for him on a Saturday morning is not included here.

+1 also on the use of caddy's in interclub competitions. I always feel it helps to ease the burden of pressure on the player by having a caddy share the expectation. The choice of caddy though should not be taken lightly. I'd rather have no one on the bag than be forced to take someone who I don't gel with or whose game is totally alien to mine, i.e. a 1 or 2 handicapper who may suggest to hit a high fade over water with a 3-wood with a carry of 200 yards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

madds wrote: »
    +1 on using caddy's in club competitions/majors. Obviously the fella who brings his young fella/daughter down to caddy for him on a Saturday morning is not included here.

ah yeah, of course
    madds wrote: »
    +1 also on the use of caddy's in interclub competitions. I always feel it helps to ease the burden of pressure on the player by having a caddy share the expectation. The choice of caddy though should not be taken lightly. I'd rather have no one on the bag than be forced to take someone who I don't gel with or whose game is totally alien to mine, i.e. a 1 or 2 handicapper who may suggest to hit a high fade over water with a 3-wood with a carry of 200 yards.

Haha, our dad is 17 shots higher than me, and 20 higher than my younger bro and we've both played the golf of our lives in big comps this year with him on the bag! I spent a week trying to gently disuade him but decided, regardless of golfing logic, he obviously really wanted to do it so I said, feck it. Glad I did now :D

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

For interclub I've seen lads use caddies that either are higher handicappers than themselves and even non-golfers... all most lads need is someone they are comfortable around.. I have caddied a bit too don't enjoy it much because I will 'see' the shot different to the other guy... so whenever I do caddy it will mostly be course management advice I'll give and generally try to keep the player relaxed.
    Caddies in other 'alien' situations is funny/sad like in the OP :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Yeah I think it's bollocks people bringing out caddies in anything but interclub matchplay.
    Especially this captains lark, what sorf of eejit puts himself out of his comfort zone by doing something that he doesn't do all year round just because it's the captains prize?

As for people bringing their kids out, no bother at all, good way for them to learn course etiquette.
    I learned this way myself caddying for my Dad.

Also have to admit I got a caddy in Thailand, but that's because you had to, and it was ten yoyo's, and she was deadly (at caddying;))
    She watched me for one hole and didn't say a word, then clubbed me perfectly for the other 17 and read greens like a pro, naturally I gave her a nice tip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Haha agree 100% too, i've even seen it a couple times when i played the weekly junior competition, a young lads dad carrying his bag around for him. I wouldn't even use a caddy in inter club though, but there does be other team members there most the time or club members so you always get someone wanting to caddy, i'd be happy enough doing what i normally do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

A caddy can be a good thing in matchplay. Also if it's raining as long as they're prepared to get soaked. That said, the only person i really like caddying for me is my old man.

I've never experienced anyone who takes a caddy out in a run of the mill strokeplay event / captains day / jsc actually do well in the event. That, i think, tells its own story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

Totally agree with OP on this one. I have caddied on a few occassions myself but it was really only on the bag, not offering advice. Interclub singles matchplay is ok but most foursomes can be awkward if only one has a caddy.

Leave it out for all club competitions though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

My opinion is simply why would anyone be concerned about whether someone has a caddy or not. If they want to use a caddy and are not holding up play because of it - then let them. Too many people in golf look (down) at what others are doing, what they're wearing, what equipment they're using, what handicap they have etc. I admit that I used to be like this too but grew out of it at about age 20.

There is more than a hint of snobbery in some of the comments about how "unimportant" the captain's prize and junior scratch are compared to interclub comps.

Now in my club's captains prize there is usually 18 or 36 holes qualifying followed a 9 hole playoff that about 15 people get into. For the average member this playoff is the biggest event of the year - far bigger than any interclub. Hundreds of members and family members will turn out to watch and there is pressure on the competitors. It is the norm to use a "caddy" in the playoff but they are there for support rather than club selection. In my view the presence of caddies and the spectators add to the event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭waterville72

BrianD3 wrote: »
    My opinion is simply why would anyone be concerned about whether someone has a caddy or not. If they want to use a caddy and are not holding up play because of it - then let them. Too many people in golf look (down) at what others are doing, what they're wearing, what equipment they're using, what handicap they have etc.

Couldnt agree more mate. Why people worry about this kinda thing amazes me. If a chap wants to use a caddy or a gps or a set of blades off 28 or a golf cart at 14 years of age etc.... Let them go ahead and do it! Thats the world we live in..live and let live. There are a lot more important things to be worrying about in life than when its appropriate to be using a caddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

but it does make you a knob............... imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭waterville72

soundsham wrote: »
    but it does make you a knob............... imo

You talkin to me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

not particularly,aimed at the type you described...............but if the cap fits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

BrianD3 wrote: »
    My opinion is simply why would anyone be concerned about whether someone has a caddy or not....

There is more than a hint of snobbery in some of the comments about how "unimportant" the captain's prize and junior scratch are compared to interclub comps.

First and foremost, you have badly misquoted me. At what point did I call the Captain's Prize or a JSC "unimportant"?? I didn't say this, nor did I imply it. You've assumed that because I consider it reasonable to use a caddy in interclub but not in the above, i deem them "unimportant", and that I have snobby, lofty ideals that only interclub matters and everything else is tiddly-winks. This shows a great deal of ignorance on your part, for a couple of reasons.

One, it's not a matter of importance, interclub is matchplay against guys you've never met and Captain's and JSC are strokes played with your fellow members or partners of your choosing. You can't chat in a match as you usually would in a game, so a caddy is like a mock-playing-partner who you can chat to, bringing you back closer to a sunday-stableford mindset and more in your comfort zone.

Two, you obviously took "interclub" as an exclusive and elite statement. Again, ignorance, as we all know interclub golf is available to virtually anybody from a 20 handicap down. So as much as you'd clearly like to put my opinions down to snobbery, they're actually based on a bit of golfing cop on. Funnily enough.

As for why it's any of my concern, and the below...
    Couldnt agree more mate. Why people worry about this kinda thing amazes me.

My point was that it gets my goat seeing a teenager be soaked carrying a bag for 36 holes because some guy wants to look like a pro. My point is also that the same guy would probably play better if he put less pressure on himself and treated the game like any other day.