Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you go to the Uk now??

• 17-07-2009 9:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭

Hi guys,

Am planning a trip to Uk in the next couple of weeks to visit family etc. Just wondering with the Swine flu pandemic am I mad thinking of going over?? Especially as I'll be travelling by plane.

So am I being stupid?

Would you go??

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

cowlove wrote: »
    Hi guys,

Am planning a trip to Uk in the next couple of weeks to visit family etc. Just wondering with the Swine flu pandemic am I mad thinking of going over?? Especially as I'll be travelling by plane.

So am I being stupid?

Would you go??

I'm coming back home this afternoon. I'll try and spread the pandemic so it'll make no difference then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Especially as I'll be travelling by plane.

Don't worry - pigs don't fly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Hi guys,

So am I being stupid?

Would you go??

I'd be more worried about BSE if I were you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

There is more chance of the HSE effecting your health than the Swine Flu.
    Don't worry about it. If your gonna get it, it will be by personal contact anywhere, here or in England.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

i got load of mates over there none of them got it so .....

i would yeah..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭GlindaGale

We do have swine flu here too ya know, actually, they're predicting that a million Irish people will get it by christmas so if I were you, I'd go to the UK, it's not going to make a difference. Anyway, I just got back and I'm grand.

Though I do have a sore throat....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Am going over soon but will bring bottled Connemara air anyway, always do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭smileysurfer

My younger brother is supposed to be going over for a week in 2 weeks time with scouts. Iv been trying to make the folks see sense and keep him at home, I was thinking it was way more dangerous to go over seeing as 12 people have died this week alone, 3 had no underlying health problems?
    They are saying im over re acting and that he could get it here too, am I??
    Surely going over there would increase the risk :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Utter reactionary bollox... it's here already and if you're going to get it you'll get it. I've just returned from a week there and shock horror I'm fine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭cowlove

TheZohan wrote: »
    I'd be more worried about BSE if I were you.

whys that then??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Don't worry - pigs don't fly.

Wrong! :p

http://www.esatclear.ie/~garda/gasuheli.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Noffles wrote: »
    Utter reactionary bollox... it's here already and if you're going to get it you'll get it. I've just returned from a week there and shock horror I'm fine!

in this post noffles fails at probability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

whys that then??

BSE= Mad Cow Disease

Mad Cow Disease= Bad for cowlove!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭You Suck!

I'd go if I was you, that way you'll dodge the bullet when your family get it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭sineadCharl

Go! I just came back from a weekend in Manchester and it didn't even cross my mind.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Hi guys,

So am I being stupid?

Would you go??

I'm there right now and have been for the week. There is nothing to worry about even if Sky News can report on nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭cowlove

TheZohan wrote: »
    BSE= Mad Cow Disease

Mad Cow Disease= Bad for cowlove!

Me a bit slow this morning! I'm going back to bed!:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭JimmyMolloy

Swine flu???

Don't believe the hype.

This is why I would not go near the uk

http://www.schillerinstitute.org/economy/nbw/pot_famine95.html

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Swine flu???

Don't believe the hype.

theres no need to bring in politics into this.

anyways yeah, go if you want. just be sure to avoid those swine flu parties

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Swine flu???

Don't believe the hype.

They also do random breath-testing in the UK which I would imagine is a much more pressing reason for you to avoid the place Jimmy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭OK-Cancel-Apply

Just wear a hazmat suit...geeze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

My younger brother is supposed to be going over for a week in 2 weeks time with scouts. Iv been trying to make the folks see sense and keep him at home, I was thinking it was way more dangerous to go over seeing as 12 people have died this week alone, 3 had no underlying health problems?
    They are saying im over re acting and that he could get it here too, am I??
    Surely going over there would increase the risk :confused:

Sure leave him off to enjoy himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

thers an overreaction to it... wow 9 ppl died r whatever... how many died in car crashes etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Swine flu???

Don't believe the hype.

I'll be sure to tell my great great great great great great grandad that the actions of his government has deprived the people of the UK of your presence.

He will be gutted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

We were thinking of going to Legoland next month but decided against it, mostly because of swine flu.
    We did wonder if we were being stupid but 29 people have died from it so far and it hasn't even approached the rate of infection that they are expecting.
    Also, my OH is pregnant so again, that added weight to our decision.

It did kill between 50 million and 100 million people worldwide during the 1918 pandemic. That's between 3% and 6% of the population of the earth at the time.

It's not really an overreaction, it's just prudent to try to avoid it as muich as possible.

Sleipnir wrote: »

It's not really an overreaction, it's just prudent to try to avoid it as muich as possible.

my thoughts exactly! Now i just need to convince the parents to keep him at home. its too much of a risk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

How many people die in the UK each year from normal flu?

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    They also do random breath-testing in the UK which I would imagine is a much more pressing reason for you to avoid the place Jimmy.

They even arrest tall photographers over there!

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2009/07/15/tall_photographers/

How many people die in the UK each year from normal flu?

Quite a lot, but the infection rate of swine flu will probably reach far higher proportions, e.g. a third of the population of the earth were infected with it during the 1918 pandemic.

Also, swine flu affects healty young adultsmore as it causes an over-reaction of the immune system (cytokine storm) so those with less developed immune systems, like children and the elderly, are actually at less risk.
    With ordinary influenza, it's the other way around.

It seems you're as likely to get swine flu here. So don't worry. And if you get it, don't worry; it seems like the only people that die are Mexican and/or have had previous complications- which is something that is widely being unreported.

3 people have died this week in the UK with ''no underlying health problems''

Well in that case, we're all f*cked no matter what you do, so ya might as well go to UK and enjoy it while you can!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭sidneykidney

I am off to the states in a couple of weeks,maybe its me thats fcuked:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I wouldn't worry about it. The swine flu is just replacing the normal seasonal flu (it is "normal flu" anyway just a different strain).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭KevR

Was in London last week. Didn't really cross my mind before I left.

When we landed back in Dublin and were waiting for our bags in the airport I did notice a woman who seemed to have a very bad flu. I stood well away from her just to be safe.

I have started washing my hands more often in the last couple of weeks and they have hand sanitiser at all the entrances to our work building. I wouldn't cancel travel plans or anything though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I'm flying out tonight for the weekend but all my worries are monkey related.

I wouldn't worry about it. The swine flu is just replacing the normal seasonal flu (it is "normal flu" anyway just a different strain).

Replacing it? How? Does ordinary influenza go away when swine flu comes along?

I know some people who flu to the UK last week, they're still alive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 538 ✭✭✭markopantelic

this is gonna be like the great plague in the 1400's, in ireland all the Normans, Viking and English descendants were wiped out because they lived in built up areas while by and large the native Irish survived because they lived in spread out population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

I'm in the uk and I'm still alive.
    Can post updates if you want. :p

bronte wrote: »
    I'm in the uk and I'm still alive.
    Can post updates if you want. :p

Grand. We'll only worry if you stop posting.

Replacing it? How? Does ordinary influenza go away when swine flu comes along?

I'm not sure exactly the dynamics of it, but every year or every few years a new strain of flu replaces the ones previously circulating in the population. I think it's because eventually we all build up immunity to the familiar strains, but are not yet immune to the new strain.

It's right smack in the middle of flu season in the Southern Hemisphere and according to what New Scientist was reporting this week, the swine flu strain is replacing the previously common strains. (this becomes an issues if only stocks of the vaccine for the previous strain are available).

EDIT and swine flu is "ordinary" flu. It's just a strain that we haven't seen before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

Swine flu = mild cold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Bandit12 wrote: »
    Swine flu = mild cold
    = sick day from work. It's a good thing.

Bandit12 wrote: »
    Swine flu = mild cold

mild cold that kills people:confused: so not so mild after all really

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

you only die mildly :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

The last flu killed people too, it's not like healthy adults are dropping like flies.

ScumLord wrote: »
    The last flu killed people too, it's not like healthy adults are dropping like flies.

Yeah I agree. I think it is calling it "Swine flu" makes it sound like something other than a new type of flu.

Authorities only have to keep vigilant in case it mutates into something that is more deadly but that hasn't happened yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Quite a lot, but the infection rate of swine flu will probably reach far higher proportions, e.g. a third of the population of the earth were infected with it during the 1918 pandemic.

Also, swine flu affects healty young adultsmore as it causes an over-reaction of the immune system (cytokine storm) so those with less developed immune systems, like children and the elderly, are actually at less risk.
    With ordinary influenza, it's the other way around.

Cool.
    Taking out the competition.
    I'm gonna score.

Thing that annoys me the most is the name. Swine Flu. I mean who the heck came up with it? It sounds like such a .. wimpy disease. Ebola. That's a great name. Typhoid? Fantastic! Hell even AIDS is quite catchy.

Call it Epic Man Flu. That's a disease I'd gladly catch and die from. Hell, I'd even get it put on my tombstone!