Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

jealousy..

• 16-07-2009 9:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

hey...

Im just wondering do any of ye have any good advice on how to keep jealousy at bay in a relationship? I konw that the green eyed monster destroys things, so im doing my best to keep it hidden from himself, but its eating me up inside, anytime he's out with his single buddies, chatting to women, checking them out etc!!

Any advice would be much appreciated as I know its completely my problem and dont want to ruin an otherwise great relationship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Firstly you need to find a man you can trust. Do you trust your boyfriend? Completely? Not if you're feeling jealous.

Secondly you need to establish a 'secure' relationship with your boyfriend. That involves him being as I said above. If you cant trust him you cant have a secure relationship. But it also involves you talking to him openly and honestly about these feelings of jealousy.

Thirdly, you need to work on yourself. If you have feelings of inadequacy you'll project these onto your relationships.

Hope this helps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭hightower1

I'd def advise talking about it alright. EVERYONE has felt jealous and can relate I'm sure there isnt a partner out there that wouldn't.
    Put it this way if he said he was jealous of something would you freak? Nah, you'd understand it and to be honest you know you'd like it just a little bit right???? lol! everyone does in a small way - jealousy is the most honest human way of saying "I want you to be mine and you matter to me" . Not advocating it but it may help to keep in mind when discussing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭kittenkiller

Is it lack of trust in your OH or lack of self-esteem that's causing the jealousy?

Try to focus on all the lovely things he's said and done for you rather than why he might be looking elsewhere.

Keep yourself busy on the nights that he's out with his single friends.

Don't ask too many questions about his nights out if you think you're going to end up focussing on each little details and the fact that there were other girls there.
    You: "How was your night honey?"
    Him: "Yeh, grand. We headed from X's to town and got smashed. Good night alright."
    You: "Good stuff, glad you had fun. Anything on TV tonight?"

Don't torture yourself and you'll just grow out of it.

Best of luck.