Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Horse nappies in Killarney [Merged]

• 14-07-2009 2:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭

First we have a shower of morons worshipping a tree stump in Limerick and now this:http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0714/killarney.html
    Pickets have now been placed on the entrances to Killarney National Park after jarveys were banned from the area in a row over horse dung.
    Jarveys, who operate jaunting cars Co Kerry, have refused to use so-called dung-catching devices on their horses.
    The National Parks and Wildlife Service - which manages the park - has told the jarveys that the soiling of roads and pathways by their horses is no longer acceptable, but the Jarveys are refusing to use the devices.

The NPWS has offered to pay for the devices, but the jarveys claim they are unsafe and dangerous.
    45 jarveys have licences from the NPWS to operate 66 horse-drawn jaunting cars in Killarney National Park.
    They offer tours of Muckross, Torc and Ross Island on 15km of internal roads and paths to almost 1m people who visit the park every year.
    But the soiling of those roads and pathways by the jarveys' horses has consistently been a contentious issue.
    After 18 months of consultations and negotiations, the NPWS closed the jaunting car entrances to the park at 6am this morning.
    The parks service says the decision was taken as none of the jaunting cars hold a valid permit which requires the use of dung catchers to operate within the park.
    They say jarveys will be banned until they sign up to using the dung-catching devices.
    Killarney National Park remains open to the public.

They're striking because they don't want to clean up their horse's ****. Really?! This is the most stupid dispute I've ever heard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Post-natal abortions FTW!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭Fink Goddie

What a load of horse sh1t!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I seen something on the news a few weeks ago about this.

They were asking tourists in the park whether or not the sh!t was off-putting and most said no.

Its health & safety gone mad

...diapers on horses...GTFO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭delop

Would be easier to start with a list of 'whats right with the country'

thinking.....:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

They could use a jarvey's head as a butt-plug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Its the banks fault!!!!!!!11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

What a load of TURD Ferguson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭PinkTulips

surely the manure is good for the national park... why shoudl the horses have to be attached to a device that's potentially unsafe.

here's an idea.... could the NPWS not create employment by hiring someone to sweep the manure for area where it could be a potential hazard ie, where people walk, onto the grass where it will benefit the park by enriching the soil?

stupid fight fgs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭delop

I grew up near killarney, and what i dont get is its been that for yrs, to be fair though it can get very messy if it dont rain in a few days, not usually a problem in kerry, and I grew up on a farm so maybe it didnt seem too bad to me

However things are changing, One of the Department of Justice staff members called over to my dad a few yrs ago when they moved to kerry and asked my dad to stop spreading slurry, She said it was smelly.... :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Why can't those damned horses use toilets like a civilized human being? Birds **** in the air you know, it's disgusting. Nature is disgusting, it should be wiped out immediately!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

ScumLord wrote: »
    Nature is disgusting, it should be wiped out immediately!

exactly!!
    what has nature ever done for us??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Quite rediculous alright. Horses poo.......... big deal. I was there a few months ago and didn't noticed an abundence of poo.

Find something to really cause a stink* about.

*Ho Ho Ho.

wudangclan wrote: »
    exactly!!
    what has nature ever done for us??
    Not a damn thing. I get all my food from the supermarket. Whats the point in cows and sheep using up valuable real estate when we can get all the meat we want in Tesco?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Hells Belle

I went cycling through the park last year and while the horse poo/smell didn't really bother me the huge horse flys took lumps out of me. They seemed to follow you for a while just after you passed a pile of poo, which would lead me to logically think that the turds attracted them.....still though could they not just hire someone to go around twice a day and clear it up, make manure out of it and sell it, its not that hard to see really, feckin men. Wimmin would have sorted that out years ago.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Hells Belle

PinkTulips sorry didn't see your reply, great wimmin think alike lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

great wimmin think alike lol

The wimmin of Killarney should volunteer to clean the roads. Wimmins are great for cleaning and stuff...

'cptr

its not that hard to see really, feckin men. Wimmin would have sorted that out years ago.:D
    No they wouldn't. They'd come up with a plan and then get the men to carry it out. The men would put it on the long finger leaving us in the same predicament we're now in. Women only add unnecessary bureaucracy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

Got my jeans covered in sh1t the last time I was there but this is a bit ridiculous, tis only horsesh1t...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

There's a very simple solution to all this.

Let the horses shíte all they like but make the jarvey clean it up.

What these dudes want is the TAXPAYER to clean up after their animals, that's what they want.

If that is not practical employ someone to do the job and charge the jarveys as part of a permit-no pay-no park.

That's what's wrong with a lot of this country, people want others to clean up after them for free.

Wise up people,we have been conned for long enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭CutzEr

Horse-drawn carts were banned from one of Ireland's most famous national parks Tuesday in an escalation of a long-running row about their refusal to use "nappies" to deal with the horse dung.

The National Parks and Wildlife Service (NPWS) said it had "taken action to refuse entry to jaunting car operators" to the Killarney national park in the south west unless they have "the required dung catcher device".

Operated by so-called "jarveys", some 66 traditional carts, known as jaunting cars, carry tourists along 15 kilometres of internal roads within the picture-postcard park.

"An unfortunate consequence of such a high volume of horses frequenting the park is that the roadways are consistently fouled with horse dung, and has for a long time been a concern from the point of view of environmental, health and safety, aesthetic and tourism grounds," the NPWS said.

It said the majority of the more than a million visitors to the park each year walked the roads and it had received numerous complaints about the horse dung.

Over the years there have been a number of unsuccessful attempts to get the jarveys to use "equine sanitary devices" in the Killarney area.

The jarveys resisted, claiming the dung catchers will unbalance the carriages and the horses.

However, the NPWS, which is part of the environment ministry, says they are "in widespread usage internationally, from Vienna to Vancouver".

"It is clear, therefore, that these devices do work and are safe to use," it said.

"Although the dung catcher is attached to the car and not to the horse, jarveys have repeatedly signalled their complete opposition to the new devices but have never demonstrated where they perceive the problems to lie."

The service emphasised its "desire to avoid conflict" but said it had been compelled to ban the jaunting cars as "a very last resort".

source

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

More bureaucratic sh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Yes the environmentalists are now turning their sights upon Mother Nature. That bitch is going to pay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

If you've ever actually had to walk/cycle to Killarney National Park, you'd know why the dung-catchers are wanted. I was there a few days before this whole idea got to the news and the roads are nearly impassable with shít. It's extremely unhygienic, especially if you have young kids around playing ball, , or a bike (you don't want wet shít all over your back) etc and imo should be better in the 21st century.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭Klingon Hamlet

jumpguy wrote: »
    If you've ever actually had to walk/cycle to Killarney National Park, you'd know why the dung-catchers are wanted. I was there a few days before this whole idea got to the news and the roads are nearly impassable with shít. It's extremely unhygienic, especially if you have young kids around playing ball, , or a bike (you don't want wet shít all over your back) etc and imo should be better in the 21st century.

I agree. I visited the park for the first time a few weeks back and while I thought it was gorgeous, my stomach turned when I saw literally mountains of dung deposited along the roads, it was covered in it. Fair play to them for cracking down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭Joe Cool

Bag it and bin it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭Klingon Hamlet

Joe Cool wrote: »
    Bag it and bin it.

They should, yeah, but they don't. It's disgusting.

Shovel it, bag it and bin it???

If they're gonna nappy (yes, it's a verb) horses they should do it to dogs too. Cats can have free reign as it's the least trodden on of all the domestic pet's fecal leavings, bar fish I guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I heard they are going to issue nappies to all the deer in the Phoenix park.

Terry wrote: »
    I heard they are going to issue nappies to all the deer in the Phoenix park.

Oh dear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭Dr_Teeth

When I was over in Vienna this year they had those devices on the sightseeing carriages so that poo wasn't left in the streets, it seems to work just fine. I don't see what the fuss is about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Tell ya sommat, the jarveys won't stay too long outside the park .

These guys are not semi state or public service workers,they know, no work, no spondoolicks.

Watch those nags pack those pampers big time if the weather picks up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

I worked in killarney for a summer many many moons ago and the 2 things that left the lasting memory on me were 1/the fukkin smell of horses sh!te everywhere and 2/the jarveys being scumbags.

Every day the council had to clean the streets morning and evening and it was still stink but if there was rain it was even worse, sh!t stickin to your shoes when you cross the road, sh!t spraying into your face when a car passed you, sh!t everywhere. The pub i worked in The jug of Punch was the worst knacker hole in the town and the jarveys who drank there were lowlifes. Fuk them, let them clean up their mess, dirty bastrds, or better still, use the same bloody nappies that horse carraiges all over the world use without any problems and stop being awkward cnuts. I guarantee if there was a few quid in it for them they'd soon put the nappies on.

I have not gone back to killarney since 1992 and everytime someone mentions the place i just tell them its a beautiful town full of horses sh!te and scumbags. Until that changes i shant bother to go back either.
    /my 2 cents

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Put a nappy on your horses and stop expecting everyone else to clean up the **** after ye, ye pack of lazy bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭jigglywoo

They should give all the horses hydrocolonics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Being a Kerry native I will give my opinion of this. The horse excrement left on the roads is fierce disgusting but what is worse is when it is not washed away or whatever and cars sort of plaster it all over the road which gives you no choice but to walk in it.

It also stinks to the high heavens and is unsightly. Ok a horse has gotta do what a horse has gotta do but at least make them wear the crap catchers. The way I look at it is; most Dog owners pick up their deposits and those who don't can be fined, if a Human took a crap in the street he too would be fined so what is the difference with Horses?

Finally most of the Jarveys are members of the Travelling Community so making a mess all over the place is nothing new and bending the rules also. They have ripped off Tourists (Mainly "oh my gawd golly" Americans) in the highest levels possible and charge an absolute fortune for a drive in the buggys, so implementing this won't break them and the council are even going to pay for the crap catchers. I hope those not in compliance are banned from driving the routes and audited by the Revenue as most are cash in the hand tax dodgers while on the Dole!=:mad:

Added to this they have absolutely no road manners which makes navigating around the town difficult for motorists with them, and worst of all the Driving Test centre is almost slap-bang in the middle of Jarvey Central in Killarney and they have caused many a person to either get marked or fail their driving tests altogether. I got a mark or two encount of their antics when I sat my test also but thankfully passed:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Seems to to be a lot of people on here with very sensitive noses I wonder did they ever smell their own crap, horse crap is sweet smelling compared to that. Gormley started this fuss why don't someone put a crap catcher on his head to catch all the crap that comes out his mouth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I'm from Killarney and I agree that they should have dung catchers/nappies/whatever. And the majority of locals here do too. I can't see the jarveys sticking to at all though. Shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Gonzales

DarkJager wrote: »
    Put a nappy on your horses and stop expecting everyone else to clean up the **** after ye, ye pack of lazy bastards.

+1 end of story.:mad: