Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Darts League Entrys Thread

• 14-07-2009 11:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭

Reply to this thread if you wish to play in the Boards.ie Darts League closing date for entrys is Friday 24th July, the league will start the following week. Format will be desided when we know the total number of entys.

Confirmed players:
    1. Carrickman
    2. Kingp35
    3. Ratinakeg
    4. S.T.D Ste
    5. Evolution Enter
    6. scunner
    7. swalsh
    8. Daffy501
    9. Double Top
    10. patrickincork
    11. matty84
    12. padr81
    13. ciarraibhoy
    14. aarondoc
    15. Healio
    16. CORR077
    17. objj52
    18. dionsiseire
    19. Antoine56

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

I'm in!

Thread stickied :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭ratinakeg

I'm in again!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭S.T.D Ste

Go for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Evolution Enter

How many board dollars is entry fee?? Should have a few left seeing as I didn't go mad betting with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭scunner

Put me in! Starting back practising again, after my usual summer break! Very rusty but the games will be good practise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭swalsh

I'd like to be in for this too, better than practicing alone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Daffy501

Yep im up for this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Double Top

I'm in, can i be the first double winner (league and cup):D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Daffy501

Double Top wrote: »
    I'm in, can i be the first double winner (league and cup):D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Not a chance D.T :P:P:P:P:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭patrickincork

I'm out of the country until second week of August but I'd be interested once I get home. I could catch up on games quickly, i've no work until September. Count me in if that's ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭matty84

Id love to play in this but seen as i didnt play in the boards tournament does this count me out:confused::confused:

matty84 wrote: »
    Id love to play in this but seen as i didnt play in the boards tournament does this count me out:confused::confused:

Don't think so Matty, I'm sure you can play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭padr81

matty84 wrote: »

Pretty sure you'll be in. You may be in the bottom division though if its multi-divisional (is that even a word).

Count me in too guys. I'll have to set up my lap top as my boards not near my pc anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭ciarraibhoy

Count me in please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭aarondoc

put me in thanks

is there going to be a trophy for this:P:P:P:P
    my cabinet is looking kinda empty with only three, number four would make it look much better ha ha

Double Top wrote: »
    is there going to be a trophy for this:P:P:P:P
    my cabinet is looking kinda empty with only three, number four would make it look much better ha ha

LOL!!!!!:D Hold your horses there pal, we might give you a relegation trophy if needs be!:D:P:P

ratinakeg wrote: »
    LOL!!!!!:D Hold your horses there pal, we might give you a relegation trophy if needs be!:D:P:P

LOL:D:D:D

relegation:eek::eek::eek::eek:, very cheeky ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Healio

Yes Please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭CORRO77

im in if someone explains how it works have it st up but not sure if im doing it right .

CORRO77 wrote: »
    im in if someone explains how it works have it st up but not sure if im doing it right .

I'll set up a game to see can you join it Paul ,but I can't play as I'm abit busy in work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭objj52

Count Me in Too lads presuming its using Dartpro -
    Just getting back into them so be gentle with me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭clivebaby

Can somebody put up a lin to download dartpro

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭clivebaby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭dionsiseire

Good thing i read this while im here

im in portugal till next thursday but im in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Carrickman

Can't edit the first post on here, is their some kind of max edits you can do? Anyhoo we have 18 so far!
    Carrickman wrote: »
    Confirmed players:
    1. Carrickman
    2. Kingp35
    3. Ratinakeg
    4. S.T.D Ste
    5. Evolution Enter
    6. scunner
    7. swalsh
    8. Daffy501
    9. Double Top
    10. patrickincork
    11. matty84
    12. padr81
    13. ciarraibhoy
    14. aarondoc
    15. Healio
    16. CORR077
    17. objj52
    18. dionsiseire
    19. Antoine56

Yeah think you can only edit ita few times. I'll do it for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Antoine56

I'd like to play in this if possible

Anybody else, deadline is a few days away! Maybe extend it until Sunday?

ratinakeg wrote: »
    Anybody else, deadline is a few days away! Maybe extend it until Sunday?

If we get 20 by Friday I would leave it like that did not expect to get that many players!! We need to arrange how the league will be set up etc after the deadline.

Anyone else intrested? One more entry to make it the even 20 would be handy!

I'm really looking forward to this league, I badly need some serious practice.

Come on lads there has to be one other person who wants to play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭AndyP

Ok I will play but will only play my matches on dartpro. Sorry not at all willing to use ezchalk.

AndyP wrote: »
    Ok I will play but will only play my matches on dartpro. Sorry not at all willing to use ezchalk.

We may as well close entrys now as 20 is a good number, and I agree with the above DartsPro is the way to go on this that ezchalk was virus ridden the last time I looked.

Now how do we seed the groups? Go by ranking points or a open draw, we can also run this again when it's finished where we can work on a div 1 and 2 (top 5 teams in each group div bottom div 2) or what do ye think?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,997 ✭✭✭Degag

Put me down as a reserve... i'm reluctant to put my name down as my connection is giving me trouble in recent weeks.

We may as well close entrys now as 20 is a good number, and I agree with the above DartsPro is the way to go on this that ezchalk was virus ridden the last time I looked.

Now how do we seed the groups? Go by ranking points or a open draw, we can also run this again when it's finished where we can work on a div 1 and 2 (top 5 teams in each group div bottom div 2) or what do ye think?.

Yeah go with the boards ranking points I'd say and have 2 leagues with bottom/top 3 or so being relagated/promoted. I'll be in the second tier looking to be promoted quickly, bring it on!;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭dionsiseire

There will be ranking points for your final finishing position in the leagues

Top League

1st : 20 points
    2nd : 18 points
    3rd : 16 points
    4th : 14 points
    5th : 12 points
    6th : 10 points
    7th : 8 points
    8th : 7 points
    9th : 6 points
    10th : 4 points

Lower Division
    1st : 10 points
    2nd : 9 points
    3rd : 8 points
    4th : 7 points
    5th : 6 points
    6th : 5 points
    7th : 4 points
    8th : 3 points
    9th : 2 points
    10th : 1 points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭padr81

fair play to ya for looking after the ranking dion and to kingp and carrickman for organising, have to say it takes time to do these things even over the net so full marks to the three of ye.

Will this be starting soon? Will we have to get in a few pre season friendlies first?;):D

Baced on the rankings from the previous tournments this is how things stand, please feel free to double check this to see if it's right.

First Division
    Andy P
    Double Top
    scunner
    dionsiseire
    Kingp35
    Daffy501
    ciarraibhoy
    Carrickman
    S.T.D Ste
    Evolution Enter

Second Division
    padr81
    ratinakeg
    patrickincork
    Healio
    matty84
    aarondoc
    CORR077
    objj52
    swalsh
    Antoine56

Jaysus that's some top division. Relegation here I come ;)

Right I have set up the website for this: http://boardsdarts.leaguerepublic.com/

I will enter the names once I'm 100% sure that the divisions are right so please check them out that they are ok.

So how are we going to play the games? best of 10 or is that too much?
    Will we play each other twice like a "home" and "away" ("home" throws first)?
    Can we manage two games a week?
    Top 4 playoff or who finnishes top wins outright?
    Promotion/relagation bottom two go down/top two going up with the third bottom and third in div 2 playing off.

All input welcome asap so we can get this off the ground!!

Here's my suggestions:
    So how are we going to play the games? best of 10 or is that too much?

I think best of ten is perfect, but do it so once one person wins 6 legs it's over, don't bother playing out the remaining legs.
    Will we play each other twice like a "home" and "away" ("home" throws first)?

Personally I think we play each other twice, more practice!
    Can we manage two games a week?

For this we should do it the way that Dion suggested. We should divide the fixtures into four blocks and post up the fixtures for block on and a deadline for when they have to be played. This way you can play all your matches in one night if you are only available for one night or you can play them over different nights. This just means there will hopefully be no walk overs making the League much fairer.
    Top 4 playoff or who finnishes top wins outright?

I reckon top four should play off, up to you lads though.
    Promotion/relagation bottom two go down/top two going up with the third bottom and third in div 2 playing off.

This sounds perfect to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭AndyP

Best of 5 sets, 5 legs a set maybe with a tie break.

Regarding the best of 10 format I think they all should be played even if one players gets 6 we can use the legs won/lost like goal diffrence, you never know you could be 6-0 down and win the last four legs!

AndyP wrote: »
    Best of 5 sets, 5 legs a set maybe with a tie break.

We could maby play that format in the next boards cup (which would be open at all) it would be a bit long for league matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭ciarraibhoy

Regarding the best of 10 format I think they all should be played even if one players gets 6 we can use the legs won/lost like goal diffrence, you never know you could be 6-0 down and win the last four legs!

How will games need to be set up on dartpro then because you can only go up to best of 15 which means if you go 8-0 up you will have to set up another game to play the remaining 2 legs. I personally think it should be an 8 leg match rather than 10 that way the games will be played in just one set up and you will get a true average etc.

We did it this way in the first boards tournament and some of the games went a bit too long so people asked me to change it to not playing them all out for the second tournament. I have no problem playing out all of the legs but I think it works a little better if you don't play them all out. I suppose it's up to what the majority thinks though.

First Division
    Andy P
    Double Top
    scunner
    dionsiseire
    Kingp35
    Daffy501
    ciarraibhoy
    Carrickman
    S.T.D Ste
    Evolution Enter

Second Division
    padr81
    ratinakeg
    patrickincork
    Healio
    matty84
    aarondoc
    CORR077
    objj52
    swalsh
    Antoine56

You can pick about 7-8 players who could win the First Division, looks really tricky.

As for the Second Division I'm not sure where I'm going to finish as there are a few new people and the players I've played against before are really good players. Can't wait for my game with Padr, our last game was a classic!:D