Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tues Evening Spin - Dublin

• 13-07-2009 12:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭

Hi. Anyone up for a Tues night spin.
    I would like to head toward Edmondstown Road/Kilakee direction, maybe even Bohernabreena.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭godihatethehils

Hmmmm....sounds good if you're not planning on hammering it! :) Would have to confirm tomorrow tho. What time would u be thinking?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Hmmmm....sounds good if you're not planning on hammering it! :)

Says the chief hammerhead from Saturday's spin;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Hmmmm....sounds good if you're not planning on hammering it! :) Would have to confirm tomorrow tho. What time would u be thinking?

Not hammering it by any means, will be testing my ability (or lack therof) with my new compact.

Wont be early - will leave park at 6, so get to Rathfarnham by 6.30/6.45ish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,221 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Can't make it unfortunately - out on the piss, chest infection, dodgy leg (full gamut of excuses!).

Feel free to borrow my TK11 if you are concerned about your lights.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Lumen wrote: »
    Can't make it unfortunately - out on the piss, chest infection, dodgy leg (full gamut of excuses!).

A chest infection and a dodgy leg? That must have been some night out.

Time seems good. Coupled with a blessing from Joe the Bastard, I may indeed be on for this (really this time!). Might bring along a non-boardsie if that's OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,221 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

el tonto wrote: »
    A chest infection and a dodgy leg? That must have been some night out.

Sat night party in a tent in very bad weather, under dressed...made chest worse. Got drunk, fell asleep, woke up cold, decided to start pogoing to keep warm...made leg worse.

Moral of the story: bring arm warmers everywhere.

Lumen wrote: »
    Sat night party in a tent in very bad weather, under dressed...made chest worse. Got drunk, fell asleep, woke up cold, decided to start pogoing to keep warm...made leg worse.

Moral of the story: bring arm warmers everywhere.

Oxygen?

Do you need oxygen?

el tonto wrote: »
    Says the chief hammerhead from Saturday's spin;)

chief moanyhead more like :D
    ROK ON wrote: »
    Not hammering it by any means, will be testing my ability (or lack therof) with my new compact.

Wont be early - will leave park at 6, so get to Rathfarnham by 6.30/6.45ish.

sounds good to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭pprendeville

Might join ye on my first Boards spin if that's ok with ye all.Where exactly are we meeting coz I'm a Northsider and don't have a clue around the posh side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭emty

Should be on for this,might meet youse at the view point though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭The_Claw

I might be on for this too - ROK_ON cd meet you at the Park perhaps. Will confirm tomorrow anyway.

OK I can meet folk in the park at 6ish or Rathfarnham at 630pm.

Let me know what suits.

Will be heading towards Rathfarnham from Milltown direction so I'll meet you guys in Rathfarnham, assuming all goes OK and I get out of work in time tomorrow. Where btw? At the roundabout at the junction of Edmondstown Road & Taylor's Lane & Ballyboden Road, just before the climb?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

may tag along. Need to stretch the legs ahead of Weds TT. Did nothing all weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭rflynnr

Dónal wrote: »
    Might bring along a non-boardsie if that's OK.

Non-boardsie? No such thing. There are only boardsies and those who are about to become boardsies.

Pre-boardsie so :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Damn, my bike is currently dismantled...I don't suppose I could get away with the singlespeed tmw?

Dónal wrote: »
    Will be heading towards Rathfarnham from Milltown direction so I'll meet you guys in Rathfarnham, assuming all goes OK and I get out of work in time tomorrow. Where btw? At the roundabout at the junction of Edmondstown Road & Taylor's Lane & Ballyboden Road, just before the climb?

Yep that roundabout is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Damn, my bike is currently dismantled...I don't suppose I could get away with the singlespeed tmw?
    Of course you could, no excuses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭pprendeville

I can hook up with you at the Phoenix park so. Which entrance? The one down near Connolly?

GORGEOUS weather for this spin tonight.... :rolleyes:

Should be OK from 6 to 8. Rain expected either side of that.

Either way we're going to get wet, from the rain, the sweat or the shower afterwards. So it doesnt really matter if it rains or not.

How about a route like Edmondstwon Kilakee - Descend back road to Bohernabreena/Brittas.

Cross main road and take back roads to Johnstown Kill and back via Straffan/Lucan or Saggart/Tallagh t or Lucan.

Raam wrote: »
    Should be OK from 6 to 8. Rain expected either side of that.

Darn...that's that excuse out the window then :rolleyes:

Either way we're going to get wet, from the rain, the sweat or the shower afterwards. So it doesnt really matter if it rains or not.

How about a route like Edmondstwon Kilakee - Descend back road to Bohernabreena/Brittas.

Cross main road and take back roads to Johnstown Kill and back via Straffan/Lucan or Saggart/Tallagh t or Lucan.

What are we talking in distance, roughly? I'm hoping to be done by 830.

@RAAM - not sure on distance, but from Rathfarnham on a loop thru Kildare and back to Tallaght I am talking about 58KM according to MapMyRide. So total for me to and from the Phoenix Park would work out at maybe 85km, but less if we cut off some of the loop due to time/light/weather.
    From there it is up to each person to get home (given that we are spread out all over the shop).

ttp://www.mapmyride.com/route/ie/dublin/wicklow/kildare/738124758397485021

General idea as to the max distance.

ROK_ON, where you meeting heads in Park?

I shall meet at Ballyboden marker on ROK ONs link

I'll be there at 6:45pm at Ballyboden. Not sure how long a spin I'm up for but sure I can always just turn around.

You are going up Edmonstown Road and NOT Stocking Lane, right? I may meet you on the way down.

I'll see you at Ballyboden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Where in Phoenix?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Not fair ... would have joined if i wasn't so Fecking sore...

Got dropped 10 mins in & lost em.

Trojan wrote: »

Yeah pretty bad! I'm simply not cut out for these spins, far too slow on anything above 0.00 degrees! I'll have to see about newbie (read: non climbing!) spins :)

Had a nice spin in the end though, weather cleared nicely and I met Morgan and some MADMTB guys out on the road bikes up at Glencullen. Lovely evening for it folks!

I headed back down to find you, but I guess you got very lost!

Yeah pretty bad! I'm simply not cut out for these spins, far too slow on anything above 0.00 degrees! I'll have to see about newbie (read: non climbing!) spins :)

Was this 10 minutes from Ballyboden? Keep working at it. We were all slow on the hills once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

good spin, pity about me puncture but at least it wasn't on a descent(as the rest of mine recently have all been...)

Keep at it and you will get better. We wait at the top of the hills, so just do it steady at your own pace and you will get there. You were only just off the back of the group when I joined, I didn't expect you would be up much after us to the top. How far did you get, that road to the top is straight all the way and if you ever have any worries about which way to turn just take the one that is pointed upwards :)

Trojan. Very sorry about that. Just FYI - we always wait at tops. So just keep plugging away, someone will wait. Hell, they waited for me (and always have).

Good spin - but we should have tried the longer route :-)

The initial descent from Kilakee to the roads behind Bohernabreena was nuts, but road dramatically improves. It is a tough and interesting circuit. Next week it maybe a good idea to do in reverse (I am sure the gradient from that road to Kilakee is in the mid teens.

First hilly spin with the compact - they work. I got up Edmondstown Rd and Cruagh Rd. It was slow and I missed the 30/27 but I managed to get up. Figure if I lose weight that I may get to like these compact thingys.

Great to meet everyone and a new face (PPrendeville).

Thanks folks.

Great to meet everyone and a new face (PPrendeville).

+1 for that.

Very good short spin I thought, definitely feel good now after that. Rain held off too which was good.

Sorry that you got dropped Trojan - from when I got to the Viewpoint I think we waited an extra 10 or 15 minutes, and them someone (who I see now is Raam) went down after you. I just assumed you were behind somewhere. Nice to meet you all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Al, if you get lost around that area again, feel free to give me a buzz, I'll fly out in the car and catch you up with the pack :D
    I'm literally a 3 min drive/5 min descent from viewpoint.

I got severely rained on before I joined you but dried out surprisingly well. I believe triathletes would call this a "brick" session only I did them concurrently rather than consecutively. As for the thread about Bradley Wiggins' legs being photoshopped, have a look at those in the second photo :) Rain held off after I joined the boards gang and we even had a rainbow, must have some special powers. Had a close one with one of those innocent looking sheep on the descent as it sprinted across me. We also met Ollitrex and Sean from MAD out doing some road training.

th_2009_07_14_01.jpg th_2009_07_14_02.jpg th_2009_07_14_03.jpg th_2009_07_14_04.jpg th_2009_07_14_05.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

looking at bike hike(not sure how accurate it really is), gradient got up to 24% going down there, briefly, but mostly hovered around 10% (the 24% i'd say everyone probably remembers, featured a dog near the end... , there was a 20% too which was about the first right hand corner...which i don't think blorg slowed down for much at all!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

Great spin. Weather turned in our favour for once. Keep at it Trojan,the hills do get easier. Forgot how good the roads are around the reservoir.
    Have to agree ROK ON, those rough sections of road are more suited for going uphill. And of course those compact thingys work.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

@ Godihatethehills...Bohernabreena loop.

Nice short repetitive loop. Climbing on the other side compared to the section we did isn't as bad. Starts with a nice steep section,eases off to a drag,then downhill to meet the bit we did.