Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Barb Wire and Gun Dogs

• 11-07-2009 8:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭

:mad: Was out this afternoon with my 7mth old pup and everything was hunky dory untill he got caught up on a fallen fence of barb wire that got overgrown by long grass. Lucky for us both it got tangled in the hair on his coat and also the fact I dont go anywhere in the field without my leatherman and I keep the knife like a razor.

It happened so quick and at one stage I thought it had punctured him.

Moral of the story, dont go shooting without a pinchers and a sharp knife

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

Ouch.......or nearly ouch!
    Just as well you were equipped with the tools. Nothing worse than being a long way from anywhere and your dog getting an injury.

Many moons ago when I had my first spaniel (well he was mostly spaniel), we were dropping down a ditch and he went first. He gave a yelp when he got to the bottom and when I got down to him, he had ripped the inside of his thigh on his back leg. The rip was about 6" long but it was just the soft flesh and hadn't gone through into the muscle. There wasn't a huge amount of blood but I had to carry him, and the gun back across two fields to the car.

He got caught on an overgrown piece of barbed wire that was across the opening we were crossing. As he slid down the barb obviously cuaght and ripped his leg. Could have been worse, but the vet made a great job of it. He was right as rain again within a couple of weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

:mad: Was out this afternoon with my 7mth old pup and everything was hunky dory untill he got caught up on a fallen fence of barb wire that got overgrown by long grass. Lucky for us both it got tangled in the hair on his coat and also the fact I dont go anywhere in the field without my leatherman and I keep the knife like a razor.

It happened so quick and at one stage I thought it had punctured him.

Moral of the story, dont go shooting without a pinchers and a sharp knife

when i become king after putting a few against the wall ! i would have every bit of barbed wire in the country taken from the land

my old gwp bitch two years ago jumped wire after a bird she got hung up on it ,i had to hold her and unwrap her belly from the wire .it ripped her open . the very same as i tuck a knife to her .
    the vet spent two hours stitching and cutting skin off her .

a hellish experience as i thought i was going to loose her .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

jwshooter wrote: »
    when i become king after putting a few against the wall ! i would have every bit of barbed wire in the country taken from the land

..... you might as well get rid of rusty gates while your at it John, dangerous bastering yokes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

my old gwp bitch two years ago jumped wire after a bird she got hung up on it ,i had to hold her and unwrap her belly from the wire .it ripped her open . the very same as i tuck a knife to her .
    the vet spent two hours stitching and cutting skin off her .

a hellish experience as i thought i was going to loose her .

Jesus. I actually cringed reading that. Wouldn't mind it either, got too many bloody scars from the stuff myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭kakashka

And keeping livestock in the fields,out of the woods,off the roads?
    Lot of deer hung up on it too but what other options?

I'm hunting from the time i was 5 or 6 using a single shot .22 with my ole lad and it was the worst experience i have ever had .

the bitch is one of the best deer dogs in the country and i cant breed her how for luck i have a grand daughter of hers and she is working out well.

it is terrible stuff ,there is no reason for it ,i would love to see it banned.

Fairly sure farmers,NPWS,Coilte wouldnt use if there was no reason for it
    Accidents will happen,hit by a car or caught on wire whatever it may be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭pajero2005

:mad: he got caught up on a fallen fence of barb wire that got overgrown by long grass.
    He got caught on an overgrown piece of barbed wire that was across the opening we were crossing.

kakashka wrote: »
    Fairly sure farmers,NPWS,Coilte wouldnt use if there was no reason for it
    Accidents will happen,hit by a car or caught on wire whatever it may be

To be fair kakashka, its all well and good if you can see it, but its when its over grown with brambles and grass it causes the problems.

yes of course it should not be left lying around,no question about that at all but banning is a little extreme,and to be honest the most damage i've personally seen is usually done on tensioned barb fencing so what can you do?

pajero2005 wrote: »
    To be fair kakashka, its all well and good if you can see it, but its when its over grown with brambles and grass it causes the problems.

there is no call for barbwire .
    most stock are used to fences ,on mountains only sheep inhabit them so no call for it there.

i cant see any situation that it should be used for .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭pajero2005

there is no call for barbwire .
    most stock are used to fences ,on mountains only sheep inhabit them so no call for it there.

i cant see any situation that it should be used for .

Fair point JW. An electric fence will as good a job with the stock and no permanent damage to anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

Had a springer run through a sheep wire fence, one of the strands was bent back and went through his eyelid and in under his eye. It was a race to get to him as he pulled back from it and his eye seemed to be pulling out. For the luck of god his eye was OK and just needed to have his eyelid re stitched.Not a nice experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

pajero2005 wrote: »
    Fair point JW. An electric fence will as good a job with the stock and no permanent damage to anything else.

Seen a pointer that had a tendancy to rush ahead get tangled in an electric fence, took a good five minutes to get up to untangle him. Poor fecker was afraid to go anywhere near a fence for weeks after.

Cattle will eventually push a fence over if no barb on top
    Sheep will eventually push under a fence if no barbe on bottom

Cattle will eventually push a fence over if no barb on top
    Sheep will eventually push under a fence if no barbe on bottom

i have a fence around my property with no B wire on top sheep ,cattle and even goats on the other side i like the goats as they stand on there back legs to trim the ditches .

none have pushed it in yet .

sheep pushing under a fence i seen that happen once but it was in animal farm by Walt Disney or was it babe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

..... you might as well get rid of rusty gates while your at it John, dangerous bastering yokes!

While you are about it.Maybe compulsory instruction for farmers on how to hang the damn things properly.Like with a proper post ,concrete,and correct fittings???Not to mind opening Inwards into the field ,and not onto the road??The Gordian knots ,made from baling twine,rope,old rusty wire,etcI've come across serving as hinges or securing methods has to be seen to be belived!!

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭mac80

My Lab loves the water and was running through a ditch/stream and got himself cut in the thigh with a rusty half barrel that some bastard had dumped in it.
    The vet fixed him up cost €150
    Poor dog didnt know what happened, the vet reckons he was very lucky not to cut the tendons.
    It was a broken gate that was hung at an angle that nearly broke my leg last week, I crossed it and twisted my angle very badly, roared with the pain and thought i broke my leg.
    Only for i had a good pair of hiking boots for support correctly tied up I reckon I would have surely broke it.
    Was on crutches for 4 days and missed 2 days of work.

Mac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

One of them old gates fell on of years ago, heavy yoke's and i was only a chap. Broke the ankle. What about the barbwire thats left in ditches that is that rusty it Feckin blends in wit trees. Am goin around cuttin it all off a old farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

I was out on evening with my GWP when she was a pup and there was some coiled wire that had become uncoiled and was like a big slinky just thrown in the field. The electric fence was on even though there had been no cattle in the field for a couple of months. My pup ran straight into it and got tangled up and it was still live, it was total panic trying to get her out of it and being electrocuted the entire time but she was okay after it. Some fellah s just don't give a $hit what way they leave stuff thrown around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

The one thing i really hate about country is farmers are as lazy.. They don't look after there land at all.. Pallets to block holes in ditches bailing twine to hold up gates, Barbed wire every where and 9 out of ten times is not worth the fook.. There even that lazy most wont even breast the hedges... I can only thin of a hand full of farmers that look after there land.. most don't care less..

The WORST sin in my book is the lazy CNUT who goes stapling barb wire to trees!It does the tree no favours and in some future time some poor sod is going to have to proably drop the tree with a chainsaw.In this case with all the metal ,and wire in the tree a consaw with a steel cutter disc would be more helpful.:mad:.Bad enough in a tree in a hedge it is leathl!Icame off a horse than ran into a hidden "spiderweb" of this crap years ago.On a dog the damage can be bad on a horse terrible.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Are we talking about private or public property here??:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Does it matter that much if the property is private or public ? Throwing lenghts of old fencing wire in a ditch or leaving derelict fencing lying about is still illegal dumping as far as I know. I don't think leaving fences in such a state of repair as that they're dangerous to people passing by or incapable of keeping livestock penned in is entirely legal either. If a fence is dangerous for a gundog it's probably going to be dangerous for a lamb or a calf as well.

Of course a degree of common sense has to apply as well. If a gate or a fence looks like it won't support being climbed it probably will not so don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭westwicklow

I have miles of barbed wire on fences, at least one strand on the top but sometimes, there's two or three strands. It's great for keeping in stock and prolonging the life of the fence, which cost over €10,000 this year alone!!. I even put it on some farm gates to prevent the bulls from pushing right through the gates when scratching against them.

It's function is very deliberate and effective. It's totally laughable to read just how single-mindedly blinkered people's attitudes can be to this wire, as if they had a choice in what fencing we use!!

Mind how you go.... and keep animals under control!!

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    The WORST sin in my book is the lazy CNUT who goes stapling barb wire to trees!It does the tree no favours and in some future time some poor sod is going to have to proably drop the tree with a chainsaw.In this case with all the metal ,and wire in the tree a consaw with a steel cutter disc would be more helpful.:mad:.Bad enough in a tree in a hedge it is leathl!Icame off a horse than ran into a hidden "spiderweb" of this crap years ago.On a dog the damage can be bad on a horse terrible.

Broke a chain on the Husqie that way last autumn. I was lucky the chain brake and the prongs at the base of the blade done their job.

I think everyone is more so on about broken down fences, bits Fecked in ditches etc westwicklow. On the familys land im always gettin caught in rusty bits from years ago that havn been cleared up. Im actually goin around the uncles land collectin it all. His kids are young and got cut by the rusty bits a while ago.

Does it matter that much if the property is private or public ? Throwing lenghts of old fencing wire in a ditch or leaving derelict fencing lying about is still illegal dumping as far as I know. I don't think leaving fences in such a state of repair as that they're dangerous to people passing by or incapable of keeping livestock penned in is entirely legal either. If a fence is dangerous for a gundog it's probably going to be dangerous for a lamb or a calf as well.

Of course a degree of common sense has to apply as well. If a gate or a fence looks like it won't support being climbed it probably will not so don't.
    Well a lot of ppl here depend on farmers for their sport
    Ppl calling them lazy c**ts wont do anyone any good will it??
    Majority of Farmers i know work like slaves

Be carefull on unknown terrain is about all you can do

I have miles of barbed wire on fences, at least one strand on the top but sometimes, there's two or three strands. It's great for keeping in stock and prolonging the life of the fence, which cost over €10,000 this year alone!!. I even put it on some farm gates to prevent the bulls from pushing right through the gates when scratching against them.

It's function is very deliberate and effective. It's totally laughable to read just how single-mindedly blinkered people's attitudes can be to this wire, as if they had a choice in what fencing we use!!

Mind how you go.... and keep animals under control!!

I've no problem with barbed wire at all. What I have a problem with is strands of the stuff lying about the place being a nuisance and a danger only because someone decides it's not worth their while cleaning it up... .

Has anyone ever noticed that it's always the lad with the shoddy fencing, the prematurly battered jeep, the tractor with no lights etc, etc is the one who always has trouble with the livestock, sileage, corn etc etc ? Personally I'm convinced you can read a lot about the standard of farming by the general appearance of the farm.

I've no problem with barbed wire at all. What I have a problem with is strands of the stuff lying about the place being a nuisance and a danger only because someone decides it's not worth their while cleaning it up... .

Has anyone ever noticed that it's always the lad with the shoddy fencing, the prematurly battered jeep, the tractor with no lights etc, etc is the one who always has trouble with the livestock, sileage, corn etc etc ? Personally I'm convinced you can read a lot about the standard of farming by the general appearance of the farm.

Ha ha i can think of two farmers who fit that description not far from me. In fairness most of the farmers around here take care of their place's.

Dusty87 wrote: »
    I think everyone is more so on about broken down fences, bits Fecked in ditches etc westwicklow. On the familys land im always gettin caught in rusty bits from years ago that havn been cleared up. Im actually goin around the uncles land collectin it all. His kids are young and got cut by the rusty bits a while ago.
    Thats more like it,the right idea,do something about it if it affects so much or is so dangerous and earn points in the process

I'd keep away from such a farm then,
    There might be an argument if such a Farmer was recieving payment for shooting otherwise IMHO if it's too dangerous or doesnt suit just stay away

Thats more like it,the right idea,do something about it if it affects so much or is so dangerous and earn points in the process

Well tis our land, not mine directly but uncles, and he too busy. Kids from around the area do play on it regulary and make 'bases' and such, harmless fun. Wouldn want anything to happen them aswel. Just keepin it tidy.

Are we talking about private or public property here??:confused:
    Private,but it is our land and we rent it to local farmers.
    I am perpetually giving out to them about fixing fences with old rope and other unsuitable stuff.Because I replace all the wire with proper posts and fresh wire.They are just too cheap to do it properly,and like everything rented here in Ireland just dont give a FK about it as it isnt theirs.Despite it being in the contract to keep it in "good repair".
    Thats why Iam peed off with people stapling wire to trees.Or having to fix pulled out wire from ratchets that some mad bull has run thru the fence rather than the gate!And it's owner has pointedly ignored while driving by in his 4X4.

If it is somones elses farm,well far be it from me or anyone else to say how they keep their cattle or fences.Until we get injured on them..Or TB invades their farm,or we plow into one animal in the dead of night.

But it isnt a sign of good farming practises,and I cant see how it clears on a REPS inspection to say a hedge has been "laid "and it is full of junk and pallets and wire.Lets face it even if somone who has no right to be on the property,injures themselves on wire or whatever the farmer is responsible if it is gross negligence.

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Private,but it is our land and we rent it to local farmers.
    I am perpetually giving out to them about fixing fences with old rope and other unsuitable stuff.Because I replace all the wire with proper posts and fresh wire.They are just too cheap to do it properly,and like everything rented here in Ireland just dont give a FK about it as it isnt theirs.Despite it being in the contract to keep it in "good repair".
    Thats why Iam peed off with people stapling wire to trees.Or having to fix pulled out wire from ratchets that some mad bull has run thru the fence rather than the gate!And it's owner has pointedly ignored while driving by in his 4X4.

If it is somones elses farm,well far be it from me or anyone else to say how they keep their cattle or fences.Until we get injured on them..Or TB invades their farm,or we plow into one animal in the dead of night.

But it isnt a sign of good farming practises,and I cant see how it clears on a REPS inspection to say a hedge has been "laid "and it is full of junk and pallets and wire.Lets face it even if somone who has no right to be on the property,injures themselves on wire or whatever the farmer is responsible if it is gross negligence.
    I think you need to change tenants!!!being the owner of the land i'm presuming you recieve the REPS payment?in which case you can also be fined if found in breach of REPS contract??
    I would think that unless its a very long rental contract it would not be viable for a farmer to fence/maintain a rented area,i know several farmers in my area that pay nothing except property maintenance.
    Muckers are another matter and exist among all professions IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Couple of things:

I didnt mean to start a war about barb wire, its used in the countryside and therefore myself and my dog will come accross it particulalry old wire (arguments aside) that maybe hidden in over grown areas where I put the dog into to hunt.

We can start an argument about electric fences next as there a nuisance especially those linked to the mains on a step down transformer

I had my dog under control (westwicklow).....I mind how I go and on barb wire fences make him go under not over and where he has to go over drape my fleece or coat over it.:mad:

3. All I was saying is make sure you carry a leatherman or something similiar with you in case:o

And if you do have to cut wire dont forget to tell the landowner or repair properly,barbe wire is necessary IMO so as you said just take care

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭J.R.

I remember reading in the 'Shooting Times' a while ago where a keeper's labrador jumped a barbed wire fence & caught its testicles in it.....ripping them right off.....they tried to get the dog to a vet but it was bleeding profusely and had to be put down when arrived at vet due to excessive blood loss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭foxshooter243

I always found barb wire a pain in the ass when working with a dog, so when training my last springer I decided it was time to remedy the situation, what i did was I trained the dog that on getting to a barbed wire fence he was to drop into the sitting position and wait till i arrived beside him, then i would lay my arm across the barbed wire and on giving the command the dog would jump over my arm thus clearing the fence and in no way contacting the wire, it made crossing the barbed fences mush easier with only myself in danger of lossing my knackers:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭westwicklow

I always found barb wire a pain in the ass when working with a dog, so when training my last springer I decided it was time to remedy the situation, what i did was I trained the dog that on getting to a barbed wire fence he was to drop into the sitting position and wait till i arrived beside him, then i would lay my arm across the barbed wire and on giving the command the dog would jump over my arm thus clearing the fence and in no way contacting the wire, it made crossing the barbed fences mush easier with only myself in danger of lossing my knackers:D

Class operation you've got foxshooter!! Look and learn to everybody else!!!

It's far mare productive to actually take positive action, such as foxshooter did, within your own domain than come on here and whinge about stuff over which one has no control.

Well done foxshooter and mind "the family jewels"!!.

[
    quote=kakashka;61119075]I think you need to change tenants!!!being the owner of the land i'm presuming you recieve the REPS payment?in which case you can also be fined if found in breach of REPS contract??

NOPE! We are landowners,not farmers.So that precludes membership of the REPS club.Thats not to stop the tenent farmer from applying for REPS on our land and pocketing the difference,I would think.I would love to know who some of these REPS inspectors actullly are.How some people get away with "laying " a hedge,by actually using a JCB back bucket to crush it and break it down flat.What was worse it was in the middle of nesting season as well,so double the damage:mad:.Wasnt on our land this,but in the district.If it had been he would have been out on his ear by the evening.
    I would think that unless its a very long rental contract it would not be viable for a farmer to fence/maintain a rented area,

It's in the contract agreement.But what one person calls satisfactory,is another mans shoddyniss.Fresh wire repaired by baling twine.:rolleyes:

i know several farmers in my area that pay nothing except property maintenance.
    Muckers are another matter and exist among all professions IMO[/quote
    ]
    Not tarring all with the same brush here.But we do seem to have an extraordinary amount of them in the farming line in Ireland.