Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rant, yet another car vandalized, do this happen where you live?

• 11-07-2009 2:23am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭

Live in a nice estate in a pretty good area of Dublin.
    Just unfortunate for me that our estate is surrounded by other estates in an areas of ill repute.
    And since I'm not from Dublin it's not for me to judge areas but even I can't ignore our estate being used as a shortcut for the local scum.

Car robberies, motorbikes being vandalized (yep, mine :mad:) and burglaries, if I haven't seen it that I get letters from the mgmt company or hear it from the neightbours.

Awoke at 02:57, heard a almightly noise.
    Looked outside and saw the local kids giving out to one in their group for smashing a car window. Jesus, I know their faces and voices well at this stage but not their names
    Called the gardai, that 25 minutes ago but it's Saturday night so they're probably busy.
    Yet if I went out with my hurley and gave a few belts it'd be me in court.....

My neighbor is gonna awake to a smashed car window.

Does this sort of craic go on where you live?
    Maybe this is more of a ranting thread, be interested to see am I alone in this sort of messing :(

So boardies, do you live in an estate and have found a solution to this?
    Or do you live in a great area and never put up with this?

Mods, possibly for Ranting and Raving forum, apologies if in the incorrect forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Thats shítty, but i suspect there's not many estates in any city that dont have some level of crime or anti-social behavior. An estate my friend lives in set up a small CCTV network (residents all paid, it was cheap enough, think €50 each), they videoed some kids breaking into an empty house, got the garda involved and since then the little feckers stayed away from the area, plenty of other areas to mess in, so it worked well for them.

p.s. i live in the middle of the countryside, i worry about sheep getting into the garden and eating the clothes off the line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I live in the country side i don't even lock my car doors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Regularly enough. Better not touch mine. Cnut i won't sleep a wink tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I miss the countryside, sleeping with the windows open was my favourite thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

If its happening to all the neighbours, go around and talk to them. I'm sure they are as pissed off as you. Set up a neighbourhood watch sort of thing (they do work), exchange numbers when someone see the scum a quick ring round and you all confront them together.
    It wont be long before they **** off.

super-rush wrote: »
    I miss the countryside, sleeping with the windows open was my favourite thing.

even in the country its not safe buts habbit....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

I used to live in an appartment at the back of the moyross area, not in there just next to it. There was alot of houses/cars with broken windows, things set on fire, some fights and random horses/ponys wandering around. Not in the appartment place it had a huge fence with grease on the top(impossible to climb over) but there was a decent housing estate that wasn't as protected. They used to use the housing estate as a short cut to the shop.

But anyway, one night I hear alot of shouting, and look out the window. A group of scumbags were VERY annoyed at some students living in another appartment. The students took a relaxed approach to the situation, pissing off the scumbags even more. One of the scumbags even ripped off his football jersy, I couldn't let this oppertunity go by. I had a fairly decent camera and took pictures, after a while one of the scumbag women noticed the flash and ran up to the guys to tell them. The guy with the shirt off, grabbed his shirt and threw it over his head and looked just like those people that come out of court(either preporation or his done it before). They disappeared and I never saw them around there again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I live in a nice suburb of Wellington in NZ. Our car got vandalised a few months ago - all the windows got smashed in. It happens fairly regularly on Friday and Saturday nights when people have been out drinking. Wellington is weird because its very hilly and lots of people live up on a hill and park their cars on the road below - i.e. you can't drive up to your house. We have to be careful where we leave the car on Friday and Saturday nights.

It happens everywhere, Im afraid - not just in Dublin or even Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

You should, it's pretty silly not to.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

With the exception of an attempted smash-and-grab of the car radio when I had left the car unattended in a long-term lot for three months, no, I can't say it does much in California.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

At least the other kids were remonstrating. You must live in a really nice area. It tends to happen in areas where kids have no respect for their parents' wrath or reputations. You should have brandished the hurley. "If I catch ye in that woman's garden again and I swear I'll cut the legs off ye".

Long live the GAA.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    You should, it's pretty silly not to.

true for of habbit I guess:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Reindeer

With the exception of an attempted smash-and-grab of the car radio when I had left the car unattended in a long-term lot for three months, no, I can't say it does much in California.

NTM

So long as it's not Oakland or much of LA. Where I am from, running around at night and causing trouble can get you shot. Fair nuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

In my old - respectable enough - neighbourhood, there'd be something new smashed on my scooter about once a week.

Moved to a proper craphole now, and nobody's touched the thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

My girlfriend not only forgot to lock my car, she also left the door wide open overnight - nothing happened. Galway subs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

One of my neighbours left all the windows down in his car overnight to air it out. It was still there in the morning. You'd be hard pressed to get your car or bike robbed or vandalised here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I wouldn't leave anything unlocked anywhere. I know someone living in the countryside that had all ther central heating oil drained from their tank over night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

mikemac wrote: »
    There's no such thing. :p

The only reason I lock my car doors is to stop people sleeping in my car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭uprising

it happens a lot around here in finglas, I had my van and all my tools stolen, over 10K worth of tools (not insured) a few months ago.
    Although I was very lucky last week, i had my camera, Canon 1Ds , and brand new Dell XPS laptop on the passenger seat while I was out, on the way home at about 9pm I called into a friend who lives in one of the worst areas of finglas for a minute, ended up being there for over an hour, left and got into my car, then I realised I'd left the passenger window down, my equipment was still there, lucky!.
    Although OP I'd have cracked the cnuts head with the hurley or whatever protection equipment I had at my disposal.
    An other friend had his car vandalised and caught the cnut bending his door, he ran out with a baseball bat and cracked him over the skull, then a gang of wannabe gangsters came down to smash his house up, till a phone call was made and a car pulled up and let rip with a shotgun in their direction, a few got pellet wounds, no more vandalism and the cnut was down apologising a few days later saying he was drunk and sorry, no hassle since. Police wouldnt have bothered coming if they were called and his house would have been smashed up totally only for the rough justice they recieved, different courses for different horses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

uprising: nice :cool:

=-=

Apart from people taking windscreen wipers, there's not much damage done in the estates near me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Looked outside and saw the local kids giving out to one in their group for smashing a car window. Jesus, I know their faces and voices well at this stage but not their names
    Called the gardai, that 25 minutes ago but it's Saturday night so they're probably busy.

Maybe this is more of a ranting thread, be interested to see am I alone in this sort of messing :(

Any news?
    Yes, move away from everyone else. If the nearest shop is any less than a 10-15 minute drive from my place I'm on the move. I don't really like living near a lot of people. Either your property gets vandalised, or you have to put up with some shyte or other off your neighbours.

People are ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

watna wrote: »
    I live in a nice suburb of Wellington in NZ. Our car got vandalised a few months ago - all the windows got smashed in. It happens fairly regularly on Friday and Saturday nights when people have been out drinking. Wellington is weird because its very hilly and lots of people live up on a hill and park their cars on the road below - i.e. you can't drive up to your house. We have to be careful where we leave the car on Friday and Saturday nights.

It happens everywhere, Im afraid - not just in Dublin or even Ireland.
    No. You lie. It only happens in Ireland.

I live in a nice and quiet council estate.
    106 houses and ~10 burglaries in 34 years. Most of the burglaries have happened over the past 18 months. A new generation of heroin addicts brings that.

Next door was broken into last week and they stole a van which was packed with tools. All they took from the house was the keys to the van and €7 my neighbour had left out for her daghter to pay for a taxi.

I left my keys in the ignition of my car one night. Left the windows open. Tools in the back and it was still there the next morning. That was years ago though. There were no junkies in the estate back then.

I wouldn't leave anything unlocked anywhere. I know someone living in the countryside that had all ther central heating oil drained from their tank over night.

ye it happens but did they have a 52 kilo rotwiler crossed boxer ? who's out side at night ?

We do :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Westwood

Magnus wrote: »
    My girlfriend not only forgot to lock my car, she also left the door wide open overnight - nothing happened. Galway subs.
    people are not trying your door handles everynight :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭Niall Keane

This crap kills me, as a pro kickboxer I know I could kick seven shades of siht out of 10 of the little bstrds, but I also know that being the scared little sihts they are, they’d wait until I was at work to get revenge on my house.
    I've often considered a pink batman uniform, what scumbag would report being assaulted by a pink batman? Would they even tell their mates? What do you think guys?
    Perhaps others could also take up the mantle, so it appeared The Pink Batman was everywhere? Or arrived in numbers to trash the scummer’s house at 4am?
    Could be like Keyser Soze, a spook story to scare would be scumbags.
    Ah…..if only!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Parser

Countryside rocks.

Garage door wide open all the time,
    House unlocked all night,
    Car unlocked with key thrown on front seat.

The only threat we have is travellers snooping around if they call down to sell gates and nobody is home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

This crap kills me, as a pro kickboxer I know I could kick seven shades of siht out of 10 of the little bstrds, but I also know that being the scared little sihts they are, they’d wait until I was at work to get revenge on my house.
    I've often considered a pink batman uniform, what scumbag would report being assaulted by a pink batman? Would they even tell their mates? What do you think guys?
    Perhaps others could also take up the mantle, so it appeared The Pink Batman was everywhere? Or arrived in numbers to trash the scummer’s house at 4am?
    Could be like Keyser Soze, a spook story to scare would be scumbags.
    Ah…..if only!

I love how people who have these batman fantasies keep forgetting that batman traditionally, is a great believer in things like due process, and the justice system, and not things like just turning up at 4am to trash someones house because it makes them feel like a big man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

I live on the outskirts of Kilkenny city, and while there isn’t a major problem, we’re not immune to the odd broken wing mirror or kick/scratch of a car by some little thug. It’s mostly just the odd random drunken act though, and we haven’t had anything happen to our cars/garage in a few years.

I’d never leave anything unlocked no matter where I lived, I wouldn’t be able to sleep :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

I live in a nice enough estate, quiet mostly.

Last year, went out to my car one morning and noticed the paintwork destroyed (company car:o), my OH's jeep was the same.. Every panel on both vehicles ruined. Thousands of euro worth of damage.
    Acid had been randomly thrown over different vehicles in the estate.

Little fuckers were never caught either..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 jarhead20

Just unfortunate for me that our estate is surrounded by other estates in an areas of ill repute.
    And since I'm not from Dublin it's not for me to judge areas but even I can't ignore our estate being used as a shortcut for the local scum.

Car robberies, motorbikes being vandalized (yep, mine :mad:) and burglaries, if I haven't seen it that I get letters from the mgmt company or hear it from the neightbours.

Or do you live in a great area and never put up with this?

Mods, possibly for Ranting and Raving forum, apologies if in the incorrect forum

i actually live in tallaght born and raised ,dont mind the gards dont get them involved youl just get your house or car smashed up and maybe hopped on leaving your house or god knows what damged or burned, you never know who there fathers/uncles are,if it has nothing to do with you or your property keep out of it,sticking your nose were its not wanted will get you trouble,if its your property go out with the hurley if they know your not a softy,theyll all say (**** that boys that chap with the hurley lives up there not goin up there) the gards will get you into more trouble if its only something small, and if theres drug dealers in your area they will think your a (rat).be bigger than the scumbags dont let them torment you,go out and give them a hiding and dont be afraid,then theyll leave it alone ,but theres just some scumbags that wont give up no matter whos involved the gards anyone,dont get the gards unless you have evidence or the person that did it held until they come ,the gards wont do nothing for you as there sick of these type of calls sort it yourself,or move to a better area,dublins a ****hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

lost a couple of wing mirrors and antennas to drunk f*ckwits.
    Oh, and caught a little fecker peeing against a car parked outside.

One night, ALL the wing mirrors of all cars parked down the entire street were kicked off. That was lovely.

Lordofcheese:
    I love how people who have these batman fantasies keep forgetting that batman traditionally, is a great believer in things like due process, and the justice system, and not things like just turning up at 4am to trash someones house because it makes them feel like a big man.

So you guys in Dalkey still believe in due process and justice, well I guess you would, after all you do own the biggest gang in the world, what's their response time round there 15-20......seconds? Given that Uncle Timothy is the judge and all, I guess noone gets away with smashing your jag?

jarhead20:
    i actually live in tallaght born and raised ,dont mind the gards dont get them involved youl just get your house or car smashed up and maybe hopped on leaving your house or god knows what damged or burned, you never know who there fathers/uncles are,if it has nothing to do with you or your property keep out of it,sticking your nose were its not wanted will get you trouble,if its your property go out with the hurley if they know your not a softy,theyll all say (**** that boys that chap with the hurley lives up there not goin up there) the gards will get you into more trouble if its only something small, and if theres drug dealers in your area they will think your a (rat).be bigger than the scumbags dont let them torment you,go out and give them a hiding and dont be afraid,then theyll leave it alone ,but theres just some scumbags that wont give up no matter whos involved the gards anyone,dont get the gards unless you have evidence or the person that did it held until they come ,the gards wont do nothing for you as there sick of these type of calls sort it yourself,or move to a better area,dublins a ****hole

Still think Pink Batman is a runner!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Lordofcheese:
    So you guys in Dalkey still believe in due process and justice, well I guess you would, after all you do own the biggest gang in the world, what's their response time round there 15-20......seconds? Given that Uncle Timothy is the judge and all, I guess noone gets away with smashing your jag?

heh, nice try kid, but don't wear yourself out with all that furious strawmaning though, you'll need all that energy for your next bout of limp rage.

And just to stop you having another bout of petulant whine, wanting to be batman so you can just beat the shit out of people that scare you with impunity is kind of like wanting to be be a surgeon just so you can cut people.

In otherwords you're missing the point, entirely.

And just to stop you having another bout of petulant whine, wanting to be batman so you can just beat the **** out of people that scare you with impunity is kind of like wanting to be be a surgeon just so you can cut people.

seems to me from reading some posts here, from people who actually suffer this crap, it’s the impunity enjoyed by the scummers from any consequences, and the protection afforded to them, and exploited by them, from laws designed to create a harmonious society that really scares people from protecting or in some cases even daring to request protection for their own persons and property?

Basically, as other posters have mentioned, should you actively protect your property by confronting these assholes, you’ll find your car or windows destroyed when you are in bed, or not in. If you knock the **** out of them, they will bring charges against you.
    It’s like the cctv on Dublin Bus, it has saved the facial features of many a scumbag, and they actually think that they have managed to intimidate people! Law abiding citizens imo are more afraid of the consequences of their actions than the scummers, but the scummers I feel think that it is their “prowess”, all 60kg of it, that commands respect, and so they are further encouraged down this rewarded pathway. Perhaps one might consider that it is one’s civic duty to help in the personal development of these misshapen individuals by enlightening them regarding the error of their ways. Otherwise are we not complicit in reinforcing their delusion?

Also one could consider that Laws and Regulations should only be respected when they protect us and the wider society and promote a harmonious co-existence, when they are used to oppress us and protect our oppressors, they are merely tyrannical instruments of the state and it might be considered that a true democrat is duty bound to at the very least ignore them?

"V"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Bill-e

Some prick kicked off my wing mirror 2 nights ago. I'm gunna vigil anti on these moe foes

Bill-e,

I have the suits ordered!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

My family live in blanch, and this happens a lot there. I now live in blackrock, and this doesn't happen here to my knowledge, usually you only get gangs of posh teenagers kicking other lads to death and going crying to their teachers.

Here it is:

Lordofcheese:

jarhead20:

Still think Pink Batman is a runner!

dont get it?

yeah,,and were abouts would this be?