Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neighbourly Advice...

• 10-07-2009 4:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭

Hello,

I live in a quiet end of my estate that leads to a cul-de-sac. There are lots of young kids in our area, including my own, and generally everyone takes it easy in their cars; except for the usual out of towners that need to speedily try and get in and out of the place to make deliveries etc and do not have to worry about crapping on their own doorstep.

Anyway, there is this one house right at the end of the road and they (husband and wife) insist on trying to get 0-60 along the road before the first bend. I do not know them and neither does my neighbour, who has lived here far longer than me, but both of us agree something needs to be said.

One of their motors is a big merc jeep that would do damage to a child and also would have limited visibility of one coming off the path etc. I can hear them come around the corner and up the road as one is an AMG and it has that distinctive hum and they always want to get the last few thousand RPM out of it before pulling in home.

So.. what would ye advise? Should I ask the Guards to have a word, an anonymous letter, or just front up and ask them nicely to ease it up a little?

I know others feel the same as me about this but I am a bit peeved at this stage and want something said.

Thanks for any advice.

Paddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Definately say something, I had neighbours like this and nothing was said...then one day he knocked down my little brother, thankfully he was fine but I can assure you something was said then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

Hello,

I live in a quiet end of my estate that leads to a cul-de-sac. There are lots of young kids in our area, including my own, and generally everyone takes it easy in their cars; except for the usual out of towners that need to speedily try and get in and out of the place to make deliveries etc and do not have to worry about crapping on their own doorstep.

Anyway, there is this one house right at the end of the road and they (husband and wife) insist on trying to get 0-60 along the road before the first bend. I do not know them and neither does my neighbour, who has lived here far longer than me, but both of us agree something needs to be said.

One of their motors is a big merc jeep that would do damage to a child and also would have limited visibility of one coming off the path etc. I can hear them come around the corner and up the road as one is an AMG and it has that distinctive hum and they always want to get the last few thousand RPM out of it before pulling in home.

So.. what would ye advise? Should I ask the Guards to have a word, an anonymous letter, or just front up and ask them nicely to ease it up a little?

I know others feel the same as me about this but I am a bit peeved at this stage and want something said.

Thanks for any advice.

Paddy

I would definitely say something before some is seriously injured or hurt but be prepared for there response when you question there driving skills :).

What i would recommend though is getting on your Local council TD about getting Speed Ramps in and that will slow majority of cars. We had a similar problem where i live, its stopped some of it but you still get the odd idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I'd start off by trying to speak nicely to them, but don't be surprised (or allow yourself to react in kind) if they take it badly. If that doesn't work, i'd take it to the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭Victor_M

A polite note on the windscreen wiper informing them that is unacceptable speed and has been noticed by all of the neighbours will probably suffice unless they are assholes, in which case stand out in front of them (obviously safely) next time you see them charging in and say it to them, i have used both approaches where I live, the note was effective in one instance and was ignored in the second so i had extremly stern words with the speeder, whoo hasn't caused any trouble since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Victor_M wrote: »
    A polite note on the windscreen wiper informing them that is unacceptable speed and has been noticed by all of the neighbours will probably suffice

I'd try the note too. It would allow the speeding neighbours to save face and avoid any (unpleasant) confrontation. If they ignore it, think about the next step.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

I was going to +1 the quiet word approach but regardless of how diplomatic you think you can be, the note under the wiper is less confrontational. I'd keep an eye out and try and watch them find it and read it, then if they choose to ignore it you don't really have to worry about diplomacy any more. You can talk to them face to face and tell them the Gardaí will be your next port of call.

After that, maybe try some speed eggs? Anytime you hear them come roaring in to the estate you take one of your speed eggs from the hall table and plant it on their side window as they pass :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

milltown wrote: »
    After that, maybe try some speed eggs? Anytime you hear them come roaring in to the estate you take one of your speed eggs from the hall table and plant it on their side window as they pass :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭Bee

Vanbis wrote: »
    I would definitely say something before some is seriously injured or hurt but be prepared for there response when you question there driving skills :).

Some times a polite request is all taht is required

What i would recommend though is getting on your Local council TD about getting Speed Ramps in and that will slow majority of cars. We had a similar problem where i live, its stopped some of it but you still get the odd idiot.

Speed ramps do nought to reduce speed for idiots who want to speed, they will accelerate between ramps and worse any hard breaking on a speed ramp puts a vehicle dangerously out of control due to severe uneven traction created by the ramp

You will have a worse problem than what you began with.

Folks forget ramps slow down emergency vehicles, Fire Brigades etc, there are good figures that show an increased death rate amongst heart attack victims due to a proliferation of ramps e.g. in the U.K. Bee junior is a para-medic who rarely lets his job get him down, he told me of a nightmare scenario trying to get a "line" into person with severe injuries whilst going over ramps in an estate...say no more

The so called "Traffic engineers" unprofessional fools that they are, never take these things into account ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Thanks for all the comments.

Some days I am fit to just follow them around and have words and then I think there is a more subtle way. My neighbour tells me that some years back they rolled an oul kids bike out in front of a regular speeder... needless to say that person never sped up the road again!

I think the note might be best but just need to be sure I don't get rumbled as it would make me look like a chicken then. If it does not work then I will know I really am dealing with a brazen bunch and will get tougher on it.

I live at the back of the estate and so this is an isolated issue but I know it is a common issue for people at the front as there is a long curving stretch down a hill at the front and some known offenders just open it up as they come in.

Will choose my time and go with the note and then observe from there. The note will pull no punches and make it very clear that this is not just coming from me, and that many others feel the same. Will take it from there and see what happens.

Paddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Will choose my time and go with the note and then observe from there. The note will pull no punches and make it very clear that this is not just coming from me, and that many others feel the same. Will take it from there and see what happens.

Paddy

Go for it Paddy and get back to us here on this thread with any updates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

Residents Association. Eventually you'll get 90% of the residents involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭DUBLINHITMAN

just knock in and say the garda were up during the day wanting to know is there a AMG merc in the estate '
    and that someone has reported them so just go a bit slower ,
    say that the garda were just coming up to give a verbal warning and knocked in to your house and a few others ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

Hello,

Thanks for any advice.

Paddy
    Jesus a jeep would damage a house at this speed never mind a child, you really need to stop them doing this. How about a home made speed bump:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

you defo need to go up and say something, keep it civil and don't get drawn into a rowwing match....

much better than garda or annoymous letter, quiet word in ear first, then a much more stronger worded approach if the behaviour continues, then garda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

+1 On the windscreen note

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,756 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

send them a polite letter with all neighbours signatures on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

I reckon the note on the window screen might do the trick.

Thats if they have any brains! Good luck, hope you get them

to slow down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭su_dios

Note would be the best option as to avoid any backlash. However, it may also be a good idea to have a word with your kids to watch out for this car just incase.

I grew up on a main road so I was never out playing on the road or footpath, but I do find it pretty bad to see parents letting kids out playing on roads in between parked cars. A ball rolls passed them, they'll run after it..they won't look out on the road. Unfortunately no matter what speed the driver is going..there is always going to be a big risk here. Different story in a cul-de-sac I suppose, but a road is a road and kids need to be educated about the dangers a lot more than they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭~me~

su_dios wrote: »
    Note would be the best option as to avoid any backlash. However, it may also be a good idea to have a word with your kids to watch out for this car just incase.

I grew up on a main road so I was never out playing on the road or footpath, but I do find it pretty bad to see parents letting kids out playing on roads in between parked cars. A ball rolls passed them, they'll run after it..they won't look out on the road. Unfortunately no matter what speed the driver is going..there is always going to be a big risk here. Different story in a cul-de-sac I suppose, but a road is a road and kids need to be educated about the dangers a lot more than they are.

yep i have to say that alot of parents (not saying you) give out about cars speeding and the like but then i see their kids hanging about on the road, throwing balls over cars, kicking balls at buses, not moving out of the way when a car does come and just generally being little maggots! so have a word with your kids about road safety and more importantly to say something to their friends if they are like the eejits in my estate! you also dont want it biting you in the ass if you say stop speeding and he tells you that your kids group of friends are equally dangerous!