Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this suitable for Ballyhoura trails?

• 10-07-2009 4:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭

Hello,

New here. Dont bite ;) (Is there a MTB section, cannot find one?)

Have this

http://www.kellys-bicycles.com/index.php?module=catalog&cPath=1_213_220&pID=15415

I am planning on going onto Ballyhoura Trails in Limerick. I know my cross tyres are not suitable.

I have other tyres ordered in local shop and picking up hitch carrier the same day.

Will I get away with it with this bike?

I would like to have changed my wheels, because they are 700c(or something) and MTB wheels are smaller. Will this mean my wheel would not then line up with the brakes/frame? V-Brakes BTW.

There is a local company renting Specialised for €40 a day but I will be damned If I am paying money when I have a bike that might do just fine.

Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Berty wrote: »
    Hello,

New here. Dont bite ;) (Is there a MTB section, cannot find one?)

Have this

http://www.kellys-bicycles.com/index.php?module=catalog&cPath=1_213_220&pID=15415

I am planning on going onto Ballyhoura Trails in Limerick. I know my cross tyres are not suitable.

I have other tyres ordered in local shop and picking up hitch carrier the same day.

Will I get away with it with this bike?

I would like to have changed my wheels, because they are 700c(or something) and MTB wheels are smaller. Will this mean my wheel would not then line up with the brakes/frame? V-Brakes BTW.

There is a local company renting Specialised for €40 a day but I will be damned If I am paying money when I have a bike that might do just fine.

Thanks in advance.

Its not going to be ideal:(

The cheapest option would be to rent the bike for e40.

By the time you buy a bike carrier, tyres etc it will cost you more than e40.

The hybrid isnt going to be suitable, expect terrible grip, not being able to keep up with the MTB, spills and damage.:(

Youl have a better time on the specialized IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

Ballyhoura is very easy, there are no drops, rock gardens or anything scary. The only thing you'll need grip for is the boardwalks. I don't think you'd have a problem with decent tyres on the hybrid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

kona wrote: »
    Its not going to be ideal:(

The cheapest option would be to rent the bike for e40.

By the time you buy a bike carrier, tyres etc it will cost you more than e40.

The hybrid isnt going to be suitable, expect terrible grip, not being able to keep up with the MTB, spills and damage.:(

Youl have a better time on the specialized IMO.

Ah but. Imagine making 4 vists to Ballyhoura or Keeper Hill(Tipperary version). €160 or €40 for pair of tyres of €55 for a tow bar rack for the car.

I can see better value being made from doing a DIY on the bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

Gavin wrote: »
    Ballyhoura is very easy, there are no drops, rock gardens or anything scary. The only thing you'll need grip for is the boardwalks. I don't think you'd have a problem with decent tyres on the hybrid.

Second that, your bike is fine for Ballyhoura. Particularly the Green and Brown loops, not sure about the white one though but you could give it a go.

As for the wheel size there is nothing wrong with a 28" wheel and there are now a lot of mountain bikers using 29" wheels.

Enjoy Ballyhoura....

Second that, your bike is fine for Ballyhoura. Particularly the Green and Brown loops, not sure about the white one though but you could give it a go.

Its the white one we are going to use.Maybe I will hire the bike for the first time and judge for myself maybe for future reference.

There is no sense getting way back from the rest of the group if the terrain is not suitable.

Its the white one we are going to use.Maybe I will hire the bike for the first time and judge for myself maybe for future reference.

There is no sense getting way back from the rest of the group if the terrain is not suitable.

Its up to you but I'd give it a go, with the bigger wheels it'll be easier to climb over the obstacles and the hybrid should be easier to push up the hills. There is nothing too servere on the white track and no jumps or anything like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭hillclimber

You should have no trouble on that bike provided you have decent tyres on it.
    Enjoy your spin:)

That bike will do you grand out there,the trails are fairly simple and to be honest there's no difference in difficulty between the green,brown and white loops.It's all straight forward.As for Keeper, make sure you have good tyres for that.The fireroad section is grand but the final climb to the top will test you.The descent is well worth it though,properly loose and technical :)

As for Keeper, make sure you have good tyres for that.The fireroad section is grand but the final climb to the top will test you.The descent is well worth it though,properly loose and technical :)

Keeper hill - The one I refer to it the one outside of Newport in Co Tipperary. The red route to the top is ok up to around 2/3 of the way then it is impossible. I walk this route often enough.

I plan on doing this cycle fairly soon. The way down will definately be bug eating territory.

Berty, here are the reasons why IMO your bike isnt suitable, Im a bike mechanic and unlike alot of the posters here who are more into the road side of things I actually MTB regular.

The main issue with your bike isnt the diameter of the wheels its the width, The past few weeks have been fairly wet, the trails are going to be wet.

Your 35 or 38c tyres will just spin in the wet, this will make you shift to a lower gear and so you wont get much speed.

The Geometry on a hybrid IMO will make it a pain in the hole off road, the bike is a road bike, thats where it belongs.

If your going with mates, Its not very nice bringing up the rear of a group and them having to constantley wait on you.

When your wheels buckle or you get a problem with the bike you have two choices
    A) fix it on the trail(not always possible)
    B)Walk back.
    *yes I know the applies to MTB too, BUT its more likely to happen on a bike not designed for it. e.g Hybrid.

Now as somebody said ballyhoura isnt too hard, and can be used on a hybrid. I think thats a pretty mental statement, I havnt been there but a purpose built trail centre isnt going to be one long slow straight singletrack:rolleyes:

So to sum up,

Yes you can use the hybrid.

I wouldnt because of the issues above, also, if your making the effort to do this , id reccomend doing it properly, as opposed to doing it half arsed, damaging your bike, getting pissed off and never doing it again. MTB is great craic, you not going to have the best experience on a hybrid IMO.

You can pick up a decent or even new MTB capable for a beginner on trails aroung e350 these days. Rent the MTB for e40 see how you like it and go from there, otherwise you wont be able to properly experince and decide weather you liek it or not.

Jesus I can just Imagine the light brigade charging in if I said a MTB was good for the W200

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Berty,

Sure, you could get a mountain bike. But then you'd never know what it was like on your hybrid. And that's like leaving your wife to go to a swingers party because you thought she might not be into it. You owe it to your bike to find out whether it's up to the job. It's even got suspension! It's crying out to go offroad!

What's the worst that could happen? OK, not that. Put aside the "tree branch through the jugular" eventuality. In all probability, you might just be a bit slow, fall off a few more times, and bleed a little bit.

It'll be great craic. I speak from experience. Do it.

Lumen wrote: »
    Berty,

Sure, you could get a mountain bike. But then you'd never know what it was like on your hybrid. And that's like leaving your wife to go to a swingers party because you thought she might not be into it. You owe it to your bike to find out whether it's up to the job. It's even got suspension! It's crying out to go offroad!

What's the worst that could happen? OK, not that. Put aside the "tree branch through the jugular" eventuality. In all probability, you might just be a bit slow, fall off a few more times, and bleed a little bit.

Erm, not to go off topic:p but,

Why the **** would you bring your wife to a swingers party?

Just go yerself:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Hi OP and welcome.

Yes your bike is suitable, just as it for road use, but if you were planning on doing a road cycle for 4-5 hours and could rent a very good road bike for €40 what would you do?

I agree with everything Kona said but I'd like to add one or two bits.
    • If you are doing the white trail you will need to bring spare brake pads with you. You will wear out at least one set or at very least need to adjust them. *edit* tbh if its wet your brakes wont really work at all......
    • Your front shock is not built for hard off road, if you push it too hard it will let you down and you will crash. Ballyhoura isnt a down hill course but stop treating it with respect and you will wipe out.
    • You will buckle at least your front wheel
    • If you dont mind taking it easy then the bike will be fine but check in with the bike before the big descents, there is nothing worse that belting down the trail at 30mph and thinking... whats that rattle????
    In short if your doing this as a once off book a bike, if youll be doing it again why not try your own, when you do get a proper mtb youll appreciate the difference.

ENJOY:D

Should point out.

Im far too poor to afford another bike. I bought this bike and could barely afford it but has grown ill of the dangerous roads in my area for cycling so without the expense of affording a new MTB I will need to make do with my current bike and make some adaptations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Lumen wrote: »
    In all probability, you might just be a bit slow, fall off a few more times, and bleed a little bit.

Indeed, there could be blood...
    th_01.jpg th_14.jpg

No harm giving it a go once but TBH I would tend towards Kona's view that a MTB would be preferable. I have poor bike control skills mind and need all the help I can get so you may fare better.

The white route is quite long and tiring. If your not used to cycling bring plenty of fig rolls, bananas, energy drink and water. As well as spare tubes, brake pads, water proof top, some kinda plaster or tcp etc incase of falls. You'll be a bit away from help so bring your mobile and ffs have a helmet and gloves... Just checking you are going with others? Have they done it before?

th_01.jpg th_14.jpg

LOL

When was this? Why was the bike not confiscated???:D

Should point out.

Im far too poor to afford another bike. I bought this bike and could barely afford it but has grown ill of the dangerous roads in my area for cycling so without the expense of affording a new MTB I will need to make do with my current bike and make some adaptations.

From experience, e40 will be alot less than the potential repair cost of your bike:o

Id try trade the Hybrid in against a suitable mtb(real one not a bso, bso= sub e300 bikes) will cost your perhaps another e100 for a 2nd hand MTB.

who owns the kikapu in the pic there blorg, looks nice .

Just checking you are going with others? Have they done it before?

Yes 4 others. None of us have done it before.

We are all used to falling though as we go hill walking / mountain climbing a lot. I have fallen 20 feet down the side of Carrauntohill mountain, landed on some rocks right in front of around 20 German tourists(around 800mtrs up) and p*ssed myself laughing after saying "Guten Tag". :D:D :rolleyes:

A few spills and thrills will be nothing. I has been around 9 years since I last was on a trail or MTB.

Bad accident in Cratloe woods, Clare. Came down very dangerous downhill section and realised some damned farmer parked a rusty tractor at the end so tried to cut through the brush and ramp over the tractor. I didnt make it, back wheel caught roof and flipped me over and slammed to the floor. Broke enough bones to keep me away for awhile.

Yes 4 others. None of us have done it before.

We are all used to falling though as we go hill walking / mountain climbing a lot. I have fallen 20 feet down the side of Carrauntohill mountain, landed on some rocks right in front of around 20 German tourists(around 800mtrs up) and p*ssed myself laughing after saying "Guten Tag". :D:D :rolleyes:

A few spills and thrills will be nothing. I has been around 9 years since I last was on a trail or MTB.

Bad accident in Cratloe woods, Clare. Came down very dangerous downhill section and realised some damned farmer parked a rusty tractor at the end so tried to cut through the brush and ramp over the tractor. I didnt make it, back wheel caught roof and flipped me over and slammed to the floor. Broke enough bones to keep me away for awhile.

jaysus:eek:

damn farmers!

Look on park tools to get a idea of basic repairs such as punctures, brakes, chains it will be handy.

Also try to keep the chain in high gears, like 3 on the front and 1-4 on the back, It shouldnt be done all the time, but on a trail it helps stop the chain jumping off on a bike with no chain device.

who owns the kikapu in the pic there blorg, looks nice .
    TinyExplosions on the kikapu, Lumen is the crazy guy on the cross bike (we warned him.) I was not quite so nuts and was on a Focus hardtail which got good use when the weather was bad but not so much since the road is good again, I mean to get back to it honest :)

th_focus_raven_snow.jpg

blorg wrote: »
    TinyExplosions on the kikapu, Lumen is the crazy guy on the cross bike (we warned him.) I was not quite so nuts and was on a Focus hardtail which got good use when the weather was bad but not so much since the road is good again, I mean to get back to it honest :)

th_focus_raven_snow.jpg

Focus looks sweet:D ya cant beat a bit of riding in the snow:D although when its actually snowing its not the best:(

Ha ye lumen looks like hes been in the wars:pac:

Yes, well I am a roadie through and through and so I wasn't going to accept that conditions were too bad to cycle my normal route through Wicklow. In fairness Lumen came out on the snow spins and his cross bike did OK on those, just not so great off road. Gavin heading up Lugalla (technically "on road"):

2009-02-07_01.jpg?t=1247264180

More here, it was a great winter for the week we had it.

Sweet, great pics....

@ Blorg, do you steal bikes or simply not spend any money on anything else other than cycling? You have some collection:D

Sweet, great pics....

@ Blorg, do you steal bikes or simply not spend any money on anything else other than cycling? You have some collection:D

Ive 6 bikes and a frame under my bed:D

Your not a REAL cyclist till you have at least four bikes, of which all have to be 500+:p:pac::D(or just a sad bastard)

LOL, I only have the two (but I have a car and a small camper too:D)

I have two bikes that I want to fix up as tourers for my gf and myself. Is it possible to restore the crome on forks? how do you fix rust spots on a frame that really is ok? (I should prob start a new thread)

Keeper hill - The one I refer to it the one outside of Newport in Co Tipperary. The red route to the top is ok up to around 2/3 of the way then it is impossible. I walk this route often enough.

The top 1/3 to the summit is very possible on a mountain bike,I've done it a couple of times.It's tough alright but it can all be cycled.It's much easier going back down it :p Try it next time you're up there,you'll be surprised at what you can get over on a mountain bike.

Unlucky there,that sounds pretty bad :( Whereabouts in Cratloe did that happen?
    Indeed, there could be blood...
    th_01.jpg th_14.jpg

No harm giving it a go once but TBH I would tend towards Kona's view that a MTB would be preferable. I have poor bike control skills mind and need all the help I can get so you may fare better.

Whoever got around on that thing,fair play!That's some achievement in it's own right!

Unlucky there,that sounds pretty bad :( Whereabouts in Cratloe did that happen?

Here

Here.jpg

Very Steep section. I was on my old Sunn Chipie from all those years ago. Bought in France for half the price of here around 1997. Beautiful bike. A guy we know(fat as fvck) managed to snap a 100% carbon fibre frame on this section. :D

I must be going to a different Ballyhoura then ye guys!!!!!!

Why the need for spare brake pads, are you holding your brakes all the time. I've been going to Ballyhoura monthly for the past year as well as other places and have only had to change my pads once over 1000 km.

I have also been doing it on a rigid maountain bike with no issues so the shocks on the OP bike will do fine. Also what makes you think he'll buckle his front wheel? With suspension it'll take the vibration out of the bumps and protect his front wheel.

I've seen people down there on bikes ranging from the Dunnes Stores type "mountain bike" to the top end dual suspension and have never seen anyone with bike damage that can't be repaired on the trail.

If you rent a bike you will be on something unfamiliar which I think will be a lot worse then using your own bike.

above all Ballyhoura is supposed to be fun so unless your racing then your mates will have no issue's waiting as you'll be stopping regularly for breaks anyway and enjoying the scenery.

I'm curious how you'll go so let us know what its like!
    Hi OP and welcome.

Yes your bike is suitable, just as it for road use, but if you were planning on doing a road cycle for 4-5 hours and could rent a very good road bike for €40 what would you do?

I agree with everything Kona said but I'd like to add one or two bits.
    • If you are doing the white trail you will need to bring spare brake pads with you. You will wear out at least one set or at very least need to adjust them. *edit* tbh if its wet your brakes wont really work at all......
    • Your front shock is not built for hard off road, if you push it too hard it will let you down and you will crash. Ballyhoura isnt a down hill course but stop treating it with respect and you will wipe out.
    • You will buckle at least your front wheel
    • If you dont mind taking it easy then the bike will be fine but check in with the bike before the big descents, there is nothing worse that belting down the trail at 30mph and thinking... whats that rattle????
    In short if your doing this as a once off book a bike, if youll be doing it again why not try your own, when you do get a proper mtb youll appreciate the difference.

ENJOY:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

Hi Guys,

Been on a road bike for a few months now but work here are now doing the cycle to work scheme so I can get a mtb for nearly half price and pay it off monthly woohoo. Just reading this thread now and I leave near keeper hill and have run up it once so that would be cool to do on a mtb. So, can somone recommend a decent mtb (max €1,000) that I could use on challenging courses?

ps OP trying to ramp over a tractor... legend!

Why the need for spare brake pads, are you holding your brakes all the time. I've been going to Ballyhoura monthly for the past year as well as other places and have only had to change my pads once over 1000 km.
    Nobody here knows the state of the OPs brake pads, presonally I wouldnt bother bringing a spare set, but then again I know exactley whats left on mine.
    I have also been doing it on a rigid maountain bike with no issues so the shocks on the OP bike will do fine.
    Rigid fork will be alot stronger than the OP's front forks. Take a look at the forks on a hybrid and one on a MTB notice many major differences? They are hugely different because they are designed for different terrain. Believe me on the OPs bike no suspention is better.
    Also what makes you think he'll buckle his front wheel? With suspension it'll take the vibration out of the bumps and protect his front wheel. .
    Take a look at the spec of his bike, the wheels are not top quality, they are middle of the road hybrid rims ment to be used on smooth tarmac and concrete, not to be taken off road. Also a 700c hybrid wheel will be weaker than the similar spec MTB wheel.
    Suspention doesnt stop buckles, Ive seen e700 MTB wheelsets EXPLODE on DH runs, thats with properly tuned e1300 forks with 180mm travel. not a fork off a hybrid which costs e40 and has 60mm travel.

I've seen people down there on bikes ranging from the Dunnes Stores type "mountain bike" to the top end dual suspension and have never seen anyone with bike damage that can't be repaired on the trail..
    A MTB magazine did a piece where they took supermarket bikes off road, they didnt make the end of the trail.
    I regularly have to advize people to "put down" their cheap bike after damage caused by very light off road use.

If you rent a bike you will be on something unfamiliar which I think will be a lot worse then using your own bike. ..

Rubbish, I rented a bike in whister, before I bought one I had a great time, and I wouldn't have been able to hit some stuff on my own bike if I had it.
    If you want the best experience Get a proper MTB and do it right. If you want a broken bike, stress and anger than by all means take your hybrid
    above all Ballyhoura is supposed to be fun so unless your racing then your mates will have no issue's waiting as you'll be stopping regularly for breaks anyway and enjoying the scenery...

I know in my case I HAVE to hammer down the trail, Its about the adrenaline not the scenery. I tell my girlfriend about scenery if i want her to come along.
    If I told my mates about scenery they would think its dumb.

Me too!

Dude I know you mean well and its the internet and your entitled to your opinion, but I think your views aint accurate:o

MCOS wrote: »
    Hi Guys,

Been on a road bike for a few months now but work here are now doing the cycle to work scheme so I can get a mtb for nearly half price and pay it off monthly woohoo. Just reading this thread now and I leave near keeper hill and have run up it once so that would be cool to do on a mtb. So, can somone recommend a decent mtb (max €1,000) that I could use on challenging courses?

ps OP trying to ramp over a tractor... legend!

Have a look at:

Kona Kula
    GT agressor xcR
    Carrera BansheeX(2005 kona stinky basically)
    Carrera Fury
    Specialized Rockhopper pro Disc

Try get Hydraulic brakes, a fork with 130mm travel and 24 gears at least. Extras such as a bolt thru axle, hollowtech cranks and carbon fibre would be all extras you should expect some of on the bike.

Dude I know you mean well and its the internet and your entitled to your opinion, but I think your views aint accurate:o

And your views are so accurate especially as you've never been at Ballyhoura :rolleyes:

No actually because:

Im a bike mechanic, I own 6 bikes all of which I built myself, no not from a box, all specced by myself and parts sourced by me.
    I deal with people who do things like the OP everyday, Far more after they try it on their unsuitable bike than before.
    I dont refer to front forks as shocks:mad:
    I regularly MTB.
    I dont believe a trail centre is all single track, if it is whats the point?
    You reccomended a hybrid for a MTB trail
    You dont seem to work around bikes.
    You dont seem to bike too much.

Yes I could be wrong of many of the above, but I dont think I am.

Im just pointing out that coming onto a internet site, and giving bad advice isnt a good thing, no matter how good your intentions are, potentially if the OP listened to your advice he could have Seriously injured himself, as well as voiding the warranty on his bike. Thsi would be followed by IMO a hefty repair bill on his bike, to which the OP pointed out that he couldnt afford.

Horses for courses lads. I have been around every inch of Ballyhoura countless times and can guarrantee the op that his hybrid will be fine.

Far more fun than some of the ott full suss bikes and armour that I see there at times.

Ballyhoura was designed to be easy and accessable to everyone. Unlike some of the trail centres in the Uk you will not find rock gardens, drops ,or technical climbs.(more is the pity):(.

However as a day out away from traffic and as an introduction to mountainbiking its great.

Horses for courses lads. I have been around every inch of Ballyhoura countless times and can guarrantee the op that his hybrid will be fine.

Far more fun than some of the ott full suss bikes and armour that I see there at times.

Ballyhoura was designed to be easy and accessable to everyone. Unlike some of the trail centres in the Uk you will not find rock gardens, drops ,or technical climbs.(more is the pity):(.

However as a day out away from traffic and as an introduction to mountainbiking its great.

Armour is OTT most of the time anyways.

Are you serious, is this place just long singletrack? If it is and thats all thats on offer, its a disgrace IMO.

Whats the difference between that and a park? what a waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭t0mm

The whole point of Ballyhoura is to be accessable to everyone. I would tell OP to get knobby tires and get out there! While I agree with Kona that it would be more fun on a mountain bike, your hybrid will do just fine. I have seen it done on BSOs before and they were getting along grand, there is nothing there that will effect your bike any more than the road unless you ride it into a tree/rock/other cyclist (apart from a little dirt!).

@Kona, yes it is all just long single track. Like I said, it was made to be accessable to everyone. As one of our first trail centres it is a fantasic achievement, granted there are better trails out there, but Coilte didn't have to build it for us and the fact they did is something to be grateful for. It's a starting point and if we want newer better stuff in the future we have to support what we've already been given.

Whats the difference between that and a park? what a waste.

Ok, this is ludicrous. You are giving an opinion despite NOT having been on the Ballyhoura trails. That really takes some gall. Everyone on here who HAS been on the trails is saying that the bike is perfectly suitable.

Again. The trails are not hard. There are no drops. There are no rock gardens. There is no sshlompy muddy sections. It is technically trivial. There is nothing which would stress his bike.

There is nothing which would stress his bike.

Try 14 stone. :D

Ok, this is ludicrous. You are giving an opinion despite NOT having been on the Ballyhoura trails. That really takes some gall. Everyone on here who HAS been on the trails is saying that the bike is perfectly suitable.
    so are they trails or a path? Sounds like a waste of time to me the way you describe it.
    Im not Giving A opinion, Im giving facts. I MTB, I DEAL FIX BIKES THAT HAVE BEEN USED ON TRAILS THAT WERNT DESIGNED FOR TRAILS.
    ANOTHER FACT. tHE BIKES WARRANTY IS VOID IF ITS USED OFF ROAD:rolleyes:
    SEE CAPS MAKE THINGS SEEM MORE IMPORTANT.
    Again. The trails are not hard. There are no drops. There are no rock gardens. There is no sshlompy muddy sections. It is technically trivial.

Ye no schlompy mud sections:rolleyes:...does your house have windows? have you seen the weather, there are schlompy mud sections on tarmac roads now:rolleyes:
    There is nothing which would stress his bike.
    Do you want toilet paper with that statement?

t0mm wrote: »
    @Kona, yes it is all just long single track. Like I said, it was made to be accessable to everyone. As one of our first trail centres it is a fantasic achievement, granted there are better trails out there, but Coilte didn't have to build it for us and the fact they did is something to be grateful for. It's a starting point and if we want newer better stuff in the future we have to support what we've already been given.

WOW, From what I was hearing it was great. Sounds abit boring, they have 3 routes all of similar skill?

surely it wouldnt be any harm to build table tops etc, or chicken runs, you can build a easy trail into a technical trail, it not hard.

so are they trails or a path? Sounds like a waste of time to me the way you describe it.
    Im not Giving A opinion, Im giving facts.

No. You are making statements. A statement is not a fact. Have you cycled on the Ballyhoura trails ? No.

I've cycled on the trails in the pissing rain, atrocious weather. They are manmade, all weather trails. The only place I got covered in mud was going through some field as a shortcut to get to the trails.

Not interested in your hyperbole.

No. You are making statements. A statement is not a fact. Have you cycled on the Ballyhoura trails ? No.

I've cycled on the trails in the pissing rain, atrocious weather. They are manmade, all weather trails. The only place I got covered in mud was going through some field as a shortcut to get to the trails.

You make a reasonable case Gavin BUT I TYPE IN CAPS.

No Im stating a fact.

Lets see now, look at what you(and others) have reccomended to a newbie for use on a MTB trail(as you have described it as)

A Middle of the road hybrid.
    Advized him to void his warranty.(by using it off road)
    State that the trails will be dry after 20mm of rainfall the day before.
    There is no stress on a bike off road.

Good lad great advice there:rolleyes:

No Im stating a fact.

Lets see now, look at what you(and others) have reccomended to a newbie for use on a MTB trail(as you have described it as)

A Middle of the road hybrid.
    Advized him to void his warranty.(by using it off road)
    State that the trails will be dry after 20mm of rainfall the day before.
    There is no stress on a bike off road.

Good lad great advice there:rolleyes:

I said not interested in your hyperbole, perhaps I should have said hyperbollix. Your attempts to change the argument and put words in my mouth are, unfortunately for you, blatantly obvious. Good techniques to defeat a 10 year old certainly I'll give you that, but you'll need to up your game! This is the Internet!

The OP will do what he wants anyway it seems.
    blorg wrote:

You win this time Blorg.

Yes, I will.

However, I will have done so after carefully considering all the replies here firstly.

I will try my mere hybrid. If it breaks I will fix it, if the warranty is void then so be it. That is what Insurance is there for anyway.

If I feel a MTB will be more suitable then I will enquire with John in Siopa Rothair Teo in Limerick about getting a Bike to Work Scheme(using traded in Kelly) in place to get a great bike for half the money. :D

I said not interested in your hyperbole, perhaps I should have said hyperbollix. Your attempts to change the argument and put words in my mouth are, unfortunately for you, blatantly obvious. Good techniques to defeat a 10 year old certainly I'll give you that, but you'll need to up your game! This is the Internet!

You win this time Blorg.

Your statements as you say are there for everybody to see. I didnt put any words in your mouth, you typed them out.

Gavin types in caps too;) credit due where credits due

I have also been doing it on a rigid mountain bike with no issues so the shocks on the OP bike will do fine. Also what makes you think he'll buckle his front wheel? With suspension it'll take the vibration out of the bumps and protect his front wheel.

I've seen people down there on bikes ranging from the Dunnes Stores type "mountain bike" to the top end dual suspension and have never seen anyone with bike damage that can't be repaired on the trail.

If you rent a bike you will be on something unfamiliar which I think will be a lot worse then using your own bike.

above all Ballyhoura is supposed to be fun so unless your racing then your mates will have no issue's waiting as you'll be stopping regularly for breaks anyway and enjoying the scenery.

Sorry that my post contained such bad advise. After looking at the specs of his hybrd I just thought brake made for road use would not be ideal for trail use.
    Also silly me for thinking that his cheap imitation front shocks might break when they have to absorb shock, as opposed to your rigid.... sorry you actually lost me there you ride rigid so his bike will be fine??? Also looking at the specs I dont think the rims are meant to take abuse past speed bumps.

As for not damaging bikes on the trails.... not sure what to say to that. Beside the bits and pisces I have had to do to my bikes the guys in xtc1 who rent out bikes are some bulls***ers so, have a quick chat with chris and ask him if they ever have to send bikes for repairs.

Again lost when it comes to being unfamiliar with a high quality specific purpose bike therefore being better sticking to a commuter bike.

And yes ballyhoura is fun, but after taking a group of non bike mates up there a few weeks back the fun kinda ran thin after hours of continuous stops.

Sorry for this reply but if your gonna rip a post you may aswell try to make some kinda constructive argument. The op asked a question, i gave my 2 cents and I stand by what I said. Will he get around? yes. would renting an mtb be a good
    idea def!

If you are so adamant that his bike is so well suited why not do a swap and give him your mtb for his hybrid. Or even better sell your bike and buy a hybrid, supervalue had a real nice one for sale, it would last you for years sure.