Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anybody have a black SCOTT hybrid stolen?

• 08-07-2009 11:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭

Well, A dirty filthy well known local, junkie/scumbag /thief/ stain on the knickers of life/excuse for a mammal/*insert most degrading noun here*
    Came into the shop inquiring about disc brakes. Said :

" buuuuuuuuuud oi got a bleedin deadly bike, and oi nead a disc brake, they:rolleyes: tried to rob me bike and cut the wheel and disc."

No I know the guy as a regular ****stain that hangs about marlboro st doing **** all for his whole life...So I make up a excuse and talk him into bringing the bike in.

So If somebodys grieving a missing scott Hybrid a Black one, which seemed to be locked by the front QR wheel. PM me either the frame number/ a picture etc and ill see if i can return your bike to you.

***why the ****er wants to buy a wheel....I dont know, common nacker sense would say rob another one****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Maybe it is his, he did know what a disc brake was after all, can't be that much of a derogatory noun :)

EDIT: It's also probably belonging to scottreynolds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

kona wrote: »
    Well, A dirty filthy well known local, junkie/scumbag /thief/ stain on the knickers of life/excuse for a mammal/*insert most degrading noun here*
    Came into the shop inquiring about disc brakes. Said :

" buuuuuuuuuud oi got a bleedin deadly bike, and oi nead a disc brake, they:rolleyes: tried to rob me bike and cut the wheel and disc."

No I know the guy as a regular ****stain that hangs about marlboro st doing **** all for his whole life...So I make up a excuse and talk him into bringing the bike in.

So If somebodys grieving a missing scott Hybrid a Black one, which seemed to be locked by the front QR wheel. PM me either the frame number/ a picture etc and ill see if i can return your bike to you.

***why the ****er wants to buy a wheel....I dont know, common nacker sense would say rob another one****

see where you coming form ,it cost 20 euro to put a chip in a dog why dont you guys chip your bikes in the saddle.
    it can be read with a scanner ..

every bike shop in the country should offer this .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

jwshooter wrote: »
    see where you coming form ,it cost 20 euro to put a chip in a dog why dont you guys chip your bikes in the saddle.
    it can be read with a scanner ..

every bike shop in the country should offer this .

Because they(knackers) would just **** the saddle in the liffey.

Serial number is enough, if your smart enough to take note of it. Ive mine all registered with the bike companies, ive pictures of the bikes, specs sheets and the serial number. But most importantly a lock.

Usually found on the BB shell of headtube, in some mad cases the seat tube.

A chip would be a good idea, but considering some biek shops cant set up a cycle computer, id imagine formatting a hip would blow the aul brain.

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Maybe it is his, he did know what a disc brake was after all, can't be that much of a derogatory noun :)

EDIT: It's also probably belonging to scottreynolds.

He knew what a disc brake was, but couldnt get his head around C-lock and the 6 bolt patterns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭fixieboy

Imagine the goodwill that the Guards would create if they took bike crime even a tiny bit seriously.....I was coming home last night and passed Guards having a casual chat with three lads that were all definitely on robbed bikes....imagine the hassle you'd get if you tried to report that lad who was looking for a new wheel?Nothing would be done.

fixieboy wrote: »
    Imagine the goodwill that the Guards would create if they took bike crime even a tiny bit seriously.....I was coming home last night and passed Guards having a casual chat with three lads that were all definitely on robbed bikes....imagine the hassle you'd get if you tried to report that lad who was looking for a new wheel?Nothing would be done.

In fairness, the guards know the bikes are stolen, they arnt chatting to them about football, they are chatting to them to get info about the bikes etc...letting them know that they know they are up to no good.

Guards need proof to arrest somebody/confiscate things, the best they can do is note the model of bike and frame number, take the nackers details, then wait for it to be reported.

thats why you should always report stolen bikes, always have the frame number handy and a picture. That way the guard can look at it , and straight away click that they saw the bike. If you ask them to put the picture up in the station, it reaches a bunch of different gardai, pictures are alot better than descriptions.